Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,855 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Volkswagen Jetta fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments

problem #2

Jul 172009

Jetta

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am the owner of a 2004 Volkswagen Jetta gli, which I garage at my condominium. In March 2006, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration issued a recall of Volkswagen and Audi 2003 cars with 1.8L turbo engines due to electrical failure of the fuel pumps. I raise the possibility of my car being involved in the manufacturing malfunction, but not included in the recall. 07/17/2009: Car towed to Volkswagen autobarn of evanston. Costs: $74.15. 07/25/2009: Informed that the car required a new battery and fuel pump. Parts & labor costs: $905.85. After paying for the repairs and waiting for delivery, the car would not start. 07/27/2009: Retrieved the car after VW autobarn service installs a second fuel pump, due to a defect in the previous part. I drove the car home and parked underground. 07/28/2009: I drove to the faa regional office in des plaines, il. At approximately 18:30, I attempted to leave however, the car did not start in the same fashion that led to the initial repair. The car is towed back to Volkswagen. 08/17/2009: Informed by the VW autobarn service manager that they have gone to extraordinary efforts to repair the car: Driven the car on multiple occasions including taking it home overnight; communicated with the german service office to pursue other possible causes for fuel pump failures. Costs for towing, fuses, relay switches, leads, connectors and technician labor: $574.11. After paying for the above repairs, again, the car would not start. 08/28/2009: Informed the fuel in the car contained 40% alcohol and is the cause of failure of the three previous fuel pumps. Moreover, I was responsible for voiding the warranty of the previous fuel pumps and now financially responsible for $1400 in new charges, including the cost of a fourth fuel pump. I last purchased $12.63 gallons premium fuel on June 26 without issue until July 17.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #1

Feb 042008

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 61,710 miles
On 2/4/08 at 7:30 a.M. I got in my 2004 VW Jetta wagon and although it was turning over, it would not start at all. It had operated perfectly the night before. I had it towed to our mechanic that we have used for nearly 10 years. The mechanic called & said it was the in-tank fuel pump and the associated component. He stated he has had a lot of these brought to him in VW's and this is a common failure. He stated when he called about the part they said, "oh yes, we have that part in stock no problem." He replaced the fuel pump on 2/6/08 and again stated this seemed to be a common failure in VW's. he also stated the mileage on our 2004 VW Jetta wagon was not sufficient to warrant such a failure unless there was a problem with the mechanism and suggested I report the failure. The repair cost was $697.59 total.

- Tahlequah, OK, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?