Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,239 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Jun 272012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,517 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact was traveling 70 mph with the cruise control activated when the transmission lost power. The check engine light illuminated after the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the dealer confirmed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 92,517. Updated 08/07/12 updated 08/07/12

- Stratford, WI, USA

problem #23

Aug 052011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
I have a 2010 VW Jetta tdi with dsg automatic transmission. Vehicle has 15K miles on it thus far. When pulling out onto a street from a complete stop there is a definite and hazardous hesitation before the vehicle will move forward. This issue existed since the car was new. Sometimes the hesitation is very short before the car will move, other times it takes the car a moment as if the car has to "think" about what it is supposed to do. When I push the accelerator pedal the car just sits there! the longer hesitations are fairly frequent and are a danger to other vehicles, my family and myself. I don't trust this car to be able to quickly move out of harm's way in an emergency and also don't trust it to pull onto a street in front of any other vehicle no matter how far away the other vehicle is down the road. It's just not safe to do so! VW should be forced to address this problem and provide a fix for this common issue and complaint that can be read about on various VW forums all over the internet. No injuries yet from this issue with my vehicle because I know better than to try to pull out into oncoming traffic.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #22

Jul 212011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 33,000 miles
My 2010 VW Jetta sports wagon with the dsg automatic is currently having a severe hesitation when starting from a stop. I let off the break and step on the gas and it does not move for a second then lurches forward. This is dangerous when pulling out in traffic. It seems as the car drives longer it get worse. The car has stalled during this hesitation as well. When it stalls you have to put the car in park then turn the key off and restart the car. This is a very uneasy feeling while at an intersection. The car also lurches forward when coming to a complete stop, this has almost made me hit a car in front of me. This is a daily issue.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #21

Jun 182011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 8,004 miles


Car nearly stalls, and then when stepping on the gas, the RPM rises really high to 4000 RPM, then the gear shifts into 1st causing the car to dangerously lurch forward. This can cause a collision. It also has a very noticeable delay to shift out of neutral to 1st gear, so when making a left turn at an intersection, this can be dangerous as well. The car has been in the shop twice for the same problems. This will be the third attempt to fix the problem.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #20

Jul 202010


  • 3,000 miles
My car is a 2010 VW Jetta tdi with dsg transmission. I took delivery of the car in January of 2010. During July of last year with 3000 miles on the car, I drove the car out of a parking lot on a 95 F degree afternoon. By the time I reached the exit ramp the transmission, which was in drive mode, had shifted into second gear. My intention was to cross over the near lane of traffic into the far lane going in the opposite direction. When a safe interval appeared I stepped on the throttle but the car moved ahead very slowly (into the lane of fast moving cars) pressing the throttle further had no effect. I took my foot off the throttle and pressed down again and the car responded normally. It seemed at the time that the transmission had not shifted down into first gear when I had stopped at the driveway exit. The slow speed lasted for about ten seconds and the engine did not lug. The dealer said all dsg problems had been addressed and Jettas in my VIN number series did not register any new transmission problems on the VW service web site. I am concerned because of the potential for a disastrous accident when my wife or I try to enter high speed traffic should this problem re-occur. I had called your phone line after the event and was given "call reference number 281881, confirmation number 10346067". and told that I would receive a report form by regular mail but I never have so I thought I should complete the online form. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Barnegat, NJ, USA

problem #19

Nov 262009


  • 2,000 miles
When 2010 VW Jetta with dsg transmission downshifts engine continues to have higher RPM's creating a jerking effect when decelerating. When going from reverse to drive after coming to a complete stop vehicle engine dies. Only way to start vehicle is to turn ignition off and remove key and then restart vehicle. When stopped at red light vehicle engine died upon pressing accelerator. Only way to restart vehicle is to turn ignition off, remove key and then restart vehicle. Failures occur at least once a day whether vehicle is warmed up or a cold engine. No common time causes failure. Vehicle was brought in to dealer two times for same failure but was unable to be duplicated by dealer. Third time vehicle was brought in to dealer, failure was able to be duplicated. Machatronic unit was ordered for transmission but problem not yet completed. Failures began at approximately 2000 miles and have continually and gradually become more extreme and frequent. Vehicle now has 20000 miles.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #18

Jul 072010

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles


My 2010 VW Jetta dsg automatic transmission I experience a lot of strange shifting patterns when driving the car the transmission was shifting upwards of 7000+ RPM I took it in for service and made the complaint and they loaded some new parameters in the computer to put it back to normal but I still get intermittent shifting.and when coming to a stop sometimes the car feels like its stuck in neutral meaning you step on the gas to go and there's an hesitation. I feel there is a problem with this transmission and just feel that I should report this for it could cause a safety issue if there's a sudden acceleration or the car fails to move at all when pulling out into traffic.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #17

Oct 262010


  • 15 miles
Dsg transmission is slow to engage 1st gear when starting from a full stop. This has caused several near accidents when pulling out into traffic from stop signs or redlights. There is a 2 second delay from stepping on gas pedal to car moving. Transmission also feels like it is searching for correct gear when cruising resulting in momentary loss of momentum. This model is after 2009S recall for similar issues. Problem has been reported to dealer and reply was that's just the way it is, but it's entered in vws database so they can track it.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #16

Jul 072010


  • 5,100 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta sportwagen tdi with a dsg automatic transmission. While the vehicle was stopped at a traffic light and the accelerator pedal was depressed the vehicle would not move for approximately three seconds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on two occasions who stated that they could not find the problem. The vehicle was under warranty and not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 5,100.

- Lookout Mountain, TN, USA

problem #15

Aug 252010

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 380 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. While the contact was driving approximately 50 mph, the transmission began to hesitate in a jerking motion. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they informed that the transmission functioned normally. In addition, on a separate occasion the transmission slipped and the gears would not shift properly. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the technician was unable to locate a problem. There was a recall associated with the NHTSA campaign id number 09V333000 (power train: Automatic transmission). The recall specified that the vehicle must be manufactured between September 2008 and August 2009. The vehicle production year was not included in the recall. The contact experienced the identical safety defect as mentioned in the recall. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 380. Updated 01/04/11 the consumer took the vehicle to another dealership where they replaced a faulty computer chip. The vehicle is now operating as designed. Updated 01/10/11.

- Dunnellon, FL, USA

problem #14

Jul 132010


  • 100 miles


I've a 2010 VW Jetta wagon tdi, it stalls out, mostly at low idle and on hills sometimes. It also doesn't engage sometimes in forward and once it does it lurches. I've been told it's the shifting and that there is no problem with the car. I took the car in three times to have VW look at it and they said there were no issues all three times.

- Mercer Island, WA, USA

problem #13

Aug 282010


  • 4,500 miles
1. the dsg transmission in my Jetta sport wagon was un safely lurching forward and shifting harshly from day one. 2. the failure happened when trying to merge onto the freeway and it would not shift and was slowing as if something was wrong. After turning off the vehicle, I tried to start it again hoping it would reset. The transmission was locked and the car would not move. 3. I am waiting for parts to arrive from germany but still do not have the car back and to be honest, don't want it.

- Santa Cruz, CA, USA

problem #12

Jul 102010


  • 3,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact was attempting to accelerate from a complete stop however the vehicle was very slow to increase in speed until the contact released his foot from the accelerator pedal. The contact then depressed the accelerator and the vehicle resumed normal operation. The dealer advised that he was not familiar with the type of failure. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The failure and current mileages were 3,500.

- Barnegat, NJ, USA

problem #11

May 122010


  • 1,190 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I purchased a new 2010 VW Jetta SE on 1/28/10. VIN [xxx]. current mileage on vehicle is less than 1300 miles. Car has a automatic - dsg transmission. In mid may of 2010 I began having severe problems with the transmission locking into 3, 4 gears while in drive especially when entering traffic from a start.. this creates a severe power reduction from a start and can be life threating, and cause involvement in broad side accident while entering the flow of traffic. Transmission also jolts and bolts when driving, and when placing in reverse or drive from a start. The car has shifted in neutral once while driving. I have had at least 15 occurrences since May 12th. When the situation happens I have to pull off the road and stop and wait for a safe condition to pull out in third (locked) gear. I cannot duplicate the problem at will it just occurs without warning. Sometimes the problem seems to reset to normal if you turn off the ignition and wait 5-10 min before restarting. VW/Audi have had numerous reports of problems with this dsg transmission. Had a problem with my 2008 gti and the metronics which VW sent out a safety bulleting and replaced the unit last July. This problem is far worse than rough shifting it's life threating. Had a real scary incident yesterday, locked into third and then jumped into neutral, had to coast to burm. Car is currently today in the dealership as I will not drive it until the problem is corrected. They will investigate the problem and check for error codes etc. I do not have a problem with the dealership have been a customer since 2000 and have owned 6 VW's since. The problem is with the dsg transmissions in VW's they are not safe. I have also advised VW at their customer care site and who knows what they are doing"??" incident date is the start of the problem I would appreciate your assistance with this matter. Thank you.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #10

Mar 122010


  • 1,500 miles
When taking foot off brake and immediately stepping hard on the accelerator there was a severe hesitation/lag before the car took off crossing traffic. Once it kicked in it took off but is a serious safety concern. I now wait a second or more for the brake switch to communicate to the dsg transmission to tell the clutch to engage. VW must fix this as I could have been driven in a collision. This was much more than typical turbo lag which is common with diesels. This would occur regularly if I didn't adjust my driving to account for the lag.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #9

Apr 072010


  • 3,000 miles
When you stop at a light and then go to take off the car has a severe lag (no power) barely will move. It showed up about 2000 miles 2010 Jetta tdi.

- Palmyra, VA, USA

problem #8

Feb 112010


  • 5,125 miles
Leaving a parking lot and stopping for oncoming traffic I pressed the gas pedal to move onto the highway but car did not move. After I put my foot all the way down the second attempt the clutch engaged and the car moved forward. The car is a 2010 VW Jetta diesel.

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #7

Feb 082010


  • 156 miles
My 3 day old 2010 VW Jetta sportwagen with dsg was being moved in our garage and it won't engage in reverse initially then in all gears. The car could be left in gear and not move at all. I called the 24 hour roadside assistance and the car was towed the day after to the dealership. The dealer diagnosed it with a mechatronics problem and needed to be replaced. It was ordered and we're waiting for the part to arrive for approximately 4 weeks. If VW dsg recalled this in Aug 2009, why are we still seeing this same problem in 2010?

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #6

Dec 202009


  • 4,500 miles
I have a 2010 us version Volkswagen Jetta tdi with the dsg transmission. The car has around 4500 miles on the odometer and this problem has been with the car since day #1. the problem is manifested as a lurching, and erratic shifting of the transmission in gears 1 to 2 as well as from a stop. Even though I drive with a soft touch, I can rarely get a smooth start-off because of the unpredictable shifting of the transmission. Especially noticeable in stop & go driving, I am concerned that this phenomena may cause an accident while commuting to/from work.

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #5

Oct 292009


  • 1,600 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The vehicle hesitates and shudders when it is cold. Also when cold, the vehicle will not accelerate over 35 mph. The vehicle will down-shift into neutral when attempting to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer at least four times. At the last inspection, the computer was reprogrammed. After the repair the transmission did not operate properly. A letter was sent to the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 1,600.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?