If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,484 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Impala wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments

problem #14

Mar 152011

Impala

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The incident date above is approximate but the first event with a tire center was a Saturday in March 2011. (although the tire pressure issue had been on-going during the warranty period, it did not appear to be related to the warranty.) the car was taken to american automotive tire and services, stafford, va. The tire had been losing pressure. Several months later, on Feb. 1, 2012, my friend took the car to another tire service center along garrisonville road, stafford, va, where the service technician provided copies of GM bulletin # 05-03-10-003F: Low tire pressure, leaking cast aluminum wheels (repair with adhesive sealant) - (Apr 27, 2010) and a technical service bulletin for the 2008 Chevrolet Impala ss. On Feb 2, 2012, radley Chevrolet, fredericksburg, va, (radley) found that "the left rear rim is leaking air" and "found inner rim leaking air on bead." The technician followed #05-03-10-003F and verified the repair. On Sept 12, 2012, radley's tech "found after letting rim sit in tank for period of time - very small leak coming from inside of cast aluminum wheel... " on Oct. 11, 2012, radley cleaned the corrosion from the wheels and added adhesive sealant. The tire continued to leak. On Oct. 22, 2013, ourisman Chevrolet, alexandria, va, found "ongoing loss of air from tires - possible bead corrosion; cause of air loss from left front wheel small leak threw [sic] rim in where rim has oxidised [sic]...other wheels showing same oxidised [sic] marks." GM agreed to pay 60% of the cost of one wheel replacement $330.28. The dealer recommended to GM that all four wheels be replaced for $1088.73. GM authorized replacing one wheel. GM's #05-03-10-003F applies to all prior years of all passenger cars & light duty trucks. GM must resolve this long-standing dangerous safety issue. General Motors should pay to replace all of my wheels at its sole expense.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #13

Jan 192010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 22,348 miles
Needed 4 new tires & cam bolts on 3 wheels due to excessive wear (down to thread) after only 22,348 miles. I was (at first) told it was because most of my driving was around town & that I made a lot of turns! tires had been rotated regularly since 2008...dlr. Never mentioned known problem w/camber. (mechanic said he sees all the time for this make/model.) saw that this model was recalled for police dept. Purchasers but not for the rest of us. My last Chevy!

- Thomasville, GA, USA

problem #12

Mar 162013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 89,998 miles
When my Impala first started to display the engine power reduce message. I was told that it was the accelerator pedal position sensor. So I change the gas pedal the engine light when off for about two weeks. Then my car cut off one day as I was on my way to work. When I went to get it check they told me it might be the alternator and then it was the throttle body. Then there was nothing wrong with it but my car is now park and refuse to stay running. It will start only to cut off a mile or so into driving.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #11

Feb 012010

Impala

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive wear on my rear tires. I have been told that the suspension is faulty and that excessive repair work had to be done to remedy this. I had to call aaa on one occassion because one of my rear tires blew out because of this problem. No injuries and I was lucky that I was driving in the city when this happened. On the highway, I could have cause great damage to myself and possibly to others around me. My car burns thru oil so super fast. It burns a quart of oil approximately every 750 miles.

- Blaine, MN, USA

problem #10

Jan 062013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 33,300 miles
Premature tires wear on the inside tread of the rear wheels. This is causing steering issues at high speed. Not noticeable until rear tires are rotated to front, then there is a shake. There is a pending lawsuit for this occurrence on the 07 and 08 Impala. Apparently the rear spindles are to blame due to poor design.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Nov 152012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
We purchased the car new from grand prize Chevrolet. At about 8000 miles I noticed uneven wear on the front tires and called the dealer. I was told that the warranty only covered wheel alignment for the first 6000 miles. Accordingly, I took the car to tire kingdom, a tire dealer, and had the car aligned. At 20,000 miles I again noticed uneven wear in the tires and took the car back to tire kingdom. They aligned it again and said it was ok. It wasn't. at about 35,000 miles it was aligned again by tire kingdom and I put in new tires. The store manager, [xxx] told me he had done the alignment himself and that all was within specs. At 52000 miles one of the tires failed. It was all worn on the inside edge where I had not noticed the uneven wear. I then took the vehicle to maroone Chevrolet who told me they could not align the car without the installation of what they call a "camber kit" because my 2008 Impala had no other way of having the camber adjusted. In summary: My 2008 Impala was misaligned when I purchased it and 52000 miles later is still misaligned because the manufacturer failed to include camber adjustment in the design. Neither the manufacturer or the dealer accepts responsibility for this defect, have not issued a recall and will not fix the problem unless we pay their blackmail. However, according to reports on the internet, a recall for this very same problem was issued by the manufacturer for police vehicles. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #8

Feb 262012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2008 Impala on January 14, 2012 and the inner tires on the rear were worn almost to the metal cord. I slid off the road on February 26, 2012. When I took the car to the repair shop the front left wheel bearing was loose and also the outer tire rod on the front left was also loose. The auto repair specialist informed me that the suspension on the Impala is a common concern. I was also informed that GM recalled the 2008 Impala but only the police cars.

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #7

Jul 192010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
In less than 30,000 miles, I've had to have wheel alignments each time I was force to replace 2 sets of rears tires on my 2008 Impala due to excessive wear. Before having to replace the first set of tire, I had the car into the dealership twice for car vibration at speeds of 50 to 65 mph. I was told the first time that all the wheels had to be re-balanced which did not make since to me. The second time I was told that nothing was found. Then the first tire failure and fortunately only at 35 mph. This first failure was at approx. 15,000 miles. One tire, but both were worn enongh that the dealer should have forewarn me before I left the dealership. The second set of the original tires moved to the rear, wore-out at approx. 28,000 miles. I have never in my 47 years of driving had tires and mulitple alignments as I've had on this car.

- Niles, OH, USA

problem #6

Nov 182011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 73,500 miles
Premature tire wear attributed to faulty rods in the rear suspension linkage suspension defect.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #5

Jan 262011

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
In March 2009 I purchased a 2008 Impala nice car. New tires were purchased at app 26000 mi. By previous owner. App19,000 mi later I must buy new tires. My rear tires wore down to the metal this winter. I did all the proper rotations and maintained proper inflation. I thought the tires were inferior but my tire people say its the car. I have a warranty on the car but the service dept says this problem is not covered. I need this problem addressed by someone.

- Camden, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jan 062011

Impala

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving the Impala ss on winter roads in Indiana has become a challenge with this car. Any ice or snow on the road will only allow you to drive 45 mph at the max and then the rear of the car starts to swerve back and forth as if the tires are fighting one and another for control. Contacted the local Chevy dealer and was told by the service department that it is a tire problem with the good year Eagle rs-a P235/50 R 18 and they have had a lot of complaints on no traction with these tires. Service rep stated the tires needed to be taken off and new tires put on. Not covered by the warranty. Called good year customer service told them the problem and they schedule an appointment for me. Took it to the authorized good year dealer and they called back and said the tires have half their tread left and no problems with the tires. He stated that the tire is to wide for driving in the winter time and basically floats on the ice and snow and would suggest only diving the car in the summer months. So here is the dilemma, the manufacture knows that they have had a lot of complaints with the tires (which are the original tires that are sold with the car. The tire manufacture states the tire is to wide for driving on snow or ice and I need to park it into summer gets here and if so if I drive the car in the winter, I have been warned that it is too dangerous to drive.

- Plymouth, IN, USA

problem #3

Dec 302009

Impala

  • 52 miles
2008 cheverolet Impala - 3 wheel bearing put on in less than 1 year on front passenger side. This was supposed to be a certified guaranteed car, but immediately after purchasing, took to my mechanic and would not even pass inspection. Wheel bearing bad. State line auto in andover Ohio wil not even enterain fixing it for the 3rd time.

- Cochranton, PA, USA

problem #2

Nov 282008

Impala

  • 14,000 miles
At 12K miles inside of rear tires were worn smooth. Chevrolet only acknowledges this on the 2007-2008 Impala police cars. My vehicle is a 2008 Impala ltz and it had the same exact problem.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #1

Oct 122007

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 580 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that it is mandatory to have chains on the vehicle tires in Oregon. He stated that the inside front end of the tire does not have enough clearance between the tire and strut for a chain. The manufacturer advised him to park the vehicle when it snows. The current and failure mileages were 580. Updated 01-10-08. The consumer stated the GM representative would not allow him to change the tires or the wheel size to accommodate the chains. The consumer stated have to go over mountain passes covered with snow in the winter. Updated 12/31/07

- Klamath Falls, OR, USA

Not what you are looking for?