Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,665 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Volkswagen Jetta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jun 052012


  • 125,000 miles


Transmission fails to engage into third gear, then engine revs up, then slams into gear. Transmission stays in third gear regardless of speed. Transmission stays in fifth gear regardless of speed.

- Shasta Lake, CA, USA

problem #16

Oct 092012


  • 134,273 miles
I purchased this car from a dealership on 10-8-2012 up in the Washington, D.C. area and drove it back home to my house in SC. Everything was fine on the way home. The very next day on my way into work the car hesitated when it was supposed to shift from 3rd gear to 4th gear and then suddenly downshifted all the way back to 1st gear which made the car de-accelerate from 35-40mph to 10mph within 40 feet or so. The engine revved to 6000 plus rpms which scared me but not as much as the big truck that was towing a trailer that had to skid off the road and go around me to avoid an accident. This is now a daily occurrence. I carry my 16 month old daughter around in this car and I'm scared to death that someone is going to smash into the back of us. I've started pulling off the road and letting cars go to avoid accidents. Please help!

- Laurens, SC, USA

problem #15

Jul 302012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that the clutch and the pedal went completely to the floorboard when depressed. The vehicle was towed to a mechanic for inspection who stated that the dmf needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was 69,000.....updated 10/11/12 the consumer stated the vehicle had pre-existing symptoms that the dealer dismissed. Updated 10/16/2012

- Redwoord Valley, CA, USA

problem #14

Apr 182012

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 69,577 miles


Vehicle has manual transmission, driver selected first gear at an intersection, pulled away from light when it changed to green, tried to change to second gear, however gear lever stuck in first gear, would not move into neutral, luckily driver had enough forward momentum to clear intersection and roll off to the side of the road. With engine running driver is unable to select a gear, only way to put transmission into a gear is to turn off the engine, vehicle taken to Volkswagen dealer for repair, clutch pressure plate had cracked in half.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #13

Jan 152012


  • miles
As I try to accelerate the gears jump erradically.

- Glen Rose, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Jul 132011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,000 miles
2005.5 model year Volkswagen Jetta tdi (turbodiesel) with automatic (dsg) transmission. On several occasions while driving car, the transmission will for no reason shift into neutral, and all transmission indicator lights 'prnds' will flash simultaneously. So far, if engine is shut off and then restarted, the transmission will again function normally. I believe this has happened 4 or 5 times now. On one occasion, the car was in an intersection when it became immovable which presents a safety hazard.I can see that there is a massive amount of info on many VW internet sites about this issue, in fact if you simply google 'VW dsg flashing prnds' or 'VW dsg transmission problems' anyone can find it. It is a common problem. I see that hhtsa has begun an investigation based on this for 2007 thru 2009 model years, obviously a problem on 2005/2006 VW with dsg transmission as well. VW has initiated a new customer service program to address customer concerns related to certain dsg equipped models but apparently mine (and many others) are not covered they say by this program- nevertheless a safety issue exists with 2005 and 2006 dsg equipped VW's. I called VW customer service (national) today 11/3/11 and rep said "I am not aware of this issue' for this year- so they are either lying or incredibly underinformed. I had the car to VW dealer for diagnosis, and they stated that a diagnostic test showed a malfunction in a part that controls transmission operation and was causing the transmission to shift into neutral by itself. Their recommendation, "spend $2000 to replace the part, or just get a new transmission = $4000. Since there is obviously a safety related design flaw that allows the transmission to shift itself into neutral- I feel the NHTSA should expand the investigation to include all years of VW dsg transmission equipped vehicles sold in the usa.

- Cedarburg, WI, USA

problem #11

Oct 202010


  • 128,000 miles


Transmission failure. Won't shift from second to first. Or first to second. If engine is very hot it will most times but not at all if cold or warm.

- Haiku, HI, USA

problem #10

Oct 032011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 86,500 miles
3 Oct 2011: This vehicle's flywheel assy failed at approximately 85,000 miles. Fortunately, the failure occurred while I was at a very low rate of speed in a non-congested area. After the event, I have come to realize that this is a known problem on dsg transmissions as installed on a variety of VW models. VW does not appear to be interested in discussing this issue for model years 2005 / 2006. I am one of the luckier ones as I regularly make long distance - interstate trips with family in-tow. Volkswagen should be held accountable to accept full financial responsibility to not only take care of customers who have experienced such low-time failures but, also, expand any recall that may be in-place for later models so as to prevent potential life-threatening accidents within the overall driving population. I had been driving a "time bomb" for almost 5 years and, to date, Volkswagen of North America has only issued a limited recall for later models, the 2008-2010, I believe. This episode will cost at least $3000 usd and none of it is covered by Volkswagen. What is the root cause of this and how do I know that my replacement dsg transmission will not be susceptible to this happening again causing potential vehicle, property, and personal damage in the form of a vehicle "mishap"."?"

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #9

Jun 032011

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Check engine light came on while returning home after shopping. Car was towed to the repair shop. Diagnosis was catastrophic failure of engine due to a timing chain jump on a 72K mile, 2.5 liter, 2005 VW Jetta two months after purchase.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #8

Dec 152010

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Hard shifting, it hard shifts and it keeps getting worse. I was told it was the valve body but Volkswagen does not want to pay for it because it is a few miles over the 100,000 mile warranty when I have read many things saying that Volkswagen was having problems with the valve body.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #7

Oct 172010


  • 92,000 miles


Jetta 2005.5 sedan (automatic) hard shifted between 2nd & 3th gears, displaying shuddering and hesitation during acceleration in traffic. Since October 2010 hard shifting has continued daily and frequency of shifting hesitation issue has worsened. Hard shifting with hesitation up between 3th and 4th, and also hard shuddering downshift between 3rd and 2nd. Dealer hooked vehicle to computer on Feb 14, 2011 and stated transmission has no errors. Dealer would not test drive for longer than 4 miles, dealer stated hard shift did not occur in that 4 mile period, test was not at freeway speeds, owner was not in the vehicle. Dealer states vehicle is not eligible for valve fix. Vehicle shifting failure is hazardous and dangerous highway condition.

- Wildomar , CA, USA

problem #6

Feb 012011

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
VW Jetta 2.5L 2005 out of the blue check engine light came on at 81,000 miles. Random misfire and vacuum leak codes. Turn out to be timing chain stretched causing the problem cost $2000 to fix.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #5

Nov 052010

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 120,583 miles
We recently bought a 2005 Volkswagen Jetta (the newer design also coincided 2005.5) from a private individual in March 2010. We noticed there was a slight problem with shifting gears that continued to get worse. In June 2010 we took the car to a local Volkswagen dealer and discussed the problem. They told us it sounded like the dual mass flywheel was the problem. That there was 2 different manufacturers that make the flywheels and they no longer use one of the manufacturers due to defects and problems with the flywheels they made. They said it was a known problem that the flywheels were bad and would need replaced way before they were suppose to. Even though the problem was known by Volkswagen they refused to fix replace the defective part. They said we could continue to drive it and but would continue to get worse and end up tearing up alot of other stuff if it did. We looked online and found many other people having this same problem, though no recall. We also read where if the flywheel locked up/came apart while driving it could lockup the entire car. We did come across where the flywheel had been recalled in europe. The car was drove till November 2010 when it had gotten to the point where it would downshift on hills and when you would try to get up speed to merge onto the interstate it would not shift to the next gear( but the rpms were normal) and was forced to merge onto the interstate at a very slow and unsafe speed. The engine also had a very loud chatter noise. We decided to have it fixed and replaced the flywheel assy & mount bolts and had to have the transmission fluid flushed and refilled and a new filter put in. Totaling $1423. The new flywheel was not the same as the original one. It now runs great. Shifts perfectly and smoothly.

- Williamstown, KY, USA

problem #4

Apr 092010

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
2005 Volkswagen Jetta tdi sedan - engine ran rough and noticed slippage and hesitation during acceleration from full stop. Repeated results from repair shop visits found no problem, was told this was "normal"... the failure occurred while driving at normal hwy speed. A loud bang followed by complete engine failure. Visit to dealer confirmed catastrophic failure of dual mass flywheel, causing collateral damage to engine and transmission. Repair estimate was from $5K to $15K. VW and the dealer offered no assistance due to vehicle outside of manf warranty period, despite car being well maintained by the book. Research on owners forums and web shows this same issue is prevalent in the 2005-2009 model years. Found over 3000+ instances from owners complaining of the same issue from as little as 15K miles of use....its clear this is a manf defect in the dual mass flywheel and that VW has not recognized this...

- Havre De Grace, MD, USA

problem #3

Feb 162009


  • 64,381 miles
On February 16th while running errands I pulled through a drive through for lunch, car was running and sounded just fine, after pulling away I heard a loud "shrieking" noise and then a clunk, the car lost power and made a grinding noise, I immediately pulled into the adjacent parking lot and shut the car off, I waited a few minutes then restarted the car it started just fine but seemed to be idling a little rough, I shifted car into drive and lightly pressed the accelerator the grinding noise was present so I put the car back in park and shut off the engine, called aaa and had the car towed to the dealership. The dealership then called me later that afternoon and informed me that the dual mass flywheel had separated and would need to be replaced, they quoted me $1800 for the repair. I was informed that they had the part in stock and I approved the repair. The car just had 64,381 miles and I though it was odd that this failure occurred, I did some research on the internet and discovered that this is a "known" failure. Since the warranty "just" expired I had to pay for the repair. I contacted vw0fa and they took the information but did state the warranty expired, I understand that but it appears that this issue has been reported numerous times and this needs to be investigated! I had just exited the interstate before this happened, what would have been the outcome if I stayed on the freeway at 60mph and this component failed?

- Inver Grove Heights, MN, USA

problem #2

May 012007

Jetta 8-cyl

  • miles
2005 Volkswagen Jetta bucks and shakes while driving. Consumer states that the vehicle sounds like it just wants to shut off and not run. While vehicle was in the shop the loaner got hit and dealer would not return her car until payment was made. The consumer stated the first time the problem happened, she had come to a full stop. When she went to accelerate, the vehicle almost stalled, starting bucking and was sluggish. Immediately afterwards, the engine light illuminated. The dealer stated the reset a component, however 1 month later the problem re-surfaced. The consumer was told the problem was several different things, but each time the components were replaced, the problem would come back.

- Pomona, NY, USA

problem #1

Sep 152007

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Volkswagen Jetta. While approaching a stop at 70 mph, the contact placed the clutch in and it failed to release. The vehicle had to be towed to the dealer and they stated that the failure was due to driver error. The clutch was replaced and the dealer did not charge for labor. The part cost $1,800. The failure occurred twice. The vehicle is currently at the dealer and they have not yet diagnosed the cause of the second failure. The current mileage was 55,000 and failure mileage was 22,000.

- Chester, MT, USA

Not what you are looking for?