Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,156 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Volvo S80 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Volvo S80:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Volvo S80 Owner Comments

problem #4

Jul 152009


  • 51,376 miles


My 2004 Volvo S80 has stalled dozens of times over the past 2 1/3 years. Sometimes it stalls while coasting to a stop. It will generally restart and you can limp home. This is a severe inconvenience, but not a major safety issue. However, it also has lost power and sputtered along at a very low speed while driving on the highway. This is a serious safety issue. My wife and daughter refuse to drive the car on the highway due to this problem. The car has been taken to a Volvo dealer 6 times since May 2007 for this problem. Many times the problems was mis-diagnosed by the dealer and an expensive repair was performed which did not solve the problem. In May 2007, the car was given a tuneup and software upgrade to throttle control module. In June 2007, the electronic control module (ECM) was replaced. My total cost was $1,165 while the dealer supplied the ECM part as a goodwill gesture. Same problem in May 2008. Dealer replaced terminal ends in wiring on ECM at a cost of $215. Same problem in Sept 2008. Dealer replaced the mass air flow sensor for $525. Same problem in Dec 2008. Dealer replaced wiring from ECM to throttle actuator and covered the cost as a goodwill gesture. Same problem in July 2009. Dealer replaced the ECM at a cost $500; part was covered as a goodwill gesture. This appears to be the exact same problem covered by NHTSA action number PE05041 for 1999 to 2001 model years. In that case, Volvo extended the warranty to 10 years and 200,000 miles for the ECM. That appears to be an appropriate remedy for 2004 model years as well.

- Timonium, MD, USA

problem #3

Apr 022009


  • 77,415 miles
While driving down the road, my 2004 Volvo S80 2.5T will suddenly lose power, surge forward or enter 'limp mode" with a message of "reduced engine performance" followed by "engine service required." Using an obdii code reader I discovered that these messages and my issue were caused by a problem within the electronic throttle module (ETM). I took it into a local Volvo repair shop and they confirmed that this was a throttle body issue. If this problem occurs while I am driving within the city, it is fairly easy to pull over to safety, but on the freeway, losing power in the middle of traffic can be dangerous, and this has happened to me, causing a near accident. The issue is recurring and while it does seem to "clear itself" it has returned multiple times. There was a defect investigation, opened July 26th 2005 under NHTSA action number PE05041 for the exact same issue, and exact same group of problems. The report found that the issue was limited to S80S manufactured between 1999 and 2001. I would suggest that this issue is not limited to only those model years but has affected other years as well. I base my suggestion on information found by searching various Volvo owner discussion boards and finding others that have in fact been affected. Please take a look into this issue... as it has the potential to cause serious accidents as found in the original investigation.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #2

Jun 272008


  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Volvo S80. The throttle assembly needed to be replaced and the dealer stated that the contact would be responsible for paying $350. The hose was installed; however, the problem recurred. The contact also paid $4,200 for repairs that didn┐T remedy the failure. The dealer also stated the throttle assembly is not realted to the recall. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #1

Nov 262003

S80 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 834 miles
Hazardous stopping of the engine in the middle of the road. Accident averted by the attentive driver in the back..

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

Not what you are looking for?