Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,894 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Impala engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #20

Jun 122013


  • miles


Every time I turn the heat from the air conditioning, and vice versa, it makes a loud click clacking sound that lasts for about a minute or two and is loud enough to be heard inside and outside of the car. Very embarrassing. Others that own a similar vehicle have had the same issues.

- Cheraw, SC, USA

problem #19

May 032010

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased my vehicle in late March 2010. Shortly thereafter, my car began to lose power. I had at least 3 incidences that I can remember, 1 of which was going down the interstate and the car completely died. Frightened, I was able to get the car to the shoulder and put the vehicle in park. My first reaction was to attempt to restart the vehicle. It started up right away and I was able to make it safely home. The other incidents were on main roads in town. The car did the same thing. After the interstate ordeal, I immediately took the car to beaty Chevrolet in knoxville, tn. They stated that the ignition went out and needed to be replaced. Now, I understand that other GM owners have had this same issue. A recall definitely needs to be issued so no more people are put in harm's way. This is a known issue according to an operator named [xxx] at GM when I called a few minutes ago to inquire about the current recall regarding the key/fob turning issue. She stated that the recall had not yet been issued regarding my issue and that I needed to file a complaint with your department. I believe that this known issue is being swept under the rug by the big corporation and needs to be dealt with immediately. I deserve a full refund for "faulty" manufactured parts. Luckily, my family nor I were injured during the listed incidents listed above. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #18

Mar 082012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
While driving my 07' Chevy Impala the temperature gauge arm often will drop to 'C' as if the engine temperature is cold, then the drivers information display panel will display a message "engine hot turn off A/C". I've had the thermostat replaced, radiator coolant drained and replaced, hoping to fix this problem, but I'm still dealing with it. After doing some research I'm finding that there has been other Chevy vehicle owners dealing with this same issue, which is most likely a bad 'engine coolant temperature sensor (ect).

- L.A., CA, USA

problem #17

Feb 192014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles


No heat in car, over heating, took to garage, it is head gasket. Very expensive to fix, only 53,000 miles.

- Phoenicia , NY, USA

problem #16

Mar 302012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
Intermittent problems with "service traction control" and "engine power reduced". my Impala is starting to rumble and jostle when these warnings appear. However, I can't figure out the reason.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #15

Apr 232012


  • miles
While I was driving an error message appeared on the panel "engine power reduced". the car immediately slowed down as if the engine had cut-off completely. It did not and I was able to drive to the side of the road at about 10 mph. Luckily it was late at night, the few cars that were driving near me were able to change lanes before a collision occurred.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #14

Apr 032012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles


I am the owner of a 2007 Chevy Impala, which is no longer under warranty. (last 8 of VIN #[xxx]) I have had several problems with my vehicle for the past several years starting with the "check engine light." When I was in school in Virginia the light first came on and I took it to a GM dealer in Virginia for a week, they said they fixed it and a week later it came back on. I brought the vehicle back and they said they fixed it again, however it once again came back on. This is extremely frustrating because it wouldn't let me accelerate over 25 mph and I needed to get home to New York. Several months later I received the "check engine light" again and brought it to a GM dealer in New York, who supposedly fixed this problem. Last week the "check engine" light came on again with the message "reduced engine power" once again and the car stopped on the highway and shut-off. This is extremely dangerous as I was stopped on a 60mph highway with cars just missing me. I have spent thousands of dollars as a college student trying to repair this issue which still has not been resolved and now has become an inconvenience, a toll on my bank account, as well as a very dangerous safety issue. I am scared to drive my car to work everyday now, which should not be the problem because the engine light and reduced power is still on. I have looked online at several message boards and everyone has said the same thing about this problem. Clearly this is a manufacturing error and as a safety measure GM should really place a recall on this before someone dies or is seriously injured from this. I appreciate your immediate response to this inconvenience and safety issue. Thank you, information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rock Tavern, NY, USA

problem #13

Nov 232007


  • 7,915 miles
11-23-07 remote start intermittently inoperable, 10-14-08 when braking vehicle has pulsation in front, 7-1-10 purchased new set of tires -46,388 miles on car (85,000 warranty on tires ), 7-10-10 replaced muffler-seam split, 11-18-10 heavy engine repair-head gasket leak(52284 miles on car), 3-11-08 rust specks on complete vehicle, 2-1-11 transmission repair-replaced piston & resealed input clutch housing (54756 mi on car), 2-10-12 purchased another set of tires 72,820 miles on car (85,000 mile warranty-tires wore bare on inside of 4 tires-outside had good tread there was 58,568 miles left of tire warranty) too many repairs for new car.-lemon-

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #12

Jan 012011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
While driving on the interstate, a message was displayed saying "service traction control" and "reduced engine power". I was using cruise control and it shut off after the messages were displayed and I was unable to stay at the speed limit or accelerate quickly if needed. In another incident, I was driving and the two messages displayed and a few minutes later the engine shut off completely. The power steering was not working and the engine was not responding. The only way to get the car running again was to shut it off and wait several minutes until it would start again.

- Goshen, IN, USA

problem #11

Jan 032010


  • miles
I own a 2007 Impala lt 3.9 L. purchased from sunset Chevrolet in sumner, wa 1/03/10. Not even 3 months after buying the car, the engine oil started leaking, the transmission started leaking, the power steering started making an abnormal noise, and the car needed a brake job. (front and back). Took car to dealer (burien Chevrolet in burien, wa). Was told that the needed repairs were not covered by warranty. We declined repairs as we could not afford out of pocket cost. Contacted General Motors. Was told that at the time the vehicle was taken to the dealer, that relevant components were indeed covered by the warranty. GM was unsure of why dealer had told us they were not covered by warranty. But that the warranty was presently expired, and even though it wasn't when we took car to dealer, there is nothing they can do now that the warranty is expired. Also, the tech at burien Chevrolet said that he could see no signs of the symptoms that we described were wrong with the transmission, even though there was a service bulletin issued by GM on 10/15/09 (06-07-30-023C) which describes the symptoms exactly as we told the dealer. It also contains information neede to repair the problem. Now the transmission is on the verge of breaking down and the engine is leaking oil more than ever.

- Burien , WA, USA

problem #10

Jun 152011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


My vehicle has the 3.9 L ltz package. It uses 2 to 3 quarts of oil per oil change. I am currently working with the dealership to monitor my oil consumption every 1,000 miles. So far we have used 1/2 quart in 2,000 miles. The dealership does not seemed concerned but frankly my car should not be using any oil. GM should do something. We have a 10 year/100,000 mile warranty. I hope GM doesn't try to squeak out of fixing this issue.

- Christiansburg, VA, USA

problem #9

Sep 212011


  • 50,000 miles
Vehicle's transmission slips when accelerating, and also jerks when idling. This is a common issue that has been reported in multiple places by a large number of people. Issue has been increasing in frequency - making this car unsafe to drive, yet Chevrolet has not bothered to address the now obvious problem.

- Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #8

Sep 062011


  • 74,769 miles
I had numerous problems with this vehicle (almost through my third set of tires, oxygen sensor going at 46,000 miles, rust beginning at 38,000 miles {car was two years old}, and the battery going prematurely). Last week, I attempted to put on my rear defogger. The light came on, but my rear windshield was still fogged up. The defroster also does not blow cold air if the car is in park.

- West Mifflin, PA, USA

problem #7

Feb 052010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I purchased a used 2007 Chevrolet Impala 3.5L ls with approximately 25K miles in October 2009. Between oil changes my car has been burning out oil 2-3 quarts between oil changes). I have taken it back to the dealership 3 times to have this issues corrected. They thought it was a clogged sensor and changed it because they could not find any leaks. They changed the sensor but the vehicle is still burning between 2 - 3 quarts. I have my oil changed every 3K miles. The oil light does come on to alert me when I am low. I am afraid that the engine is going to seize up. I want to bring it back to the dealer again but the last 3 time I have taken it there they have been unsuccessful in finding the problem. I have been a GM customer with this dealership for approximately 17 yrs and have never had a problem with any of my other GM products and the dealership has always been very helpful.

- Bellingham, MA, USA

problem #6

Jun 172010


  • miles
I have a 2007 Chevy Impala lt I bought it used with 30,000 miles on it. In between oil changes the oil warning comes on telling me to add more oil. I've taken it to the dealership and to other mechanics and cannot figure out what is wrong. They have checked for leaks and there are none. They said maybe the engine is burning it off but they don't smell it. Nobody can tell me what is wrong, so in between oil changes I have to put 1-2 quarts of oil in it. I change my oil every 6,000 miles.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #5

Apr 122010


  • 89,000 miles
2007 Chevrolet Impala has strong odor (skunk-like smell) that radiates from the vehicle's interior when the outside climate begins to warm up. GM issued a tsb (#08-08-110-019) for the problem, but will not repair vehicles that are out of warranty. The problem pertains to incorrect parts (a rubber brake booster boot and instrument panel insulator pad) installed in vehicles between January 1 2007 and March 1 2007 that emit this odor. The smell is so severe at times that it causes severe headaches and nausea to the vehicles occupants. On several occasions, the car had to be stopped and all occupants exit while the car "aired-out". surely, strong chemicals are being disbursed in a small space that is making people sick and GM needs to address this issue.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #4

Dec 012007


  • 3,000 miles
Shortly after purchasing the vehicle, electrical system and on-board computer issues started occurring: Tire monitor system (TPMS) in-op. Warnings randomly appearing in dash: Check tire monitor system. Check left/right rear tire pressure. TPMS did not warn of a flat tire even though a significant amount of air was lost. Increasing no. Of issues with electrical system: Keyless entry fails. Check airbag warning appears. Check A/C warning in dash. Ambient temperature gauge erratic. Compass showing N (or ne/nw but always incorrect heading). Cruise control will not resume at times or set incorrect speed (a few M/H higher or lower). Speed has increased on its own. Once, I noticed the speed at over 80M/H when I had set the cruise control at 70. Dash displaying warnings quickly and yellow warning lights flash briefly, which is extremely distracting and warnings cannot be read. TPMS light comes on routinely after driving for 1-3 hours. Warnings may flash at any time. Took the vehicle in six times at the request of GM. Some parts were replaced but electrical issues keep increasing and original issues cannot be fixed. Keyless entry working for now, after components were replaced twice. E-brake did not work when the vehicle was purchased. Though promised by delivery, car had to be taken in five times for E-brake to work modestly. I am not in possession of any old parts as repairs were performed under warranty.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #3

May 112009


  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 15 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled and would not restart for at least 15 minutes. Afterwards, the contact had to restart the engine to see if the vehicle was working properly. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic several times, but the failure could not be diagnosed. The dealer stated that the body control module needed to be replaced. The contact believes that this is a manufacturer defect and they should be responsible for the repairs. The failure mileage was 77,000 and current mileage was 80,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #2

Nov 242008


  • 35,700 miles
5weeks ago I took my car in for a heating problem the dealers service dept. Put a gallon of antifreeze in charged me $67 and said it was fixed one week later same problem took it in they had it for 6hours said it was fixed a week later same problem again they said it was fixed a week goes by same problem, and so on it goes, this will be my fifth trip for same problem, has there been other complaints about heating issues in Impala.

- Georgetown, IL, USA

problem #1

Jun 042008

Impala 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 40 mph at 2,000 RPM, the contact released the accelerator pedal and the RPM immediately increased. Occasionally, the RPM will remain the same when pressure is released from the accelerator pedal. After the failure occurs, the vehicle will continue to accelerate for a few seconds. After a period of time, the RPM's will return to normal. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, but they could not determine the cause of the failure. The mechanic stated that there was not a solution to correct the failure. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 12,500 and current mileage was 14,900. Updated 7/3/08 updated 07/03/08

- Jackson, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?