Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,861 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Volvo S80 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Volvo S80:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Volvo S80 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #60

May 102010

S80

  • 147,054 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Placed my vehicle in reverse to pull back out of my garage & my car accelerated out of control. I was forced into a parking sign that scratched and dented my left rear bumper. In the last 2 1/2 months related problems continue where my car surges & also experiences sudden & unexpected reduced performance. When I accelerate my car feels like it is stuck in gear & won't respond. It is a safety hazard!! again!!! this duplicates the same electronic throttle module problem I had in August of 2005. After taking my car in 4 times (not knowing what the problem was), it was finally determined it is the ETM again. Volvo performed a computerized upgrade on the ETM & then it was finally recalled in January of 2006. It is another safety hazard ready to happen. Volvo should have in the beginning & should at this time be made to replace the faulty ETM!

- Carefree, AZ, USA

problem #59

Dec 142012

S80

  • miles
I purchased vehicle 8 months ago I now have problems with the front and back suspension. The air turns on its own, the axle has broken, the sunroof opens when it wants to open, check engine light has turned on along with maintenance light, my doors will unlock themselves when I lock them and the alarm will engage, the left window does not work, sometimes I cant unlock the doors have to unlock with my hand. My cruise control does not work, the battery stops working often, the inside lights work sometimes. It is running terrible, idle up and down I know all has something to do with recall please help!

- Memphis , TN, USA

problem #58

Jul 162012

S80

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S80. The contact stated that the rpms began to fluctuate abnormally as the vehicle exhibited signs of possible stalling. The vehicle then activated in limp mode and stopped running. The contact referenced NHTSA recall campaign id number: 06V441000 (vehicle speed control) that dealt with the dirty throttle housing. The recall repair consisted of a software upgrade to correct the failure. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was included in the recall, but the vehicle exceeded the warranty stipulations. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileages were 87,000.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #57

Jan 252012

S80

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S80. The contact stated while driving 40 mph the vehicle shifted into limp mode and decelerated after the check engine lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the electronic throttle module was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was previously repaired under recall NHTSA campaign id number: 06V441000 (vehicle speed control). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 170,000 and the current mileage was 170,200.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #56

Sep 092010

S80 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S80. The contact stated that the vehicle would hesitate before responding to acceleration attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised that the throttle module had failed and needed to be cleaned and replaced. The throttle was cleaned but the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure after the cleaning so the throttle was not replaced. The failure recurred within a few weeks. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. Updated 09/27/11 updated 09/30/11

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #55

Mar 162010

S80

  • miles
My check engine light went on. I took my car to my mechanic who informed me the code was for throttle body position sensor and that there was a recall. I called the Volvo dealer and asked them about it. They said, yes there was a recall for software and that my vehicle had gotten the upgrade. I asked if there was anything else they could do about it, the employee in Volvo service said no. I received the same answer when I asked them in person. On March 1, 2011, nearly a year later, I asked another mechanic, who informed me that if the software upgrade didn't work, the dealer was supposed to replace the entire throttle body. I called the another Volvo dealer who informed me that yes, this was the case. My car was one day out of coverage for the recall now. And sometime within the year my computer was reset and the problem code for the throttle body is gone. I am upset because when it was a problem for me, the first dealer gave me the incorrect information about the recall. I was driving for a long time with my car in limp mode and a malfunctioning throttle body. I am sure that the dealer was obligated to replace the throttle body, since it is part of the acceleration system. I think you should compel them to replace my throttle body or guarantee replacement if my throttle body malfunctions again.

- Depew, NY, USA

problem #54

Mar 052006

S80

  • 69,307 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While traveling at 25 mph, I applied brakes to stop about 30-35 feet behind another vehicle, when my vehicle suddenly accelerated (with my foot on the brakes and) and launched forward and struck the vehicle ahead of me, causing injury to the driver and the passenger and resulted in a lawsuit against me. The lawsuit is set for trial on November 30, 2009.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #53

Sep 022007

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volvo S80. While driving 35 mph, the check engine light illuminated and the vehicle shut off. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they refused to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to another Ford dealer that will perform the repair. The contact stated that the failure has occurred before and she believes that the cause is the vehicle speed control, which is currently under NHTSA recall number 06V441000. She also stated that the radiator was replaced at 28,000 and 56,000 miles and currently needs to be replaced again. The contact stated that the radiator fails every 28,000 miles and the engine coolant light illuminates. The purchase date was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 87,000.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #52

May 112007

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,858 miles
I'm a new owner of a 2001 S80 T6 with 66K miles. Second day of ownership I'm on my way home in the passing lane of a freeway in MA, traffic slows to a stop. As I accelerate the car stalls. I pull to the left of the traveling lane, put the car in park, restart the vehicle. The next day, I pull up to a red light, accelerate and the car stalls. I put it in park, restart the car, and away I go. No messages, no check engine, no codes that I know of. I travel 100 miles a day, and the problem occurs at least every other day. This problem in intermittant and extremely dangerous. The highway I travel on allows travel in breakdown lanes during rush hour. I need to travel in the right travel lane always in the event of another stall. Dealership cleaned the electronic throttle module. Problem continues. Returned to the dealership. They say, "no codes, no new throttle". that's the Volvo policy, gallo Volvo, worcester, mass. Lou is the service manager. How many times does my car need to unexpectedly stall before my car shows a code so I can repair my faulty ETM? it's dangerous to my family and me.

- Westminster, MA, USA

problem #51

Dec 132006

S80

  • miles
We began reporting problems with hesitation and surging in our 2001 S80 T6 several years ago to the service department at our nearest dealer, sill terhar motors in broomfield, Colorado. They tried replacing a turbo valve and a software upgrade that was available at the time, and we were told that using the highest octane fuel would be necessary in order to prevent the hesitation. The problem continued. Given the inconvenience of the dealers location and that they had not seemed to be able to correct the problem, we had the vehicle serviced for a while at an independent Volvo mechanic. Last fall the emissions and check engine warning lights turned on, and they replaced an oxygen sensor and/or mass air sensor. The warning lights turned on again, and they recommended that we go to the service department at the dealer. We learned of the "extended warranty" Volvo was beginning to offer as a result of the problems in the design of the electronic throttle module. In early December we left the vehicle with the service department at sill terhar, and they did the software upgrade. Within days the vehicle was running horribly and was stalling in intersections. Sill terhar had the vehicle towed and reported that the problem was due to a hose that had not been fastened securely. Due to travel during the holidays and the multiple snowstorms in Colorado in late December, we drove this vehicle in early January after having put only about 100 miles on the vehicle since the time that it was reportedly fully cleared of problems with regard to the ETM, the check engine warning light turned on again. We returned to sill terhar, and they said that the problem was due to a faulty right front oxygen sensor. They were certain that this was unrelated to the ETM problem. That most recent work cost us $400. We picked up the vehicle last Friday evening and, today, only a few days later, the check engine warning light has turned on yet again.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #50

Oct 072006

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,544 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Volvo S80 ETM (electronic throttle control) failed, this caused a sudden loss of engine, steering, breaking and headlight systems.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #49

Mar 012006

S80 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,500 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle lurches forward and stalls. The vehicle speed is 25mph and below when the stalling happens. It was taken to the dealer for inspection and the ETM was diagnosed as the problem. The ETM was replaced; however the problem still occurs. The performance reduced lamp illuminates each time before the vehicle stalls. The vehicle is currently at the dealer for additional testing.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #48

Aug 102005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,294 miles
: the contact stated while in reverse the vehicle accelerated suddenly and ran into a cactus. As a result, the vehicle sustained body damage. The dealership inspected the vehicle; however they were unable to duplicate the problem. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop, which replaced the rear passenger door and panel. The manufacturer was notified; however no additional repairs were made. Updated 5/10/2006 - the dealer replaced the electronic control module.

- Cave Creek, AZ, USA

problem #47

Dec 012005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,500 miles
2001 S80, multiple failings of the electronic throttle module. This has happened repeatedly over the last 2 weeks. Too many times to count. Car w/O notice will not accelerate beyond 20 mph, idles roughly. Has almost caused several accidents.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #46

Dec 062005

S80 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,700 miles
My 2001 Volvo S-80 suddenly lost all power and came to a stop and would not restart. This occurred in Sept. 2003. The dealership, beach Volvo in myrtle beach, SC, wanted over $600 to repair the auto since it was beyond the 50,000 mile warranty. It had 60,000 miles at the time. After a lengthy discussion with Volvo America, they agreed to split the cost between myself, the dealership and Volvo America. The electronic throttle body was replaced. On 12/05/05 the same thing happened. The car now has 82,700 miles. It is being looked at by beach Volvo at this moment.

- Murrells Inlet, SC, USA

problem #45

Nov 242005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2001 Volvo S80, 4 dr. Sedan which I am in the process of trading in because on 3 different occasions this year (2005) the car stalled, the last time I needed to have it towed. After doing some research I noted that Volvo had reached an agreement regarding complaints filed in California about the ETM module. I believe that was the cause of my stalling. I did have the part replaced, at my expense and the mechanic showed me the part that would not stay closed consequently causing the car to stall. At no time was there an indication that there was a problem - no warning light. While I love the car, I don't feel I can trust it even though a new part was put in. According to the Volvo dealer, part would not be replaced unless warning indicator came on. The last time the car stalled was thanksgiving night.

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #44

Dec 022005

S80

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The contact states was driving on the highway when the car completely stalled, resulting in loss of power. The warning lights came on prior to the car stopping. She reported having no problems prior to this incident. The vehicle was towed to the dealership, and they stated to contact the NHTSA hot line services and file a complaint. The cause has not been determined.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #43

Oct 272005

S80

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
The contact stated the vehicle stalled while driving. There were no warning lights on when this happened. The vehicle was taken to the dealership, and they replaced the throttle control module at the contact's expense. She received an extended warranty from Volvo, and it stated she needed to contact the manufacturer for reimbursement.

- Maple Glen, PA, USA

problem #42

Nov 202005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
2001 Volvo S80 T6 1. failure vehicle speed control/electronic throttle control module 2. transmission failure - GM transmission.

- Saline, MI, USA

problem #41

Nov 162005

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
Vehicle repeatedly stalls at low rpms, decelerating, or coming to stop at traffic lights, off-ramps, toll booths etc. Problem is intermittant, and doesn not yield diagnotics on consistant basis. Dealers refuse to follow-up on problem as diagnostics are inconsistant. One injury avoiding oncoming vehicle upon exiting stalled vehicle. Injury minor, and treated locally.

- Naperville, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?