Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,702 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 5 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #86

Apr 282012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The vehicle was parked when the contact noticed flames coming from under the hood area. The fire department was called to extinguish the fire. The manufacturer was contacted and sent an engineer to inspect the vehicle and determine a cause of failure. The engineer discovered that there were leaves in the engine, caused by rodent infestation, which resulted in the fire. The contact stated that prior to the failure, the vehicle was repaired under a voluntary recall for the fuel system. The contact was concerned that the recall could have been related to the fire and did not agree with the engineer's findings. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000. Updated 07/06/12 updated 07/16/12

- Marlborough, CT, USA

problem #85

Oct 012011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics. The technicians were unable to diagnose the failure. The failure recurred intermittently. There was an investigation under NHTSA action number EA11003 (fuel system, diesel) that could possibly have been related to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 03/21/12 updated 03/23/12.

- Menomonee, WI, USA

problem #84

Feb 022012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 39,000 miles
When slowing down to a stop the car hesitates while idling and then when you start to press the gas pedal to go it hesitates more and almost stalls. The cooling fan seems to run excessively after turning off motor.

- Cresco, PA, USA

problem #83

May 312010

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle occasionally stumbles as if experiencing fuel starvation. Seems to happen when vehicle is on an incline. If stopped, engine will quit when clutch is engaged.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #82

Jan 062012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 46,947 miles
2010 volkswagon Jetta stalled and would not restart. Dealer found metal in the fuel system and replaced complete fuel system per vta case #[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mansfield, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #81

Jan 072012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 66,000 miles
Driving southbound on interstate I-75 at approximately 12:30am vehicle suddenly lost power and engine stalled out. Vehicle was able to make it off interstate safely and coast to a stop five miles from our exit. Vehicle would not restart at all, engine would crank over but not start. The vehicle was towed to dealership later that morning. This is the second incident of vehicle losing power and not being able to restart it. First incident was approximately six months prior to this one. There have been only two drivers for this vehicle and there has been no issue of cross contamination of fuels. The vehicle is a 2010 tdi Jetta.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #80

Dec 222011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 24,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle quit on a main street going up a bridge rise. Had he car taken to the dealer where we purchased from. Service manager said there was a large amount of metal found in the filter element. They where sending fuel samples to VW for analysis. Three days later they gave me a rental car for 10 days. They are replacing everything in the fuel system, including the tank.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #79

Nov 282011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 44,000 miles
Driving in heavy traffic at 45 mph the car dash dinged, I looked down and immediately the car lost power. I was almost in multiple accidents as the car slowed rapidly without brake lights (the car engine stopped so suddenly that it took three or four seconds to comprehend the situation and activate hazard lights and take appropriate action) to warn other cars that I no longer have power. Also, to try and move out of harms way was extremely difficult as the car had no engine power. The car was eventually towed to the dealer where they determined that metal from the fuel pump was in the entire fuel system.

- Spring Lake, NJ, USA

problem #78

Nov 072011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 34,143 miles
3 miles from home glow light starts blinking......not in limp mode I get home switch off wait.....take it for a quick spin no more flashing light or problem. Next day drive 130 miles to portland no problem. I then start out for beaverton and the light starts blinking again turn off again starts no problem but then the light comes on again. I then take it to dealer they take a look and replace the tank fuel pump.... I then drive it back to portland no problem until almost at my hotel light starts blinking and limp mode. Next day manage to just make it back to dealer they give me a rental and order in a valve or sensor not sure. Car is ready late the next day so I prefer to pick up to sat morning.sat morning I get less than 1 mile from dealer and the warning lights starts again and limp mode take it back. Following Monday I get a call to order in some parts, next day I get another call that they are replacing the entire fuel system. Replaced the entire diesel fuel system 26+ components under warranty. Got car back on the 23rd of November 2011.

- Cottage Grove, OR, USA

problem #77

Nov 252011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 17,000 miles
Car engine died on the highway. Coasted to side of road. High pressure fuel pump failure. Entire fuel system being replaced. Metal shavings throughout fuel system.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #76

Nov 232011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle developed a fuel leak as a result of fuel rail failure of the parts recalled per Volkswagen recall campaign number is 23J9/V5 & 23J8/K5. Dealer performed recall replacing number 2 fuel line, but remaining oem parts of the fuel rail system now exhibit substantial corrosion, including visible rust and pitting. Recall notice not yet received as off 56 days after recall was announced.

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #75

Nov 172011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 47,100 miles
I was exiting the freeway when my car lost power..the glow plug light started flashing and the service engine now light came on...car ran for maybe another 2 mins at the freeway exit light then died as I made my way to the other side of the road...I opened the fuel filter canister before I towed it to VW..I found the fuel filter to be full of metal shavings..no rust or cloudy fuel...just metal shavings VW dealer claimed the high pressure fuel pump failed and contaminated the entire fuel system. This is a major design flaw!!!

- Saratoga Springs , UT, USA

problem #74

Nov 122011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 16,858 miles
Noticed diesel leakage around the second valve of my tdi engine. None of the other valves on the 4 cylinder engine demonstrated leakage. No cracking of the fuel lines.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #73

Oct 212011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the technician stated that the high pressure fuel pump would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 12/16/11 updated 01/20/12

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #72

Oct 232011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 9,403 miles
While driving through a busy downtown, our car suddenly lost power and would not restart. It was towed to the nearest VW dealership. The next day, we were told that the problem was related to a failure of the high pressure fuel pump. The service manager said the fuel pump had "come apart" and sent metal shards throughout the entire fuel system. When asked why this would happen he stated that "it wasn't the kind of thing that you could have done anything to avoid or prevent". at the time, we were not aware of the federal investigation and did not ask any further questions. The car was at the dealership for 5 business days and most of the fuel system had to be replaced (filters, pipes, hoses, pump, fuel distributor, etc.). when we tried to get more information from a corporate customer service representative later in the week (after we learned of the investigation), he denied any problems with the fuel pump but did say that our failure appeared not to be caused by contaminated diesel. He refused to comment further on the situation and would not tell us whether or not the pump had been redesigned since our vehicle was made. When we picked up our car the service manager was also "unsure" whether or not the pump had been redesigned. Needless to say, we are still very concerned about the safety of our car and we?re thinking about trading it in. It was a very frightening and frustrating experience.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #71

Oct 152011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that the vehicle was burning more fuel than normal. The contact discovered that the vehicle was leaking fuel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic that located the failure at the fuel line where the fuel circulation failed. The failure and the current mileage was 44,000. The consumer stated the manufacturer sent three notices that the vehicle was included in the recall. The vehicle was repaired in October 2011. Updated 01/04/12

- Hagerstown , MD, USA

problem #70

Sep 292010

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 14,734 miles
09/29/11 4:30 pm 2010 Jetta 14,734 miles od. Just cut off at 50 mph in traffic. Started to loose power then it cut off. Then all [xxx] broke loose. It ( baby car) cut of without warning. Looked down, saw @ glow plug light@ flash then coasted over to the side of the road. Took VW tow 1 hr to arrive (kids were in the car I was blocking the bus lane). It cost me $ $20 worth of crap at rite-aid to sooth the beasts, kids while waiting. I called cerritos mckenna VW and tim (my reg service writer) said he knew what is was and it rarely happened it is the fuel pump explodes and sends metal chips throughout the fuel system. He said he would wait for us. When I got there[xxx] (my reg guy) was gone, no where to be found. Henry (new guy, I think/know I have bra's older then this kid) helped me out and said. Oh yeah, this happens all the time a design flaw on the tdi's and they know all about it. I will take 3 days to get the parts. First, he tried to say that it is because I had it serviced it somewhere else. Wrong looked at the records I have only had it worked on at cerritos mckenna VW and further more I have had the oil change every 5000 no matter what. I only by diesel at shell / union 76 and no one else drives baby car, not even the hubby. He hates the car maybe he knew something I did not but I will not let him know he was right.. never...this car hogs up the garage, now she is in the car port status no longer baby car but Jetta car or bad car. Cerritosvw mckenna has had baby car 7 days and counting. You mark my words if this car dies one more time I will dump it at carmax. I will lower and drive the Grand Caravan 2007 (no problems ever). I spent 35,000 on this baby car aka Jetta wetta and only have 14,743 miles @@on it. That is what makes me mad and then it is made in flipping Mexico. This is not a Daewoo. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Stanton, CA, USA

problem #69

Sep 032011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 30,569 miles
Vehicle stalled in right lane of traffic and would not restart. Location had no shoulder and did not allow vehicle to be moved out of traffic. Towed to dealer and told that the high pressure fuel pump had failed and that a common cause was gas in diesel. Our other two vehicles are also diesel so we are used to selecting diesel fuel. (later test by dealer showed no indication of gas in fuel) there was an crash involving two other vehicles trying to get around our disabled vehicle. I did not know if this counted as a crash above.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #68

Aug 192011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Imploding high pressure fuel pump.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #67

Aug 302011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 29,217 miles
High pressure fuel pump failure per dealer.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?