Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,644 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Malibu electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 2 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #180

Jul 202015

Malibu

  • 148,092 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On July 20, 2015 could not adjust the front driver seat. Also power windows in the back driver window would not roll down or up. July 23, 2015 when to get an oil change at sears which they didn't peform due to they needed drive time to approve. Checked the oil it was very low added 1 quart on August 10 I was on the freeway going speed limit car started reducing its speed heard a loud noise pulled over couldnot drive it so I had it towed home next day ain had to have it towed to the shop where drivetime told me to take it they had it from 8/11/2015-8/25/2015 on Aug 26 they so called put a new engine it was only 1 day later the check engine light came on and it overheated took it back to the shop and they said it needed the cat converter replaced in which it was not covered at that time on the 28 it was approved by the time I was informed drive time had my car repo due to nonpayment I feel that I should not make a payment until my car was fixed the right way.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #179

Jul 132015

Malibu

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While the vehicle was parked, it failed to start until after several attempts. In addition, while driving various speeds, the vehicle shut off without warning. The contact mentioned that it took multiple attempts to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 104,000.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #178

Jun 102010

Malibu

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While parked, the vehicle failed to start and the anti- theft light illuminated. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Princeton , IN, USA

problem #177

Jul 132015

Malibu

  • 33,345 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start and the key would not eject from the ignition. The dealer repaired the vehicle according to a recall for the ignition switch, but the failure recurred. The contact also stated that the brake lights failed to illuminate and the air conditioner did not function. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The failure mileage was 33,345.

- Cantonment, FL, USA

problem #176

Nov 202014

Malibu

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the anti-theft warning light illuminated when the ignition key was turned to start the vehicle. The contact also stated that the key failed to turn after numerous attempts. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic on several occasions but the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #175

May 192011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall, steering and airbag malfunctions. The consumer was involved in an accident on May 19, 2011. She lost control of the steering which sent the vehicle in the opposite lane hitting another car. Her vehicle went out of control and ended up going backwards into a sign and then hitting two parked vehicles in a parking lot. The air bag did not deploy until after she hit the sign. The consumer stated she was unaware there was a problem with ignition switch. She stated she had several keys on her ring at the time of the accident.

- Tannersville, PA, USA

problem #174

Jan 312013

Malibu

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle would only start when in neutral. In addition, the key was able to eject from the ignition while the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the failure. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 22,000.

- Frederiksted, VI, USA

problem #173

May 032007

Malibu

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While starting the vehicle, the theft passlock sensor and the ignition lock cylinder lights illuminated and the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was able to start after ten minutes of holding the key in the ignition and restarting the vehicle. The failure recurred approximately 15 times. The vehicle was taken the dealer where it was confirmed that the theft passlock system malfunctioned and the remedy was to replace the ignition. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #172

Apr 292015

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving various speeds, the security system activated and the vehicle shut off. The vehicle had to be towed to a dealer. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Pitsville, MA, USA

problem #171

Apr 142015

Malibu

  • 178,808 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the repair for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) was performed; however, the key does not release from the ignition. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who inspected the ignition switch and advised that the ignition cylinder needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 178,808.

- Claymont , DE, USA

problem #170

Apr 102015

Malibu

  • 118,285 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. When attempting to start the vehicle, the ignition key failed to turn into any position. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not repaired. In 2013, the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system); however, the remedy was insufficient. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 118,285.

- Bastrop, LA, USA

problem #169

Apr 112015

Malibu

  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled. In addition, the check engine light, power steering, traction control, and air bag warning lights illuminated. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was preciously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V40000 (electrical system); however, the recall remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 119,000.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #168

Feb 112015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. Consumer writes in regards to unsatisfactory recall repair work at dealership. The consumer stated the ignition defect still exists.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #167

Nov 122012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 16,800 miles
First of all the car has never been in a wreck.the ignition switch and electrical switch was replaced by owners at their expense.the ignition started to not work.when the key was turned all gauges would fall and would not crank.while on road the car would shut off as if turned off by key..the owner decided to have car repaired before the recall, ,in 2012 and 2013.owner would like to know if there is or can be a refund of a portion of costs to him, he has the invoices of work on done car.thank you very much for your time.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #166

Mar 022015

Malibu

  • 257,000 miles
There was no accident. Took vehicle in for safety recall 14350 unintended ignition key rotation. The switch is still exactly as it was before, no resistance between key position 1(off) and key position 2(run). There is no difference in the feel of the switch key rotation. Don't feel recall problem was resolved. Thought this was worth a note to NHTSA since GM is saying recalls cost 4.1B.

- Zebulon, NC, USA

problem #165

Mar 032015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
The car was being driven and the engine suddenly shut off. Fortunately the car was being driven through a parking lot at the time rather than on a roadway. This evening the car wouldn't start at all. My personal mechanic has already advised that there is an ignition problem. However neither GM or the Chevy dealership will fix the issue. They insist on charging for a second diagnostic even though we've already pd someone else for a diagnosis.

- Wendell, NC, USA

problem #164

Feb 212015

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,364 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the left turn signal stayed illuminated. The vehicle was restarted and the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the BCM module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 104,364. Updated 04/07/15 updated 11/4/2015

- Newton Falls, OH, USA

problem #163

Dec 122014

Malibu

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the shift lever failed to shift into park leaving the vehicle in the accessory mode, which would drain the battery. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the shifter linkage failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #162

Dec 272010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 56,040 miles
Was not able to get keys out of the ignition switch. The keys would stick, and I was not able to remove the keys. Took it to a Chevrolet dealership, and they had to replace the shifter and knob assembly. I am the original owner of the vehicle and used the original keys. Furthermore, this car had low mileage, 56,040 miles, for a seven year old car, and was barely driven to have to have such a serious repair. I see that there is some kind of technical bulletin for this issue, but Chevrolet should have paid for the repair instead of charging me the $346.56 to repair a known issue that should have been recalled. I have had so much trouble with my 2003 Chevrolet Malibu that I would never purchase a Chevrolet or GM product ever again. Most of the issues that I see in the service bulletins are issues that I have also had. After finding this website, I hope to let other Chevrolet Malibu owners know of the potential problems that can occur with their vehicles, and also hope that one day, something can be done to make Chevrolet liable for all these issues.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #161

Nov 282014

Malibu

  • 65,200 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V400000 (electrical system) however, the failure persisted on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,200.

- Lititz, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?