Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
19 / 1
Average Mileage:
78,759 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 13 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #100

Mar 262010

Malibu

  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2005 Chevy Malibu, purchased it in Jun 2005 used. Jumping forward, Nov 25, 2008, I was driving home and my steering wheel "snapped" and "popped" and was still going around in a circle, while car was still going straight. I had the vehicle towed, and come to find out, the rack and pinion needed to be fixed. Got that done. Then, August 2008, engine goes out. Mind you, both instances, I have been told that this has been a known issue with that model car. Got the engine fixed. Now, 3/26/2010, im driving and the power steering locks up! I have contacted Chevrolet about these incidents, and they were no help. Just told me to take the car to a dealership. Well, today, I found out on the web that there had been a special recall on my model car, between a certain VIN number, and this was around the time my steering went out before. When asking the rep "isabel" how can they issue recalls and not mail them to consumers, she told me that they didn't have to, if they were special notifications. How would the consumer know that there was a possible issue if we are not notified? she then proceeds to tell me about a new special notification on this same car on the fuel caps! my life is at stake in this car, and GM is aware of these issues, but no help. I also noticed on the web today that there are many customers complaining about the power steering issues on the same make and model vehicle, most are the same year, and GM is not willing to assist!

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #99

Feb 132010

Malibu

  • 61,000 miles
My sister was using my 2005 Chevrolet Malibu and when exiting the nys thruway she heard a chime, a light went on and the vehicle lost the power steering. Her husband in the passenger seat had to assit with steering. It was too difficult for my sister to steer by herself. They parked the car and shut it off. After a short time the car was turned on and the steering was fine. This problem only occured once to date although I have had steering problems in this vehicle since 2007. While under warranty the steering was lubed. After the warranty expired I have had over $981 in steering repairs at the dealer which included steering suspension shaft, steering ball joint and steering arm. The latest incident of the loss of power steering is a safety concern. Please investigate. I have read GM was recalling cobalts for this problem but no mention of the Malibu. The Malibu has the same problem.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #98

Feb 052010

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
We lose power steering with no warning on our 2005 Chevy Malibu- once/week. We brought it into our local dealer and they told us it was not covered and would cost $1200 to repair. The dealer however showed us a service bulletin that showed that this is a recurring problem on Malibu.

- Neenah, WI, USA

problem #97

Mar 162010

Malibu

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had several occasions where I have had a loss of power steering. A message will pop up on my dic saying "power steering" quite often but only occasionally I will have no steering at all.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #96

Jan 132010

Malibu

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact was driving 45 mph when the check engine light began to flash on the instrument panel indicating that the power steering malfunctioned making the vehicle difficult to drive. The contact has received a recall letter from the manufacturer but due to the mileage of the vehicle the recall was void. The contact stated that the manufacturer should be responsible for the repairs since this was a known issue for his year, make, and model vehicle. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Pikevilles, MD, USA

problem #95

Mar 072010

Malibu

  • 49,000 miles
Steering loss 2005 Malibu.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #94

Mar 042010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since 2006 power steering goes out at different times. Chevrolet replaced power steering twice in 2007 and it worked for a short time. We have reported it again 2010 because it went out at an intersection, no accident occurred, shut off engine and restarted, power steering reset. It still goes out maybe once a week. Chevrolet in mt. Home, ar is researching.

- Mountain Home, AR, USA

problem #93

Feb 252010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 114,175 miles
The power steering on my Chevy Malibu 2005 has on two separate occasions stopped working. On both occasions, the "service power steering" light came on. On the first occasion, I went under the hood and read my service manual and ultimately went online to find out that Malibu's don¿T take power steering fluid and instead have electronic power steering. During both incidents, I was unable to turn. Fortunately, during both incidents I was able to pull to safety, turn off my car and restart it. Thankfully, I was not on a highway or traveling at a high rate of speed. Upon restarting the car, the power steering began working again. The first incident was in October 2009. The second was in February 2010.

- Owings Mills, MD, USA

problem #92

Mar 032010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
My 2005 Chevy Malibu sometimes loses power steering. When I was driving, the "power steering" message suddenly appears with a sound and I have no power steering in my car. It was very hard for me to make turns because the wheel was stiff. I turned off my car, waited a moment, and then turned it back on. It was just a temporary fix. If I was driving on the high way and cannot control my car, it could be deadly. I searched online, and a lot of owners also have this problem.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #91

Mar 012010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
The car makes noises every time when turning at low speed. It is due to a defect design of intermediate steering shaft. Most 2005 Malibu have this problem. A lot of complains can be seen at www.carcomplaints.com/Chevrolet/Malibu/2005/steering/popping_from_steering_when_turning.shtml. there should be a recall.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #90

Mar 042010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The 2005 Chevy Malibu has a weakness in its steering components similar to the other GM vehicles that are under GM's voluntary recall. The top complaint on the Malibu if one reviews various websites is the steering by a very wide margin. I bought my Malibu new in may of 2005. One year later they replaced a gear because of the noise it bade turning and looseness of the steering. 9 months later the steering had a problem again and again in 2007. That time the dealer replaced the whole steering assembly. My car is again starting to make the popping noise which is an indication that the issue is returning again. Even thought GM keeps replacing parts the problem keeps returning. Steering should not need repairing 4 times in less then 5 years. The danger is as reported on various websites is that it can fail completely and cause an accident. Mine has not caused an accident but we should not wait until it does.

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #89

Sep 102005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 1,500 miles
05 Chevy Malibu 43,000 miles have had rack & pinnion replaced 2 times because of clunking noise when turning, also intermediate steering shaft has been replaced 3 times. Right front hub over heated at 1500 miles because it had no grease in it. This caused problems with the brakes & cv joints a retired timkin bearing worker told me that there was several problems with the computer line of putting grease the hubs because of the wt. Of the hub varying there has been many, many, many complaints of the same things on 05's on car complaints why hasn't there been a recall on this problem ?

- Pulaski, WI, USA

problem #88

Oct 102007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 19,500 miles
1. in 2007, our 2005 Malibu started having popping in the steering when turning at low speeds. The rack assembly was replaced 11/02/07; the car had 20,139 miles on the odometer. 2. the popping recurred by August 2009. September 01, 2009 the rack assembly was replaced along with "set toe"; 42,809 on the odometer. 3. the popping recurred within less than 3 months. December 18, 2009, the steering gear (excessive slack) was replaced and "set toe". 4. the popping has come back within less than 2 months. It is scheduled to have a rod replaced (not sure of any other parts) March 5, 2010. We have notified GM of this and a representative has been assigned to the problem.

- Rison, AR, USA

problem #87

Jul 212006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
The steering has a clunking in it when U tern. They fixed it 3 times and it keeps coming back every time. They said its in the gears and other components of the steering. Im just sad that GM has not found a way to solve this problem. My warranty is up and cant replace it anymore. It gets tired of hearing the clunk.

- Wasco, CA, USA

problem #86

Feb 232010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Power steering outage. Experienced problem off and on this year. I drive a 2005 Chevy Malibu lt V6. GM has not issued a recall for this make and model. However, parts were covered for the repair! I believe its unfair for the consumer to have to pay for labor for an issue they didn't cause. I am pursuing GM for a refund of what was paid for parts to correct there error.

- Ferndale, MI, USA

problem #85

Oct 252009

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 128,000 miles
The electronic power steering failed while driving on surface streets (in the act of turning). Although I temporarily lost control of the vehicle, I managed to complete my turn safely. This vehicle is a Chevrolet Malibu 2005. I had to have the entire power steering column replaced. I am still not satisfied that this has fixed the problem. The warning signs of a defective replacement part are still present (popping noise at the steering linkages).

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #84

Feb 142010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 72,500 miles
Approximately the week of Feb 14, 2010, my 2005 Chevy Malibu chimed, the power steering felt funny, smelled some burning and a warning sign about my power steering. I pulled over, turned the car off and was not able to see the issue. I started the car backup and the warning was gone. It happened 2 or 3 more times that week. I notified Chevy and there is special coverage service bulletin #07126. I called Chevy and said if you are over 70,000 miles, it will not be covered. I never received this notice from Chevy or the dealership of purchase (they no longer are a Chevy dealer). I was at 72,500. I have not been riding it much and now Chevy is recalling other cars with the same issue, but not the Malibu.

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #83

Feb 182010

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
Power steering failure at low speeds and highway speeds, left and right turns. Steering becomes stiff. First happened on Dec 24, 2009; reset itself when turned the engine over. Happened again 2X in January. Happened on 2/18 two times; system reset itself and reappeared after about 15 seconds. Happened a third time on 2/18 on the highway. Pulled over and turned over the engine but would not reset itself.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #82

Jan 152010

Malibu

  • 87,771 miles
My son was driving my 2005 Malibu when the power steering went out. A warning light indicated the problem to him. He was able to pull to the side of the road where he restarted the car. The car reset itself but the same problem occurred again. It was at that point I told him to take to a dealer to have the car inspected. Upon inspection it was discovered that the power steering column needed to be replace. In December of 2007 General Motors sent me a letter detailing possible problems with the power steering system. What happened to my car was what was outlined in the letter. The letter said not to take the car in to be inspected if I didn't have any problems at that time. It also said that they would reimburse me if I had any problems with the car but with a deadline date. I had to take the car in by December of 2008 and the car had to have 70,000 or less miles on it. Since I did not have any problems with the car up to that point I did not take the vehicle in to be inspected. The problem with the car occurred in January of 2010. I had the car repaired because it wasn't safe to drive in the condition it was in. I contacted GM with my concerned and asked for reimbursement. I was turned down because the problem came after the deadline outlined in the letter.

- Charlotte, MI, USA

problem #81

Nov 112007

Malibu

  • 32,000 miles
Steering column pops when making a left or right turn. Causes the car to shake a little when braking. Occurred before 35,000 miles, but was never fixed by Chevy, even after complaining. Mechanic has diagnosed the problem, but believes Chevy should fix. Worried that if problem is fixed it will reoccur, and also worried it will effect power steering. Have contact Chevy multiple times about problem, but have received no help, other then a runaround.

- Glendale, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?