Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,092 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

May 022014

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 107,188 miles


Driving on 2nd lane of freeway. Sudden loss of power - all warning lights come on dashboard accompanied by bells and dings. Pulled over to side of road - fortunately traffic not heavy. Engine was still running however no forward movement when pushing accelerator pedal - engine just revved. Turned car off then restarted. Warning lights still flashed but was able to put car into drive and start rolling - vehicle was in "limp" mode however and would not go over 10 mph. Vehicle was towed to dealership where it was diagnosed and the ECU reset. Dealership unable to recreate problem. On 8/16/14 the same thing happened as I was pulling out of my driveway. The vehicle was again towed to dealership where it was diagnosed with a faulty ABS control unit for an estimated $2500.

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #55

Sep 012014


  • 107,000 miles
Driving around city street. Jetta began to lose power and the glow bulb indicator began flashing. After turning off and restarting the car I drove for another two blocks then the glow bulb indicator came on again paired this time with the red battery indicator. After that the car rolled to a stop and would not turn back over.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #54

Apr 012014


  • 120,000 miles
When I approached a red light I pushed the clutch in and started to slow down. I was in the turn lane and there was an opening as I started moving feet from clutch to fuel pedal. The car lurch and came to a stop. The car had died while I was slowing down to get in the turn lane. I have called the VW dealer and they have no idea on why the car did and is still doing this. I don't feel it is safe for me or for my family, I am a firefighter and I really truly believe that the car is going cause an accident or kill us. The car has shut off on its own over twenty times in the last few months. It doesn't happen every time that the clutch is depressed, some days it doesn't do it at all. Other days it is every time or every other stop. When traveling at highways speeds the Jetta lurches like it is out of fuel even thou it has a full tank. All of the cars maintance is up to date per the dealer.

- Auburn , IN, USA

problem #53

Aug 142014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 66,534 miles


Failure of the high pressure fuel pump in a VW Jetta sportswagen tdi. Volkswagen made the repairs under warranty, for which I am appreciative. However, I am concerned it will happen again.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #52

Aug 052014


  • 172,000 miles
Was driving my 2010 VW Jetta sportwagon tdi at approx. 55 miles per hour when my service engine light came on and glow plugs started flashing. Car began to buck as if not getting any fuel through the system. Car stalled out on highway within a minute of the service lights flashing and will not restart. Luckily the cars behind me barely avoided hitting me as there was zero warning. Had to be towed to my garage, expect diagnosis tomorrow but after reading up on other complaints I am pretty sure they will report back that it is a hpfp issue and the system will need replaced.

- Tappahannock, VA, USA

problem #51

Jul 252014

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 50,827 miles
Driving along when a warning light came on( epc) which is electronic power control. On my way to the dealer now.

- Bay Shore , NY, USA

problem #50

Jun 242014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 76,126 miles


2010 Jetta tdi. Driving on road at about 35 mph when car suddenly stalled. Glow plug light flashes, "service engine now" on display. Traffic was light and speed was enough to coast to safe location. Car would not restart. Towed to dealer. Dealer replaced some relay part but.... the very next day same thing. Car died while driving. Same symptoms as above. Again no warning prior to stalling. Towed to dealer. Dealer had car for a few days but could not find or reproduce problem. Checked ground connections as advised from vwoa technical assistance. Returned car to me with a 'let's wait and see' attitude. Third time, about 1500 miles later, same thing. This time on highway traveling at about 45 mph in heavy traffic. Car towed to different dealer. At the moment they can't diagnose or reproduce problem. My opinion is some fault is telling computer to kill engine. As a safety issue, I would think engine should remain running so that I can safely drive off the road and out of traffic and harms way. If this assumption is correct, then there has to be a limited number of reasons why engine should stall, instead of going into 'limp mode.' My research found reference to PE10034, but can't find article. Three times car stalls without warning. All 3 times on road. This is a safety concern, and local dealers seem hesitant to request help from vwoa ta. Dealer 1 did contact vwoa ta for support and guided fault finding didn't find anything. Dealer 2 still has no clue. No mandates on local VW dealers, by vwoa, to keep and share service records beyond warranty period, on national database, so other dealers have no idea what first dealer did. Keeping all dealer service records on national db will help spot issues sooner. Dealer 2 will hopefully ask vwoa ta for support beyond what dealer 1 did. Is there an escalation for this" what are my options"

- Smithtown, NY, USA

problem #49

Oct 012013

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I was driving on the highway and the check engine light came on. The vehicle would not hold speed or accelerate. I pulled off the highway and the vehicle stalled out and would not restart. We replaced the high pressure fuel pump and fuse box. The car still will not start after a new fuel pump and fuse box, and we have been told that the wiring harness needs to be replaced.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #48

Jun 162014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 64,650 miles
2010 VW Jetta sportwagen tdi. Car lost power at highway speeds. "glow plug" indicator illuminated and hud displayed "service immediately." Was able to safely pull over to shoulder. Car would not restart. Had to be towed to nearby dealership. Informed today that high pressure fuel pump (hpfp) had failed and would be covered under extended warranty. Will be without car for 5-10 days. Car is located 1 hour away from home. Rental car was offered, but I would have to get out to dealership to pickup. This is the second occurrence of hpfp failure on vehicle. Similar occurrence (loss of power on highway) happened on March 24, 2011. Again, car was stuck in dealership far from home.

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #47

Jun 102014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 76,000 miles
On 6/7/14 at speed and in traffic car suddenly died, glow plug indicator flashed and service engine immediately message appeared on the dash. Car restarted right away and was able to finish trip without further incident, took to dealer service center and they replaced glow plug and wiring harness. On 6/10/14 also at speed and in traffic car suddenly died once again, glow plug indicator flashed, no message and no check engine light. Once we came to a complete stop, the car restarted and we finish trip without further incident. I have scheduled another appointment with VW service department.

- Rock Springs, WY, USA

problem #46

May 202014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 68,000 miles


I was driving down the road when I accelerated hard and I predndio light of "glow plug" on the panel, the car lost power and was limited to spend two thousand RPM's coming home that was close. I did nothing that night, I followed turning on the light in the panel. The next day I turn it normal, I turned on the light... then it caught me way to work again and I return to my home, I turned on and off and it caught and never turn off. Take it to the VW service center and was told that the pump has fault injection and particulate throughout the fuel system. Tell me that the repair will cost more than 4000 dollars... and the worst is that no warranty.

- Arecibo, PR, USA

problem #45

Oct 012012

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
First incident: Occurred in fall 2012, exact date unknown. Slowing to turn right, vehicle stalled without warning. Power steering was not responding. It was taken to dealership the next day. Vehicle was evaluated, nothing was found. We were told that they could see some sort of power interruption, but could find nothing wrong with any of the systems involved. Second incident: Occurred about 1 months after first incident. While slowing to a stop, intending to make a left turn out of parking lot, again vehicle stalled without warning. Did not take car to dealership, as it had just recently been evaluated. Gas was < 1/8 tank filled, and parking lot exit was on a slight decline, suspected maybe it was related to low fuel, and we tried to keep the car above 1/4 tank full at all times thereafter. Third incident: Occurred 4/29/14. Slowing to pull into a parking space, again engine stalled without warning. I noted that the battery indicator light on the dashboard lit up slightly before or as car was stalling. Power steering failed as well when car stalled. Radio / heater / other electronics seemed unaffected after a brief flicker. Fourth incident: Occurred about 20 minutes later on 4/29/14. Slowing for a stop light, vehicle stalled unexpectedly. Car is due for inspection, appointment in 2 days. Dealership asked to investigate stalling as well.

- Drexel Hill, PA, USA

problem #44

Jan 012010


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the battery warning light illuminated followed by the vehicle stalling. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was awaiting diagnosis of the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Eugene , OR, USA

problem #43

Dec 152013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 48,000 miles
Driving on highway on 12/15/13 and as I accelerated, I lost power and "check engine light" came on. Car fell to 50mph and I exited highway immediately, stopped the car, re-started and the car and light was still on. Showed error code G450 and the "exhaust pressure sensor 1" was replaced by dealer in January 2014. Glow plug light also came on intermittently at that time. Two months later (February, 2014), "glow plug light" came on again intermittently. Turned off car and started it again and light went out. Dealer says P0237 code means intermittent failure of "boost pressure sensor" and "sensor harness". VW advises the car is not drivable due to unpredictable performance of turbocharger on engine performance due to failure of this sensor. The loss of power has been documented widely for this engine (pump, carbonized intake, other?), but VW has accepted no responsibility for the problem. Car is 4 years old with 48,900 miles. Repairs are approaching $1000 at this time.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #42

Dec 292013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 51,848 miles
Came to a stop at a light and the car was fine at first. Then, all of a sudden the rpms started bouncing around and the car turned off. It wouldn't turn on for about a minute and I was able to drive off. The incident has happened again on at least 3 occasions. Name-brand diesel has always been used, full maintenance has been followed including fuel filter replacement and dsg transmission service.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #41

Feb 162014


  • 62,300 miles
I was driving down the street when dash lights came on...within minutes I lost power and eventually my car shut down. My hpfp went out and has sent shards of metal throughout the system. Apparently to the grand total of at least $7500 possibly more. I've been reading and see this is an is with the VW tdi motors I drive a 2010 VW Jetta tdi... at this point the fuel system needs flushed and or replaced I'm questioning the condition of the rest of my motor if metal pieces have been flushed through it.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #40

Jan 142014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 62,131 miles
While driving my 2010 VW Jetta tdi at 45 mph the glow plug light began to flash with no warning and engine power became dramatically reduced. I was unable to maintain speed on a busy roadway and was forced to make an abrupt exit from the road to avoid causing an accident. Using back roads with low speed limits I was able to reach a Volkswagen dealership. After arriving the vehicle could not be restarted. After 3 days of inspection it was determined that the high pressure fuel pump had failed and the metal shavings from the failed pump contaminated the entire fuel system and clogged it with rust. Even though the vehicle was out of warranty, Volkswagen of America covered the cost of the repair which entailed replacing the entire fuel system. The technician informed me that this was a known problem with the type of high pressure fuel pump installed on my car which is why vwoa was covering the repair even though the vehicle was out of warranty and there was no recall. Given the high potential for injury when this known fault occurs, I do not understand why all vehicles (which include all 2010+ Audi and VW tdi engines) that feature this faulty fuel pump have not been subject to a recall to have the problem repaired.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #39

Jan 092014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 143,207 miles
I was driving on the freeway (at speed) on my way to work when my 2010 Jetta tdi suddenly stalled. I was lucky that the engine did not lock up as I would have been rear ended. However, I continued to coast at speed. I was able to coast over to the shoulder. The car would not start. I contacted a tow truck to tow me into the dealership. The dealership informed me that the inter turbo cooler was damaged due to the cold weather. I was also told that due to the cold weather " they had seen this same occurrence at least 4 times that day alone. Upon further research, it appears that a large number of owners in the us have experienced not being able to start, difficulty starting, and engine failure to due water being drawn into the engine from water condensing in the intercooler. Https://"msid=207335707442566723762.0004B73A15cae256F489F&msa=0&iwloc=a this has caused cars to suddenly die while driving on public roads and highways with the potential of suddenly being hit by fast approaching traffic. It also seems evident that Volkswagen has known about this issue since last winter. There appears to be numerous tech bulletins on the subject.

- New Market , MD, USA

problem #38

Jan 112014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 48,300 miles
The car had been parked in the rain for approximately 90 minutes. I started the car and drove slowly through the parking lot. The engine stopped without warning and required that the car be brought to a full stop and the ignition turned off before the car could be started. The car ran fine after being restarted. This is the 6th incident of this kind that I have experienced.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #37

Dec 302013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 26,500 miles
2010 Jetta sedan tdi --> fuel leak --> day prior ran normal. Went to start and did not start. Thought was the battery. Charged emergency starter for 4hr and attempted again with no avail. Called a friend who is a diesel mechanic to help start it. Hooked to his truck and still no start. I noticed wet underneath the front passenger wheel and thought nothing of it since it was parked on the street, so water possibly. It started to snow. Went and purchased a new battery. Installed the battery, after battery install still did not start. Attempted 2 more times. Since it was not the battery he began to look elsewhere while I attempted to start and yelled at me to stop. I go to the front of the auto and he shows me where the diesel is pulsating out and that is why it is not starting, it is not getting to the engine. I then look around the car and with the snow, I then notice a long green path of diesel fuel along the road. I called VW, paid the 84$ to tow to VW dealer and they could not look at it until a week later. My concern is the gas leak. I should technically have over 54K on the vehicle, I am not even close to those others for sale on the market. I am not upset since no bodily harm was done, however the leak is in great amount. I do recall a couple of days earlier that I was going through gas quicker. I fill 1X a month, with 4 days I was through a quarter of a tank but it did not click. This is me notifying you of my gas leak. The car never started and there was no fire but there is concern due to the leak. My mechanic friend stated that he had no idea what the part was called that was shooting out the fuel and to take to a authorized VW dealer which I did. I still have 5 days till they can even look at my car.

- Silvis, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?