If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The first year for Chevrolet's replacement for the S-10.

3.0

hardy worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,579 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Colorado brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Colorado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Colorado Owner Comments

problem #18

Feb 172006

Colorado 4-cyl

  • 19,030 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Numerous brake problems -ABS brake intermittent. - ABS kicks in for no reason (vehicle to sudden/abrupt stop) - then at other times hard to get vehicle to stop - hub(bearing) and ABS sensors problem - brakes lock up when parked - intermittent ABS fault codes GM will not acknowlege the defect in the system.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #17

Sep 082011

Colorado 5-cyl

  • 54,470 miles
ABS triggered unexpectedly, ABS and traction warning lights came on. No loss of control. Repaired at dealership 10/14/11 replacing rf wheel bearing hub and speed sensor. Subsequently incident repeated on two occasions, ca. 11/15/11 and ca. 12/16/11 after starting into a turn at low speed, perhaps with slight braking. No loss of control. Checked at dealership 2/14/2012 with no cause determined. Later same day, failure occurred again, with same symptoms: Low speed with turn and perhaps slight braking. No loss of control. Diagnosis suggested faulty hubs again. Resolution pending.

- Plover, WI, USA

problem #16

Sep 022011

Colorado 5-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
For being mechanically inclined this is definitely one problem I cant fix. I did the pads and rotors on my 2004 Chevy Colorado, all went well, nice and easy. Later that week my ABS light came on. I had my breaks checked and the mechanic said it wash showing wheel speed sensor. I bought the part and replaced it nice and easy again. The light turned off for about 2 min then came back on. The next time I went to drive my truck I turned it on, the sensor was off then the ABS system started engaging on and off making a weird pump sound and making my brakes engage and disengage. This happens for about 20 sec then goes away and the ABS light comes back on. I thought nothing worse could happen after having the computer replaced twice on the truck. This is worse.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #15

Jul 152011

Colorado

  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The ABS on my '04 Colorado is activating at low or medium speeds without applying the brake. If traveling at slow speed, as in a parking lot, ABS will be activated almost constantly. This is very annoying and can actually be a safety hazard when attempting to come to a normal stop.

- Edgar, WI, USA

problem #14

Jan 042011

Colorado 5-cyl

  • 81,230 miles
ABS fault warning lights up on completely dry roads causing temporary lack of stopping force, espically at slow speeds. Have had near miss due to this fault.

- Wrightstown, NJ, USA

problem #13

Nov 152010

Colorado

  • 65,000 miles
Brakes have started to malfunction. Brakes will be applied and ABS light or traction control light on dash will go on. Brakes will function but sometimes ABS will sound at slow speeds. Occurs sporadically.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #12

Aug 012009

Colorado 5-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Chevy Colorado ABS failure indicates on dash for no reason on dry pavement at any speed when not applying brakes, goes off once truck is shut off. Comes back on periodically while driving on dry pavement. ABS seems to engage at slow speeds for no reason on dry pavement, brake pedal starts to pulsate and truck does not seem to want to stop.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #11

Nov 012010

Colorado

  • 35,500 miles
After driving vehilce a short distance from the house, the ABS system activated as if on a slick surface as I braked to stop at stop sign. I eventually had to press extremely hard on brake pedal to stop my vehicle before stop sign. The trucks ABS fault light immediately showed up on the dash along with the ABS light. During short drive to work, the ABS fault message continued to show. After restarting the truck after work, the same process of ABS activating as if on slick surface and warning message showed.

- Papillion, NE, USA

problem #10

Sep 012010

Colorado

  • 50,000 miles
The ABS fault light comes on periodically, then the brakes do not operate properly. The brake pedal becomes hard to push and the vehicle does not respond.

- Manson, IA, USA

problem #9

Jan 092010

Colorado

  • 58,000 miles
I have not had an accident as of yet with this problem. The problem is wheel lockup when applying the brakes. It throws the passengers forward violently. I've had the brakes checked and the rotors and linings are fine. But in use they are not. The fear of lockup makes you overcautious and late in braking. The problem is worst when first driving the car but continues on and is a serious hazard. It is related to moisture but is more severe than anything I've experienced in my driving history. This needs to be corrected by a forced recall. My auto is 2004 Chevy Colorado pickup

- Midland, MI, USA

problem #8

Oct 102008

Colorado

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Speed sensor in the wheel hub assembly goes bad. This causes the ABS to stop working properly.

- Mingo Junction, OH, USA

problem #7

Oct 232008

Colorado 5-cyl

  • 40,880 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Colorado. The contact heard a loud growling noise and the vehicle pulled to the right while traveling over 30 mph. The ABS warning indicator illuminated when the growling noise was heard. The dealer stated that the driver's side hub failed and would cost over $700 to repair. Her VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 06V139000 (exterior lighting:brake lights:switch). The failure and current mileages were less than 40,880. Updated 02/24/09. The vehicle pulled to the right when the brakes were applied. The brake sensors were bad. Updated 02/05/09.

- Zephyr Hills, FL, USA

problem #6

Mar 012008

Colorado

  • 40,000 miles
No crashes or injuries yet. My complaint is about the ABS wheel sensor on my 2004 Chevrolet Colorado 4X4 ls Z71. It is not functioning correctly. After I start the truck the ABS light will come on with a tone plus a message in the D.I.C. "ABS fault". I have discussed this problem with my local Chevrolet dealer. They have informed me that my ABS wheel sensor is not working properly. As far as I can tell that means that my ABS brakes (safety feature) is not working. My truck is up for inspection in February 2009. I'm pretty sure that it will not pass because of this problem. My truck has less then 44,000 miles as of today. I asked my local dealer on a rough estimate on fixing the problem. They informed me that it would be in the $700-$800 range. Yes, my warranty is up. But I feel that this problem is more of a safety issue. The ABS is a safety feature on all newer vehicles today. I could not purchase this truck without this feature. Therefore sense I did not have the option to purchase the truck without ABS. I feel that General Motors should take responsibility to fix the problem.

- Williamson, NY, USA

problem #5

Jul 012008

Colorado

  • 75,000 miles
Engineering defect of adjuster causes rear brakes to lock up. A tsb was issued but remedy will cause problem of brakes not adjusting correctly in the future.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #4

Aug 292007

Colorado 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,014 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Colorado. The contact stated that the brakes squeak and squeal at various speeds. The dealer replaced the brakes with metallic brakes on August 29, 2008 and the noise stopped temporarily. When the vehicle was taken in for an alignment on December 31, 2007, the squeaking and squealing recurred. On July 3, 2008, the brakes on all four wheels were inspected, adjusted, and cleaned. On July 7, 2008, the front brake pads were replaced with ceramic brakes due to the squeaking noise. On July 9, 2008, the front rotors were replaced at no charge. Currently, the dealer wants to replace the front brake system for $1,500. The dealer will not replace the brakes themselves because there is a disclaimer in the owner's manual regarding the brakes squeaking. The contact stated that because the brakes did not squeak for a period of time when the original ceramic tires were on the vehicle, the metallic brakes should not have been placed on the vehicle because they caused the failure. In addition, the driver's side front rotor was warped and rusted from the wrong brake shoes being placed on the vehicle, and the passenger rotor has deep grooves. The current mileage was 72,477 and failure mileage was 66,014. Updated 07/29/08 updated 07/29/08.

- Eaton, OH, USA

problem #3

Aug 092005

Colorado 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 895 miles
Purchased 2004 Chevy Colorado sport with lowered suspension in May 2004. The brake system has never been 100%. it will vary in degrees of pressure required to adequately slow down, or even stop the vehicle. It has been in to the dealer three times and each time they state nothing is wrong. The brakes also squeal with less than 9,800 miles on it and they state this normal. There have been several times we were driving and I attempted to stop the truck and it would either jerk very harshly or would require excessive peddle pressure to stop. I have driven two other exact same models and years and they do not have the problem, there for this vehicle is faulty. Last attempt to solve issue resulted in very rude service manager giving me GM phone # and basically telling me off and to leave dealership to contact them. I will never purchase a GM vehicle again and will be claiming a lemon law right on this one.

- Bryan, OH, USA

problem #2

Sep 062004

Colorado 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The vehicle tends not slow down when the vehicle is going down hill and the driver is down shifting and braking. Owner will contact manufacturer. The engine and transmission doesn't provide braking when shifting to a lower gear when going down a hill.

- Struthers, OH, USA

problem #1

Jan 042004

Colorado

  • 1,400 miles
When applying brakes pedal proceeded to the floor and pulsated without warning.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?