Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,884 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Volkswagen Beetle lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Volkswagen Beetle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Volkswagen Beetle Owner Comments

problem #7

Jun 012011

Beetle 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The hazard lights, turn signals and headlights on my car do not work. I've taken it in to an auto shop and they cannot find out what is wrong with the car. Hoping maybe there is a recall that I have missed.

- Bishop, CA, USA

problem #6

Jun 012011

Beetle 4-cyl

  • miles
The hazard lights, turn signals and headlights on my car do not work. I've taken it in to an auto shop and they cannot find out what is wrong with the car. Hoping maybe there is a recall that I have missed.

- Bishop, CA, USA

problem #5

Mar 142009

Beetle 4-cyl

  • 69,890 miles
Throttle body goes out (02-03-2009) cv axel goes out (03-31-2009 brake lights go out (02-18-2010) cv axel goes out again (4-31-2010) alternator goes out (06-21-2010) ignition coils fail (09-13-2010) ignition coils fail again(01-21-2011) brake switch replaced again (01-21-2011) air flow sensor fails (01-21-2011) air flow sensor fails again (07-26-2011) timing belt replaced (06-15-2011) thermostat replaced (06-15-2011) water pump replaced (06-15-2011) now having problems with throttle body/ throttle body sensor/ electrical issue. Dealer is not sure what the problems is and wants to throw money at it to see what the problems is. This car is just one problem after another after another.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #4

Dec 202010

Beetle

  • 64,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The headlamps have been replaced four times. According to a VW dealership who serviced the vehicle, I was informed that the vehicle's wiring harness is defective, causing the headlights and instrumentation cluster to fail. The dealership informed me that they are aware of the wireing harness problem, but are not aware of any service recalls.

- Barrington, IL, USA

problem #3

Feb 152001

Beetle

  • 168,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volkswagen new Beetle. The contact stated that whenever he drove 35 mph or more at night the headlights failed. They are not adjustable; yet, the one on the drivers side was aimed lower and the passenger side was aimed higher. The vehicle was taken to the dealer previously who adjusted the headlights but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 168,000.

- Galien, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Apr 052008

Beetle

  • 75,000 miles
I have a 2001 VW new Beetle. I have replaced brake light, which was drains the battery, serpentine belt, remoteless key which is still broken- basically 6 days after buying this car- I spent $1200 on repairs- now the check engine light is on, the transmission is acting funny, and basically- my VW dealership has a field day with me. To top it off- my battery died a month ago- and caught on fire when I tried to jump it. I am afraid that this car will blow up on me at any time. Please help me!

- Delray Ebach, FL, USA

problem #1

Jan 142004

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2001 VW Beetle - gasket for headlights and headlight lenses deteriorated. Had to have replaced.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?