Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,111 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments

problem #13

Apr 292016

Jetta

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that the electrical system was defective and caused electrical failures in several areas. The front passenger side low and high beam headlights and the turn signals failed. In addition, the driver side brake, tail light, and day time running lights failed. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #12

Feb 082016

Jetta

  • 70,000 miles
First noticed the rear passenger backup light not working. 1 stop and a few minutes later the passenger headlight went out. After returning home 15 minutes later the entire passenger side except the taillight was out. After searching on the internet fuse F16 has a known issue of melting both the fuse and the fuse box. Sure enough after removing and inspecting, the passenger side of the fuse has begun to melt and the female fuse terminals and plastic fuse box around the connection have all started to melt. Turning the fuse around has gotten the lights working again for tonight, but will likely need to replace the entire fuse box as a permanent fix.

- O'fallon, MO, USA

problem #11

Sep 012015

Jetta

  • 53,000 miles
The tail lights and brake lights were not working. Discovered during annual state required inspection in September 2015. I was driving the vehicle regularly on rural, city and highway roads without tail and brake lights and was unaware. A repair to the electrical wiring was required. Addtionally, the trunk latch was only working intermittently prior to this repair. Since the wiring repair was made, I have had no issues with the trunk release not working. The rear passenger door on the drivers side doesn't lock and unlock when you depress the keyfob or the button in the car to lock all the doors. This is a very infrequently used door and it is the door used the least in the vehicle. Dealer states it is a bad door latch. I have not repaired it. It doesn't always open from the outside, sometimes I have to reach in and open it from the inside to get the door open. On 01.12.2016 the car radio stopped working. The fuses are good and intact. The bluetooth no longer works since the radio doesn't work. It is completely out of service, nothing works on the radio. I relied heavily on the bluetooth for hands free phone calls since the vehicle is manual transmission. Vehicle was stationary when discovered. Vehicle has approximately 55,000 miles on it.

- Annville, PA, USA

problem #10

Dec 092015

Jetta

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Multiple lights suddenly quit working. Found the F16 fuse melted as well as fuse box where it sits. This is second time to replace fuse in 4 months, first time melted this bad.

- Meridian, MS, USA

problem #9

Aug 142014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 78,000 miles
Vehicle is equipped with an rcd 510 2din touchscreen radio (delphi premium - 8). Hands free operation comes through this system. On the morning of 8/14/14 I started my car and the radio system was dead. Totally dead, as if there is no power getting to it whatsoever. I checked all fuses (engine compartment, interior of car and the 15 amp fuse located in rear of the radio) and all were fine. It may be a coincidence, but my left headlight has burned out twice in the last 6 months, most recently in early August 2014. In addition, my sirius annual subscription ended on the exact day of the radio dying.

- Marlton, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Jul 142014

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 35,800 miles
Drivers side tail light and turn signal indicator does not function. VW diagnosed the problem to be a faulty J519 power control unit. The wv dealer's service supervisor indicated this a common problem and the replacement part has progressed through 5-6 evolutions and VW still can't remedy the issue. J519 part costs $550 plus $150 labor. Seems like an excessive cost for a faulty tail light.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #7

Apr 052014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 82,580 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Multiple light out warning signal, apparently the fuse box melted. This should not happen!

- Ridgefield, CT, USA

problem #6

Aug 072013

Jetta

  • 53,500 miles
I bought my 2010 Jetta used in June 2013. A month after I purchased it, I noticed the A/C was not working. I returned it to the dealer and they confirmed that the A/C compressor wasn't working. They installed a new one and I didn't have a problem until 8/7/13. I went out to start my car and noticed I had a light on my dashboard. I got out of the car and noticed my right front passenger side headlight out. I walked around and noticed the drivers side rear tail light was also out. I got home and when I shut the car off and turned it back on, the light on the dash was out, and all my exterior lights were working. It was around this time I noticed a burning smell whenever I exited the car, but I couldn't' pinpoint where it was coming from. I didn't have another issue until 10/25/14 when I was visiting friends 30 miles away. I went to leave, and when I started my car I once again had the light on the dash, so I got out and noticed the same lights were once again out. I had to drive on the highway like this, but thankfully while I was driving they all came back on. The car was fine until 12/14/13 when I went out to start my car in the morning and once again the same lights were out. The last time I had an issue with this was 1/7/14, in the middle of a blizzard. I got out of work and started my car to clear snow off it, and everything was fine. It wasn't until I turned the headlights on that I noticed the light on the dash was on indicating I had a light out somewhere. I got out and noticed that in addition to the same headlight and tail light being out, the license plate lights were also out. By the time I could get in the car they were all working again. I took it to the dealership and they confirmed the 30 amp fuse had overheated and caused the fusebox to melt (hence the burning smell). $500 later my car is hopefully fixed. Thankfully the car didn't burn to the ground.

- Sagamore Beach, MA, USA

problem #5

Nov 012013

Jetta

  • 52,000 miles
Head and taillights stopped working. Melted fuse box.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #4

Jul 112013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 92,368 miles
While starting my car and getting ready for work I noticed I had a headlamp out. I thought I could drive to work safely so, I started my commute. However, on stopping to get coffee I noticed I had taillights out and upon further testing brake lights were failing to. I stopped at a autoparts store to replace the tail lights and noticed that I had lost the other headlamp and backup lights. I decided to park the car and call the dealership for advice. I had the car towed (to dangerous to drive) to the dealership and at that time it was diagnosed of having a burned fuse panel box. It was replaced for a total of $533.11 dollars. The reason I am reporting this is I read an article in my local newspaper (zanesville times recorder)about the same thing happening in VW tiguans. I wanted to bring to light that it is happening in VW Jetta's also. My car is a 2010 VW Jetta diesel. The high mileage is due to a 110 mile round trip daily commute. I have the burned fuse box panel in my possession if you would like it for inspection.

- Zanesville, OH, USA

problem #3

Nov 052013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle failed to start so it was jumpstarted with no problems then taken to get the battery tested. The battery, alternator, and starter all tested ok. Then warning lights indicating that the right headlamp and right rear taillamp illuminated then went out. Vehicle was driven to the dealer and they determined that a part of the fuse box had melted. Upon further inspection a 30amp fuse for the brake lights had melted into the fuse panel, but had not popped the fuse.

- Hobart, WA, USA

problem #2

Oct 142013

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 34,400 miles
Exterior lights on both sides of vehicle failed to operate in the dark. Entire fuse box had to be replaced (out of warranty) though VW did agree to pay for the part since the vehicle has not been out for too long.

- Dripping Springs , TX, USA

problem #1

Nov 192012

Jetta

  • 49,800 miles
On Monday, 11-19, after work I noticed that the bulb indicator light was in on the dashboard. I got out and walked around the car to see what went out and could not find anything. After getting back in I saw that the light was off. The next day when my husband got in the car the same incident happened. Later that same day I drove the car and the light came on. As I turned into a fuel station the turn signal began to flash quickly (indicating the turn signal was out). After I refuel the lights all came back on. No problems were noticed until Thursday, 11-22, when my husband started the car and the indicator light was on and he got out to check and the passenger turn signals was out, along with the passenger headlight, and the whole driver side tail light assembly is out.

- Calhoun, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?