Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,230 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Volkswagen Routan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Volkswagen Routan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Volkswagen Routan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Jan 012012


  • 28,000 miles


I am having all kinds of brake problems! I had to replace all the pads and rotors which where badly rusted at 28000.and now at 44000 I will have to replace them all again and callibors I also had all 4 tires go flat at different times because of valve sensors corroding and falling into tires! skylight leaks! drivers side sliding door does not close automaticly!ruber on running bourds kept comming finnaly reinbursed me after going back 2 OR3 times to have them glue it down. I spend more time trying to fix it than driving it it only has 44000 miles! vehicle is a lemmon!

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #28

Jun 122016


  • 15,000 miles
We have had brake problems since we bought this vehicle. The brakes wobble and make noise. It started with less than 15,000 miles on the car. We have had to replace pads and rotors several times. Once under warranted and a few times after. We have had to change the hearings as well as the brakes and rotors. The problem is primarily with the front wheels and brakes. We are having the same problem again. The internet is full of complaints about this issue.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #27

Nov 302015


  • 105,376 miles
After my van has been sitting for a while and it been warmed up for 15 minutes. With in the first 2 to 5 miles of driving the traction control light will come on and the van will shut off and the steering wheel and break will fail. Then I have to turn the key to off and restart the van and it sometime repeat itself if I'm stuck in traffic.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #26

Aug 012015


  • 73,300 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the brake pedal failed to respond when depressed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 73,300.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #25

Nov 212014


  • 68,500 miles
I bought this Routan aprox 8 months ago, nothing but problems, it has shut down in city traffic and highway speeds, I am aware of recall #28H1 from VW that 2 VW dealerships deny even exist.the dealer I bought this from test and diagnosed it as a defective wins module { ignition switch } and contacted a VW dealership in barre Vermont and said they would order a module and scheduled a date to install it, a couple of days before appointment I myself decide to bring in myself and called to verify the date and time, there service department asked me for a recall number of which at the time I did not have because my service manager where I bought it from set this up.after tracking down the correct service rep at walker VW in barre Vermont she informed me they did not order the part and there is no wins modules available yet 06/01/15 even though this recall was dated in March of 2014, still no fix whats up with that " I guess our lives and the lives of our loved ones do not matter it is time for someone or the NHTSA to impose some serious preasure on volkswagon and demand that our vehicles be repaired correctly they should be brought up on charges for deceiveing the public.even my own dealership has not been telling me everything until I corner them or catch them off guard, come to find out after squeezing it out of my own local service manager is that a wins module had already been replaced in my Routan for the prior owner, probably to pasify the customer.I am at this point looking at the legal grounds we all should have against these corperations like volkswagon or even Chrysler since they produced Routans for volkswagon. I would hate to trade this vehicle in just for some other sap to be stuck with a lemon.its just not safe or dependable and we have a long trip in two days 50/50 chance we make it down and back with know problems ??"

- Berlin, NH, USA

problem #24

Apr 092015


  • 40,500 miles
My wife was driving our van when she pulled out onto the main road from our driveway when the vehicle lost all power, including power steering and brakes. Fortunately there was no accident but she did have to stop the vehicle and cycle the keyswitch to restart the vehicle. I have contacted the closest dealer to have this known recall fixed on our van only to be told they have to witness this event happening. Though this has happened 3 times since we bought the car used 3 months ago it is a very intermittent issue. The dealer is about an hour and a half from our house which makes it a 3 hour round trip and a day off from work. I don't mind taking a couple of days off to get this problems solved but the service manager told me some of these vans have not been repaired for 4 months because they cannot duplicate the problem. Whatever happened to the customer is always right" needless to say this is a safety issue and a huge liability. I did contact Volkswagen customer care and they told me the dealer should replace the part and it does not have to be witnessed by their personnel. With that information in an E-mail I once again contacted the dealer and they basically told me VW customer care was wrong and they would have to duplicate the problem in their shop. I am very frustrated with this whole process. It is a known problem...shouldn't they fix it before harm or even death comes to my loved ones" the dealer is lithia VW (phone (541) 774-7500) in medford, Oregon and the service personnel I talked with was named [xxx]. I do have the E-mail from VW customer care and that came from a representative named [xxx]. I would appreciate any help in this matter. Thank you! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Klamath Falls, OR, USA

problem #23

Mar 282015


  • 65,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that the front rotors had to be replaced three times since the vehicle was purchased and twice in the last year. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician replaced the rotor, caliper, and hub. The technician insisted that the failure was normal wear and tear. The vehicle was not properly repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 5/26/15

- Taylor, PA, USA

problem #22

Mar 102015

Routan 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
We have owned the vehicle for about 2 months with no issues, when we purchased the vehicle it came with a clean carfax listing no recalls. On 3/10/15 my wife was driving on a 2 lane country road going about 35mph when the vehicle suddenly lost power and she lost control of the vehicle. The engine appeared to have cut out, she had no power steering and no power brakes and was unable to stop or steer the vehicle. The dash displayed the anti-slip light, but no others. The vehicle slowed down to a stop, thankfully there was no oncoming traffic as she was no longer in her proper lane, and no cars behind her. She was able to put it in park and restart it as if nothing had happened and it was fine after that for the rest of her commute. We contacted VW about the issue and they requested that we bring the car to a VW dealer for inspection. We did that, and VW claimed that our vehicle was not impacted by recall # rna1, but instead they insisted the issue was caused by a faulty egr valve, and gave me an engine trouble code of C121C that they claimed corresponded with the failing egr valve. VW charged me over $100 for the diagnosis, and a day later after complaining to VW customer care they agreed to refund the charges. I brought the vehicle back to the independent dealership that I originally purchased the car at the same day that VW diagnosed this, and they were not in agreement with the egr diagnosis, and also could not corroborate the trouble code C121C as being related to an egr issue, rather it comes up as a torque request signal denied trouble code instead. The independent dealer also found that I had stored codes for ABS malfunctions, sunroof errors and mic/ccn instrument cluster. The independent dealer cleared these codes before leaving that day. On 3/25/15 my wife was driving at about 35mph when the cars engine shut off again in a similar fashion. No codes

- South Berwick, ME, USA

problem #21

Nov 152014


  • 91,770 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Routan. While driving approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the brakes failed to respond when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V396000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 91,770.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #20

Oct 022014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 87,500 miles
While driving typically at speeds less than 45 mph the vehicle engine will shut down and electrical power at the dash is lost. Vehicle will restart after it shuts down. Problem is not consistent. Dealer can not verify the complaint, therefore can not repair. NHTSA recall 14V396 appears to be the correction for the issue. Dealer will not perform the recall until they duplicate the issue. Has been at the dealer for 6 days with no duplication of the complaint.

- Alamo, TN, USA

problem #19

Aug 142014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles


Was driving on a residential street when the engine shut off without warning. Completely lost all power (steering, brakes, etc). Was able to pull over to side of road thankfully only going 25 mph and no traffic. Put vehicle in park, started up immediately and ran fine after that. Received recall letter in mail the following week stating the ignition switch can turn off without notice incident happened 2 additional times, similar circumstances. Spoke with dealer and VW corporate on 3 separate occasions. Volkswagen states they do not have a solution for the recall repair at this time, nor will they do anything about the possible safety issue of the vehicle shutting off and causing an accident.

- Apple Valley, MN, USA

problem #18

Nov 232010


  • 22,837 miles
Problems with braking at 22,837 miles in 2010. Vehicle would shake when going down a hill and applying brakes to stop. Front brake pads were replaced and rotors turned. Two years later in 2012 at 43,919 miles back rotors and brake pads were replaced, all 4 tires replaced, and front end alignment. In 2013 at 68,797 miles 2 of the new tires were replaced and another front end alignment. Car stops sometimes and will not come back on immediately. In 2014 at 90,000 miles, battery died and antifreeze in radiator exploded, had to purchase a new battery and a part for the radiator. Had to replace front rotors and brake pads, 2 tires and had another front end alignment. Extremely loud noise when driving, mechanic said it may be wheel bearings. The ABS and check engine light come on and off. Driver side door does not lock unless you push the lock down with your hand. Mechanic says the front brake pads will have to be replaced when tires are rotated the next time (these were replaced with the rotors in June or July 2014). If you lean against back seat from the trunk area, it falls forward and the middle seat no longer folds down. Also, the driver side window stalls when you try to roll it up or down.

- Covington, VA, USA

problem #17

May 022011

Routan 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Oil consumption since 24000 miles. VW dealer never want to address the problem. Keep tell me this normal. Now I have to add quarter oil every month. On morning car wasn't starting and took to the dealer and had the ignition replaced at 42000 miles but now the key get stuck on ignition multiple times. I hope the recall will fix this problem. I had to replace brakes at 12000 miles due the vibration while brakes. I had multiples electrical problems and some was repair after couple trips to the dealer. This car is a lemon. When we will have our money back?

- Norwalk , CT, USA

problem #16

Jun 082014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 64,680 miles
While driving approx 30-35mph, my van began to smell hot and smoke began to rise from the right front wheel well. I had two of my three children with me. I frantically told my 14 yr old son who was in the front passenger seat to get to the back and help his four yr old sister out of her car seat (we were still moving) I pulled into a parking lot and had them quickly exit the left sliding door of the van. Later that evening I went back to retrieve the van alone and as soon as the van began to move it made the most horrible grinding noise I have ever heard. I immediately knew it was a seized brake caliper, (not because I am a mechanic. I am a speech therapist). I knew because approx 4 months prior the van made the exact same sound with no warning when the right rear caliper seized and both front and back brakes were replaced! =$780). I drove to the closest brake shop where it was repaired the next day. Cost=$733.68. I travel as a speech therapist. I was in jacksonville beach, fl during this fiasco. The prior brake repair was done in phoenix, AZ so I could not use the same company or question the warranty. It clearly isn't a warranty issue. Am I to believe it is normal to replace the entire brake system including rotors, drums, pads, discs, calipers, bushings, pin boots, etc, ,, every 7,000 miles?? I think not. I didn't even know all those words until I purchased a Routan. Something is wrong. These vans are dangerous. I will not drive my children long distances or on the interstate in the van, which I purchased because we don't all fit in the corolla. I am asking VW to reimburse me. We will see how that goes. Thank goodness all I have lost is money.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #15

Apr 202014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 57,311 miles
While driving in phoenix AZ the van began to shake and steering became difficult. (this has happened in the past multiple times intermittently). Later the same evening brakes began to squeak and grind. Until this day the only issue had been the intermittent shaking while braking. There was no squeaking prior to the grinding. Right rear caliper was replaced along with all front/rear brakes rotors drums and hardware. Cost=$780.55.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #14

Jul 192014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Driving from Indiana to phoenix the van began to shake violently while braking downhill on mountainous terrain. Temperature gauge went up over 200 and van smelled warm. Van did not overheat and problem subsided once back on level ground. Purchased van used on July 10 2012 with approx 25,000 miles.

- Phoenix , AZ, USA

problem #13

Aug 292014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 79,578 miles
Vehicle completely turns off while driving, losing all control, use of brakes and steering. It has been 4 weeks since the recall was sent out and there is still no fix available, and the company can not give any other information besides they are working on it.

- Hanover, MD, USA

problem #12

Nov 012013

Routan 6-cyl

  • miles
When the vehicle is traveling near 30mph or even higher than that, when the brakes are applied, it shakes violently. This causes the driver to have to hold the steering wheel very tightly to avoid loosing control. The braking system in general seems to be faulty as the brakes and rotors have had to be replaced/changed every two to three months. It is very expensive to replace these brakes and rotors as well as pay for the labor every few months. This is a great concern and should be considered for a recall.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #11

May 232014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
The engine turned to off while I was driving and depowered power steering and brakes. At that point I restarted the car and was able to drive. Took the car immediately to VW dealer, kept the car for 24 hours, and they could not replicate the incident so nothing was done by them. This happened again at 93000 miles on August 8, 2014.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #10

Mar 132013

Routan 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Shortly after buying this van the van would shake when brakes were engaged, took it to the dealership but they said nothing was wrong with the brakes. I took it to another place for verification and was told my brakes were bad, the rotors were warped. Went back to dealer and told mgr about the second opinion so he had the brakes replaced.

- Victorville, CA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?