Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,460 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Impala suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #66

Apr 072015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Subject: 2008 Chevrolet Impala rear tire wear. Case # [xxx]VIN # is [xxx] we are having a problem with our 2008 Chevrolet Impala. Our rear tires are wearing out twice as fast as the front tires. I went to costco yesterday to have my tires rotated, after looking at the rear tires we had to buy new ones because the back tires were worn down to the metal backing, the front tires were still good. Only one half of the warranty had been used. The tires were Michelin X-radial dt mich passenger S/T P225/60R16 bw mspn 17457 tires with an 80,000 mile warranty. We ended up buying four new Michelin tires for around $600. The costco guy thought that something must be wrong with the car. After I got home I checked on the internet as to what could cause this problem and found out that there was a problem with the 2007 and 2008 Chevrolet Impala's. there had been a service bulletin #08032A sent out in 2011 to replace the spindle rods on all the 2007 and 2008 Impala's that were sold as police cars to fix this problem that they were having with rear tire wear. I would like to see that service bulletin extended all the other 2007 and 2008 Chevrolet Impala's. the part number for the spindle rod is the same on all 2008 Impala, police or non police. This is a major safety problem and people are going to be killed if this problem is not fixed, you just don't expect the tires to wear out so fast. We had just finished a trip were we drove freeway speeds up to 75 miles an hour. After seeing our tires I don't know how we keep from having a blow out on the back tires. I think that lots of accidents have happened with these 2007 and 2008 Chevy Impala with tires blowing out because rear tire wear because the spindle bolts are engineered wrong and every one thinks its the tires fault.. GM needs to fix this problem and replace the four spindle bolts. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Tapps, WA, USA

problem #65

Apr 062015

Impala

  • 103,084 miles
Case # [xxx] our rear tires are wearing out twice as fast as the front tires. I went to costco yesterday to have my tires rotated, after looking at the rear tires we had to buy new ones because the back tires were worn down to the metal backing.. there had been a service bulletin sent out in 2011 to replace the spindle rods on all the 2007 and 2008 Impala's that were sold as police cars to fix this problem that they were having with rear tire wear. I would like to see that service bulletin extended all the other 2007 and 2008 Chevrolet Impala's. this is a major safety problem and people are going to be killed if this problem is not fixed you just don't expect the tires to wear out so fast. We had just finished a trip were we drove freeway speeds up to 75 miles an hour. After seeing our tires I don't know how we keep from having a blow out on the back tires. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Tapps, WA, USA

problem #64

Mar 122015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 67,818 miles
Uneven rear tire wear. Just have 24000 miles on new tires. Discovered problem with spindle, rear tire alignment by Chevy from 2007 and 2008 models police models only by searching on line. Contacted dealer and asked about problems or recalls and stated no problems, just need a 4 wheel alignment.

- St Francis, WI, USA

problem #63

Feb 162015

Impala

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Own snow the rear end slides all over the place you have no control, I have brand new tires extraction tires on rear.

- Springfield, TN, USA

problem #62

Jun 272014

Impala

  • 80,000 miles
We had over $10,000 in insurance repairs on 2008 Impala with blue book around $12,800. Oklahoma insurance dept rules said car should have been total loss. We had to go to a 2nd shop to continue repairs as the body shop manager was fired. Carfax is now showing vehicle with frame damage etc.. and insurance company refuses to assist. We would like to forward more documentation for assistance as ftc is telling us you can assist hold fowler Chevrolet of tulsa Oklahoma accountable. This is a serious safety issue also if they are repairing cars that should be a total loss besides compensating us for the financial issues related.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #61

Nov 192014

Impala

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact states that the vehicle rear suspension system was causing the tires to wear prematurely. The contact stated that the rear tires had to be replaced approximately every six months. The manufacturer was notified of this issue. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #60

Oct 102014

Impala

  • 90,066 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that when coming to a stop, the vehicle jerked without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V377000 (suspension) and 14V355000 (electrical system) however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,066.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #59

May 292014

Impala

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 35 mph, a vehicle crashed into the driver side of the contact's vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact was knocked unconscious and sustained shoulder injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. In addition, when making a turn, it felt as if the rear tires lifted off the ground. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 76,000.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #58

Jul 252014

Impala 4WD 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Had vehicle repaired at fowler Chevrolet in tulsa Oklahoma and very concerned that vehicle should have been a total loss. Vehicle taken in 2nd time for rework. We have some pictures and video. Body shop manager was terminated. We need assistance. Very concerned about safety issues on vehicle at highway speeds. Unsure where to turn. Several people with Chevrolet involved to cover for dealer. The dealer informed the consumer to remove all the keys from the key ring. Updated 12/17/14...updated 06/16/15

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #57

Aug 012014

Impala

  • 62,000 miles
While driving at highway speed, noticed some vibration from rear tires. Checked tires when I got home. Rear tires have extreme tread wear on the inside edge. This wear is hidden because it is on the very inside edges of the tires, and you don't notice when looking at the tires from the side of the car. Most of the tire you can see looks normal. The wear is on the inner most 5% of the tread. And it is extreme wear, all the way through the steel belts. I researched and found a GM service bulletin for 2007-8 Impala tire wear and suspension problems like this. But that bulletin only called for service on models with police suspension in the rear. The solution required replacement spindle arms to be installed. Called GM and they will not replace my consumer spindles. But I have the same problem. This tire wear has caused bow outs and crashes if you look at reports that a google search can find. Search for Impala spindle and tire wear. You will be amazed at how obvious this deadly defect is.

- Oregon, WI, USA

problem #56

Dec 092011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 67,122 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive left side tire wear, especially left rear. Left side tires need replaced every 34 thousand miles. I guess the left rear would go faster if I did not rotate the tires to spread the wear. Car when bought came with replacement tires at 34 thousand miles, I replaced them at 67 thousand and 102 thousand. Problem still exists. I keep an eye on them, otherwise left rear tire would likely have been destroyed by this condition. At 67K miles Firestone said they would have to drill holes to align car properly. This is an obvious safety problem, especially since the wear is on the inside of the tire where most folks don't look. I called and mailed GM and they don't care, guess we need some accidents first.

- Summerhill, PA, USA

problem #55

Jul 022014

Impala

  • 37,637 miles
All four door locks stopped working from the driver door control or the fob. The only way to unlock the doors is to physically pull up on the lock. In the case of an accident, I will be unable to unlock any of the doors without physically pulling the door lock. This creates a safety hazard, especially since the car may suddenly stop working. I'm afraid I will be killed while driving this car! the car does not stay in alignment. The car has been realligned at least three times and this for a vehicle with only 37637 miles, this is an injustice.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #54

Jun 042014

Impala

  • 133,287 miles
The following has happened twice to me in the last 3 months. I was driving on the freeway 65-70mph when the service traction control/engine power reduced lights came on dash. My car then lost all power on the freeway and my speed was reduced to under 35mph. After stopping the vehicle and turning it off for approximately 5 minutes, the car started back up.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #53

Jun 012012

Impala

  • 40,000 miles
Tire blowout. Due to defective rear suspension that caused tires to be misaligned. The defective spindles caused the weight of the car to ride on the very inside corners of the rear tires. 90% of the tire wear was on 10% of the tires. This caused the hidden inside one inch of the tire to wear through the tire safety belts, expose the tire threads, and then blowout. Both rear tires did this. The pictures are stunning to see how much of the tire tread looks perfect and how devastating the wear was to the inner most inch. To most people looking at the tires from the side, they looked fine.no one expects the damage they don't see hidden from daily view. The tire wear is extremely accelerated once it reaches the soft material just under the tread. It can go from thin tread to a hole in the safety belt material in 1000 miles of wear. GM issued technical service bulletin in 2008 about this exact symptom, but only called for repair of police model Impala. They have not called for repair of similar general public owners models. So we did not know until we had a blowout. The dealer would do nothing because it was not a police car covered in the tsb. We paid for 4 new times, and alignment. But the problem still exists. The new tires are wearing out the same. There is little winter traction in the rear because of such small amount of tread on the road.

- Oregon, WI, USA

problem #52

May 022013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
I had to replace lower control, and trans. Shift linkage I call to see if there was a recall GM said only on police models another time I had to have car towed to dealership to have trans. Linkage repaired.

- Princeton, NJ, USA

problem #51

Sep 012009

Impala 8-cyl Diesel

  • miles
2008 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to transmission failure. The consumer stated the vehicle was purchased in Sept 2007, and in Sept 2009, the transmission had to be replaced. The vehicle was covered under 100% warranty and she was given a rental car. The transmission was replaced a for a second time, and lasted until March 2014. The consumer stated the transmission was replaced for a 3rd time and it hasn't even been 7 years. The consumer stated the vehicle would hesitate from a stop. The dealer also stated the vehicle needed engine mount and stabilizer links.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #50

Mar 092014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Known rear camber problems causing rear tires to go bald and fail and highways speeds with less the 20,000 miles. Recall was performed on police package models but not civilian however parts are identical.

- Havre De Grace , MD, USA

problem #49

Sep 092013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 80,600 miles
It's making a humming nosie.

- Deming , NM, USA

problem #48

Aug 012012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 42,665 miles
The spindle rods getting rel hot and some and eat up my 4 tire / got the car new at the central Chevrolet did not fix the spindle rods now I am getting a electric some where? some one form GM told me he did not say nothing wrong with the car he come form the little rock office all Chevrolet Impala need to be recall I have to by 4 set of tire all the time I am asking GM to get me a new car some one form GM told me nothing wrong with the car was a little oil fire on the spindle rods I have not fix.

- Jonesboro, AR, USA

problem #47

Jun 142013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact and the dealer stated that the lower control arm failure caused the sub frame to crack. The contact spoke with the manufacturer in regards to NHTSA recall campaign id number: 12V377 (suspension), but was told that the vehicle was not included. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 79,000.

- Alttona, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?