Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,354 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #83

Jan 222016

Equinox

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 45,000 miles the vehicle suffered from excessive oil consumption and the engine became very loud. The engine was replaced under warranty with a new one. Now at 100,000 miles it has the exact same problem. Our warranty just ran out so they said we are responsible for the damages. The vehicle was maintained very well, I have read many people have the same issue and GM themselves told us they knew about it when the engine was replaced the first time. They extended special coverage for excessive oil consumption on many of the equinoxes to 10 yrs/100K mi, but neglected to include our vehicle. GM refuses to check our engine serial number separate from our VIN to verify that it is one of the defective products. GM needs to know that the problem extends farther than they thought, which is easily seen by searching online and looking at cases like ours. GM neglected to properly fix our issue the first time and this is potentially a major hazard for many people, they need to actually extend coverage on all vehicles affected. The engine burned 60% of the oil between oil changes, it clatters and soon will stop working.

- Goffstown, NH, USA

problem #82

Jul 152015

Equinox

  • 97,000 miles
On multiple occasions, when the car was stationary, it would not shift out of park after starting the car and releasing emergency brake. I would just hear this clicking noise near the key ignition when I tried to move it out of park. I've had the car in and out of service about 6 times from July - Dec 2015 because of this. First few times, the mechanics could not get the problem to duplicate. One of those times, they thought the battery caused it and said it needed to be replaced anyway bc it was weak - I did that. Another time, they said it was bc some stuff had spilled down in there where the shifter cables were, so they cleaned and rewired it. Still another time they said a computer part was sending weak signals, so they replaced that. The shifter assembly was replaced once, then again bc one of the parts was deemed defective. This last visit (Dec 2015), they said it was bad wiring from the ECM that caused it. Some of these service/diagnostic fees & the cost of towing have been waived or reimbursed, others have no. None of the issues specifically "related" to the shifter assembly were covered under warranty or recall. So as you can imagine, I have been out at least $500-700 over these last several months. Huge inconveniences - being stuck at work at the end of the day or at home as I'm ready to leave for work. I am planning to trade this car in within the next month or two. If it hadn't been for all of this, I would've loved the car. I was satisfied with everything else about it.

- Royse City, TX, USA

problem #81

Dec 312015

Equinox

  • 101,000 miles
While operating vehicle, (anywhere between idling to travelling 40 mph) the "service stabilitrak" message will appear on console between tachometer and speedometer. Driving the vehicle any further will cause the instrument panel glitch, and all readings will go to zero (tach, speed, temp) while engine is still running. Further operation will create sudden jerks in the transmission until the transmission goes to third gear and remains until engine is cut off. After cutting off engine and trying to restart, the instrument panel will go directly to "service stabilitrak" message and the engine won't turn over. Have had the vehicle towed three times on separate occasions after not starting back up. Have already spent over $2K is different diagnosis and repair/replace actions. Considering that this website has 8 separate service bulletins concerning the "service stabilitrak" and 11 different complaints concerning "stabilitrak", this is an ongoing and common issue. I have a workmate that had a GMC (same generation, not sure of year) that had similar issues with "service stabilitrak" to the point of dumping the vehicle to get something more reliable.

- Petersburg, ND, USA

problem #80

Dec 222015

Equinox

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Equinox engine light came up while driving in the highway, I hear a noise in the engine every time I accelerate, and the truck would shake a bit, put the SUV in the machine and got a P0300 code for misfire, the coils and sparkplugs where loose and out of place for the second time in less than seven months.

- Manasssa, VA, USA

problem #79

Jan 202015

Equinox

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the system overheat light illuminated on the instrument panel, which indicated that the vehicle overheated. The thermostat indicator indicated that the coolant system was operating normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The dealer replaced the water pump, thermostat, timing chain, fuel lines, and updated the software; however, the repairs did not correct the failure. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Greencastle, IN, USA

problem #78

Oct 162015

Equinox

  • 81,400 miles
My wife and children were driving our Chevrolet Equinox on the highway coming off of an on ramp when the vehicle started to make some noise. Trying to turn left, the vehicle stopped in the middle of the intersection, mind you, in heavier traffic, and would not move. Obviously this is a safety issue itself, what if this would have happened on the highway and caused a fatal accident?? thankful this was not the outcome, but stuck in the middle of an intersection cause safety issues itself. I ovi checked the issue through a local repair auto parts store, transmission issues. I had a second opinion placed with a local repair shop and was told that the transmission was blown out. Our transmission was destroyed. I was told that in this model, a plate that GM used for this vehicles transmission breaks and destroys the transmission. Being stranded in the middle of the highway is a safety issue, being stuck in the middle of an intersection is a safety issue,

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #77

Jun 012015

Equinox

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle ran rough, noise from engine noted. Several times to dealer for repair. 77K miles engine would not start. "timing "jumped 4 notches, no compression in cylinders" per dealer. Dealer wanted $3500 to "diagnose" damage not including repair, installed used motor at cost of $4000. No help from dealer or GM as vehicle was 5 months out of "5 year warranty".

- Auburn, CA, USA

problem #76

Jun 292015

Equinox

  • 94,440 miles
Car would not stay running when it was first started in the morning after sitting all night. We would start it up and try to back out of the garage and it would die, restarted and it would die, this would happen 3/4 times before the engine would keep running. After it kept running it would then only run at a very slow speed for about 3 blocks and then it would just take off and would run and start like it should until the next morning and then we went thru the same thing again. This car was in the shop twice for this problem. The first time they said we had too much alcohol in the gas which was bs. The second time they said they didn't know how to fix it and had to call the tac. It turns out that they had to replace O2 sensor and both timing chain actuators and all gaskets. This car had a timing chain and tensner recall on it in August 2014. I feel that this problem stems from the recall on the timing issues. I don't have any thing to upload but you can get the records from the dealer.

- Alleyton, TX, USA

problem #75

Oct 292015

Equinox

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle using the key remote, it failed to start. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not provided. The approximate failure mileage was 63,000.

- Vincent Harbor, MI, USA

problem #74

Oct 152012

Equinox

  • 62,300 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving approximately 45 mph, there was an abnormal noise coming from the engine. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the timing chain needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted and the vehicle stalled. After two attempts, the vehicle restarted. The vehicle was taken back to a dealer where the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 62,300.

- Gaston, AL, USA

problem #73

Aug 012014

Equinox

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine is consuming an inordinate amount of oil, possibly due to warped cyclinders. I told the dealer it was leaking oil or something because I couldn't keep enough oil in it, they said there was no leak and that I need to change the oil more often. Terrible rattle has existed since shortly after purchasing the vehicle new in 2010. Timing chain had to be replaced once and the rattle went away for a short time. Other mechanics are saying cylinders become oval and then it consumes oil and if you don't notice it the timing chain breaks the plastic guides due to improper lubrication.

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #72

Oct 052015

Equinox

  • 56,000 miles
Excessive oil consumption. Brought the car to a Chevy dealer and returned with full oil, at ~55000 miles. One month later, after putting on ~700 miles, the oil level marker could merely detect any oil left. Brought it back to the dealer, and was told it took them 1qt oil to top-off (I feel it should be more than that), while they admit even 1qt/700 miles oil consumption is not normal. They've started the monitoring, and we'll see what's happening.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #71

Sep 032015

Equinox

  • 114,000 miles
Was out running errands with our two children and the vehicle was running a little rough - almost died twice while at stoplights. Had previously voiced multiple concerns to dealership on oil consumption recall. No low oil notification on vehicle would ever display, and was told by the dealership that this model was not equipped with a notification (which we thought was very odd). Finally got vehicle home and as I pulled into driveway the vehicle died; went to restart and made awful sound wouldn't turn over. Was completely out of oil with over 1,500+ miles left until recommended oil change. Talked to GM cs and turns out our vehicle should be giving a computer notification on the dashboard for low oil. Thankful it didn't happen during my errands since it could have died at a busy intersection or on the interstate and we would have been put in danger.

- Rantoul, IL, USA

problem #70

Aug 282015

Equinox

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle jerked, stalled, and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #69

Jul 142015

Equinox

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled and failed to restart. The engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 86,000.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #68

Jun 302015

Equinox

  • 110,000 miles
Incident occurred: June 30, 2015 a tractor trailer was passing another vehicle and proceeded to come into the left lane. I had cruise control engaged. The truck came over admittedly at a speed that was going slower than the rate of speed I had on my cruise control. When I went to apply the brake, I felt as though my car was not decelerating enough based on the pressure I was applying to the brake. I quick checked my side mirror- I was unable to go around the driver because a car was next to me and I checked my rearview mirror to ensure I was not going to be rear-ended as well- knowing I was too close and going to collide with the truck driver at this point. I applied as much pressure as I could to the brakes to decelerate but unfortunately still collided with the driver. My air bags did not deploy- despite this, it allowed me to see my mirrors immediately following the incident so that I could safely coast to the shoulder of the pa turnpike without disrupting traffic. My 2 concerns: Was braking faulty when cruise control is engaged? also- my air bags did not deploy.

- Forks Township, PA, USA

problem #67

Jun 012015

Equinox

  • miles
2010 Chevrolet Equinox. Consumer writes in regards to fuel control system recall notice and several vehicle issues. The consumer stated a warning light illuminated. The dealer reprogrammed a module. The second time the consumer returned to the dealer, the timing chain was replaced. Also, the engine was noisy. In September 2014, the consumer received a letter about excessive oil consumption. In November 2014, the consumer received a letter about the possibility of the steering locking up. The condenser had a small pin hole, that caused fluid to leak out. The compressor was replaced.

- Warsaw, MO, USA

problem #66

Oct 012013

Equinox

  • miles
My engine rattles and makes a loud fluttering sound accompanied with the misfiring and hesitation with acceleration. I previously wrote a complaint and forgot to mention it.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #65

Oct 012013

Equinox

  • miles
I had to purchase an entirely new a.C system at 50K miles. They put the hose directly on the engine when building the car. Therefore, the heat burned a hole into the hose which caused the system to overheat, resulting in the need for the entire a.C. system to be replaced. A month later, the car began stalling and misfiring while at stop lights. Then, it progressed to misfiring while car accelerates. I was on the interstate when my car completely shut off! I was lucky to pull off to the side road as I had my 5 year old daughter in the vehicle with me. The check engine light turns on and off randomly. Apparently, at 50K miles, the computer system needed to be replaced. This is apparently the cause for the issues (per a mechanic). I've replaced the battery on this car 3 times. I'm still paying the car off and have put so much money into it from it falling apart at 50K miles!

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #64

Nov 192002

Equinox

  • 42,000 miles
My vehicle has similar issues that other consumers have complained about: (1) loss of power on the highway after pressing accelerator pedal down to gain speed. Engine has hesitated and back-fired. (2) excessive oil consumption still remains an issues even though I have brought to the dealer several times. (3) clanging noise in the engine which I have complained about since I purchased the vehicle turned out to be a timing belt issue. Vehicle lost most power and I barely got the vehicle back to my driveway. When I went to start vehicle next day to bring to a repair shop, only the starter was spinning [engine would not turn over as I found out the timing belt disintegrated]. by not knowing there was a special coverage bulletin issued for this problem [extends for 10 years/120,000 miles I believe], my local repair shop brought it to my attention and said although my regular warranty ended, I should bring to dealer. It was replaced for free by dealer due to special coverage in November 2014 [over 4 years of complaining about excessive engine noise]. broken timing belt created damage inside the engine but dealer covered all damage. After the timing belt was replaced, it sounded like I had a whole new engine as it was so quiet. There is still a small rattling noise during start-up, but goes away after engine runs. (4) gas mileage never has come close to Chevrolet's reported estimates for this vehicle [I get about 20 mpg on flat highways].

- Highland Mills, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?