Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,195 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments

problem #10

Dec 202015


  • miles


"takata recall" when going slow in drive and reverse my car began to have trouble steering. It physically go to the point where I was manually turning it my self with no help from the power steering. The dash lights have gone out, none of them are currently working....I have to drive with a flash light secured to my dash just to see my gauges. I am unable to see any thing else that comes up on my dash that has to be seen by a light. My gear shift lights do not work. I must turn on the dome light in order to see the gear I shift into. Heating/ac lights are gone. Tail lights also are not working. Have changed the light bulbs and still no tail lights.

- Ravenna, OH, USA

problem #9

Oct 072015


  • 117,048 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. While merging approximately 35 mph, the front and rear exterior lights failed without warning. As a result, the contact crashed into a concrete wall. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a concussion that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 117,048....updated 01/20/16

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #8

Sep 012014


  • 57,000 miles
Strong fuel smell after driving, noticed wet spots on plastic tubes going into gas tank that smelled like gas.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #7

Apr 302010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 38,238 miles


I am the very unhappy driver of a 2008 Chevy Cobalt with 4 recall repairs to date. I reported noticing problems with the power steering, struts and interior dashboard lights as early as Sept 2010, while having routine service done to my Cobalt. (the interior dash digital read out lights have always given misinformation and would dim on a regular basis.) I've recently been experiencing the power steering totally going out on my car (once on June 25, 2014 and again on Sept 4, 2014) which makes it practically impossible to steer my car. I've been involved with these recall issues since 2010 and have followed GM's instructions to have the repairs done, only to have continuing problems with the cars performance. It's not only a inconvenience, but is stressful and dangerous to continue driving this vehicle. I've requested to have GM help me get into another car more than once over the past few years, but have been denied. Now I've been told that GM has implemented a new "buy back program" for drivers such as myself and have requested they get me out of this vehicle and into another car, but again, have not been contacted concerning my request.. I can not and do not want to be without a car to drive and feel that I deserve to have my car replaced by General Motors at no cost to myself.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #6

Mar 252014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 95,487 miles
Was driving over to a friends house got pulled over for a front headlight being out. Found out its the same headlight I replaced 3 months ago and this is the same issue that I have with this cars lights every 3 to 4 months. Its either the front headlight bulbs need to be replace or rear light bulbs need to be replace and I can not plug in a car charge for my phone cause of a burning smell that comes from somewhere within the car. I had this investigated by three people who service cars and they can not find the problem they tell me to bring it to the dealer.

- 02144, MA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Feb 212011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 68,180 miles
On February 21th, 2011, I was driving on the I-95 expressway. Suddenly, I lost the control of my car which was hit by another car driven by [xxx] (case # [xxx]). on June seventh, 2010, my wife had similar accident with her 2006 Chevy Cobalt. The fact that both crashes were so similar made dubious about our responsibility on them. I asked to inspect my vehicle twice (3/25/11 and 4/9/11), but inspectors said that my car was ok. On December 12, 2011 I presented a complaint to F. H.S. M. V. D. M. S. (complaint #[xxx]), on December 16, 2011 its answer was; your complaints do not fall within its jurisdiction. Dejected, I did not forward any more action. I have just received from GM a warning about a defect which relates to motor vehicles safety exists in 2005-2007 model year (my) Chevrolet Cobalt, then I read on tv news, and internet, that GM issued that it's possible that the air bags might not deploy if there is an accident. In this moment we realized that both the 2006 and 2008 Chevy Cobalt air bags did not deploy, regardless both vehicles crashes were on front bumper allstate insurance paid the amount of $6440.58 to repair my car. We have received a significant amount of letters from lawyers and allstate insurance dealing with injures damages and monetary compensation. Allstate paid to Mr. Sentmanat the sum of $10 000, consequently our allstate insurance premium was raised substantially. This entire situation had caused stress, economic problems and lack of confidence in both my wife I. because both crashes happened in the afternoon rush hour, I-95 traffic was crowded and slow, but in other conditions and as consequence of air bag malfunction my wife and might have died. For the reasons explaining above I, the writer, demand from GM a monetary compensation for the psychological, legal, and monetary problems caused by my car malfunction. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- North Miami Beach, FL, USA

problem #4

Dec 302011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


Seals surrounding the front right headlight front plate have deteriorated and are allowing water to enter the headlight assembly while driving in the rain or using a car wash. This has caused shorts in the wiring and corrosion of the electrical contacts.

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #3

Feb 012013


  • 40,000 miles
The audio indicator for the turn signals, chime for safety belts, door ajar (all warning chimes) stopped working. The left front speaker stopped working for the radio as well. (I've looked this up on the internet, and supposedly all audio indicators come through the speaker.) this appears to be a problem with many Cobalts, over a long time (I've seen it mentioned for many model years). It is always the same, the left front speaker stops working (none of the others) and the audio warning equipment stops functioning.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #2

Aug 072012


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the lights on the dashboard and shift console failed. The rear taillights also failed and were only operable if the brake was applied. The contact was awaiting diagnosis of the vehicle. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 60,000.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #1

Apr 202011


  • 51,000 miles
Cruise control works intermittently turn signals turn off on there own once in about every 10 time use. If your don't hear turn signal still blinking and keep driving other driver think you going to turn, came close to wreaking couple of times that's when I notice they weren't turning off after making the turn.

- St.Clairsville, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?