Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
19 / 1
Average Mileage:
78,759 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 4 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #280

Jul 082014

Malibu

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Malibu maxx. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle also started to make a jerking motion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V153000 (steering) however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Chapmanville, WV, USA

problem #279

Jun 022014

Malibu

  • miles
My name is [xxx]. I am submitting this complaint on behalf of a close family member, [xxx] is 90 years with no access to a computer. He resides at [xxx], and owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. [xxx] received three safety recall notices that are summarized below: June 2014 - first recall notice stated: Your vehicle, equipped with eps may experience a sudden loss of power steering assist that could occur at any time while driving. Steering control can be maintained, as the vehicle will revert to a manual steering mode, but would require greater driver effort at low vehicle speeds, which could result in an increased risk of a crash. July 2014 - second recall notice stated: Traction control, electronic stability control (ecs), and panic braking assist features, if equipped, may be disabled. Service ESC and/or traction control tell-tales lights may illuminate with this condition. These conditions may increase the risk of a crash. July 2014 - third recall notice stated: Your vehicle has a condition in which the transmission shift cable may fracture at any time. If the driver cannot place the vehicle in park, and exists the vehicle without applying the park brake, the vehicle could roll away and a crash could occur with prior warning. [xxx] contacted the local Chevrolet dealership in June 2014. The local Chevrolet dealership is: Keller Chevrolet ([xxx]),. resolution: [xxx] feels that while he is waiting for GM to receive replacement parts for his 2005 Malibu, the local dealership should provide him with a safe loaner vehicle as his existing 2005 Malibu. [xxx] can be reached at: [xxx] thank you for your time and consideration in this matter. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #278

Jun 062006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
While driving along, steering tightens up, can barely steer or keep in road. No warning! also, steering wheel will start to gyrate by itself, moving on its own.

- Louisa, VA, USA

problem #277

Jun 282014

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V15300 (steering); however, the parts needed for the repairs were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #276

Aug 202014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Was driving on a very busy highway when the electronic steering went out. There is a recall on it for over a month and there is still no parts available to have this problem fixed. The car is not drivable in this condition, it is a danger if taken on the road. This vehicle is my main form of transportation and need it to go to work everyday in a 30 mile commute. This is unacceptable how there can be such a major malfunction and a recall yet no parts or time frame on when I can expect my car to be back in driving conditions. I will never drive a GM car ever again.

- Elmhurst, NY, USA

problem #275

Aug 012012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
Power steering has been going out, since we bought the vehicle.

- Atlantic Beach, FL, USA

problem #274

Jul 312014

Malibu

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would be available. The manufacturer was notified and informed the contact that the vehicle was also included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train). The contact mentioned that the vehicle had exhibited the failure related to the steering multiple times. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Connersville, IN, USA

problem #273

Aug 112014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
We have received 3 separate recall notices from GM. (1 for electric steering, 1 for brake apply sensor and 1 for a shift cable fracture). However, GM will not fix any of the problems. They tell us to call the dealer. The dealer then tells us that GM will not supply the parts. Upon calling GM a third time, they will not reveal who is making these parts, where they are coming from, or have any idea when they will be available. They again instruct us to call the dealer. Each recall states that it is an "important safety recall" in accordance federal laws but yet nobody will fix any of the issues. The first recall notice came in 2012 for electric steering. We are still being told there are not parts to fix this. The brake apply sensor came in July 2014. The shift cable fracture also came in July 2014. (this indicates that the cable can snap while driving).

- North Versailles, PA, USA

problem #272

Jun 022014

Malibu

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel would seize while driving various speeds. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Dryridge, KY, USA

problem #271

Aug 162010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I have received numerous recall notices and whenever I call a dealer I am told either there is no recall for this notice or they don't have the parts for this recall. I think they are waiting for me to either get rid of the car or get in an accident. If my car is affected I want it fixed. Is there anything the NHTSA can do?

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #270

Feb 042014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received 2 notices about 2 recalls on my car that could cause a crash without warning or control. I did experience one of the conditions were I could not put the gear in park or drive when I was trying to start the car to drive. Also once the key was stuck in he ignition fortunately these occurrences were during me trying to start the car when it had been parked. This problem was stated in the notice as a condition in which the transmission shift cable may fracture at any time.currently there are no parts available to fix these recalls. I am afraid for my safety as well as my family.

- Wallkill, NY, USA

problem #269

Jun 022014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
To date, I have received 3 different recall notices from GM dealing with my vehicle. Though I understand that these parts may not be available immediately, I don't and will never understand why I am unable to get a loaner car until these problems can be taken care of. I was instructed to drive my vehicle until I had a problem and then it would be taken care of. What kind of advice is that? I've talked to several people today about my issue and no one cares. I can pretty much guarantee none of them would have their wives and small children in the same position I'm in. All I want to be able to do is go to work and make it home safely to my child.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #268

Jun 082014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 146,000 miles
When I turn the steering wheel right or left I hear a knocking sound and steering loose.

- Abingdon, MD, USA

problem #267

Jul 232014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at an unknown speed, the power steering failed. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering), but the manufacturer stated that the parts for the repair were unavailable. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Craryville, NY, USA

problem #266

Jun 302014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2005 Malibu. I keep getting recall letters (electronic steering, ignition, body control module) they have no parts to repair any of them. What good is a recall when you can't get your car fixed? how long does the gov give manufacturers to actually repair a recall. Seems to me if the default(s) is/are dangerous enough to issue a recall, there should be some repercussions when GM does not repair recalls in a timely manner. Should I just go to the dealer and demand a rental till my car is made safe to drive" how about a picket sign? should I go and pay an independent mechanic and bill GM" [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #265

Jul 072014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the power steering failed intermittently. The contact stated that the vehicle resumed normal functioned immediately after being restarted. The contact mentioned that he received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded the reasonable amount of time for the repairs. The dealer stated the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not taken for diagnostic test. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 87,000. Updated 08/27/14 updated 09/18/2014

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #264

Jun 272014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 152,000 miles
For awhile now my power steering indicator has been going off and a few months ago it had become an issue when I veered off the road on a U-turn. I brought it to my local Chevrolet dealership and they told me nothing was wrong with my car and that id be fine. Few weeks ago I had another incident to where I was backing into a spot and couldn't turn my wheel and almost hit the car behind me. The chime goes off 2-3 times a week and have trouble starting my car sometimes ad well. Being concerned I had done some research and found out that there is a recall on my 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. I immediately called GM and they took info from me and left message for Chevy to call me. Chevy never called me back so I called and they began to tell me the parts are not available to remedy the problem and the car is on a waiting list. I immediately began to do more research and came up empty. I don't understand how GM can leave me in this situation. I don't know if because my car is almost at the 10 year mark and than GM is not liable, or there is a loop hole in some way they can drag their feet. Is there anything I can do, or anything being done about this?!

- Neptune City, NJ, USA

problem #263

Aug 082013

Malibu

  • miles
Was traveling app. 35 mi per hr and went to make a turn and lost the power steering and was almost hit by another car. I have lost the ability to steer properly several times over the last year the worst being when this happens and I am on the interstate. This recall happened in may of 2014 and now it is July and the dealer is saying they still don't have the parts to fix the problem. Are they waiting till our cars are to old for them to be fixed under the recall? I have not received any notice from General Motors.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #262

Jun 242014

Malibu

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the power steering light illuminated and the power steering failed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 63,000. The VIN was not available.

- Elizabeth, NJ, USA

problem #261

Jun 192014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 156,670 miles
While driving home I lost control of my steering wheel. It became hard to steer and I could barely turn off the street into a parking lot. At the time of the incident it was raining and 5 O'clock traffic was getting heavy.

- Mobile, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?