Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.1

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,054 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Volkswagen Tiguan engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Volkswagen Tiguan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Volkswagen Tiguan Owner Comments

problem #6

Aug 142008

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Unintended acceleration continues despite recall fix in May 2008. I was never informed of this recall by VW corporate or the dealer. I bought the car in Aug. 2008 - 3 months after the recall repair was done. When I complained about unexpected surges numerous times to the dealer, VW corporate and NHTSA not one person mentioned the 2008 recall which exactly described the problem I was experiencing. I had three serious near collisions because of this unintended surging before I myself discovered the problem. I did this by keeping a 2-year log of when the surges occurred and under what circumstances. I found that the only common denominator in the incidents was the use of air conditioning. It only surged when the A/C was on 3 or 4. today - after visiting your new safercar.gov I learned about the 2008 recall for the first time. It describes exactly what I have been experiencing with this car and it cites the A/C as the direct cause. After driving in danger for six years - I want this fixed now and I want to know why I was not informed of this recall after my numerous complaints to both VW and NHTSA.

- New Kensington, PA, USA

problem #5

Jun 282014

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The epc light came on many times between 2011 and 2014 and the electronic throttle kicked out of cruise control. Miller VW checked the car July 2011, did not have a solution and cleared the codes. I asked our local mechanic about it in July 2013 who identified that there was a tsb for the throttle body wiring harness. We continued to observe the intermittent epc fault response but experienced no problems. The first major incident occurred 28 June 2014 entering I-89 North when entering traffic the epc and engine fault lights came on and the engine lost all power just as we entered the travel lane. The car went into limp mode and would go no faster than 35 mph I switched off the engine while traveling which reset the throttle fault allowing us to continue traveling. This is a short ramp and there is no shoulder at the end of the ramp. I made an appointment for the car at walker VW to repair the car on 2 July. The service department was unable to make the repairs that day as they did not have all of the required parts on hand. On 22 July my wife was preparing to enter I-91 from route 5 South via a left turn on ramp when the epc and engine fault lights came on and the engine went into limp mode just as she was preparing to turn into the on ramp. A tractor trailer was rapidly overtaking her in that lane in a driving rain and the car would not exceed 20 mph. She turned on the flashers and the overtaking trucker veered into the right lane avoiding collision. I then made an appointment with our local car repair shop and trusted mechanic at kingdom imports. They ordered the parts and installed the replacement wiring iaw the tsb on 29 July 2014. Even after ordering two complete sets of parts VW did not include the shrink tape required to stabilize the wiring. VW has chosen the worst solution and should issue a recall and install a purpose built wiring harness.

- East Burke, VT, USA

problem #4

Sep 122012

Tiguan 4-cyl

  • 19,500 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Volkswagen Tiguan. The contact stated that while at a complete stop with the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle erroneously accelerated. The contact also mentioned that the failure occurred while reversing. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The failure mileage was not available...updated 03/18/14 the consumer stated during the past 2 years, she experienced 5-6 episodes, in which the engine revved up and lurched forward while she was stopped with her foot on the brake, in traffic or at a stop sign. She avoided an accident, by shifting to park. The most recent incident was on 11/09/13 which occurred while backing into a parking space and the engine revved and the vehicle lurched backwards. The local VW dealer examined the vehicle twice in the last week and found no problems. Updated 03/31/14

- Scituate, MA, USA

problem #3

Apr 012011

Tiguan

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Volkswagen Tiguan. While traveling 5 mph, the contact noticed that the vehicle would not properly accelerate and begun to surge forward. The vehicle was shut off by the contact and would not restart. Prior to the surging, the contact noticed that the check engine light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the engine was replaced, however the contact was not informed what caused the engine failure. Two months after the repair, the contact was examining the vehicle and noticed that the main fuse box was melted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the fuse box was repaired. The current mileage was 50,000 and the failure mileage was 30,000. The VIN was not available. K

- Hurndon, VA, USA

problem #2

Jun 112008

Tiguan

  • 25 miles
The contact has a 2009 volkswagon Tiguan with a vehicle speed control issue. While driving up a hill between 35 and 45 mph, the vehicle speed control malfunctions. The contact stated that the failure also occurs when the air or heat control lever is 4 or higher. The failure has occurred 16 times since the vehicle was purchased in August 2008. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 25.

- New Kingsington, PA, USA

problem #1

Aug 162009

Tiguan

  • 500 miles
I have been experiencing sudden, unexpected and very scary "surges" with my 2009 VW Tiguan. It has been back to the dealer three times for recall work on this problem. The problem has not been solved. VW thinks it is a software problem. I believe it is a hardware problem. I found it interesting to read about similar problems being experienced by Toyota owners. I read about this on the abc website which is where I learned about your connection to the problem. The surge in my Tiguan has nothing to do with floor mats. I believe that if VW and Toyota compared notes on all parts in the "surging" cars they may find a common denominator which is causing the problem and perhaps we can save some lives. 16 deaths so far - unacceptable. The surges are very very frightening.

- New Kensington, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?