Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,618 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Volkswagen Beetle seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Volkswagen Beetle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Volkswagen Beetle Owner Comments

problem #7

Mar 012008

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Volkswagen Beetle. The driver's side air bag light has remained illuminated in the vehicle for over 1 1/2 years. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer numerous times and they stated that the driver's side seat belt and sensor caused the failure. Through research, the contact discovered that a newer model might have a recall for this same issue. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 95,000 and current mileage was 107,000. Updated 09/11/09 updated 09/14/09.

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #6

Nov 162006

Beetle

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,684 miles
The airbag warning light came on for no apparent reason. Diagnosed as bad passenger side airbag crash sensor. Had to be replaced at expense to me.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #5

Sep 122007

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Volkswagen Beetle. The contact stated that the air bag light remained illuminated. She took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the scan dtc found that the driver's buckle resistance was set too high. The first time the failure occurred and was repaired was on April 6, 2005. The current and failure mileages were 52,000.

- Bay Village, OH, USA

problem #4

Oct 182006

Beetle

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light will not go off--forum says may air bags may not work with light on. It seems to be a major problem with VW bugs for years. Should be a recall.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #3

Oct 182006

Beetle 4-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 54,000 miles
The airbag light on my 2002 Volkswagen new Beetle is on. The car has 52,000 miles on it. The dealer wants to charge me $400 to repair. It cost $150 to find out that it is the airbag pigtail-1J0971584J and spiral reel-1J0959653C.

- Asheville, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Sep 042004

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,057 miles
Transmission replaced three times, still not working properly, lunges into forward and reverse, and will drop into and out of high and low gear when driving. Sunroof leaked because the drainage tubing was not connected at factory causing water damage to leather seats and now mold is growing inside of vehicle, making it difficult to be inside and have had one sinus infection already.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #1

Nov 082003

Beetle 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 41,583 miles
Seatbelt air bag sensor- air bag malfunction light came on 11/8/03 took the car to the dealership they ordered the part. Both headlights were not working by the time I got to the dealer, they replaced those, turn signals were going on and off along with the hazard lights, was told these needed to be ordered. Called in 2 weeks and was told the parts were on manufacture backorder and they would call me when they came in. I called every 2 weeks they part were not in. 3/3/04 smog test done to register my car- failed smog, took car to dealer cat converter out, they had to order part said they would reorder the sensor, 3/12/04 took car back in parts not in yet, called every day parts not in now my registration was late. Cat converter came in on 4/2/04 it was installed dealer was refusing to smog test for free the finally did but would not pay the fees for my registration being late. Called again every 2 weeks parts did not come in. 6/30/04 went in other parts on the car were braking off, emergency brake handle broken, display lights not working, cup holder broken, again they had to order parts, and they never came in. 8/18/04 air conditioning stoped blowing cold air, made appt online for 8/23/04 took car in, none of the parts ordered are in again. Service stated my air conditioning is not covered because of a hole in the condensor even though my warranty states it is covered they refused to fix it and tried to charge me $95 for finding the hole, I refused to pay after all I have been waiting since November for several parts including a saftey issue, the dealer service has been the worst I dealt with in 25 years of driving. I have sent emails, phone calls and faxes to the dealer regarding all my complaints and have not received a response.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

Not what you are looking for?