Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,282 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #59

Feb 092015

Equinox

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving approximately 35 mph, the reduced power warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact had to maneuver the vehicle to the side of the road in order to come to a complete stop. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The following day, the vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the throttle body assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 61,000.....updated 04/23/15

- Greenbay, WI, USA

problem #58

Dec 152014

Equinox

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle suddenly decelerated and would not exceed 10 mph. The service engine, reduced engine power, and service stabilitrak warning lights illuminated. The contact managed to coast over to an emergency lane and shut the engine off. The vehicle was restarted and the failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #57

Jan 312015

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
This car has been burning oil and I have had on three separate occasions in the past few months experienced the car stalling, or near stalling while driving or sitting idling in traffic at traffic light or stop sign. I have complained to the dealer and an independent mechanic both of which told me I hardly had any oil in the engine when checked. (I change my oil as recommended my car is maintained as it should be) my most recent experience was the most dangerous, I remote started my car on 1/31/15, I came outside to get in it and I could smell oil burning, the inside cabin smelled of burning oil/ fire like smell. I witnessed smoke coming from under the car at junction of pipe coming from engine area and muffler. I had my father come and check the car out with engine off my father popped the hood and when pulling the dipstick out to check the oil, the oil shot 2-3 feet in the air onto him and down the driver side wheel well of the car. My father could have been severely burned or had eye damage had in been any closer or standing on side of car when checking. I took the car to the dealership on 2/2/15 I told them what happened they kept the car and checked it, I got a call the same day telling me that the car had to have the pistons, valve cover and time and chain replaced, all covered by my power train warranty (thank god). I feel compelled to tell you this B/C it is very dangerous both for those driving and anyone on the road. I have read numerous complaints about this engine (4cyl) and it seems nothing is being done. I believe Chevrolet should have a massive recall, because obviously something is very wrong! I do believe this has been part of another problem that have complained about early on when I first purchased the car it would, and continues to decelerate while driving, completely on its own and very randomly. This is an obvious safety concern.

- Villas, NJ, USA

problem #56

Jan 102015

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 100,653 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving around 50 mph down a rural road when a message suddenly appeared saying no oil pressure, stop engine. I continued about a half mile to stop sign and engine quit as I was braking. Would not re-start. I was stranded on the roadside. Upon checking reason for no oil pressure I determined there was no oil in the engine, no visible leaks or drips on undercarriage of vehicle. Engine apparently had ceased up. Oil change indicator was at 44%, what happened to the oil. There were no oil spots on my garage floor. No low oil indicator light appeared on the dash panel prior to the stop engine warning. There was no knocking or lifter ticking sounds coming from the engine prior to indicate there was a low oil issue. 3.0 L V6.

- Byron, MI, USA

problem #55

Oct 012014

Equinox

  • 33,950 miles
Transmission bangs when shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear at slow speed.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #54

Jan 122015

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 57,569 miles
When you are driving the 2011 Chevrolet Equinox ltz and the vehicle goes into "engine power is reduced" mode the vehicle comes to a complete stop within 10 feet. You are unable to turn the steering wheel or continue to move forward in any way with the phrase service stabilitrack appearing right after. You can be driving slowly at 20-25 miles per hour or faster at 35-40 miles per hour and this is able to happen at any moment. Total control of the vehicle is lost and the engine is unusable. Chevrolet informed us that this is caused by a bad sensor in the throttle body. The sensor is unable to be replaced without replacing the entire throttle body. The vehicle is unusable without replacing the throttle body and the throttle body is not covered after the emissions warranty of 24,000 miles. From years 2006-2009 the throttle body was covered under the powertrain warranty at 100,000 miles. After researching the internet and speaking with local mechanics, it has been noted that multiple Equinox drivers have had this issue and it always occurs between 50,000-60,000 miles. Frankly the vehicle is unsafe and Chevrolet does not care. Something should be done to either include this faulty part in a 100,000 mile power train warranty (as the engine will not operate without it) or a recall should be established. In the event that an Equinox is traveling at higher speeds (such as on a highway) the situation could potentially cause a fatal injury. Video of this occurring will be provided upon request.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #53

Jan 092015

Equinox

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and the engine light illuminated. The vehicle was coasted off of the road and shook constantly. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the timing chain, fuel pump, and engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #52

Dec 112014

Equinox

  • 63,996 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle restarted after numerous attempts. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the vehicle needed a new cam shaft sensor. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 63,996.

- Lebanon, KY, USA

problem #51

Dec 142014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
I tried to put the heater on and cold air came out. I replaced the thermostat and still had the same problem.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #50

Feb 062014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
This vehicle uses about 1 quart of oil per 1000 miles. With no warning from manufacturer or dealer and the recommended oil change at every 4 to 5 thousand miles, the oil level is gone by the time the oil change is due. This repeated action causes the cam position sensor to sludge up and become faulty. This in turn causes the motor to stall. There have been many complaints of the engine stalling on the highway. Mine has stalled many times in city traffic. Due to my driving skills I have avoided any accidents. It is only a matter of time before there are deaths attributed to this issue. Although the manufacturer has been aware of this problem since 2007, it has not even gone as far as installing a low oil level sensor to help prevent this from happening.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #49

Nov 182014

Equinox

  • 38,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2011 Chevy Equinox started having trouble when starting the engine. I would start the car and all my emergency lights would start flashing. Emergency blinkers, airbag service light, stability track and check engine light. I would start to drive and the car would just stall out. If I am driving below 10 miles an hour, the car will turn off. I was making a left turn and my car stalled out in the oncoming lanes almost causing an accident. I have been trying to get my car serviced for a while but all the Chevy dealerships are booked solid around me. Reading the other reviews it looks like this is a common problem. I feel very unsafe driving this vehicle and for a car to only be a couple years old, this should not be happening.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #48

Oct 292014

Equinox

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the check engine warning light illuminated several times and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart, but the failure progressed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000.

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #47

Oct 162014

Equinox

  • 55,000 miles
I was turning left on a green light at the corner of argyle and oakleaf suntrust bank when the car slipped into neutral and I was stuck in oneway opposite traffic until I turned off the engine and restarted it and then was a ble to go into drive, I was almost in a serious accident with several cars. Then I was traveling North on hwy 295 and I had it in cruise control and I could not get it to quit until I turned off the engine. The power train was slipping after I had taken it to the Chevy dealer and they said it was fixed but less than a year later it started doing the same thing as before, slipping, making loud scratching noises.rubbing noises and it smelled funny like it was burning but there was no fire.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #46

Aug 112014

Equinox 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
My wife purchased a 2011 Chevy Equinox with a window sticker stating a four cylinder engine. It had 1800 miles on the vehicle when purchased. We took the vehicle in to have the oil changed and found it has a six cylinder engine. How is this possible and who should I speak with at GM. I'm very concerned because of the terrible gas mileage and a six cyl engine was not shown on the paper work?

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #45

Sep 142014

Equinox

  • 65,724 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle hesitated and shook. The vehicle was restarted and the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The diagnosis was that the intake cam shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,724.

- Bessemer City, NC, USA

problem #44

Sep 092014

Equinox

  • miles
Sept.09,2014 while driving with my 11 year grandson the engine turned off! we fear for our lives.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #43

Mar 032014

Equinox

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle decelerated and all the warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated. The contact discovered that oil dissipated rapidly. The dealer diagnosed that an oil consumption test needed to be done and was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 31,000.

- Havetown, PA, USA

problem #42

Aug 302014

Equinox

  • 54,005 miles
While driving the 2011 Equinox will jerk or jump as if being hit from behind while attempting to accelerate between 2nd and 3rd gear. The check engine light will not turn off. The stability track light comes on and off periodically while in motion. When the car is being turned off it shakes as if the motor is going to fall out. I have to turn off the ac before turning the ignition switch to off position to decrease some of the shaking, yet it does not prevent it. Furthermore while driving at approx.. 30-35mphs, the car jumps to 5th gear without allowing to accelerate any faster in the mist of traffic.the 2011 Chevrolet Equinox shakes and makes a wining noise while idling. It does so to the point where the hood is shaking. The car only has 54000 miles on it. Also I have to constantly adjust the seatbelt while driving because it cuts into my neck which is very uncomfortable and a huge distraction. This car will now go forward in drive but it will not reverse.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #41

Apr 202011

Equinox

  • 800 miles
Columbia, SC-at least twice a month my ignition switch will not turn to the off position so that the key can be removed. I have to turn it back to on (it's not necessary to restart the car) and then back to off in order to remove the key. This began happening within a month after purchasing my new 2011 Equinox. I took it to the dealer April 19, 2011, and they could not find the problem--"unable to duplicate." The problem continues, last occurring 6/25/14. Also, during that same visit, I had reported that the A/C smelled like mold when I first turned it on. 6/27/14, it still smells like mold. As with the ignition, the dealer's service dept. Could not determine the cause of the problem. The latest issue started around 21,000 miles. The engine, which had always run rough (I attributed this to the 4-cylinder engine) began shutting down when I slowed or stopped for traffic lights. I called my dealer and was asked where I purchased my gas and told to get some injector cleaner! I then googled my problem and learned that many others were experiencing the same situation with their 2011 equinoxes. I then called roadside assistance for a pickup and rode in the wrecker to the dealer, where I was greeted with disdain. I told the service advisor to google "Equinox recall" and read the posts, and he said there was no recall (not yet, anyway!) I told him I knew that, but he should look at the many complaints similar to mine. The next morning he called to say that they had found a problem, the solenoid valve. He was a lot friendlier when I picked up my vehicle, his main concern being that I gave the service dept. A good review! no apology for treating me like I was crazy. I predict that the ignition and engine problems with the Equinox will be GM's next recalls. Maybe they need to advise their service advisors to read the online posts regarding their vehicles!

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #40

Apr 292014

Equinox 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, there was a sudden loss of acceleration as the wrench warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the throttle needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 10/24/14 updated 4/20/2015

- Akron, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?