Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,141 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tundra electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments

problem #10

Apr 182016

Tundra

  • 43,925 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 10/02/14 the orignal battery in the truck failed. It was replaced with an interstate battery, #mtp24. This battery failed and was again replaced with another interstate battery on 10/8/15 at no charge. This battery failed and was replaced again today, 4/18/16. Greg leblanc Toyota @ 220 S. hollywood rd., houma, la 70360 tested the vechicle and found nothing to be drawing the battery down. They found nothing wrong with the battery but when when we tried to start it(parked in the driveway at our home) after using it on Friday night, it would not turn over in any fashion the next day. My question is there something else that could be wrong with the vechicle that may show in the testing that it is working but could be faulty. I doesn't make sense to go through 3 batteries in 18 months. I checked to see if there were an recalls on the interstate batteries but didn't find anything from 2006 to present

- Houma, LA, USA

problem #9

Sep 182014

Tundra

  • 84,000 miles
Power window controls are intermittent. Window freezes in the down position at random. So far only affects front passenger window. Toyota says since I didn't buy it new, too bad for me. I thought I saw a power window master switch recall on the news " also the passenger airbag has shut off. Which I guess is a good thing. Toyota says just don't have anyone ride there ! really ? I have no word from them concerning how long must we all wait for repairs. My truck was under 90,000 miles and less than 10 years old when this happened, now its a year later. Also the drivers door release cable broke so you cannot get out. I fixed that myself, but what if the windows and the, doors all failed and trapped you in there ? window stops and starts working randomly parked or driving, air bag shut off while parked, door cable broke while parked. Please tell me why the site says 1 recall " I thought the window master switch was recalled. It should be. Thanks

- Edina, MN, USA

problem #8

Jun 032014

Tundra

  • 100,000 miles
When shifting from park to drive over/drive turns off. You hit the button to turn it back on and start driving and it automatically shuts off again, no matter your speed. It has turned off on me doing 70mph and really bogs down the transmission. I found if you wiggle the rubber boot at the consul it will turn it back on. Read on google the wire is stripped from all the years of shifting and is shorting it out.

- Antioch , IL, USA

problem #7

Jun 112015

Tundra

  • 123,970 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Secondary air injection pump needs replaced. Code P1441 and P1444 error code. This recall only effects 2007-2009 models although the same problem was happening in 2005 and 2006. Mine being a 2006 isn't covered by a recall for the same issues. This is a 2K plus job. Thanks

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #6

Dec 152014

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Vehicle kicks out of gear while driving would shift real hard into second gear taking off then when up to speed would kick out of gear as into neutral and coast randomly.

- Burton, OH, USA

problem #5

Sep 222014

Tundra

  • 83,560 miles
Inflated the tires to ensure proper psi's prior to operation. Tire warning light shuts on and off. Tire warning lights will remain on when vehicle is started, idling, and in operation. This is still an ongoing problem that has not been fully resolved. The tire sensors could be a contributing factor which is not being reported as well. Went to the local dealership and was told that they will not fix unless the recall is under Toyota's website and not the NHTSA. This is a potential safety issue that could result in an accident, injury, or death.

- Scottsbluff, NE, USA

problem #4

Nov 162011

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 22,306 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Toyota Tundra sxp has had a battery killing symptom since I purchased back in 2006. I did not realized the "cause" after it kept repeating many times during the warranty period. Battery will be exhausted (died) when passenger door was open and close without open and close the driver door. In other word, if only the passenger door was open and close and the driver door is untouched, then the battery surely died. Quality Toyota dealer has been swapping batteries (maybe 3 times). My last service was about a month ago with the same symptom after a new alternator was replaced and was promised that this should be the cause. Same symptom happened a week after this last service (11/18/2011). The Toyota service manager [xxx] and his service assistant [xxx] at quality import kept telling me that the truck have to be turned engine on daily for about an hour for the battery to retain its power" fault designed/recalled" I have had many Toyota, none of them needs to do such thing even parked for 3 to 4 week, including our 2000 sienna with more than 130,000 miles, and also including the Chevrolet cargo 1500xpress (>23000 miles). My 2006 Tundra with just over 22,300 original miles. We have been scare to drive it on a long trip and/or to any where that we may have to park for a few hours. We always have a jumper cable in the car in case the battery went bad and/or drained down and could not start up. We have contacted quality Toyota service [xxx] [xxx], and have also requested if his service manager, [xxx], can contact us for a resolution, but we have been ignored since December 20th, 2011. Our last service was with on November 16, 2011 with the cost of $238.36 for a new alternator. We agreed to pay for this in the hope that the problem (battery killing) was finally fixed even though this same symptom has happened and has been service during the warranty period. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA

problem #3

Mar 122009

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 23,550 miles
My 2006 Toyota Tundra pickup truck has developed maximum acceleration on seven (7) occasions when I made hard accelerations in order to pass other vehicles while also engaging the resume mode of the cruise control. On the first two (2) occasions I applied the brakes heavily with no results and my vehicle continued to accelerate and I was forced to knock the truck out of gear and the engine continued to run a max rpms and I keep pumping the gas pedal until the engine finally slowed. The last time a similar event occurred I had a open highway after passing a slower vehicle so I cut the ignition off and my vehicle slowed down, I turned the ignition back on and my truck went to max acceleration again. The third time I cut the ignition off I heard a thump in the floor board close the gas pedal and the vehicle slowed and operated normally when I turned the ignition back on. I was traveling on a interstate the first two times this problem happened and just avoided hitting other vehicles. On the last occasion I had time to try a different solution. In each event the breaks were not effective at all. On 12/2/10 my Toyota dealers service dept. Checked my truck after I made the above complaint and found no problems. In the past I had raised the issue with the dealers service dept and regional Toyota rep. And was told by both that the 06 Tundra did not have acceleration problems. Updated 01/17/12 updated IVOQ 03/30/12

- Stanardsville, VA, USA

problem #2

Oct 182009

Tundra

  • 39,000 miles
Why have my ODI's not been addressed " 10183308, 10288886, 10293097, 10293888, 10314732. I have a 2006 Toyota Tundra that has problems with it since Nov. 2006. That is when I purchased it. Unfortunately for me I didn't have repair orders written up. I am not on the recall list and that's fine. But regardless I want my vehicle fixed. I was in an accident in Oct. 2009 due to sua. I reported it to my dealer and my insurance carrier. The vehicle was looked at by a factory rep. It was decided by Toyota that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. I was told by Toyota to get an estimate on repairs. That was a preliminary estimate of just under $2000. I was told not to have the repairs done until I heard from Toyota. To this day of March 5, 2010 the vehicle has not been repaired. I chose not to have the truck fixed because I was hoping Toyota would, as Mr. Burton from Texas told jim lentz, "if you know where a vehicle is that needs to be investigated go get that vehicle, I don't care if it cost one hundred thousand dollars, go get that vehicle. I must say Mr. Lahood you have done that. This is the reason mine is not repaired. I have been writing emails to anyone that cared. The truck is still here? I have been in contact with people from Toyota about getting my vehicle purchased back and then they can test it. I'm reminded all the time that mine is not on the recall list. I say so what! it is not a safe vehicle to drive, my wife will not drive the truck and doesn't even want to be a passenger. It is a time bomb waiting to go off. Likened to russian roulette whenever you turn the ignition switch. I know that you have gone out and "got that vehicle". when sir, will you get mine" I hate wasting money to fix something that needs to be dismantled and gone trough with a fine tooth comb. I also share the responsibility to any person that may buy the vehicle to disclose the imperfections about the vehicle. Please help!!!!

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #1

May 072007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,100 miles
My young son (7) was attemping to play the video station that is part of my new Toyota Tundra's video system. The unit started to catch fire. Within a minute of being plugged in into the behind the headrest video, it started to smoke, black smoke. I quickly pulled over the truck, ran to the back and took the unit out of my son's hands before he was injured. The unit was extremely hot.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?