Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,200 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments

problem #15

Apr 062014

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V171000 (electrical system) and 14E021000 (aftermarket replacement ignition switch). The parts for the repairs were unavailable and the dealer stated that the parts would arrive within six to eight weeks. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #14

Apr 232014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled and the key was unable to be removed from the ignition. The vehicle was taken to a dealer.the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was unknown. The VIN was unavailable.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #13

Mar 182014

Cobalt

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the ignition switch failed to turn. The failure occurred on two occasions. The contact received two recall notifications for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V171000 (electrical system) and NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the remedy was unable to be performed due to the part not being available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Shakopee, MN, USA

problem #12

Feb 142014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving 65 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The steering wheel became inoperable and caused the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The vehicle rolled over and crashed into a creek. The driver sustained lacerations to his face which required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed and a police report was filed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 83,000. Updated 6/24/14 updated 06/26/2014

- Petersburg, WV, USA

problem #11

Apr 302014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
My wife tried to start the car on 4/30/14. Put the key in the ignition and try to turn the key to start the car the key wouldn't turn. It was locked up. The steering wheel wouldn't turn, the engine wouldn't run. Eventually if she comes back after approx. One hour and try again the key will turn in the ignition and the car will start. This happens couple of time a year since we bought the car brand new from the dealer. We contacted the dealer service department; they told us that they do not know of any such problem with this Chevy model.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #10

Jun 152012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
It will not let me type in the affected part. It was the ignition. The car was sitting still and the ignition would not shut off. The key could be removed and replaced and could be turned, but it would not shut down.. I had to call aaa to have them come to remove the battery cable, (I had to go online to find out where the battery was located) (because even my aaa did not know where it was. We then had aaa tow the vehicle to the dealership in laurel, md and they said that the ignition had fallen apart. They put another ignition in, however, I wonder if it is out of the same batch that is causing problems now. They also did something to the electric power steering at the same time.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #9

Sep 172009

Cobalt

  • 33,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated the cruise control was activated while driving approximately 55 mph. The steering column began to shake violently when the brake pedal was engaged. The failure only recurred when the brakes were applied. In addition, the ignition failed to function properly upon starting. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the power steering pump was replaced. The steering malfunction persisted and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact no longer owned the vehicle. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 33,900.

- Darlington , SC, USA

problem #8

Jul 032013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 47,705 miles
Ignition cylinder broke with the key in the ignition. Unable to turn off vehicle or remove key from ignition cylinder. This ignition cylinder was replaced once already under warranty at around 20,000 miles and has now failed again. The previous failure was the exact same problem.

- Cleburne, TX, USA

problem #7

Apr 022012

Cobalt

  • miles
After driving the car and putting the parking the car in its spot, the car was unable to be turn off the car. When you tried to turn the key to the off position, you were not able to turn off the car and it continue to run. The key was stuck in the ignition and was not able to be taken out of the ignition. We were finally about to get the car off but we could not get the key out of the ignition. We had to have the car towed to the dealership (voss Chevrolet) so that it can be fixed. We were told the problem was a known problem and the dealership would have to call GM to authorized payment. The technician (james) said he would contact GM representative, mike (1-866-790-5700), opened a case number #711054174869 and turn the case over to jameelah (ext:41241) on 04/02/2012. She was not very helpful and would not get back with me and I had to keep calling her since she did not call me. The dealership would not do anything until they heard from GM, so we had to pay for it. I finally contacted her supervisor, heather (X21146), on 04/16/2012 because I was not getting any help from jameelah. Jameelah would says will look into it and get back with me. When I talked to heather, heather said there is a recall on 2009 Cobalt with this problem but my VIN is not part of this recall and there was nothing GM could do for us. I did not like this answer so I found your site and I talked to one of your representative and she told me to fill out this complaint. There is a recall on the 2009 Cobalt for this problem. ( recall #10256 ignition cylinder ). this recall is in effect until 01/31/2013. I feel this is an on going problem with the 2009 Cobalts since I am having the same problem that was documented in recall #10256 ignition cylinder. I would like your company to look into this ongoing problem. I would appreciate any help, you can provide me. Thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Miamisburg, OH, USA

problem #6

Mar 212012

Cobalt

  • 53,000 miles
Ignition lock cylinder: Can not turn the vehicle off or remove the key, the key sticks in the ignition. Cost $323 dollars to replace on a 3 year old vehicle. Multiple reports from 2009 Cobalt owners of the same issue. Should be a recall on this, obviously a defective part.

- West Sand Lake, NY, USA

problem #5

Dec 152011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 37,284 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I drove to my destination and tried to turn off my car, however, the key would not turn off. Luckily, I drive a 5 speed and was able to kill the engine by popping out the clutch otherwise I would be forced to let the engine run until it ran out of gas. With the engine off, the key was still stuck in the car and all that was needed to re-start the car was a giggle of the key. This is really unsafe. With my key stuck in my car, I was unable to lock the car door; otherwise I would not be able to reenter the car. This meant that a child could have entered my car and with the key already in the car (since it was stuck) they could have driven it and caused serious bodily injury or death to themselves or to another. If my car would have been an automatic transmission, then there would have been no way to shut it off except for running it out of gas. This could pose a serious safety risk in several situations such as a car being trapped in a garage with little ventilation or if it was involved in an accident involving leaking gasoline. General Motors is aware of the problem and have even issued a service bulletin on the matter (document id: 2552146 ; #10256: Customer satisfaction - ignition lock cylinder - replace ignition lock cylinder - (Dec. 14, 2010). This bulletin is available online at 5hizn1T.vacau.com/10256.htm#SS2-2552146. It upsets me that General Motors is aware of the problem but fails to take any meaningful action. Their "service bulletin" remedy is illusory at best. When I took a copy of this bulletin to a Chevy dealership they did not honor it. They said my car was not one of the 2009 Cobalts that were included. How not my car did the same thing as they warned. Luckily no one was physically harmed by GM's negligence in this occurrence; however it is very likely that if this problem goes unresolved that someone will be seriously injured or killed.

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #4

Sep 142011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the key could not be removed from the ignition and he was unable to shut the vehicle off. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer and the ignition cylinder was replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 10/26/11... updated 10/27/11 the consumer also stated the electric power assist went out. The dealer replaced the electric power steering motor. Updated 12/16/11..... updated 01/17/12 updated 02/01/12.

- Peninsula, OH, USA

problem #3

Jul 112011

Cobalt

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle would not shut off even after removing the key from the ignition. The fuse was disconnected in order to shut off the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but did not provide any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 62,000.

- Pilgrim, KY, USA

problem #2

Mar 312011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 59,259 miles
After shutting off my 2009 Chevy Cobalt I was not able to turn the ignition switch to restart the car. I had to have it towed to the dealer and have a new ignition lock cylinder replaced.

- Butler, KY, USA

problem #1

Nov 282010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 30,850 miles
Ignition stuck in the on position. We had to disable the distributor to stop the car.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

Not what you are looking for?