Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,523 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Volkswagen Passat fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Volkswagen Passat:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Volkswagen Passat Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Jul 062006

Passat 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 51,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving 40 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. It was coasted off the road without incident and towed to an independent repair shop. Upon inspection, a fuel pump failure was discovered. There is a NHTSA recall, # 06V017000, regarding the gasoline fuel system; fuel pump. The manufacturer was alerted and stated the VIN was not included in the recall.

- East Granby , CT, USA

problem #44

Jul 032006

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,195 miles
2003 VW Passat 4-door with 1.8T motor. I find it hard to believe that a fuel pump failure which causes a vehicle to die without warning on a California freeway to not be a defect. There is a recall for this part, but it just so happens my vehicle identification number does not match up. Just because the VIN # does not match up, does not mean there still is not a defect. I would like to know how I could research this further, so that I don't get stranded on the freeway again.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #43

Jun 242006

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
I was driving along when my 2003 VW Passat lost power and stopped. I had it towed to a VW dealership in town. They said the fuel pump needed replacing. I found that there is a recall on this make and model for this problem, however, VW refuses to cover the cost.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #42

Jun 242006

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving 40 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was maneuvered off the road and later towed to the dealer who determined the fuel pump needed to be replaced. There is a NHTSA recall, # 06V017000, regarding the fuel pump. The VIN was not included in the recall.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #41

Jun 202006

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving on a normal road condition at 45 mph the vehicle decelerated until it completely stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealership where the fuel pump was replaced. There was a recall for the fuel pump but the VIN was not included. The consumer replaced the fuel pump at his expense. Updated 09/12/06.

- Morristown, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #40

Jan 132006

Passat

  • 51,858 miles
2003 Passat broke down because of a broken fuel pump. Consumer would like to be reimbursed. The dealer refused to cover the failed part because the vehicle had over 50000 miles. The vehicle was taken to a local garage for repair.

- Armonk, NY, USA

problem #39

Feb 062006

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,661 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On this date I was driving at 65 miles per hour on the interstate. As a car pulled on to the driving lane in front of me from the entrance ramp, I accelerated and pulled left into the passing lane. Suddenly I had no power, and managed to coast about 3/4 of a mile, through traffic, to the right hand shoulder where I could get off the road. It was a very dangerous few minutes which fortunately did not result in any collision. The car was towed to the local Volkswagen dealer where the fuel pump was found to have failed. It was replaced at a cost of $589.80. The mileage at the time of the incident was 63, 661 miles.

- Blue Hill, ME, USA

problem #38

May 222006

Passat 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 32,000 miles
: the contact stated a recall letter was received in March 2006; the vehicle is not having any problems as indicated in the recall. The dealer has been contacted at least once a week since receiving the letter. There is a NHTSA recall, # 06V017000 on the vehicle regarding the fuel pump. The parts needed to repair the vehicle are not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts are not available.

- La Canada, CA, USA

problem #37

Apr 012006

Passat

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,800 miles
: the contact stated there have not been any problems with the vehicle however, a NHTSA recall, #06V017000 on the vehicle regarding the fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump was received in April 2006. The parts needed to repair the vehicle are not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts are not available. The parts finally arrived and the vehicle was repaired. Updated 07/03/06.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #36

May 102006

Passat 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
After receiving a letter, dated March 2006, stating a recall was needed for my 2003 Volkswagen Passat, an appointment was made to get the issue taken care of. I have a friend with the same car and learned of the importance of the recall after her car cut off on her while she was driving. This could be a very dangerous situation. I was called roughly a day before my appointment to let me know that the part was on back order and they would need to move my appointment back 2 weeks. I called the dealership back with concern for my safety and asked if there was a rental car available until the part came in. They informed me that they would not be able to give me a rental car but I could call Volkswagen and speak with them about it. I guess they didn't feel my safety was an issue, therefore they did not give me a rental, but they did offer to call around and see if I could be seen sooner. That didn't work out because everyone was on back order for the same part. I kept my appointment for today at 8am, took off work, drove clear across town, checked in with them, they took my key, and I headed to the customer waiting area. I was called back down to the desk 5 minutes later for them to tell me that they still didn't have the part and would have to call me when it came in. I could not believe that no one called to inform me of this instead of having me drive all the way to the dealership! I find it hard to believe that Volkswagen is not more concerned regarding the safety of their customers to plan ahead. Makes me never want to buy a Volkswagen again!

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #35

Apr 282006

Passat 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated stoppage of fuel supply to the engine could cause it to stall. There is a NHTSA recall, #06V017000 on the vehicle regarding the fuel system gasoline delivery fuel pump. The parts needed to repair the vehicle are not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts are not available. The contact indicated that on April 14, 2006 the dealer was supposed to replace the fuel pump per Volkswagen safety recall M7, but the work was canceled due to no replacement parts. The contact continued to inquire from the local dealer when the replacement part would be available, but did not receive a definitive answer. The contact contacted a dealer 60 miles away and made an appointment to have the work done there. It took several trips by contact until the replacement work was completed. The contact was unhappy by Volkswagen uncaring attitude and lack of assistance and service by Volkswagen dealers.

- Avila Beach, CA, USA

problem #34

Apr 272006

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
We own a 2003 Volkswagen Passat. Twice the fuel pump has gone out in the middle of hwy. 29 in Napa. The first time the fuel pump went out the car was still under warranty. The second time it went out, yesterday, the car was no longer under warranty and we were charged $441 to have it fixed. Volkswagen denies that our model has any problem with the fuel pump even though other Passat models are under recall for this same problem. The second fuel pump was put in last January, about 16 months ago. Now another fuel pump was put in yesterday, April 27, 2006. Both times the fuel pump has gone out without warning on highway 29 in Napa.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #33

Apr 252006

Passat 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,048 miles
Recalled fuel pump is not available. Dealer says pump is on national back order.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #32

Dec 212004

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,150 miles
Fuel pump failed with no warning and acceleration capability was instantly lost. This occurred in the middle lane of an extremely busy freeway with large trucks on either side. Through sheer luck, I was able to steer the vehicle to the shoulder with no power without being hit by the fast-moving traffic. This could easily have resulted in serious injury or death.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #31

Mar 272006

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,400 miles
Fuel pump failed in my 2003 Volkswagen Passat called Volkswagen about the recall and they told me there is no recall yet and will not be covered the all occurred on 3/27/03.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #30

Dec 132004

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,695 miles
2003 VW Passat, built 11/2002, fuel pump failed 12/2004, at 52695K miles. Now there is a fuel pump recall for 2003 VW Passat built between 09/01/2002-03/31/2003 with a range of VIN numbers, that mine appears to fall in, and I am being told my car shows no pending recalls associated with my VIN.

- Miller Place, NY, USA

problem #29

Feb 262006

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
The 2003 Volkswagen Passat suddenly would not start. With only 54000 miles it completely failed to start on account of a sudden and complete failure of the fuel pump.

- Elkins Park, PA, USA

problem #28

Jan 282005

Passat 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
I was driving the car on the highway at approximately 50 mph when the engine just died without any warning, the engine just stopped being responsive to the gas pump. I was lucky to be able to cruise the car over to the side of the road without an accident and/or injury considering I had cars in front of me, behind me, and on the side of me, all moving at speeds 50-60 mph. In over 27 years of driving I have never had such a serious problem occurring without any type of warning lights coming on, or funny sounds by the engine. The car has 47,000 miles on it and has been serviced regularly.

- Clifton, VA, USA

problem #27

Jan 272006

Passat 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 59,982 miles
I was driving on interstate I65 from birmingham, al to huntsville, al mid morning on the 27 January 2006. Nearing the end of journey to the huntsville turned off on I65 and Volkswagen (VW) Passat 2003 lost complete power. I had no idea what had happened to the car, and was frantically trying to find what was wrong while trying to control the car to a stop and get off the highway. Upon calling road side assistance I had the car towed to the nearest VW dealership, located in huntsville, al. During initial investigation led them to believe the battery was dead and replaced it at a cost of $200. Upon further investigation they said my fuel pump was dead and needed replacing, this is what caused the car to stop as no petrol could be pumped into the engine. I did not know why I have to pay for the battery as I had power in the car. Currently, car will not be fixed until next Tuesday at a cost of $600 to me. I read online at passatworld.com forum that their have been numerous other VW owners experiencing fuel pump problems. They expect this problem to be documented a lot more in the near future as our 2003 year VW Passat come out of warranty and the suspected year with the faulty fuel pump. I do not see how this fuel pump could fail upon any doing of my own as I have always run the car with a full tank and on 93 octane. VW need to make a recall on this part as there is an unusually high number of VW owners experiencing this problem. This part needs to be recalled, causing a car to lose power on a highway immediately is life threatening and will cause an older age driver to not know what is happening to the car and crash. Car is VW Passat gls 2003, 60,000 miles on it, I bought it new.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #26

Jan 202006

Passat 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,437 miles
Passat 2003 glx with 40437 miles. Was driving on local roads the car started shuddering for 1-2 seconds. The engine then instantly shutdown. I could not restart the car. Had it towed to nearest dealership. The next day it was reported as fuel pump failure, and repaired it under warranty.

- West Covina, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?