Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,807 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tundra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Jun 062015


  • 56,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. While driving at 40 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently and the brake pedal failed to respond when depressed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- Chelsea, MA, USA

problem #27

Dec 082014

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Air pressure in one tire constantly deflates. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that due to the porosity chrome of the wheels, air leaks out from the wheel causing the tire to deflate.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #26

Jan 022014

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The truck went into limp mode" reducing power and acceleration.. at highway speeds, in traffic, or in remote places, this creates a serious safety issue. Issue appears to be "air injection pump" and/or related valves. This is a well-documented issue with the Toyota Tundra encountered by owners of the 2006 Tundra, and should be included in an earlier expanded warranty program. Repairs are however out of warranty, are potentially 3-4 thousand dollars and should be covered in previous Toyota program for the 2007 model year. Contacted Toyota customer support to no avail.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #25

Jan 122012


  • 100,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 to 75 mph, the front end of the vehicle vibrated violently. In addition, the vehicle suddenly accelerated to 100 mph while the brake was depressed. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a cement wall. The contact did not have any injury to report. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer inspected the vehicle and concluded that nothing was wrong with it. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 100,000.

- Clovis , CA, USA

problem #24

May 072011


  • 81,100 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated while driving and attempting to slow down, the vehicle suddenly began to accelerate. A loud noise was also heard inside the cabin. The contact shifted into park to stop the vehicle. The contact shifted back into drive and the vehicle performed normally. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The manufacturer was notified and a complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 81,100 and the current mileage was 81,150.

- Murrysville, PA, USA

problem #23

Mar 122009

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 23,550 miles
My 2006 Toyota Tundra pickup truck has developed maximum acceleration on seven (7) occasions when I made hard accelerations in order to pass other vehicles while also engaging the resume mode of the cruise control. On the first two (2) occasions I applied the brakes heavily with no results and my vehicle continued to accelerate and I was forced to knock the truck out of gear and the engine continued to run a max rpms and I keep pumping the gas pedal until the engine finally slowed. The last time a similar event occurred I had a open highway after passing a slower vehicle so I cut the ignition off and my vehicle slowed down, I turned the ignition back on and my truck went to max acceleration again. The third time I cut the ignition off I heard a thump in the floor board close the gas pedal and the vehicle slowed and operated normally when I turned the ignition back on. I was traveling on a interstate the first two times this problem happened and just avoided hitting other vehicles. On the last occasion I had time to try a different solution. In each event the breaks were not effective at all. On 12/2/10 my Toyota dealers service dept. Checked my truck after I made the above complaint and found no problems. In the past I had raised the issue with the dealers service dept and regional Toyota rep. And was told by both that the 06 Tundra did not have acceleration problems. Updated 01/17/12 updated IVOQ 03/30/12

- Stanardsville, VA, USA

problem #22

Feb 182006

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. The contact was driving 30 mph and there was an abnormal increase in engine rpms causing the transmission not to shift correctly. She depressed the brakes and the tachometer increased to 2 and would not decline. In addition, when she attempted to shift into reverse and released the brakes, the rear tires began to spin and she crashed rear-end into a boulder. The rear bumper was damaged and there were no injuries. The dealer stated they were advised by the manufacturer not to diagnose the vehicle. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle has had three transmissions since purchase. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 53,000. Updated 11/9/10 the consumer stated the transmission had to be replaced three times. She also stated there were times when the vehicle would just take off at a high speed when the accelerator pedal was tapped lightly. When the vehicle was started, the engine would race extremely high. The high idle would also effect the way the vehicle shifted into gear. Updated 11/12/10 the drivers side has a grommet and the floor board has a grommet, but there is no hook to hold the floor mat in place. Also, the transmission has been replaced three times. Updated 11/1/610

- Pepperel, MA, USA

problem #21

Apr 012009


  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra crew cab. The rear leaf spring broke and fell off while the contact was driving approximately 50 mph. The contact also stated that at a traffic light, the rpms increased occasionally and he had to depress the brake pedal to stop the vehicle from lunging forward. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where he was refused repairs since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. He was referred to a local repair shop to have the vehicle repaired at his own expense. The dealer called the manufacturer who stated that there was nothing that could be done to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 84,000.

- Alsip, IL, USA

problem #20

Dec 242007


  • 18,000 miles
I am a ase certified master tech and mechanic of 15 years. I owned a auto repair shop for 5 years and have since returned the vehicle to Toyota lease. My 2006 Toyota Tundra would accelerate on its own at times. To stop it I would have to turn off the key, pull over and then restart it. Being a master technician I assure you it was electronic in nature. In no way was it a floor mat or accelerator pedal stuck. I did take it in for repair and was told there was no problem found. It did happen in the same location 3 times and could have been caused by emi. Again it was electrical in nature, there is no doubt of this. I do not own it any longer and hold no negative feelings towards Toyota.

- Newcastle, WA, USA

problem #19

Jan 202010


  • 50,000 miles
I own a 2006 Toyota Tundra truck. I have had two incidents where the accelerator has stuck. Braking did not slow down the acceleration. I was almost involved in an accident and almost went through my garage door. I took the truck to dealer who said there was no problem. The truck is not currently on recall.

- Amhest, NY, USA

problem #18

Oct 182009


  • 39,000 miles


Why have my ODI's not been addressed " 10183308, 10288886, 10293097, 10293888, 10314732. I have a 2006 Toyota Tundra that has problems with it since Nov. 2006. That is when I purchased it. Unfortunately for me I didn't have repair orders written up. I am not on the recall list and that's fine. But regardless I want my vehicle fixed. I was in an accident in Oct. 2009 due to sua. I reported it to my dealer and my insurance carrier. The vehicle was looked at by a factory rep. It was decided by Toyota that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. I was told by Toyota to get an estimate on repairs. That was a preliminary estimate of just under $2000. I was told not to have the repairs done until I heard from Toyota. To this day of March 5, 2010 the vehicle has not been repaired. I chose not to have the truck fixed because I was hoping Toyota would, as Mr. Burton from Texas told jim lentz, "if you know where a vehicle is that needs to be investigated go get that vehicle, I don't care if it cost one hundred thousand dollars, go get that vehicle. I must say Mr. Lahood you have done that. This is the reason mine is not repaired. I have been writing emails to anyone that cared. The truck is still here? I have been in contact with people from Toyota about getting my vehicle purchased back and then they can test it. I'm reminded all the time that mine is not on the recall list. I say so what! it is not a safe vehicle to drive, my wife will not drive the truck and doesn't even want to be a passenger. It is a time bomb waiting to go off. Likened to russian roulette whenever you turn the ignition switch. I know that you have gone out and "got that vehicle". when sir, will you get mine" I hate wasting money to fix something that needs to be dismantled and gone trough with a fine tooth comb. I also share the responsibility to any person that may buy the vehicle to disclose the imperfections about the vehicle. Please help!!!!

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #17

Mar 042009


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. The contact started the vehicle and the rpms increased for a few seconds without the contact depressing the accelerator pedal. The contact shut the vehicle off and restarted it and it functioned normally. The contact informed the manufacturer and they stated that he would have to get it inspected by a authorized dealer and pay the repair cost. The vehicle warranty was not valid. The manufacturer also stated that they only go back as far as the 2007 model and that there were no known recalls on the 2006 models. The failure was 10,000 and the current mileage was 25000.

- Saint Cloud, FL, USA

problem #16

Mar 012010


  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. While driving 5 mph, she attempted to make a right turn and the vehicle accelerated with an extreme force. The contact took the vehicle to a local repair shop to have the vehicle inspected. The contact was advised that there was an electronic system failure between the accelerator and the computer and to contact the manufacturer. The manufacturer was contacted but no resolution was made. The failure and current mileages were 66,000.

- Sherman Oaks , CA, USA

problem #15

Feb 242010


  • 39,000 miles
ODI numbers, 10183308, 10288886, 10293097, 10293888. These are ODI's that are in regards to my vehicle. I have said all along that the problem is electrical. I still maintain that. I have had the vehicle seen by the factory rep and received a letter from tms saying that everything is working as designed. They even looked at my throttle linkage. I don't have linkage. So what else have they looked at. If it worked as designed, why does it work differently than it did when new? I have suggested many times over that tms take my truck back and use it as a test vehicle. I have not had it repaired for that reason. My truck has done all sorts of weird things. That is why I feel that it would make a fantastic vehicle to use to find the problem with the electrical system. Now I hear that during the hearings that the congressman from Texas told the CEO of tms to go get that vehicle and use it as a test vehicle regardless if they had to pay one hundred thousand dollars. They certainly wouldn't have to pay me that much, just make me whole. My truck is a mother load of information. Tms is really dropping the ball on this one. I want my dealer to work with me to get tms to do as they say they will do. My dealer says that their hands are tied. Well tms call Japan and see if Mr. T will agree with me. The truck has not been repaired and I feel that once they start taking it apart that the problem will be exposed. This is the third Toyota truck that I have had and would be pleased to have another as long as it was free of defects. The pedal they are going to use is going to give them more problems than the one that is in the truck now. If it is sticking, create a scheduled maintenance to lube it or whatever it takes. Shorter pedal means foot will slide off, probably more fatigue on the ankle. I just want the people that made promises to keep them. You can get with my dealership and possibly help come to a resolution. There is a person in england that is sharp on cruise out of control.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #14

Jun 202009


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. The contact was driving approximately 35 mph and changing lanes on the highway. The road conditions were normal. The accelerator pedal began to stick with an unintended increase of acceleration. There were several attempts before the vehicle slowed down. The driver was able to resume to normal operation. The authorized dealer was notified of the malfunction. The vehicle was not inspected at that time. The failure was a one time occurrence. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Lewisville, NC, USA

problem #13

Oct 202006


  • 15 miles
The day I drove my 2006 Tundra off of the lot I noticed that when I am at a complete stop (red light or stop sign for example) with my foot completely pressing on the brake, the RPM's rise out of no where. In other words, the truck lunges forward when at a complete stop. I have reported to three dealerships, those that I take my truck in for service to, and the dealer I purchased the truck from. I first complained about this during the first week after I purchased it. I have requested that the service clerks include this in the notes, and complains sections when I take in the truck. I requested this to document my truck's actions.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #12

Feb 142010


  • miles
2006 Toyota Tundra cruise control, when in use and has to compensate for speed reduction goes into full throttle, no gradual speed increase, I have to immediately hit brakes and or turn off cruise control. Happens all the time when in use.

- Adams Center, NY, USA

problem #11

Jun 262009


  • 54,000 miles
My husband had a crash on 06/26/2009 on his Toyota Tundra 2006 in concord, California (highway 242). He said he was on the freeway and the traffic stopped suddenly. He pushed the brake pedal, but the truck kept running at the speed that it was without stopping. He crashed 3 cars, and the Toyota Tundra 2006 was a total lost. Thank god nobody was hurt in that accident. But it took us so long for the insurance company to reimbursed us the cost of the truck. Also, I think it wasn't fair, because the truck was in such good condition, he was taking care of that truck like it was his baby.

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #10

Dec 152009


  • miles
Vehicle acceleration - have a Toyota Tundra 2006 and it had accelerated on its own. I was very lucky that I pressed both feet down on the brakes and turned the vehicle which made me go up on a sidewalk. I thought I was going to hit a wall but it did not. I then came home and called the place that we purchased the truck and was told to bring it in for another recall and that they would look at it. Upon picking up the truck we were told that they did not see anything that would have caused the acceleration. I now see that Toyota is having such a problem so I wanted to report this. I am just so happy that I was not on a highway. I have two small children and I am now so worried about driving this truck.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #9

Nov 202009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tundra. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph out of the driveway when the brake pedal traveled to the floor without resistance and pressure was applied, followed by an unintended acceleration. Suddenly, the gear shifter was placed into the "neutral" position and the engine was turned off. The vehicle restarted and resumed normal operation. The failure occurred intermittently. In addition, the front passenger power window released in a downward position without assistance while starting the ignition. The vehicle has not been repaired for the malfunctions. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Warm Springs , GA, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?