Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,010 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 330 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 330 Owner Comments (Page 6 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #130

Jan 082014

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. The contact stated that air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V564000 (air bags). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Riverside, CT, USA

problem #129

May 152013

330

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that the passenger restraint system warning indicator illuminated. The contact was made aware of a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 13V564000 (air bags). The dealer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the defect. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 91,000.

- Maimi Garden, FL, USA

problem #128

Oct 012013

330

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V564000 (air bags) in January. The contact was informed that the vehicle would be repaired in March. The contact spoke to the dealer and manufacturer on several occasions and was informed that the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired and was experiencing the defect listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #127

May 082014

330

  • 153,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. The contact stated that the air bag sensor illuminated intermittently on multiple occasions. The sensor indicated that the passenger restraint system malfunctioned and to please contact your dealer. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V564000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 153,000.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #126

May 062014

330 6-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
I am an owner of 2006 BMW 330I sedan with sports seat (manufacture date: 5/2005). Recently, the passenger airbag sensor became malfunction, and the passenger side airbag is indicated as 'passenger airbag off' as the result. After researching on NHTSA website, I noticed that this is a known issue, and BMW is issuing a recall on affected vehicles. However, in further reviewing the related documents on the NHTSA website, although BMW has recalled 2006 330I sedan with sport seats, the manufacture date of the affected vehicles that are included in the recall are from Dec 2005 to Sept 2006, and because of this, it excludes my vehicle. With other complaints listed, it is clear that the same issue has impacted a lot of owners of 2006 330I sedan with sport seat prior to the manufacture date that BMW has specified on the recall. Due to this reason, the recall should have been considered to include earlier manufacture date of the model considered this is not an isolated issue.

- San Bruno, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #125

Nov 132013

330 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I received a recall notice from BMW in January 2014 (recall campaign number 13V-564: Front passenger air bag seat occupancy sensor mat). The recall notice states that in the current condition, the vehicle is unsafe to drive with a passenger in the front passenger seat. The recall notice states that the parts needed to perform the repair are scheduled to be available in March 2014. It is now May 6, 2014 and BMW customer relations has indicated that the parts are still not available and they are unable to provide an estimate on when they will be. It has now been nearly 5 months since receiving the original recall notice. During this time I essentially have a vehicle that is unsafe to drive with a passenger in the front passenger seat. BMW does not appear to be taking this issue seriously and providing a prompt resolution to this problem. I have placed repeated calls into BMW customer relations and continue to be informed that nothing can be done until the required parts are made available. Any assistance you can provide is greatly appreciated.

- Woodinville, WA, USA

problem #124

Apr 302014

330

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 13V564000 (air bags), however the VIN was not included. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- San Francisco , CA, USA

problem #123

Jul 012013

330 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Vehicle airbag warning and passenger seatbelt warning lamp are displayed simultaneously with passenger "airbag off" lamp illuminated. As a result, front passenger side airbag is disabled in case of a crash. BMW has issued a partial recall on other models (NHTSA campaign 13V-564) citing a defect with regards to the seat occupancy sensor mat but will not honor a recall on this particular vehicle, which is clearly affected by the issue. Without repair a crash may very well result in undue physical harm to a passenger.

- Summit, NJ, USA

problem #122

Dec 182013

330 6-cyl

  • miles
BMW 2006 325I. Driver's and/or front passenger's airbags malfunctioning light in red I have contacted performance BMW(919-942-3191) in chapel hill, nc who states my vehicle is not part of this recall. I have asked the service person that I spoke with (monica) to help with contacting BMW and they refused, stating they did have the phone number. I would like to ask that BMW usa please include my vehicle in the recall due to the safety that is involved with the possibility of the air bags not deploying if the vehicle were to be hit or involved in an accident. NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 component(s): Air bags potential number of units affected: 76,565 manufacturer: BMW of North America, llc

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #121

Mar 082014

330 6-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 3 series. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the passenger's side air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure was recurring for three weeks. There was a recall notification related to the failure under NHTSA campaign id number 08V384000(air bags). The vehicle was not taken to dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. It was not confirmed if the vehicle was included in the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 114, 000.,,updated 04-23-14

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #120

Jan 222014

330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 3 series. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V564000 (air bags) however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall due to the unavailability of the part. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and they were not able to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 05/19/14 the consumer stated the first time the warning light illuminated was in 2009. The dealer and manufacturer refused acknowledge a safety issue. Passengers have not been permitted to ride in the front seating area. Updated 05/28/2014

- Fair Oaks, CA, USA

problem #119

Dec 112013

330 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
On the day of December 11, 2013 I began to encounter my passenger airbag sensor go off and on intermittently. As I write this today the sensor is always on. I now drive with questionable passenger safety on the daily.

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #118

Feb 272014

330

  • 190,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag light erroneously illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that mat sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 13V564000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 190,000.

- York, PA, USA

problem #117

Feb 252014

330 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
The airbag log is constantly on even if no passenger is sitting in the seat. This appears to be a defect in the sensor. However BMW lists other models but not the 330I with this VIN number. This is a serious safety issue. This needs to be recalled for all bmws. With so many complaints on the internet BMW needs to fix this problem.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #116

Oct 012013

330 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,810 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330xi 3 series. The contact stated that the front passenger's side air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for a diagnosis. The dealer diagnosed that the seat occupancy sensor pad needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number:13V564000 (airbags). The failure mileage was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. Updated 3/31/14

- Middletown, CT, USA

problem #115

Sep 232013

330 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
The front passenger airbag warning showed up. Took to the shop they charged me $1200 to replace the front passenger seat sensor mat. I see that there is a recall issued by BMW to fix this in 2006 3 series. I want to get my refund for the repairs which I have already got done.

- Union City, CA, USA

problem #114

Feb 222012

330 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
My airbag warning light illuminated indicating that my passenger airbag system was offline. I brought it into my mechanic and they informed me that my passenger side airbag sensor mat and possibly my passenger seat belt sensor had failed. They informed me that the cost to repair would be approximately $700-$800 dollars. I recently received a notification that my vehicle may be subject to a recall for this issue NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000. When I contacted my dealership and bmwna they informed me that they would not repair my vehicle until required to do so even though my airbag system has already failed and it is showing as offline. I'm registering this complaint to document that they are not actively resolving this issue.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #113

Jun 122013

330 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
I found vehicle recall via internet and consumer reports. I took my car to BMW of fairfax and explained that my BMW 330I 2006 had a defective front seat air bag sensor with dashboard warning light. After they examined the sensor they confirmed that I needed to replace the airbag sensor but that my vehicle was not affected by the recall. I was charged $150 dollars for the diagnosis and told that to repair the defect would cost $ 1200.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #112

Jan 302014

330 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
My passenger side airbag light and seatbelt light stay on. I own a 2006 BMW 330I sport. I have found numerous notices that the front seat occupant protection mat fails for my make/model with the same symptoms that I am receiving. I have contacted BMW 3 times over the past year with each new addendum and they have told me each time my car doesn't apply. I shouldn't have to pay over $1000 for a recalled item and need this fixed in case any accident does occur needing this part to be effective.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #111

Nov 012013

330

  • 90,000 miles
The airbag indicator light has been activated to what I have read to be due to a crack in the detection mat. I have taken my car to repair shops and all have confirmed the same issue. In the case that there is an accident, none of the airbags will be deployed, or airbags may be deployed without reason. I have grave concerns. I have made two phone calls to BMW with my concern for my safety and the safety of my passengers. BMW states that currently my particular VIN number is not listed on the recalls, but may be in the future. My car has the exact same issues as being reported as the previous two recalls, but since it was manufactured "just before the indicated recall dates" that I will not be reimbursed. If BMW cares about their customers' safety, I would not think waiting by the mailbox for a letter that may or may not arrive to inform me of another letter in March, is at all sufficient. Please let me know if I can do anything else to expedite a solution for my concern. Thank you for your time. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Modesto, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?