Maryland Lemon Law Information
The Maryland Lemon Law applies when, during the first fifteen (15) months or 15,000 miles (whichever occurs first) following delivery of the new vehicle:
- the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times, or
- the dealer has attempted to repair a brake or steering failure once, and the problem reoccurs causing the vehicle to fail Maryland's safety inspection, or
- the vehicle has been out of service due to repair attempts by the dealer for a cumulative total of 30 or more days.
To qualify for the Maryland Lemon Law, the problem must substantially impair the use and market value of the vehicle.
If you suspect your car is a lemon - for example, if the dealer has tried once or twice unsuccessfully to repair the problem and you believe the problem substantially impairs the use and market value of the vehicle - you should write to the manufacturer immediately. You do not need to wait until the dealer has made the four repair attempts, or until the car has been out of service for 30 days.Maryland Lemon Law information from the Attorney General's Office » Maryland Lemon Law information from the Motor Vehicle Administration »
Have Your Case Reviewed (FREE) -- Maryland Lemon Law Attorneys
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.