Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: Top complaints for the 2006 Chevy Impala include how the transmission slips, clunks and fails. Or how the power steering knocks and squeals. In other words, this car is a noisy bucket of eventual failure points.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,767 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #98

May 232016

Impala

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the road when the engine just completely lossed power... the car wouldnt start up unless I unplugged the battery for at least 10 minutes. The dashboard read engine reduced power.. very scary situation..I dont feel safe driving this vehicle anymore.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #97

May 082016

Impala

  • 0 miles
Takata recall my windows stop working all together my car some time dont go when I push the gas it will jerk real hard and then some times it takes along time to brake and this been a on going thing but when I called the dealer they gave me a hard time about if there where any recalls about

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #96

Apr 202016

Impala

  • 156,446 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while reversing at approximately 10 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted and resumed normally. The failure recurred numerous times. The failure occurred the same day the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The contact had not experienced the failure prior to the recall repair. The vehicle was taken back to dealer where the computer software was updated however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 156,446.

- Murray, KY, USA

problem #95

Nov 152015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. When the ignition was turned to the off position, the key failed to eject from the ignition. As a result, the battery died. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000. Updated 06/14/16 the consumer was able to remove the key, after following directions from the internet. Updated 06/20/16.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #94

Apr 102016

Impala

  • miles
Ongoing issue with error message relating to "service traction control" "reduced engine power" appeared 4/10/2016. Ongoing history and service related to throttle position and sensor (also serviced) codes P2176; P 2135. 8/1/15 I have addressed through replacing of throttle position and sensor; battery cable (dealership svc dept suggested low voltage related to this issue - retested, issue continues) parts store has suggested "throttle actuator control module P 1516' codes also include P0121, PO2135, P2119 found pmc to be faulty -- "repair and replaced" 12/30/2014; throttle body assembly replaced on April 5, 2014. This has been an ongoing issue for two years. Engine power drops and car will only drive at a low speed < 40mph. This is when the car is in motion. Various attempts to resolve the problem have been unsuccessful. This issue began at apx 140K miles and has reoccurred at 166L, 167K, 180K, 193K. Speeds that it has occurred has been at highway speeds of 60-65mpg to residential 25-35mph. Records have services dates are available; too many to upload all.

- Plattsmouth, NE, USA

problem #93

Feb 082016

Impala

  • 96,200 miles
My car won't shift from the park position, I had to lift up console cover and push release button in order to avoid paying for a tow. Found out it was the wired connector or module or possibly wires that move when you shift gears.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #92

Dec 032015

Impala

  • 116,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear defrost stopped working. When I looked into why, I found the large electrical connector thats behind the front passenger kick panel to be completely burnt. The connections are obviously not rated high enough to handle the amps needed. When I looked on line there is hundreds of people complaining about the same thing. This circuit is also not protected by a fuse. It's a miracle that this didn't burn my car to the ground. This is a very large problem with a large number of effected cars. Mine was just a small electrical fire, but could have been much worse.

- Crooks, SD, USA

problem #91

Nov 162015

Impala

  • 88,838 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked at a parking lot, the vehicle caught on fire. The vehicle was towed to an impound lot. The vehicle was destroyed. A fire report was not filed and there were no injuries sustained. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 88,838. Updated 04/08/16

- Kirkland, WA, USA

problem #90

Nov 012015

Impala

  • 93,000 miles
Headlights flicker, driving down the road and parked. Also battery drains every year.

- Moose Lake, MN, USA

problem #89

Jul 222015

Impala

  • 128,236 miles
At start up of my car the driver side airbag would say service required, but it would go away when we buckled up. When in a week it started to stay on. It no longer goes away. Also now Y when I shut off my car the radio will stay on even when you open the drivers side door and lock it. I have to manually shut it off.

- Washington, MI, USA

problem #88

Nov 172014

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had purchased vehicle from dealer in ashland va back in September 2014. Had no concerns about the vehicle until first trip not driving vehicle for a week and upon return vehicle would not start. Had jumped started vehicle and got check engine light which was on for three days then cut off. In February 2015 had not driven vehicle for two week period and upon return vehicle would not start again. Checked battery and had replaced along with cleaning positive battery post for corrosion. Check engine light was on for two to three days then cut off - check code at Firestone dealership showed code P2135 - dealership could not determine where possible power drainage could be coming from and recommended to take vehicle to Chevy dealership and have them test for power drainage. As long as the vehicle is started/used without prolonged period of inactivity, vehicle operation for this model year is acceptable.

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #87

Apr 192015

Impala

  • 186,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph in very light rain when the vehicle exhibited an abnormal clicking noise four times successively. The front end of the vehicle then seemed to drop to the ground causing the steering wheel to seize, the traction control warning light to flash and the brakes to become inoperable. The contact also stated that the air bag erroneously deployed and knocked her unconscious. The vehicle then traveled off the roadway, into a woody area and crashed into a tree. The contact was awoken by the screams of her small children, who were sitting in the rear of the vehicle. Two child passengers were injured and suffered lacerations to the face, contusions of the shoulders, face, head injuries and a concussion. The contact sustained a sprained neck, fractured spine, and a concussion, clotting in the skull, a chest wall contusion and lacerations to the legs. All three passengers required medical attention. The contact and all passengers were able to exit the vehicle without further injuries. A police report was filed of the incident, and the vehicle was towed from the scene. The contact was advised that the transmission and the motor had both fallen out of the vehicle prior to the crash and were still in the roadway. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of a recall on the ignition switch one week after the crash occurred (NHTSA campaign id number: 14V355000 - electrical). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 186,000.

- Lexington, GA, USA

problem #86

Dec 092011

Impala

  • 89,000 miles
If car is not started daily. It will drain the battery and require a jump. Friend has same make and model 2006 Impala lt. Same problem. I have installed new battery every year for four years.

- Waukegan, IL, USA

problem #85

Mar 182015

Impala

  • miles
As I was driving on the expressway car slowed down only driving 5 mph... leaving me stranded on the side on the expressway. I just put a engine in the car so I know thats not the problem I always had the transmission worked on in the past.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #84

Feb 092006

Impala

  • 800 miles
Ac blend door actuator (there are 3 of them) is insufficiently designed to hold up to normal wear and tear. The location of the switches makes maintenance nearly impossible. It would be assumed that the design would be sufficient to hold up under several years use since accessibility to these parts is very difficult. The parts themselves cost about $27 (twice that at the dealership) at your parts store but the dealership and/or independent mechanics charge hundreds of dollars to replace this part. My car is now 10 years old and I have had to replace all 3 of these switches at least twice and the most difficult to get to switch has been replaced a total of 4 times. It seems that the actual life expectancy of these parts (in actual use) is approximately +/- 15 months.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #83

Feb 212015

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start until after numerous attempts. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #82

Oct 072014

Impala 8-cyl

  • miles
2006 Chevrolet Impala safety recall consumer took vehicle to dealer. However, they didn't have the parts. The consumer referenced recall # 14V355000.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #81

Jan 302015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
Ignition key switch.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #80

Jan 242014

Impala

  • 100,000 miles
I've been experiencing the same problem with my 2006 Impala off and on for the last year, maybe more. The car will randomly give me an error of "engine power reduced." The car slows to a crawl, has no acceleration, the engine shakes and it sputters until the engine is turned off. I took it to a mechanic who said it was the tps sensor. He replaced the throttle body. The car ran fine for a few months and then it started again. Since I was getting the same codes, I took it back to the mechanic who informed me that it could be an electrical problem or it could have been caused by my battery, but there's no way to tell for sure without troubleshooting. I have since been to several mechanics, all who say the codes point to the throttle body, but they also agree that I shouldn't be getting these codes so quickly after replacing the unit - which cost over $300. I'm a single mother who works and goes to graduate school full time. I don't have the resources to carelessly dump money into a car. I've put up with it because I can usually pull over, turn the engine off, wait a minute and it will crank back up; however, it has gotten progressively worse. Last night, I was driving down the interstate when the console read "starting disabled service throttle." The engine then shut off while I was driving at highway speeds and left me stranded on the side of a dark highway, alone, with a car full of groceries and a son who was waiting on his mom to get home to put him to bed. Fortunately, I was on a road without a lot of other cars around or it could have been much more dangerous. I've done a lot of research and this seems to be a very common problem with GM cars. An internet search will reveal the same symptoms and the same results from dealers, all without a permanent fix. GM needs to investigate this issue which clearly affects a large number of cars across the GM brand!

- Darien, GA, USA

problem #79

Jan 262015

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V355000 (electrical system) however, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?