Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Buying the first model year of any vehicle is rarely a good idea. You become a guinea pig for the automaker and they are really not nice to guinea pigs.

The 2008 Enclave has a wide enough range of problems to issue a warning. There's transmission failure under 90k miles, new power steering units costing over $1,300, and enough engine complaints to NHTSA to scare anyone away.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,307 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Buick Enclave body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Buick Enclave:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Buick Enclave Owner Comments

problem #15

Jan 012014

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my vehicle January 2014. Since then I have had major issues with it leaking when it rains, . water enters the sunroof and drips throughout the vehicles overhead as well as soaks the passenger side carpet. Water drips from the visor, the overhead lights (which could result in an electrical fire) in the front middle and back of the vehicle it seeps through the seat belt height adjusters and the area where the side airbags deploy (which could cause deploy issues). The problem has gotten so bad my vehicle is starting to smell like mold and I am afraid that after a year of this problem mold has grown under the carpet as well as in the overhead foam. My biggest concern is if my child is exposed to this for an extended period of time it will flair up his asthma. A child with asthma is very sensitive to mold and mildew and he is very sensitive as well as has allergies to mold. Additionally, when it rains my exhaust smokes and car putts as if water has gotten into the engine/exhaust, the check engine light has come on several times while traveling and no one can seem to find the issue, the check airbag light came on a couple of months after the purchase, and my steering wheel tightens up when I turn and I have already had that taken care of once. As I was driving home today the emergency brake light came on and dinged all the way home. I believe there are now electrical issues with the vehicle due to the leaks and may cause a malfunction or fire.

- Pooler, GA, USA

problem #14

Feb 202015

Enclave

  • 102,000 miles
Power lift gate opening and closing on it's own, while vehicle is off, on but parked, and while driving down the road. Water leaks from sunroof causing the water to drain throughout the whole inside of the vehicle.

- Lewiston, MI, USA

problem #13

Dec 142014

Enclave

  • 93,000 miles
Just bought the car on Thursday. Today is Sunday and we had a light rain. I had to run to the store and noticed water running all over the seats and the dash. The car is leaking all over. Called the dealer and they said to bring it in tomorrow morning.

- Quinter, KS, USA

problem #12

Mar 102014

Enclave

  • 67,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased vehicle end of Feb 2014. Problems started right away. 3-13-14 replaced front struts, complained about trans shifts and heater motor working part time. Dealer said they could not duplicate. 4-8-14 replaced blower motor and pigtail. 6-5-14 replaced ac evaporator old one was shot. 7-5-14 replaced transmission, & water pump, & steering gear pinion shaft seal. Now we currently have clear coat pealing and water coming in on the drivers side floor.

- Arlington, OH, USA

problem #11

May 242013

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Vehicle was already once serviced for a water leak. Water coming from interior rear back up sensor notification. Also water leaking into the a pillar. Also water coming out of the visor attachment to the head liner. Again, water is coming into the interior. Passenger carpet is always soaked.

- Grandville, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Feb 212013

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 101,067 miles
After a steady rain I noticed the passenger floor board was soaked. I thought a window was accidentally left cracked after checking window and realizing window was not cracked. Water is getting into car through sun roof draining into the car. Several rains later it is constantly water inside the car.

- Corinth, TX, USA

problem #9

Dec 182012

Enclave

  • 30,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A water leak caused by a backup in the drain tubes of my wife's 2008 Enclave evidently caused an apparent computer system incident whereby I was locked in the vehicle and could not get out. The key was stuck in ignition (and could not be removed) and manual door locks would not unlock vehicle because there was some kind of safety interlock. Evidently there was a short in the electrical system which disabled all methods of exiting or starting vehicle. For some reason the onstar system worked, but onstar had no clue as to how to assist or override the interlock feature. It was winter time, and my wife and our dog were also stranded in very cold weather outside the vehicle. Luckily we were assisted by a stranger that used his jumper cables to get the car started. I am concerned that this could happen if the car were submerged or the computer system was somehow compromised it could cause a similar problem. Filed problem with Buick customer relationship via email but all they wanted to do was to replace the battery. As of this date (4/4/14) we still have the original battery, but they deny any knowledge of the problem. I have emails from Buick and their service request number if you would like to verify my claim. I only recently became aware that I could file a complaint with NHTSA in this manner.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #8

Feb 042013

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 56,341 miles
This is the 8th time+ we've had water enter the car through the closed moon roof. Water drips down through the left and right windshield pillars, flows out of the seatbelt tensioners in the 3rd row and through the headliner onto the inside of the windshield. You can hear a wave of water flowing above the headliner, and when woosh it flows when the car dips to one side or the other. There's has to be electrical issues and rust that's being created by this problem. The dealership says the drain is clogged with leafs, from a moon room that's never been opened. This problem is pervasive for this platform (2007-2012/traverse/acadia/outlook/Enclave) but I don't see any activity from this organization to address this. The last 2 times this happened braking system failed. Warning on the dic: Break assist off and then the red critical failure warning and tones came on while driving. So now I have water on the inside of the windshield and failure of the braking system, while I'm driving. The dealership was unable to pull any error codes, but I recorded the event on my cell phone. Now this is a ntsb issue. Failed brakes and not being able to see out the windshield is a real accident waiting to happen. (note, once the vehicle dried out, the brake failure warning and tones went away.) good thing we live in drought stricken California or we'd probably be dead a long time ago.

- Alamo, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 162011

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 67,500 miles
Without incident or cause, our 2008 Enclave began leaking an excessive amount of water onto the passenger and driver's side floor boards. Only by online searching have I found that these leaks are most likely coming from inadequate drain tubes or other component of the sunroof. Our local GMC / Chevrolet dealership has completely brushed us off and refused to honor extended warranty or even look at the vehicle in their service department. They have sent us to local autoglass companies and a local body shop, neither of which even slowed down the leaking. At this point, I just want to get rid of this vehicle. I have two young daughters, age 3 and 4, who will undoubtedly be exposed to mold and mildew in the ventilation system of this car. Aside from this, there is no doubt that electrical problems and rust are bound to occur in the future. Buick has completely failed this consumer.

- Campbellsville, KY, USA

problem #6

Jul 272011

Enclave 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
My 2008 Buick Enclave leaks and now has a mold smell inside of the vehicle. Also, the blower motor has failed twice and the car overheats without any warning. I have taken the car to the dealer and the problem continues to happen.

- Madison, NJ, USA

problem #5

Dec 112010

Enclave

  • 51,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle has been in the shop X 1 for a leak in the sunroof. I am now on my second attempt to get the vehicle repaired. On the previous leak water could be heard in the dash while turning out of my driveway, the location of the leak at that time was near the passenger side a post. This current leak is also on the same post but on the drivers side. This time I had my brake light flashing on and off with my parking assist lamps. An audible chime could also be heard. Their is an obvious history of problems with this specific body from all of the research I have found online. I am concerned for the health and safety of my family as we drive in a car that may have mold and the possibility of electrical problems causing the vehicle to stall out or catch fire. I hope the matter is taken seriously and a follow up is done. Thank you.

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #4

Sep 302010

Enclave

  • 63,000 miles
Fixed rear glass skylight on a 2008 Buick Enclave leaked water causing many electronic components to short out and fail.

- Yorktown Heights`, NY, USA

problem #3

Aug 232010

Enclave

  • 15,964 miles
2008 Buick Enclave with water leaks front, mid and rear of vehicle. Service dept has admitted GM design flaw in sunroof which is designed to leak. Water is supposed to drain thru tiny drain tubes which become clogged with debris. Enclave back in shop for 5th time; 3rd time in 1 mth.

- Clay , NY, USA

problem #2

Jan 032009

Enclave

  • 5,000 miles
My 2008 Buick Enclave consistently has water leaks after it rains. There is a lot of condensation build up in the vehicle and water in the cargo area. The vehicle has been brought to the dealership 3 times for this issue, but it has yet to be repaired after 3 unsuccessful attempts (even though the dealership says the problem has been fixed).

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #1

Feb 232009

Enclave

  • 22,283 miles
When replacing windshield noticed that paint was coming off pinchweld with old urethane adhesive.

- Dunn, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?