8.2

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,610.00
Average Mileage:
86,817 miles
Total Complaints:
19 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (10 reports)
  2. replaced ABS control module (8 reports)
  3. software update (1 reports)
2009 Volkswagen Jetta brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments

problem #19

May 092017

Jetta S 2.5L

  • Manual transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

NHTSA Campaign Number: 16V913 Manufacturer Volkswagen Group of America, Inc. Components SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL Potential Number of Units Affected 135,683 Volkswagen Group of America, Inc. (Volkswagen) is recalling certain model year 2009-2010 Volkswagen Jetta A5 Sedan, 2009 Volkswagen Jetta SportWagen, Eos, GTI, Rabbit and Audi A3 vehicles, and 2010 Volkswagen Golf A6 vehicles.

Abs Control Module Recall 45F2- The Antilock Brake System (ABS) control unit may fail during ABS or Electronic Stability Control (ESC) activation, possibly causing a loss of vehicle control. ABS and Stability control becomes inoperative- a loss of vehicle control can increase the risk of a crash. Insufficient PCU ground connection. ABS pump failed Fault code 01276/12 – ABS Pump Electrical Error in circuit remains ABS module controls the pump. The software update is to correct insufficient ground connection which causes the pump to fail. What does the software update fix? Prevents my ABS from failing How is the ground connection checked? If the software can cause the pump to fail and my pump failed shouldn’t the recall fix that issue?

- , Port Hueneme, US

problem #18

Nov 152016

Jetta TDI Tdi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

click to see larger images

ABS module failure ABS module failure

While driving under normal conditions I was attempting to merge onto the freeway at approximately 8:05 a.m. As I was preparing to merge a car from the far left lane merged across 3 lanes of traffic right in front of me cutting me off. I had to apply the brakes very quickly and hard. This caused my brakes to lock up and the car started to fishtail. The ABS system never engaged as there was not push back on the brake pedal or automatic pumping motion and the car went into a skid. I was unable to correct the fishtailing and I lost control of the car as is spun 180 degrees and slammed into the side of the freeway wall. It caused over $4,000 of damage including damage to the rear axle, cooling fans, radiator, and front and rear fenders. When the car came to a rest the ABS and ESC lights were illuminated and flashing. I turned the car off immediately due to engine noise as the broken cooling fan was banging into the engine area. When the CHP arrived I restarted the car and to pull the car off of the freeway. when the car was restarted the ABS and ESC lights were no longer illuminated. No warning or failure codes related to the ABS/ESC system were present when the mechanic conducted a computer scan of the system after the crash. All codes were to do with the engine and emissions system. No action was taken because it did not show any failures which is what has been reported by others. The codes go away when the car is restarted. This is major flaw on VW's part. I wish my check engine light would just go away when restarted as it has nothing to do with the safety of the car. The ABS system failure is dangerous and there is no way to know it fails or have VW know unless it illuminates and you can drive straight to the dealership and have it scanned without turning off the car.

- , Hinesburg, VT, US

problem #17

Jun 222016

Jetta TDI Tdi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

On this day I was driving on winding road under normal driving conditions. I crested over a hill and the ABS and ESC warning lights illuminated. I was unsure as to why as I had not engaged the braking system and I was not using excessive braking. I pulled the car over and the passenger asked if it was important and I stated I wasn't sure. I turned of the car and restarted and the warning lights were now off. The light did not illuminate again. My car had been in dealership about 2 weeks prior for work and no codes were given as a warning that the ABS was failing. I also had work done a few months later and there no ABS codes provided.

- , Hinesburg, VT, US

problem #16

Dec 202016

Jetta Sedan Tdi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I believe the faulty ABS was the reason I got in a car accident on Dec 20, 2016. I was driving on the highway in Chicago, after recent snow, so roads were a little wet. 2 other cars hit each other in front of me, so I pressed the brake pedal with more than enough distance between me and them to stop in time in most correctly functioning cars. When I put brakes on, i realized i wasn't slowing down quick enough, and ended up hitting the car in front of me. I originally attributed it to conditions, but now I believe bad ABS allowed this accident to happen

- , Chicago, IL, US

problem #15

Dec 152016

Jetta SE 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

We have two Volkswagen's, this 2009 and another 2008 and have loved them up until recently. Out of nowhere on the first snowfall of the season, every light having to do with brakes lit up on the dash causing us to loose control of the vehicle and run through a stop sign because we could not stop due to the ABS, brakes, and Traction control failing. This is my girlfriend's car and she frequently has her young cousins in the car with her as she picks them up from school some days. This is so incredibly dangerous I cannot believe VW has not issued a recall. So disappointed in VW right now, especially with how loyal we have been. This outrageous repair is simply not feasible for us as we are both in college. Disappointed in VW..

- , Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #14

Jan 132017

Jetta 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 131,000 miles

$2500.00 to fix. Damn car isn't worth that much. Every light is on and it keeps beeping. What a pile of doo doo!

- , Lynchburg, VA, US

problem #13

Dec 072016

Jetta

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ABS module lights flashing

Every one should call 8883274236 so we can get this done on Volkswagen. It's a problem with the 2009 cars

- , New York, NY, USA

problem #12

Oct 232016

Jetta S 2.5L

  • Manual transmission
  • 90,000 miles

On October 22, 2016 we had the brakes replaced and then on October 23, 2016 every light on the dashboard was lighting up. The brakes were not done at a dealership but on the 23rd we made an appointment for the Jetta to be taken into Volkswagen for them to run a diagnostics test on it. The test came back saying the ABS control module needed to be replaced. After getting a second opinion somewhere else and quotes from both Volkswagen and an outside source we're sure it's the ABS needing to be replaced but we can't find anywhere how long the car will continue going with this module not working properly.

If the only issue is that the brakes could lock up upon harsh braking, then we know 1. Not to have any passengers and 2. Keep a safe distance away from everyone. However if this problem could/does get worse then we won't drive it until the module is fixed. Also wondering if VW would take the car in as a trade without fixing the module? How much do they take off of it's worth?

Update from Nov 15, 2016: On November 14th all the lights and whistles stopped we had a diagnostics test ran on it back in October and nothing since. Being that we didn't have the money right away we decided to drive it as long as nothing got worse. Around November 9th the car started surging like it the fuel pump had something clogging it (closest description I can give) but out of no where it all stopped the breaks work great, the steering and excelleration are fine.. we don't know what happened but we plan on having another diagnostics test on it to see if anything comes up.

- , Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #11

Sep 012016

Jetta 2.5 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 144,000 miles

The problem with my 2009 volkswagen jetta was the brake fluid was to low and when I replaced the brake fluid and filled it to level, the whole car went haywire. Everything on my dash lit up and would not go off. I tried resetting it by removing the negative wire from the battery, but nothing seems to fix the continual short on my dash. The brake warning light continues to scream at random times and then go away. I had issues with my brake caliber, my alternator, the traction control coming on randomly, replacing head lights, brake lights, and the sunroof randomly is operating with me touching the controls.

I now see taking it to the dealer will be a waste of my time.

- , Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #10

Jul 212016

Jetta SE 2.5L

  • Manual transmission
  • 87,000 miles

I've had multiple failures of my ABS and Traction control in this vehicle since purchasing it in November of 2014 with about 58K miles (I'm not aware of the prior owner having this issue). The first one was about a year ago. So I've been driving it like a pre anti-lock vehicle like I grew up with. Turn it off, take the key out, then the lights are off, but the failures continue.

It's comforting to know I'm not the only one experiencing these issues, but its also frustrating to see that VW won't make this a recall item on probably the most important safety feature you can get in a vehicle. The whole reason I even considered buying this vehicle is it appeared in an article by the Insurance Industry for Highway Safety as one of the "Safest Cars for Teens." But now I don't dare let my teens drive this vehicle.

Today, driving in fairly heavy interstate traffic, the driver of another vehicle nearly side swiped me changing lanes. I had to slam on the brakes, and of course the anti locks failed immediately after pressing on them (then the dash lights and beeping that others described happened), causing me me slide and do at least a 180 degree spin. It happened so fast that I didn't have the time or option to "pump" the brakes. I don't know how I wasn't T-boned. Almost wish I had just to be done with this vehicle.

A $2000 fix, for a single modulator out of pocket? One third to one fourth of the value of the vehicle? I haven't done it yet because what guarantee do I have that a "New" modulator won't unexpectedly fail too???? That's a lot of cash to spend out of pocket.

I still love driving this car, and over all its a good car, but I agree with a lot of the other comments, and I can't see myself owning a VW again. I've warned everyone I know who drives VW's to start testing their ABS before their warranty is up.

- , Omaha, NE, USA

problem #9

May 022016

Jetta 2.0T 2.0t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I UNDERSTAND SOME THINGS GO OUT BUT 2,400 DOLLARS EVERY YEAR IT SNOWS IS WAY TO MUCH MAN !!!!!!!!!!!! I REALLY LIKED THIS CAR. IF I WOULD HAVE KNOW ABOUT THIS I WOULD OF NEVER GOT IT. VOLKSWAGEN LOWER YOUR PRICES FOR THE PART LIKE THE REST OF YOUR CRAP YOU HAVE TO REPLACE.

- , FLAGSTAFF, AZ, USA

problem #8

Mar 012016

Jetta SE 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

Similar to other VW Jetta owners posting here, my ABS lights have also come on (along with numerous other lights on the dashboard). Initially it started as an intermittent problem and occasionally the braking would be bad. Now it has progressed to a constant issue with the brake light flashing and beeping. When it was intermittent the problem could not be properly diagnosed and I simply paid roughly $400 to have both rear abs sensors replaced, which obviously did not resolve the issue. This is a manufacturing defect and shame on VW for not recalling these cars and taking care of the issue. This could result in serious injuries to myself or others. This component should not fail at this mileage. I will NEVER EVER buy another VW again. Nor should anyone else.

Update from Apr 4, 2016: Also, a new abs control module can only be purchased by the dealer and that alone is $1,600.00.... Again, this a racket created by VW to make money. This is NOT a failure that should occur at 58,000k miles. Never, ever again will I purchase another VW. Horrible company. Buyer beware!

- , Denver, CO, USA

problem #7

Jan 122016

Jetta TDI 2

  • Automatic transmission
  • 149,000 miles

While driving in a snow squall, I applied the brakes at a stoplight and the ABS system activated. The vehicle immediately stalled, the ABS and traction control lights came on and the red BRAKE light started flashing while the dashboard emitted a beeping tone that continued until I restarted the car. With the car restarted, the ABS and traction control icons remained on and the BRAKE light continued to flash and the vehicle was without ABS. I pulled over into a driveway and shut the car off and removed the key, then restarted the car and all dashboard indicator lights were properly off. In a side street, I intentionally activated the ABS by pressing hard on the brakes and the car did not stall, but the ABS/traction/BRAKE/tone event occurred again. Shutting the car off and removing the key and restarting the car reset everything. This event was repeatable a third time, where upon I had reached my driveway and parked the vehicle.

- , Allentown, PA, USA

problem #6

Sep 252015

Jetta

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

click to see larger images

ABS module failure

I heard it is very common problem and very costly to fix it. My car have very low mileage. Now it very dangerous to drive. I can't tell what speed and how much gas I have. I never going to buy Volkswagen again. Volkswagen should take responsibility of this problem.

- , Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #5

Mar 102015

Jetta 1.9tdi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,286 miles

The vehicle started showing the ABS sign and also showed me the Brake Pad sign. Gave it to the authorized work shop in Mumbai (India) to change the Brake Pads and check into the ABS sign. With the brake pads the workshop also changed the Brake Discs, which were in a perfect condition and could have worked for another 20,000 odd kms. The ABS sign problem was not resolved at the time of the service.

Now, when the car keeps stalling, the Air on keeps shutting off, I went back to the workshop. They scanned the car by the VAS system and told me that the ABS module has to be replaced. The rough estimate given to me was US$ 2500 approx to change the ABS module. I asked if it could be covered under warranty or insurance, the response was a firm NO.

I dunno what to do now.

- , Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

problem #4

Feb 132015

Jetta 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,573 miles

This 2009 2.5 liter Jetta ABS module cost over $2,000 to fix. Now I see on line that this is a common occurrence. The fact this car is only 6 years old says this is obviously a design flaw. Also does the dealership check all the other things to do before opting to replace the module? Like clean the wheel sensors, and check the wheel bearings? Does not say this on the work order.

Update from Feb 16, 2015: The dealership is Pacific Volkswagen 310-531-9400

- , palos verdes, ca, USA

problem #3

Feb 012014

Jetta GLI 2.0t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

ABS control module failure is a very common problem with MK5 Jetta's and Golf's. VW needs to do the right thing and issue a technical service bulletin before someone gets hurt or even killed. ABS control module failure results in loss of the traction control, ABS and stability control, often when needed most, like approaching a red light in a foot of snow..

- , Montgomery, IL - Illinois, USA

problem #2

Nov 152014

Jetta Wolf 2.0t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,500 miles

I had a similar instance where we were in town and a person merging into traffic decided that he would rather hit us then wait for an opening so I had to hard brake to avoid getting hit. Once it was all said and done, nobody was hit and I successfully avoided him but now my ABS and BRAKE and a sound all happened at once so I thought dang that must have been really bad on the ABS. So I pulled over and shut the car off and waited a few moments and turned the car back on and all the lights were off. That was on Nov. 15ish and there was no snow and now that we have snow today I decided to test and see if I could duplicate the stopping on a slippery road. I was able to get those lights to come back on. Again, if I shut the car off and turn it back on the lights go away. If this is going to be a problem, and if that was my first legit hard brake to avoid a collision, how does then something go bad like that at less than 60K miles? And wouldn't you know, I have no warranty anymore. Its a 2009 VW Jetta with less than 60K miles. It has always been serviced at the dealership and if something happens I always take it in. But after reading an extremely similar story, I am not ready for the outcome. Its not really a wear item so how does something break so easily?

- , Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #1

Aug 122013

Jetta 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,156 miles

THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS PROBLEMS AND THIS CAR WAS IMPORTED TO BRAZIL FROM MEXICO

THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS IN THE WEB ABOU ABS MODULE FAILURE IN JETTA

I THINK VOLKSWAGEN SHOULD REPAIR IT AT NO COST SINCE I HAVE ALWAYS TAKEN MY CAR TO AN OFFICIAL VOLKSWAGEN SHOP FOR ROUTINE CHECK UP

- , Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Not what you are looking for?