ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

« back to states

Michigan Lemon Law Information

The Michigan Lemon Law applies when, during the first two (2) years (with restrictions - see below) following delivery of a new vehicle:

  • the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times, with the first repair attempt occuring during the first year, or
  • the vehicle has been out of service for repairs at the dealership for a cumulative total of 30 or more calendar days occuring during the first year.

You should provide the manufacturer with a "last chance letter" (certified mail, return receipt), preferrably before the 4th repair attempt or before the expiration of the 30-day period.

If the manufacturer warranty requires that you enter into a mediation process, and that mediation process conforms to Federal Trade Commission regulations (many do not), you must go through that first before filing a lawsuit. The outcome of the mediation process is never binding for the consumer - if you are unhappy with the outcome, you may always file a lawsuit afterward.

Michigan Lemon Law information from the Attorney General's Office » Michigan Lemon Law Statute, Chapter 257, Act 87 of 1986 »

Have Your Case Reviewed (FREE) -- Michigan Lemon Law Attorneys

We have partnered with JustAnswer.com to offer help and advice from expert Lemon Law lawyers.

Describe your lemon law case in the text box to the right, & receive an answer in 10 minutes or less!

The fee is typically $9 to $15, and you do not have to pay anything unless you accept the answer.

Learn more »

Helpful Lemon Law Tips

Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.

If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.

Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.

Add Your Complaint

Bump the car problem graphs up another notch. Get answers and make your voice heard!

Become a Fan & Spread the Word