Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,012 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Mar 122016

Jetta

  • 66,793 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. While shifting the vehicle between the park, reverse, and drive positions, the vehicle made an abnormal noise without warning. In addition, when the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,793.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #26

Nov 232015

Jetta

  • 75,000 miles
Transmission jerking from 1st to 2nd gear set off glow plug/check engine light. Turned off ignition. Warning light reset. Jerking continued in gear 1st to 2nd and 3rd to 4th.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #25

Aug 202015

Jetta

  • 113,600 miles
The car lost power while going uphill and would only reach speeds of about 20mph on a 40mph road. The car check engine light had come on about a month before. I was told there was a problem with the high pressure fuel pump and it would need to be replaced but the car would be safe to drive until it stopped powering up to top speed.

- San Clemente , CA, USA

problem #24

Jul 012012

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2010 Jetta wolfsburg 2.0 turbo. I have had nothing but problems with it and the dealer can't seem to help me. The doors won't lock or unlock consistently with the key fob. When I lock it, the horn beeps to let me know the alarm is on, but the doors don't lock! not even manually. If I open the door, the alarm sounds, but the doors won't lock! the touchscreen radio made a popping sound about 5 days ago and went completely black. The radio is hooked up to the car's blue tooth so that is not working either. No hands free talking for me! I also paid a lot of money to have a lifetime subscription to sirius satellite radio for that car. That sucks! the blinkers don't work properly. If I put my left blinker on, the right one goes on and vice versa. My expensive key, broke off in the ignition randomly. The car stalls while idling. The gas pedal gets stuck in the "up" position causing me to lose acceleration on the highway and barely be able to move. My check engine light is constantly going on and off for no apparent reason. It is one thing after another. The car is only 4 yrs old! these are safety issues that it seems lots of VW owners are having. Having no locking doors, or doors that won't unlock, no alarm, no radio/bluetooth, faulty blinkers, and a sticky gas pedal are all dangerous! I left my car at the dealer for a whole day and they said "hmmmm......it's a mystery" um....what! from what I can see, I should be expecting my car battery to die any day now due to the radio. Lemon!

- Coventry, RI, USA

problem #23

Dec 122013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 57,000 miles
I drive a 2010 VW Jetta sportwagen tdi and two days ago, while driving ~75 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost power. I was on a highway and this put my life in great danger. Fortunately, I was able to get the car safely to service. They said I had used bad diesel. They flushed the fuel and changed the fuel filter and charged me $700. The next day, the same thing happened on the highway. I lost power and again my life was in great danger. Twice, my VW let me down...nearly gravely! sadly, the drama continues. The car is now at a new repair shop. Neither repair shop know what the problem is. But from a simple internet search, I have found the problem: This is a recurring problem with this model. This is very clearly related to NHTSA campaign id number: EA11003.

- Redwood City, CA, USA

problem #22

Oct 022013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 51,300 miles
While I was driving, I heard a loud whining sound coming from the engine compartment. The sound was directly related to my depressing the accelerator. I pulled over and was unable to see a problem with belt or oil level. I resumed driving to recreate the sound and noticed the vehicle was sluggish and unresponsive in terms of acceleration. While I was traveling at approximately 65-70 miles per hour, the vehicle jerked and seemed to lose power. I was in heavy traffic at the time in the number one lane and noticed that the engine had completely stalled. Multiple vehicles had to make evasive maneuvers as I drove to the closest shoulder of the road. I was unable to start the vehicle again once I pulled to the side of the road. This is major issue in the design of the high pressure fuel pump and poses a safety risk to those driving gut vehicles at speed.

- Sherwood Forest, CA, USA

problem #21

Aug 072013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

VW Jetta sportswagen tdi 2010 53,000 miles. On Aug 7, 2013 at approximately 16:20, while stopped at a traffic signal, engine begins to run slightly roughly, but not sufficient to be of concern. Accelerate from traffic signal towards onramp to I195. Suddenly engine dies (before onramp). Coast car into parking lot at side of road. Total time from beginning of rough idle to engine shutdown was about 10-15 seconds. Had failure occurred on interstate I195 or I95 during rush hour, this would have been a dangerous condition -- possible stranding of car in a travel lane or dangerous crossing in front of faster moving traffic to reach shoulder. Called for tow and car towed at about 19:00 to VW dealer - West broad Volkswagen in richmond va. Dealership is closed so leave car at dealer. Spouse drives from home about 100 miles to pick me up. Reach home by 23:30. On Aug 8 dealer diagnoses as a failed high pressure fuel pump (tdi diesel engine) with metal particles throughout the fuel system. Vwoa tech line indicates that entire fuel system needs to be replaced. Car is out of warranty, but dealer asks vwoa to cover part or all of cost. On Aug 9 vwoa approves repair and agrees to pay in full. Work completed on Aug 12.

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #20

Mar 112013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 50,000 miles
This 2010 VW Jetta tdi occasionally stalls at speeds of less than ~30 mph and surges violently when starting from a stop and slowing to a stop. In a span of 3 months the vehicle has stalled 5 times, 3 times while beginning to move from a stop and 2 times while traveling at a speeds of less than 30 mph. The surging happens frequently but inconsistently. The vehicle has been brought to a VW dealer/mechanic to address these issues and the problem persists. The last time it went in to the dealer, the mechanic replaced the flywheel stating that it was the reason for the surging, however the stalling and surging remain a problem since the flywheel has been replaced. The vehicle has an automatic transmission and has never been filled with gasoline.

- Girdwood, AK, USA

problem #19

Jul 222013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Since the vehicle was purchased it has had rough acceleration and intermittent surging but just recently it has exhibited rough and no starts along with stalls which all seems to be due to an issue with the ECU losing diagnostic communication with the vehicle.

- Linden, MI, USA

problem #18

May 162013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 91,000 miles
Driving at 40 miles per hour, as I accelerated to pass on the left, the car went into limp mode and accelerated in slow motion, it took about 1/2 mile to get up to 45 mph. Then I noticed the dashboard light came on while I was still driving, now attempting to get on to the interstate. Accelerating at abnormally slow speeds, it took about a mile to get up to 60. I then determined from the manual that the light was a "glow plug" light. I called the dealer and they informed me I could continue driving the car, but I should bring it to them right away. The car drove for approximately 6 miles, at which time the red battery light came on, and the car completely died. I had to cross two lanes of travel in order to get to the shoulder of the road. By the time the tow truck came, my local dealer was closed, and I was forced to call a local repair shop owner that works on nothing but vws and Audi's. (this shop is trusted, and has worked on my vehicles for 8+ years). He diagnosed it as fuel pump problem, and confirmed that it was only diesel in the tank. I contacted VW usa, who wanted to take no action and stated that there was no restitution, nor would they take any action unless inspected and diagnosed by a dealer. Sadly, VW obviously is aware they have a recurring problem, and this pump seems to be either on back-order or hoarded by the dealers, thus made unavailable. At the current time, my local repair shop is working diligently to find a pump somewhere in North America.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #17

May 162013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving at 40 miles per hour, as I accelerated to pass on the left, the car went into limp mode and accelerated in slow motion, it took about 1/2 mile to get up to 45 mph. Then I noticed the dashboard light came on while I was still driving, now attempting to get on to the interstate. Accelerating at abnormally slow speeds, it took about a mile to get up to 60. I then determined from the manual that the light was a "glow plug" light. I called the dealer and they informed me I could continue driving the car, but I should bring it to them right away. The car drove for approximately 6 miles, at which time the red battery light came on, and the car completely died. I had to cross two lanes of travel in order to get to the shoulder of the road. By the time the tow truck came, my local dealer was closed, and I was forced to call a local repair shop owner that works on nothing but vws and Audi's. (this shop is trusted, and has worked on my vehicles for 8+ years). He diagnosed it as fuel pump problem, and confirmed that it was only diesel in the tank. I contacted VW usa, who wanted to take no action and stated that there was no restitution, nor would they take any action unless inspected and diagnosed by a dealer. Sadly, VW obviously is aware they have a recurring problem, and this pump seems to be either on back-order or hoarded by the dealers, thus made unavailable. At the current time, my local repair shop is working diligently to find a pump somewhere in North America.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #16

May 012013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 113,000 miles
While in drive on the highway at 70 mph, dsg transmission slipped into neutral, where it became locked. Esp icon on dash illuminated. I had to coast to the side of the road in heavy traffic. After coming to a stop I put the vehicle into park. I was then unable to remove the vehicle from park because the shifter became locked. I turned the vehicle off, and restarted it, and that seemed to fix it; as I was then able to shift into drive. During this, I had my 10 month old and 4 yr old in the car with me...a scary and unsafe situation with heavy and fast moving traffic, while left stuck revving in neutral with no power available to move me out of harms way. Just glad I was able to maneuver my vehicle over to safety. Similar situation happened after refueling that same day. Started car, shifted to drive, esp icon came on, transmission was stuck and revving in neutral, even though I was in drive. Shifted into park, where it again became locked and unable to shift. Turned vehicle off and back on, and was ok.

- Pennington, NJ, USA

problem #15

Sep 012012

Jetta

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that while shifting from drive to park, the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact stated that the door locks on the rear passenger door failed. The vehicle was not inspected at dealer or repair shop. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, however no assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 35,000. The current mileage was 44,000.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #14

Jan 162012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the contact attempted to accelerate and the vehicle did not respond. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic testing where the technician stated that there were no failures. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the same failure on several occasions. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 21,758. Updated 2/25/2013

- Oley, PA, USA

problem #13

Nov 272012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 55,000 miles
The car abruptly decelerated from 65 to 35 mph on a major interstate as the engine went into 'limp mode'. the sudden deceleration caused swerving and I had to pull over to the curb in order to avoid an accident. The coil/check engine light turned on and car hesitated as it drove. This is the third incident that this car has had with the exhaust problem causing engine to force deceleration and abrupt stopping even stalling. The system this time diagnosed a defective exhaust control module/flap. The previous emissions issue while the car was under warranty involved defective egr valves. Problem seems to show up every 10-15K miles on this diesel model.

- Watertown, MA, USA

problem #12

Dec 122012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 60,000 miles
I was driving on the highway doing about 55 miles an hour with full traffic and my Jetta sputtered and began to lose speed-quickly, I tried to accelerate by pressing gas pedal but nothing happened and I luckily coasted into store parking lot. I tried to restart it but it would not restart. I had it towed to VW dealership and they called me the next day to say it was the intercoolant system and it would be $1300. Very very lucky I was not hit.

- Tampico, IL, USA

problem #11

Apr 192012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 33,300 miles
This vehicle is a diesel. As I was pressing the accelerator to increase my speed from a construction zone speed to 55 mph the engine light came on, the car began to sputter and acted as if no fuel was being injected to the engine, as I pulled off the road the car kept running but if I pressed the accelerator nothing would happen, no movement on the RPM indicator. I was able to get the car off the highway via the exit ramp. It started up and immediately the warning message came across the vehicle information screen to service immediately and I can't recall the exact wording but basically saying damage could occur. Car was towed for service. Car was fixed on 4/24/2012 replacing the accelerator pedal sensor and the engine speed sensor. Prior to this major malfunction, the car had died while in traffic twice at a red traffic light, twice while on the freeway. All occasions the vehicle restarted and drove just fine. Vehicle was serviced for routine 40000 nothing found amiss by mechanic. Just recently on 7/12/2012 died @ a red light. Vehicle started up fine and no messages on the screen. 7/19/2012 vehicle would not go into gear after stopping for 20 minutes, turned car off and restarted it went into gear no problem. On 7/28/2012 vehicle again died @ a red light, started up just fine, no warning messages.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #10

Jul 182011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Unexpected acceleration on cruise control. When the cruise control is set, pressing the 'coast/decelerate' button several times causes the cruise control unit to jump by several mph, I.e. accelerate. Example: Cruise is set at 55 mph. Press the coast button three or four times (car should decelerate by 1 mph for each press of the button), the cruise speed will set at a higher speed, such as 58 mph. This can be observed by looking at the display which shows the speed at which the cruise control is set, as well as the acceleration of the car. This behavior can be easily replicated and demonstrated, though it does not occur every time. This has been observed for the past several months.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #9

Apr 142010

Jetta

  • 5,857 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta sportwagen. The contact stated that after the vehicle came to a stop and she applied the accelerator pedal the vehicle would not move. It took her about four to five seconds before the vehicle would respond but it did not stall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who ran a diagnostic test but could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was driven by two people within the same family and the failure occurred more than one time. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 5,857.

- Daytona Beach, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 192010

Jetta

  • 7,000 miles
While parking a Jetta 2010, the car was almost stopped then rapidly accelerated. Brake was on, but the car accelerated extremely fast, could not stop the vehicle. The vehicle slammed into a brick wall. The airbags did not deploy.

- Kingston, IL, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?