Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,460 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Impala suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Jun 012013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Inside tread of each back tire wears out prematurely because of an adjustment that cant be made to the rear wheels, all police vehicles have been repaired for this defect as a spindle rod with an adjuster was put in to correct it, I own a 2007 and 2008 and both cars R doing this why should the consumer be stuck for a part that should be put in at manufacture time. How can U expect GM loyalty when U treat us that way.

- Browns Valley, MN, USA

problem #45

May 052013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 66,956 miles
During routine chassis inspection as part of oil change, I noticed both rear tires had wires exposed on inside tread surface. These have only 16,000 miles of use and are condemned. The vehicle has 67 K miles and this is the end of third set of tires ! rear wheel camber is at fault but why ?

- Midland, MI, USA

problem #44

Aug 252008

Impala

  • 5,000 miles
My wife and I purchased the Chevy Impala to be our first vehicle together after getting married. Bought this vehicle brand new only 102 miles on it before we drove it off the lot. Little did we know it was going to be 4 years of nightmares and headaches. At the time read many review about the Impala, nothing too major was found. After the first week, the power steering seemed to be failing, especially during rain. Took it back to the dealer and they could not replicate the incident. They told us they could not find anything wrong and to bring it back if the problem continued. It didn't take long and we were back at the dealer with the same problem. Dealer said they checked the belts and the fluid all working properly. After a few other times of the power steering failing took the vehicle to another dealer and they too could not find anything wrong with the ps. So, after several trips back to dealer we decided to just deal with it. Which brings me to my next complaint about the 2008 Impala, at just over 10,000 noted abnormal wear on tires, and wires peeking through on the inside. Took it in to dealer and they accused us of abusive driving behavior and neglect, which was a new on to me. Anyway, they refused to replace the tires sitting the warranty only covers defects and normal driving conditions. So, by this time we are starting to regret the purchase of this vehicle. We had to replace all 4 tires @ $98 each. About year later at 28,000 miles began to have this problem once again. After many hours of debates and phone calls they agree to "check out our problem" with no cost to us. Low and behold wouldn't you know it, they found nothing wrong with the vehicle and advised us to purchase better brand tires. The last time I looked Michelin was a top brand tire. On top of everything else, main seal in motor began to leak. This was the last straw!

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #43

Jan 192010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 22,348 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Needed 4 new tires & cam bolts on 3 wheels due to excessive wear (down to thread) after only 22,348 miles. I was (at first) told it was because most of my driving was around town & that I made a lot of turns! tires had been rotated regularly since 2008...dlr. Never mentioned known problem w/camber. (mechanic said he sees all the time for this make/model.) saw that this model was recalled for police dept. Purchasers but not for the rest of us. My last Chevy!

- Thomasville, GA, USA

problem #42

Mar 082013

Impala

  • 53,000 miles
Rear tires had excessive wear on the inside of the tire to the point that the thread and wires were showing. Replaced all four tires and wheel alignment. In July 2012 had tires and shocks replaced for the same issue. Big knots were also on the tires and car shook when going at a low speed. Was told that rear suspension was misaligned and that rear shocks would fix the problem. March 2013 tires four tires replaced and wheel alignment again. Was told that camber bolts were needed to fix this problem. Contacted GM in July 2012 about the problem and rep states that there was no recall for this vehicle only the police models. This is unfair for consumers to have to keep buying tires. Vehicle currently has 88560 miles.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #41

Feb 012010

Impala

  • 80,000 miles
Excessive wear on my rear tires. I have been told that the suspension is faulty and that excessive repair work had to be done to remedy this. I had to call aaa on one occassion because one of my rear tires blew out because of this problem. No injuries and I was lucky that I was driving in the city when this happened. On the highway, I could have cause great damage to myself and possibly to others around me. My car burns thru oil so super fast. It burns a quart of oil approximately every 750 miles.

- Blaine, MN, USA

problem #40

Jan 062013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 33,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Premature tires wear on the inside tread of the rear wheels. This is causing steering issues at high speed. Not noticeable until rear tires are rotated to front, then there is a shake. There is a pending lawsuit for this occurrence on the 07 and 08 Impala. Apparently the rear spindles are to blame due to poor design.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #39

Nov 012011

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
We are getting ready to have to replace our third set of tires. We bought our Impala new and replaced our first set of tires at Feb. 2010 (38,000 miles). Replaced again at 54,000 miles Dec. 2011. Replaced again at 65,000 Nov. Of 2012 and it is in need ot new rear tires again at 72,000. Car shakes and back end slides in bad weather. Service department states that it needs a cambor kit. Research has shown that Chevrolet produced a faulty suspension rod and recalled "police owned" vehicles but not consumer vehicles. Do not feel safe in vehicle or allowing my 16 year old to drive it. My car is aligned and tires rotated and serviced frequently! tires wear down to metal sticking out of tires and inner wear is incredible. Left tire behind the driver is the quickest to have problems and begin to cause car to shake. Secondly, rear door automatic door locks quite working after 2 years of owning car. How do I become part of the class action law suit.

- Stockbridge, GA, USA

problem #38

Dec 022008

Impala 8-cyl

  • 19,806 miles
Vehicles rear end felt very loose as if didn't have control of the car. Took to dealership where purchased. Rear tires had excessive wear on inner edge. Inspected suspension and found alignment out of GM specs. Performed wheel alignment and new tires put on. The vehicle now has 60,000 miles and is doing the same thing again. Rear end is wobbly and tires are worn.(Dec.2012).

- Madrid, IA, USA

problem #37

Nov 152012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
We purchased the car new from grand prize Chevrolet. At about 8000 miles I noticed uneven wear on the front tires and called the dealer. I was told that the warranty only covered wheel alignment for the first 6000 miles. Accordingly, I took the car to tire kingdom, a tire dealer, and had the car aligned. At 20,000 miles I again noticed uneven wear in the tires and took the car back to tire kingdom. They aligned it again and said it was ok. It wasn't. at about 35,000 miles it was aligned again by tire kingdom and I put in new tires. The store manager, [xxx] told me he had done the alignment himself and that all was within specs. At 52000 miles one of the tires failed. It was all worn on the inside edge where I had not noticed the uneven wear. I then took the vehicle to maroone Chevrolet who told me they could not align the car without the installation of what they call a "camber kit" because my 2008 Impala had no other way of having the camber adjusted. In summary: My 2008 Impala was misaligned when I purchased it and 52000 miles later is still misaligned because the manufacturer failed to include camber adjustment in the design. Neither the manufacturer or the dealer accepts responsibility for this defect, have not issued a recall and will not fix the problem unless we pay their blackmail. However, according to reports on the internet, a recall for this very same problem was issued by the manufacturer for police vehicles. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #36

Jan 152010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that over the course of two years he had to realign the rear of the vehicle three times. The dealer told him that it was normal for the particular model vehicle. The failure was so severe that the tires constantly became worn prematurely. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 18,000 and the current mileage was 50,000.....updated 12/20/12 the consumer stated one set of tires that were replaced because of faulty alignment were new and had only 7,00 miles on them. Updated 12/28/2012

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #35

Jul 142011

Impala

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that there was a loud noise coming from the rear tires. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who diagnosed that the suspension needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Sumter, SC, USA

problem #34

Apr 012011

Impala

  • 50,000 miles
Tires started wearing on the inside edge and no other place was told we needed new tires also a 4 wheel alignment we replaced tires on the front and moved old tires to the rear. Looking at the rear of the car you can actually see the tires leaning in at the top and tires have started to show wear in less 1,000 miles all the research I have done says this is a common problem GM will not do anything and will not admit that there is a problem I have put 1 set of tires and not the cheap kind GM used plus the last time I just replaced the front tires and put the older ones on the rear and have had car aligned 3 times.

- Reedley, CA, USA

problem #33

Jul 282011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Car began to drive different so thought I needed an alignment. Took the car to the dealer I bought it from only to be told I needed new tires. At 30000 miles I thought this was absurd. A month later later I had a flat tire in the rear only to see that the tire had wires sticking out of the tire with a hole almost completely through the tire. Had to spend money for all new tires and they are already starting to show problems after just a few thousand miles. I am single, retired and live paycheck to paycheck. I'm not a fat cat from General Motors who can't seem to make a decision that yes, there is a problem with this model and year Chevy. When people start dying because of this problem, possibly then you will decide to do something about this.

- Grandview, MO, USA

problem #32

Feb 262012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I purchased a 2008 Impala on January 14, 2012 and the inner tires on the rear were worn almost to the metal cord. I slid off the road on February 26, 2012. When I took the car to the repair shop the front left wheel bearing was loose and also the outer tire rod on the front left was also loose. The auto repair specialist informed me that the suspension on the Impala is a common concern. I was also informed that GM recalled the 2008 Impala but only the police cars.

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #31

Jan 062012

Impala

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle would lose control when driving over light snow. The contact stated that the vehicle performed as if he were driving on ice. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the suspension system needed to have a camber kit installed to assist with traction control. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #30

Feb 072012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 27,533 miles
Mileage on car 27,533 tires rated 40,000 we rotate tires every 6,000 to 9,000 miles. Had nail in tire, went to GM garage to get repaired. We were told and then shown that the rear tires were worn so bad on the inside they were junk. The front tires were almost as bad. The dealer service advisor said you may use one for a spare but shouldn't put them on the car for regular use. They also installed rear camber bolts in order to perform an alignment on the rear wheels. According to a GM bulletin no. 08032A dated July 2008 that the installation of new rear wheel spindle rods to correct the wear problem was necessary. This bulletin has been upgraded to include non-police vehicles. I showed the service advisor the bulletin and he confirmed it was upgraded to include non-police vehicles. I am worried that their repair won't completely correct the problem. I can't believe that there wasn't an adjustment for the rear wheels. Which leads me to believe that the rear tires were never aligned properly. We receive credit for the two rear tires but nothing for the front tires. GM knew about this problem in July 2008. I consider this a safety issue that needs to be resolved. GM's response to this problem is unacceptable.

- Fruitport, MI, USA

problem #29

Aug 032009

Impala

  • 40,000 miles
I am getting my fourth set of tires on my 2008 Impala, with 70,000 miles I have been told everything from not rotating my tire which I do every 6,000 miles to alignment which has been done three times, , I also have no power steering randomly at low speeds, also rear door locks don't work any more, also when I step on the gas the traction control light comes on and I can't go forward and then it all of a sudden will move, that's on dry pavement.

- Tea, SD, USA

problem #28

Jan 022012

Impala

  • 30,000 miles
Rear wheel spindles cause rear tires to wear inside of tire prematurely.

- Burnet, TX, USA

problem #27

Jul 192010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
In less than 30,000 miles, I've had to have wheel alignments each time I was force to replace 2 sets of rears tires on my 2008 Impala due to excessive wear. Before having to replace the first set of tire, I had the car into the dealership twice for car vibration at speeds of 50 to 65 mph. I was told the first time that all the wheels had to be re-balanced which did not make since to me. The second time I was told that nothing was found. Then the first tire failure and fortunately only at 35 mph. This first failure was at approx. 15,000 miles. One tire, but both were worn enongh that the dealer should have forewarn me before I left the dealership. The second set of the original tires moved to the rear, wore-out at approx. 28,000 miles. I have never in my 47 years of driving had tires and mulitple alignments as I've had on this car.

- Niles, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?