Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.9

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,793 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Volkswagen Eos electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Volkswagen Eos:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Volkswagen Eos Owner Comments

problem #4

May 162012

Eos

  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Got passenger airbag warning light. Dealer said it was not a warranty item. Cost was prohibitive to us, so we are doing without. A great safety problem.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #3

Mar 192008

Eos 4-cyl

  • 328 miles
I don't think a $38,000 car that is only 3 years old should leak rain in it all the time and the convertible top not work properly - it has been in the shop 5 times in the last 2 months and is currently in the shop fixing a problem that was suppose to be fixed last Friday. Volkswagen dealership service department mechanic even told me that 98% of Eos leak rain inside them and the convertible tops don't work. Datemilesproblem 3/19/08328wiper blades split apart (car was brand new) 6/17/0911400leaks rain inside car on drivers side - replaced header seal and mounting bracket 6/17/0911400drivers side sunvisor cracked 6/23/0911540replaced drivers side sunvisor 9/4/1023056recall - mechantronic unit 9/4/1023056convertible top not operating properly - flap tension string needed new clips 9/4/1023056side window grinding and hesitating when going up and down - defective window regulator 9/4/1023056vehicle having trouble starting - ignition/starter switch electrical fault in circuit 9/13/1023355convertible top not operating properly - installed headliner tensioning string clips 9/13/1023355front door handle loose 9/8/1134761water leaking from convertible top (rain inside car)- sunroof drain hose repair 9/8/1134761passenger side door trim is peeling off car 9/17/1135231water leaking from door (rain inside car)- replaced the seals (in a loaner for 4 days) 10/20/1137230replaced defective crank breather 10/27/1137398convertible top not operating properly - gets stuck when opening - cable guide broke off 10/27/1137398service now light on after it was just serviced 11/1/1137450back in shop for convertible top not working properly key is broken, I keep this car in the garage and get regular maintenance work done.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #2

May 312008

Eos

  • 5,843 miles
I have had a 2008 Eos for less than 3 years. I started having problems with the car after 4 months, it has had several repairs including electrical seat not working properly, leaks in window, cheap materials falling off needing replacement, brakes needing sooner than most cars (brakes are very long, takes forever to come to stop). At about 1yr I started having major problems with how it drove. It has been in and out of the shop, one time it was in for one month! it has had problems with lurching, surging, jerking and lack of power when accelerating or putting into sport mode, there have been numerous electrical problems and leaking from windows as well. They replaced one part (that was officially recalled) and the car drove worse. They finally replaced the transmission and now have a new rattling problem that seems to come from the engine, along with window button on driver side sticking. There is still times when I accelerate and there no increased power or I put it into sport and there is no increase in speed or RPM's. I have taken it in again and they have told me that it is no longer under warranty and I will have to cover costs that are not under powertrain warranty. With as much problems as I have had with this car, everything should be covered. I am afraid to drive this car and try to stay local and do not drive much if I don't have to. After reading other peoples problems I can see that this is a problem with this particular vehicle and there needs to be an investigation. I believe it is a dangerous car.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #1

Dec 052008

Eos

  • 10,000 miles
Windows on my 2008 Volkswagen Eos will not stay engaged causing a safety hazard. The retractable top also leaks and drips causing distraction during episodes of driving in the rain. It has been in for service for these items and several others up to 5 times. The service writer (matt) at the dealership (Sierra motors in ottawa il 815-434-3240) claims there is a problem with the software for the windows and VW is researching the issues and must create better programming. Now the radio has begun to fade in and out. Seems like the car has many electrical issues. I have contacted VW directly (800-822-8987) and been assigned a case number of 90002357 with a regional case mgr pete naradoni. Pete was not aware of a software issue with the programming of the car which leads me to believe that someone is not being honest with me. VW nor the dealership have resolved the issues with this vehicle and I feel I need an advocate to get results. As of today they have had my car for 9 days!!!! this does not include all the other times they have had it for these same issues. I feel that they are in breech of warranty.

- Ottawa, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?