Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Impala drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #9

Jul 232012


  • 112,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated the gear shift failed. The vehicle was already at a repair shop for an unrelated failure and they stated that there was a failure within the gear shift cable. The mechanic had to manually shift the vehicle into gear. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Petersburg, IL, USA

problem #8

Jun 242012


  • 96,000 miles
This car has less than 100K miles and Chevy dealerships refuse to diagnose the issue with the transmissions and there are multiple complaints about this issue this car is unsafe. The issue is random jerking of the transmission upon taking off in traffic, at light, or from stand still has caused: (a) my wheels to spin, (B) the car to pull into the next lane, (C) almost rear-end collision with car in front, and (D) sudden rapid acceleration in traffic. The car I almost rear-ended was a 2007 Chevy police Impala the officer exited his car asked was there a problem I told him about the transmission issue and he stated "yea mine does that too this car isn't a safe one" this need to be addressed nationally.

- Columbus , OH, USA

problem #7

Nov 232007


  • 7,915 miles
11-23-07 remote start intermittently inoperable, 10-14-08 when braking vehicle has pulsation in front, 7-1-10 purchased new set of tires -46,388 miles on car (85,000 warranty on tires ), 7-10-10 replaced muffler-seam split, 11-18-10 heavy engine repair-head gasket leak(52284 miles on car), 3-11-08 rust specks on complete vehicle, 2-1-11 transmission repair-replaced piston & resealed input clutch housing (54756 mi on car), 2-10-12 purchased another set of tires 72,820 miles on car (85,000 mile warranty-tires wore bare on inside of 4 tires-outside had good tread there was 58,568 miles left of tire warranty) too many repairs for new car.-lemon-

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #6

Jan 032010


  • miles


I own a 2007 Impala lt 3.9 L. purchased from sunset Chevrolet in sumner, wa 1/03/10. Not even 3 months after buying the car, the engine oil started leaking, the transmission started leaking, the power steering started making an abnormal noise, and the car needed a brake job. (front and back). Took car to dealer (burien Chevrolet in burien, wa). Was told that the needed repairs were not covered by warranty. We declined repairs as we could not afford out of pocket cost. Contacted General Motors. Was told that at the time the vehicle was taken to the dealer, that relevant components were indeed covered by the warranty. GM was unsure of why dealer had told us they were not covered by warranty. But that the warranty was presently expired, and even though it wasn't when we took car to dealer, there is nothing they can do now that the warranty is expired. Also, the tech at burien Chevrolet said that he could see no signs of the symptoms that we described were wrong with the transmission, even though there was a service bulletin issued by GM on 10/15/09 (06-07-30-023C) which describes the symptoms exactly as we told the dealer. It also contains information neede to repair the problem. Now the transmission is on the verge of breaking down and the engine is leaking oil more than ever.

- Burien , WA, USA

problem #5

Sep 032010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Have 2007 Impala LT3. (purchased from sunset Chevrolet, sumner, wa) 1/13/2010. Having serious transmission issues. Took vehicle to Firestone (6/10/10) for routine oil change and inspection. Found leak in transmission. Also needed fuel system service. Repairs not done at this time due to financial shortage. Took to Firestone again for routine oil change 8/26/10. During routine inspection oil leak detected. Transmission leaking. And power steering making abnormal noise. Could not afford repairs. Then took vehicle to dealership. Was told that repairs not covered by warranty. Could not afford out of pocket. Transmission got worse as did oil leak and powersteering. 1/31/11 Firestone serviced the transmission and replaced the leaking gasket. This did nothing to help transmission issues. Contacted GM. Was eventually told that even though burien Chevrolet told us the parts were not covered by warranty, that in fact the parts were covered by warranty at the time we took it to the dealer. But because we took the vehicle to an independent auto shop, their was nothing GM could do to assist us with our issue. Now I am unsure how to proceed. Any advise? thank you for your time. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Burien, WA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Sep 212011


  • 50,000 miles
Vehicle's transmission slips when accelerating, and also jerks when idling. This is a common issue that has been reported in multiple places by a large number of people. Issue has been increasing in frequency - making this car unsafe to drive, yet Chevrolet has not bothered to address the now obvious problem.

- Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #3

Jun 152011


  • 49,011 miles


Shift gear sticking would not move. Stranded at 1 am in the morning.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #2

Dec 042010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 46,121 miles
Parked car in driveway after coming home from work. Went back out to go out and could not get car out of park. Had to be towed to dealer, supplied with "rental vehicle" which I paid for. Dealer stated broken wire in solenoid connection in center console.

- Middletown, NJ, USA

problem #1

Dec 242009


  • 44,100 miles
On December 24, 2009, after parking my 30 month old 2007 Chevrolet Impala ltz on level ground at 6:30am in the morning and minus 13 degrees Fahrenheit, I attended my morning workout for 1 hour. On return and after successfully starting the car I found the stick shift access button could not be pushed, despite following the recommended procedures, and the car was stuck in park. It was towed to the local GM dealer for $100. After six days and $150 in expenses for another car the GM dealer reported that the problem was a "broken ground wire" in the "shift lock solenoid connector" [inside the centre console where the shift lever is located]. the cost of repair was $137. My internet research shows this problem occurs often in Chevrolet Impala, which suggests that the problem is in the design and manufacture of the vehicle. This problem could be life threatening if the problem occurs in a remote area at this temperature. I thought this was a power train problem since the part allows the transmission to engage, and therefore should be covered under warranty. GM claims it is not part of the power train. My complaint is that the problem could be life threatening, is a defect in design and manufacture, and that the problem is a power train problem and therefore should be covered under warranty.

- Saskatoon, 00, USA

Not what you are looking for?