ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

« back to states

Minnesota Lemon Law Information

The Minnesota Lemon Law applies when, during the first two (2) years following delivery of a new vehicle:

  • the dealer has attempted to repair a defect caused the complete failure of the steering or braking system and which is likely to cause death or serious bodily injury, or
  • the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times, or
  • the vehicle has been out of service for repairs at the dealership for a cumulative total of 30 or more business days.

In all three possible cases, only the first repair attempt must occur in the 2-year period. The subsequent repair attempts can extend into the third year & you'll still be covered.

To qualify for the Minnesota Lemon Law, the problem must substantially impair the use and/or market value of the vehicle and must not have been caused by abuse, neglect, or unauthorized modifications or alterations of the vehicle.

Minnesota Lemon Law information from the Attorney General's Office »

Have Your Case Reviewed (FREE) -- Minnesota Lemon Law Attorneys

 

The Krohn & Moss Consumer Law Center has been helping consumers resolve troubles with their lemon vehicles over the past decade. Their record of providing excellent lemon-aid to more than 25,000 contented customers has a remarkable success rate of 97%! You do not pay them anything, starting with the free case review -- the entire process is free whether you win or lose.

Consumer Law Center - Free Case Review, step 1 of 2

The information given in this form is private and will not be transferred to anyone nor sold or re-used. All fields are required.

Consumer Law Center - Free Case Review, step 2 of 2

Helpful Lemon Law Tips

Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.

If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.

Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.

Add Your Complaint

Bump the car problem graphs up another notch. Get answers and make your voice heard!

Become a Fan & Spread the Word