Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,897 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Tundra suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments

problem #19

May 052014

Tundra

  • 158,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph over a bridge, there was a loud noise and the vehicle immediately lowered. The contact stated that the rear driver's side tire exploded. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that both the lower and upper ball joints snapped and caused the rear driver side tire to explode from the force of the impact. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 158,000.

- Arlington Heights , IL, USA

problem #18

May 052014

Tundra

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 25 mph up a slight hill, the lower ball joint detached on the front passenger side. Additionally, the contact stated that there was an intermittent loud abnormal noise coming from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the repairs were unknown. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 07V013000 (suspension). The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Maplewood, MN, USA

problem #17

Apr 012008

(reported on)

Tundra

  • miles
2005 Toyota Tundra recall on lower ball joints. Consumer would like information on making an appointment with the dealer.

- Greenville, TX, USA

problem #16

Apr 162007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall on Toyota Tundra in 2007. The ball joints were found to be defective because of a hardness issue on the surface treatment of the ball. The failure would be a premature wearing or failure of the joint. Toyota did issue a recall and repairs made to the vehicle. After the repair the vehicle had a hard pull to the right and vibration that did not exist prior to the repair. After taking it back to the dealer, they found the steering wheel and front end out of alignment. The dealer repaired these but did not fix the problem. After a total of 4 visits over a 6 month period the vehicle still has a dangerous pull vibration. The dealer cannot repair the problem.

- Versailles, KY, USA

problem #15

Oct 232007

(reported on)

Tundra 8-cyl

  • miles
Toyota Tundra with ball joint replacement. Consumer states they would not give him copies of the other invoices he signed. Consumer wants to know why they wouldn't give him copies. The consumer stated when he arrived home, he looked under the vehicle and it appeared that no work had been performed on the suspension.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Mar 132007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. In March of 2007, the contact received recall notice number ssc70B (suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joints). An appointment was scheduled for July of 2007 since the parts were unavailable. The dealer has not notified him if the parts were available. Another Toyota dealer is 90 miles away. The contact is aware of the safety risk involved. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 18,463. Updated 01/11/08. Updated

- Belmont, NY, USA

problem #13

Jan 022007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2005 Toyota Tundra with 24,000 miles and have experienced 3 issues. 1 brake failure on off ramp. 1/2/07 lower ball joint replacement- recall by Toyota. 7/9/07 left rear wheel bearing replaced 8 /14/ 07 all of these problems were addressed by Toyota of temecula. Toyota has increased the brake size on new Tundra trucks. Why? these are quality and safety issues and I am wondering when the next problem will happen. Updated 09/26/07

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #12

Mar 102007

Tundra

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2005 Toyota Tundra was in for service the mechanic said there was a recall on this truck so I agreed to let Toyota replace my ball joints (recall no: 70B) after the replacement was done the vehicle steering began to fade to the left and then to the right I returned to the dealer and he said that it needed a few adjustments after driving it again the problem still existed after driving the truck for a few months I found that my tires were wearing due to feathering to the right and left also the vehicle became hard to hold straight in line while driving when I would run over a small depression in the road the steering would pull me in to oncoming traffic. I drove the truck back to the dealer 08/06/2007 they did a series of test but nothing worked. Final words you just have to live with it. I contacted Toyota consumer complaint line and low and behold a recording came on addressing symptoms with the Tundra the deal is I did not have this problem as they described it on the recording until after they replaced the ball joints.

- Oxford, GA, USA

problem #11

Apr 012007

Tundra 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. On April 1, 2007, the contact received recall notice # 07V013000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). The dealer stated that his name would be placed on a waiting list because they were only receiving approximately two or three parts per week. As of July 18, 2007, the vehicle has not been repaired. No failures have occurred at this time. The current mileage is 75,000 and the failure mileage was inapplicable. Updated 02-01-08 the consumer stated the ball joints were replaced. Updated

- Milton, FL, USA

problem #10

Apr 152007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. In April of 2007, the contact received recall notice # 07V013000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). The dealer stated that they do not have the parts available to repair the recall. He would have to remain on the waiting list. The contact has notified other dealers in the area and surrounding states and they have given the same response. The current and failure mileages were 27,000.

- Murphy, NC, USA

problem #9

Jun 112007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received recall ssc 70B-front suspension lower ball joint safety recall noticere on or around 6/07/07. Called dealership for appointment to replace, heather in service said they would have to order the part and it would take 3 to 6 weeks for them to receive, at that time they would call me for an appointment. I said that was a long time to wait and she said they only get 5 at a time once a week or every other week, that it was a national recall. My point was then shouldn't there be more of these parts available with a shorter wait time. Very upsetting about the delay in getting the part replaced, as it seems according to the recall notice a possiblity of a crash may occur do to the defective part.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #8

May 132007

Tundra

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,436 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on April 2, 2007 due to a noise coming from the front end. The dealer test drove the vehicle and stated that everything was normal. On May 13, 2007, the contact heard a loud noise while accelerating from a stop at 2 mph. The left front tire detached and the ball joint split in half. The vehicle has since been repaired. The engine size, # of cylinders, and current and failure mileages were unknown. The consumer stated the dealership is at fault. The consumer provided a repair invoice for vehicle. Updated 08/07/07

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #7

May 062007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
TL- the owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. He states that he received a recall notice a few weeks ago and he has called various Toyota dealers in the area to have his recall serviced for the lower ball joints. He states that all of the dealers have told him that the parts are not available. They told him to keep checking back once a week because they have not been available for two months. Recall number:07V013000:suspension: Lower ball joints. Failure mileage: 70K. --ds

- Monroe, WA, USA

problem #6

May 192007

Tundra 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I have a safety recall on the 2005 Toyota Tundra for the lower ball joints. I took it to the dealer were I purchased the truck and they told me 6 to 8 weeks for just the parts to come in. I drive on the interstate a lot, and there was shimmying in the front end. I told the dealer that, and the service technician told me if they break they will put me in a rental. What if they break and I am killed or somebody else dies. I think this is a big problem.

- Debary, FL, USA

problem #5

May 142007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. On May 14, 2007, the contact received safety recall notice # 07V013000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint) and has been unable to schedule an appointment ever since. No failures have occurred, but she is fearful of driving. The engine size was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 20,000.

- Fortson, GA, USA

problem #4

Apr 102007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,600 miles
The contact owns 2005 Toyota Tundra. A month ago she received a notice to have the front: Suspension: Lower ball joints replaced per recall number 07V013000. On numerous occasions the Toyota dealer and manufacturer stated that the parts were on back order, there were 45 owners ahead of her, and they may be able to service her in two to three months. She contacted every Toyota dealer in her area, and they were also unable to assist her. A local Toyota dealer also advised her that parts where not ordered under her name which was causing the delay. She filed a complaint with Toyota. The current and failure mileage were 17,600.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #3

Apr 252007

Tundra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received recall notice # 07V013000 concerning suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint. The contact called three different dealers, and was informed that none of the dealers in puerto rico have the part to fix the recall. The dealers were unable to determine when the part would arrive. The contact was currently on the waiting list for two dealers. When depressing the brake pedal the contact heard a noise coming from underneath the front of the vehicle. The noise magnified when traveling below 45 mph under any driving conditions. The current mileage is 27,000, and failure mileage was unknown.

- Aregibo, PR, USA

problem #2

Dec 042006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
: the contact stated while pulling out of the driveway at 2 mph, the front left side of the vehicle dropped down to the ground without warning. The vehicle was towed to and authorized repair facility, who determined that the left front lower ball joint fractured and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was alerted. Updated 1/19/2007 -

- Greenville, CA, USA

problem #1

Aug 042006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
Driving wb on hwy 4 near douglas flat, ca approx 55 mph on two lane highway. The 2005 Toyota Tundra 4WD driver side front wheel detached, folding under front left side frame behind wheel well with the truck landing on the flat side of the wheel. I was then in a controlled skid on a straight part of the highway and held the steering wheel in that position. I did not apply the brakes as I did not want to alter the direction of the skid. The vehicle drifted slightly to the right after about a 150 foot skid. The wheel hub had separated from the upper and lower control arm, the ball joint had detached from the A-frame, and the wheel and tire (replaced two weeks prior) were damaged. The only thing apparently holding the wheel to the frame was the steering rod. Not being a mechanic or had the vehicle looked at by a mechanic as yet I am not sure of all damage sustained. Pictures of the scene show a single skid mark on the drivers side. I contacted my Toyota dealer who didn't seem to interested since there were no injuries. This incident occurred with 72,000 miles on the truck meaning that the 36 month, 36,000 mile warranty would not cover the damage. In researching the ball joint complaint I found that there was a recall on the 2004 Tundra. It was lucky that I wasn't injured since the previous day I had been returning from a job site via nb parrotts ferry road which is about a 1000 ft descent on a curving road which in several places drops off into the canyon and reservoir below.

- Angels Camp, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?