Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,576 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Volkswagen Jetta fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments

problem #12

Aug 012008

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 220,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that while having the vehicle serviced by an independent mechanic, the contact was informed that the vehicle was leaking fuel into the engine compartment. An independent mechanic stated that the tandem pump became inoperable and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 220,000. Updated 10/9/15 the consumer believed his vehicle should have been included in the fuel system recall. However, his production year was not included. Updated 04/11/16.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #11

Jun 112008

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 90,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that the fuel pump was leaking and causing the vehicle to become resistant to starting. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 04V586000 (fuel system, diesel). The contact called the dealer regarding the recall and the dealer informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The contact was concerned that the vehicle could potentially cause a fire. The failure mileage was 90,500. Updated 06/24/11 the consumer disputed the dealers response since he beleived his VIN fell in the published VIN range of the recall described in VW's documentation provided to NHTSA. Updated 06/30/11

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #10

May 122010


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volkswagen Jetta. While driving at speeds of 40 mph, the vehicle caught on fire. The police and fire department were called to the scene where the fire was extinguished and a fire report was filed accordingly. The manufacturer advised there were no recalls on the vehicle and would not provide any assistance. The contact inquired about NHTSA campaign id number 04V586000 (fuel system, diesel) however, the manufacturer advised they had no knowledge of the recall. The current and failure mileages were 70,000.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #9

Dec 292008


  • 88,500 miles


My car literally turned off when I was turning a corner...luckily I wasn't on the freeway. The battery was fine. It turned out to be the lift fuel pump for my 2004.5 Volkswagen Jetta tdi pd bew. I was charged $400 by a local VW mechanic. The dealership would charge $800. If I had it done in tdi club, it would be around $200.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #8

Aug 262008


  • 77,000 miles
Car started normally, pulled to entrance to road, engine stalled suddenly and would not restart. After several attempts, engine started and ran normally. After 10 miles, stopped at convenience store. Engine started normally and abruptly stalled while entering interstate highway. Again difficult to restart, but finally did. Ran fine for next 45 miles. A third stall happened the next morning. All three stalls happened within 30 to 90 seconds of startup. Suspect that the in-tank "lift pump" was failing intermittently. There would be enough fuel in the filter to run engine for a while without the lift pump functioning. The lift pump has now been replaced.

- Frostproof, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Feb 212008

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact noticed a leak and smelled fumes in the passenger compartment. The dealer stated that the failure was caused by the diesel fuel system. She found a recall on the exact same failure on the manufacturer's website; however, the dealer stated that her VIN was not included and refused to make a repair. The failure mileage was 82,000 and current mileage was 84,000. Update 04-02-08

- Warfordsburg, PA, USA

problem #6

Aug 262007

Jetta Diesel

  • 63,000 miles


After driving 800 highway miles from Florida, with 400 miles left to go we stopped for the night. The next morning the car was bucking and refused to run. We added a fuel additive and manual shift in order to keep the car running and get it home. On Aug. 27th we changed the fuel filter and took the car for a test drive. The car stalled when going up a hill aprrox. 500 ft from house. It would not restart. The car was towed to the dealer on Aug. 28th and is still there on Sept. 20th. So far they have replaced the fuel in the tank and the fuel filter, and the egr valve was replaced. The car is still running sluggish and bucking. They can't find out what is wrong with it. Next they want to take apart the intake manifold even though they are not sure that is the problem. The car is a 2005 and half Jetta diesel with 63,000 miles on it. The car is unsafe to drive and is the car I depend on to take my children back & forth to school (a 20 mile trip one way).

- Blairstown, NJ, USA

problem #5

May 012007

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volkswagen Jetta tdi. The contact smelled diesel fuel inside the cab and found diesel fuel leaking under the fuel pump. The dealer had not diagnosed the failure. However, recall #04V586000 was related to this failure. The current and failure mileage were 70,000.

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jan 092007

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 102,900 miles
On 1/25/2007 our vehicle was taken in to dealer service department for repair of an engine vibration. Initial diagnosis was the timing belt and it was adjusted approximately 4 degrees and promised to be ready on 1/27/07. Belt adjustment did not fix the problem and car was not picked up. Additional diagnosis was performed, including compression test of engine, and technician contacted Volkswagen for assistance. After weeks of diagnosis and testing we were told that the in tank fuel pump that was replaced at a different VW dealership on 9/11/06 had failed. Researching NHTSA I also found out that it was a recalled pump. Because the mileage was almost 3K over the warranty of the part and VW already satisfied the recall VW would not cover a replacement. The new fuel pump also did not fix the vibration problem. Dealers diagnosis with Volkswagen's assistance continued until 2/8/07 when we were told that a valve lifter in the cam assembly had failed causing the vibration. Dealership recommended a complete "cylinder head replacement" at a cost of about $4,500. My husband asked to speak with the mechanic and determined that the damage was only to one valve lifter. My husband and I decided to fix what was broken and only fixed the damaged lifter which was estimated at about $500. The dealer agreed to perform this repair, but would not warranty the work because they were concerned that cylinder head might be faulty. Our vehicle was finally repaired and able to be picked up on 2/19/07. Cost of repairs was negotiated within our satisfaction, however, the service was not timely and feel that the parts in the vehicle are below standard. Now we have an additional problem we did not have before taking it in for repair. Two days after we received the vehicle from the dealership we figured out the fuel gauge is no longer working properly and has a false reading of approximately 1/4 tank when the tank is empty.

- Keezletown, VA, USA

problem #3

Nov 212006

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2004 Jetta diesel - fuel pump/gasket leaking -falls w/in VIN recall #'s. for this very problem. Dealer/manufacture states recall not for my VIN#. has the very problem the recall for fuel pump/gasket leaking there for replacement describes. Dealer states need to replace pump/gasket. Recall states replacement of pump/gasket. VW of America can not tell me the parameters of the recall, just that my car does not qualify. Something is not right with this situation. Please help if you can.

- Fremont, MI, USA

problem #2

Jun 132006

Jetta Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 57,000 miles
I bought a used 2004 Jetta tdi at D'arcy Volkswagen of joliet il. On February 2005. My tandem pump has failed and is significantly leaking fuel. I took it to lou backrodt Volkswagen of rockford il, and I received an estimate on the total cost. I did my own research and found out that this my automobile and pump is covered under a recall campaign vy (04V-586) with NHTSA campaign id number: 04V586000 and document number rcrit-04V586-7306.pdf. I talked to VW customer service (ticket number 60206323) and they refuse to cover the cost which can be proved with your letter rcrit-04V586-7306.pdf. I need for VW to cover the overall cost of this repair since it is a defect that has been recalled by VW. I never received a letter of notification since I am the second owner of the vehicle. Vehicle VIN # is 3vwsr69mx4090734, which is within the ranges covered in letter rcrit-04V586-7306 page 1 of 16, vehicle identification number ranges. Please help me resolve this situation.

- Maple Park, IL, USA

problem #1

Mar 242006

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 46,006 miles
Was driving along after just accelerating from a stop light and got up to speed (about 45 mph). Then I felt what I thought was the engine falter, and the motor just quit, no warning whatsoever. No odd sounds either. Just like I turned the key "off". I coasted to a stop off the road and tried to start it a few times. Just continuous cranking and not even a "cough". no unusual noises, compression seemed good. Timing belt failure appears to be ruled out. No external leak in the fuel pump (the one in the engine compartment) either. When the key is turned on, all the normal dash lights light. Yesterday, I did notice a more pronounced sound coming from the in-tank lift pump when I turned the key to "glow". after the engine failure tonight, I could not hear any sound from the lift pump. Car was towed to the VW dealer since the warranty was still in effect. Today (three days later) the dealer called me and said the in-tank fuel pump failed and it would be replaced under warranty.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?