Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.9

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,428 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Volkswagen Eos seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Volkswagen Eos:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Volkswagen Eos Owner Comments

problem #20

Mar 162016

Eos

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall, I received a notice on 4-16-2016 that the takata airbag needed to be replaced in our Eos 2012 vehicle. I have been unable to get the fredericksburg VW dealership located at 5208 jefferson davis hwy, fredericksburg, va to replace the airbag. I have spoken to them on a number of occasions and have sent emails to others within VW but have been unable to get VW to replace my airbag.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #19

Jul 062016

Eos

  • miles
My car is part of takata airbag recall. Dealer wil not repair or provide loaner vehicle. My safety and my family's safety is at serious risk. That is unacceptable. I tried selling the car but was offered ridiculously low value due to recall. So they won't fix it and further will penalize me financially when trying to trade it. I want my car fixed now or a loaner vehicle provided

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #18

Feb 092016

Eos 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Takata recall on my VIN states: "recall incomplete. Remedy not yet available." If my vehicle is unsafe to drive as reported by takata safety risk, what is my next course of action since the recall is incomplete and remedy is not yet available?

- Moorpark, CA, USA

problem #17

Feb 192016

Eos

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Volkswagen Eos. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Bonita Springs, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 072016

Eos

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Volkswagen Eos. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V483000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Orangeburg, SC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Sep 072016

Eos

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Volkswagen Eos. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V483000 (air bags) and 16V078000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Orangeburg, SC, USA

problem #14

Apr 122016

Eos

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - even though VW published public notice of this air bag recall on April 12, 2016, we still haven't been notified of a scheduled replacement. We should be on a priority listing since we live in a sub-tropical climate (SC) and our vehicle is among the older installations (2012). We have never been contacted by VW.

- Murrells Inlet, SC, USA

problem #13

Apr 042016

Eos

  • 15,750 miles
I called findlay VW in henderson nv to make appt to have airbag replaced. They said VW does not "have a remedy" and they have no idea when the air bag can be replaced. It is common knowledge VW is dragging their feet in replacing these takata airbags. I want to sell this car since I only bought it in 9/2015. Where can I get the airbag replaced" I have a three year platinum extended warranty thru that covers the airbags. I do not want to drive the car because of the danger. I have read where other manufacturers and replacing the airbags at a good steady pace except for VW, which doesn't seem to be replacing any. What gives? who can I seek recourse from"

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #12

Feb 012016

Eos

  • miles
Takata recall. I leased this vehicle and then purchased it from the dealer. He sold it to me after the airbag issues were known and did not advise me of that before purchase. Also I have been given no date on which the deadly airbags will be fixed. I was notified in February 2016. I am afraid my car will be hit and the airbags will kill me. When is something going to be done to force VW to give its car owners a loaner until this issue is fixed?

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #11

Apr 012016

Eos

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Volkswagen Eos. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The manufacturer stated that the part was not available for repair. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Locus Valley, NY, USA

problem #10

Feb 262016

Eos 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Volkswagen Eos. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 09/14/16 updated 09/20/16.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #9

Jul 092016

Eos

  • miles
There are no parts available to replace the airbags that have been recalled and are a threat to life if they deploy. I bought out my lease two years ago and I believe they knew of this issue but let me buy the car anyway. Also, the recall just said the airbag didn't work properly, not that shards of metal could kill me if it deployed. I only learned this Saturday while at the dealer after I put over $300 fixing the start button and $700 putting on new tires. The dealer said he would buy my car for $12,000 only if I bought another VW. This car is a threat to my life and I don't want to drive it. Please take action so we are not forced to gamble with our lives while driving a vehicle we bought and maintained in good faith!

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #8

Apr 272016

Eos

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Volkswagen Eos. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags); however, the part for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Coopersburg, PA, USA

problem #7

Apr 052016

Eos 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Volkswagen Eos. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect...updated 09/12/16 updated 09/21/16.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #6

Jun 262016

Eos

  • miles
Takata recall, I cannot trade in my car until the recall is taken care of!!!

- Granite Bay, CA, USA

problem #5

Feb 092016

Eos

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Volkswagen Eos. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags); however, the remedy was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Ocoee, FL, USA

problem #4

May 272016

Eos 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Volkswagen Eos. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V285000 (air bags). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.....updated 07/05/16 updated 07/14/16. Updated 11/23/16.

- Locust Valley, NY, USA

problem #3

May 052016

Eos

  • 18,500 miles
Received airbag recall notice from VW. Called local dealer was referred to VW America. VW is doing nothing for customers as NHTSA has not issued a do not drive order. How many deaths will it take to force VW into doing what is right for consumers or for NHTSA to issue a do not drive order?. if my wife drives her car, and is injured, I will be holding VW and the NHTSA responsible.

- Martinez, CA, USA

problem #2

Apr 182016

Eos

  • 24,320 miles
Takata recall. I contacted VW today and they have refused to remove my vehicle from service and provide a rental or loaner vehicle until my car is repaired and safe to drive. Honda has provided loaner vehicles. What makes VW any different. As our primary mode of Transport, this VW should be required to be removed from service by the us government. This car is a potential death trap to my family!!

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #1

Jan 012016

Eos

  • miles
"takata recall" VW is dragging their feet and pushing back on the NHTSA about this recall and the public is suffering over it. I called both douglas VW summit, NJ and VW of America Corp offices and no one knows when this will be available to fix. Meanwhile my wife rides around with a grenade in front of her. VW Corp refused me a loaner until they get this fix available. Meanwhile yet another tragic death in Texas from the shrapnel cutting the jugular vein and corroded artery of this poor girl. Who is next, while VW drags their feet. Recall notice was Dec 2015 or Jan 2016

- Morris Plains, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?