Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,772 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Volkswagen Passat seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Volkswagen Passat:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Volkswagen Passat Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #112

May 202016

Passat

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata air bag recall we were informed on May 20, 2016 about the known recall for the takata airbag for our car by our service technician at the Volkswagen dealership. It is November 6, 2016 and we have heard nothing from the manufacturer or the dealership regarding the solution to the problem

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #111

Nov 052016

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall. !!!!!!! worried about driving the car now and I can't even sell it to get another car. This is depriving me of use of my property. We owners of cars effected deserve much more than replacing parts.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #110

Oct 212016

Passat

  • 8,600 miles
Takata recall: VW traveling in right most lane of 4 lane city street when vehicle in opposing lane made an illegal left on turn in front of the vehicle to the left of VW. VW impacted turning vehicle in middle of passenger side. Accident report attached. Deployment of driver/steering wheel airbag resulted in sever gash to driver's left hand - photos attached.

- Sioux City, IA, USA

problem #109

Nov 042016

Passat

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Volkswagen Passat. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Henryville, PA, USA

problem #108

Apr 222016

Passat 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Volkswagen Passat. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.....updated 12/05/16

- Linden, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #107

Nov 032016

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall - defective air bag inflator still in vehicle 2.5 years after purchase. Puts at risk lives of driver and passengers. Immediate replacement needed.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #106

Oct 252016

Passat

  • 14 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was not aware of my vehicle VIN recall till I read on news about Volkswagen, then I checked my VIN online and noticed it was due for recall I M shocked that I am unaware and driving unsafe with my family.

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #105

Nov 022016

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Volkswagen Passat. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Monterey, CA, USA

problem #104

Feb 102016

Passat

  • 0 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Volkswagen Passat. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #103

Oct 292016

Passat

  • miles
Volkswagen did not issue a rental car to me. I have no alternate transportation. I also live in a humid environment where the driver's side airbag is more of a risk.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #102

Feb 092016

Passat

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - recall was issued in February 2016. It is now October 2016 and VW has not release appropriate solutions to this recall. I am extremely concerned for my safety and I would like VW to issue notices for a proper airbag recall solution in a quick manner. Consumers should not have to wait for an excess of 8 months for a viable solution.

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #101

Feb 092016

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall. I am a very concerned husband of a wife who drives a car affected by the takata inflator recall. Volkswagen ag is taking an unacceptable amount of time fixing the recall of an item that clearly is a life/death risk. I am disgusted by Volkswagen's lack of urgency with the issue. I want to know what my options are as the little consumer who spent hard-earned money to buy from a multi-billion dollar corporation.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #100

Oct 252016

Passat

  • 40,000 miles
Takata recall - the recall was started in Feb/March of 2016, and VW still does not have a solution for me to replace the dangerous airbags. I need my airbags recall completed in a more timely manner.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #99

Feb 102016

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Volkswagen Passat. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #98

Oct 242016

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall - recall Feb 2016 over 8 months ago. I live in Florida and understand high humidity makes it more likely. Parts not yet available. What are my options? I lease the vehicle through VW.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #97

Oct 212016

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Volkswagen Passat. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Lake Village, CA, USA

problem #96

Jul 142014

Passat

  • miles
Received a letter notifying that there was a recall on my vehicles 2014 passet airbags.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #95

Oct 212016

Passat

  • 22,400 miles
I still have not received a notice that the parts for the repair are available. Their website states that they don't have a fix yet!!! this should not be taking this long and am worried about driving the vehicle. I have not received a notice from VW about this recall either.

- Ridgeland, MS, USA

problem #94

Nov 252015

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall. Still cannot get remedy. Leased car, dealer won't take back on trade in, now going to cost me a fortune when I have to "turn it in" and leave me with no car. Started looking into trade in back on 11/25/15, still cannot trade in or fix almost a year later.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #93

Oct 072016

Passat

  • 51,000 miles
Clock spring in the steering wheel broke, not covered in the known recall.

- Lawton, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?