Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,045 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 10 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #379

Apr 212014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 149,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While merging on to a highway, my steering locked up and my son, who was driving, suddenly couldn't steer. Fortunately, it only lasted for a few seconds, and it came back. Had it not come back, we would have had a collision with a semi-truck that was right next to us. This is never happened prior to this and not since. My local Chevy dealer assures me that there are no recalls on this model, however, he also couldn't tell me why something like this would happen or offer a suggestion. Please advise.

- Pataskala, OH, USA

problem #378

Feb 072012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Soon after I purchased this car I started having problems with the power steering system. In many occasions when I start the engine the power steering does not work. I cannot move the steering wheel. I turn the engine off, wait a few seconds and start the engine again, and the power steering works. I have had this problems at least 15 or 20 times since I purchased the car in January 9, 2012. It has never happened with the car moving. Also when I move the steering wheel from one side to the other the power steering alert light comes on and off and I hear a clunk noise that I can feel in the steering wheel. It is like if something is loose in the steering system. I checked the rack and pinion in several occasions and found it had the screws that hold it to the frame loose. I tightened them but the noise does not go away. I drive this car with caution and fear because of the power steering problem and the noise in the steering system. This month (April 2014) I started having problems with the fuel level sending unit. Sometimes it marks full and others empty with gas in the tank. At the same time the check engine light comes on and off.

- San German, PR, USA

problem #377

Feb 172010

Malibu

  • 69,000 miles
I was driving home from work about 12 midnight, on the dan ryan expressway. The traffic was heavy with lots of truck on the road. I heard three beeps then a message ran across the dash check power steering, before I could finish reading the message I had no power steering. The car started to driving rough vibrating very hard to control. I was about three lane over from the exit lanes.thank the lord I'm still here. I seen a recall in March of 2010 on the Monte Carlo call and inquired about my car talked with a manager named [xxx] for about two months no contact then was told not a part of recall.repair $1700 webb Chevy. General Motors does not care about it's consumers and something needs to be done this is an outrage. And I will never buy another GM. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #376

Mar 052014

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was making a right hand turn onto a busy intersection and steering went out I ended up in the lane of on coming traffic turning in a left turning lane in opposite direction. Thank the lord no one was in that lane. And the 2nd time 2 weeks later it happened again when I was turning into a exxon station and almost hit the gas pump.just glad my breaks worked good and had both hands on the wheel since the first incident occurred. When will we get a notification about the recall.. I have not received anything yet. If need be I will take more steps because this needs to be fixed and I am not paying for it. I called the place where I bought the car and they gave me a number to call and I did and I was told to wait until I got recall card in the mail and have not seen anything yet......that was a month ago.

- Union Bridge, MD, USA

problem #375

Apr 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
I have taken my car to Sierra Chevrolet in southfield, mi where it was purchased in 10/13, since purchasing on 3 different occasions in 5 months for loss of power steering and all systems on dashboard drop to zero (0), gas, speedometer and RPM's. I was first charged $125 (dealer claimed they would split cost) which didn't fix problem. Now they are trying to charge me $430 to replace a module with no guarantee this will fix problem. I am being repeatedly told my car does not fall under the recall. I have a copy of letter from NHTSA to General Motors dated 3/31/14 identifying safety recall of power steering as well GM's letter to dealerships dated 3/31/14 referred to as bulletin # 14116 which states dealers are to replace torque system in models 2004-2006 Malibu.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #374

Mar 132014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 61,725 miles
I purchased a used car on 3/8/2014-returned vechile on 3/13/2014 for service due to excessive pulling to the left while driving and check engine light came; it was inspected on 2/28/2014; since that time, I had return 3 times for the pulling and 2 times for the check engine light again to be reparied.. the mileage on the car for the check engine was as follows for the code P0605 and evap monitor not ready and malfunction indicator light code 61,737, 61,804, -dealer claimed it was reparied but continued to come on- 62,355 62,594 - the code was for the evap monitor and I no longer went to dealer since the manager, chris, of the service department said if I was going to report the problems to motor vehicle or attorney general they would no longer service it.(all american Ford-[xxx], kingston NY) I brought it to haviland auto repair ([xxx] hyde park, NY)before and after the servicing from along with monroe muffler for estimate on the pulling to the left and the check engine light. A four wheel alignment had been complete and it still pulls and the light continues to come on after so many miles; due to excessive pulling, the tires wil wear easily and at higher speeds-50 + it is work to keep it swaying... ┐parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).┐

- Hyde Park, NY, USA

problem #373

Jan 012014

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It started in Jan, and getting worst, just driving any speed, could be completing turns, anytime it just goes out. Took to dealer, they know about recall, said we have to wait for our notice. Because it's not all 2006 cars.....it's happening to our car! how much longer before we receive notification? also what if we don't receive notification. Should we just get legal help, to get this rectified and fixed now before an accident occurs, before someone gets hurt! sorry if this isn't what this is for, just getting run around and very frustrated and afraid that an accident will happen!

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #372

Apr 012014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
The car airbag light is on because of the clock spring and the steering is intermittently working other Malibu and cars are under recall for steering but mine is not and is not being covered by Chevy very dangerous to drive hard steering at low speeds and problem with steering column.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #371

Apr 042014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 130,760 miles
Was and the steering wheel locked up while it was raining car stopped and got flooded under the under pass couldn't move the car motor wouldn't start are anything we had to get rescued out of the car due to the power.

- Alexandria, LA, USA

problem #370

Mar 302013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I have been having issues with my wheel since 2008. I took my car to multiple Chevy dealerships and was informed that there was not an issue. Fast forward to 2013 as I was making a turn my power steering completely went out and I had to let the car glide my car into the side walk as the wheel stopped working completely. I have contacted GM customer service and was informed that there is not a problem and I would still have to come out of my pocket in order to get this car fixed but I found online thousands of people having the same issue as my car. I want GM to acknowledge that there is a power steering issue with 2006 Chevy Malibu's and fix the problem and issue a recall on these cars.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #369

Oct 162013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 59,234 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Several times over the last 6-8 months, I was driving my Chevrolet Malibu 2006 lt and the car died and my power steering went out without warning. The sensor came on that says "power steering." It seems like every time that it happened, I was making a left hand turn. Since I was turning left in the middle of an intersection, I was not driving fast at all. I believe I had my grandchildren in the car on at least one of these occasions. I could not control the steering at all. My car ended up with the front in the middle of the intersection facing the oncoming traffic because you cannot complete the turn when this happens. I thought it must be that it needed power steering fluid. But my husband checked it and he said it does not need power steering fluid. When I heard about the GM recall yesterday, I immediately called a Chevy dealer and they said my car VIN is not included in the recall. I then checked GM's website and put my VIN in and it said that my car is not currently included in the recall. This sounds very wrong to me. I think the NHTSA should closely scrutinize the lt models of the Chevrolet Malibu 2006 as I am concerned that they have the same or similar defect. Thank you for looking into this. I am afraid to drive the car now. I am now using only a single key without the fob as the NHTSA consumer alert on your website states to do. When it happened to me before, I always had the fob and two additional keys on the key chain along with the car key. Thank you very much for your assistance. I appreciate your looking into this.

- Elk Grove Village, IL, USA

problem #368

Jul 192012

Malibu

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph on a ramp, the steering wheel became very tight and the contact had to use extreme force to move the vehicle off the roadway. The contact shut off and restarted the vehicle and it resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection but they were unable to determine the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #367

Mar 182014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 128,000 miles
Okay I proceeded to my car this particular morning and when I started the car the steering wheel was locked. I had to turn the car off, pull the column toward me while turning the car and the wheel was unlocked. Once I started to drive I noticed that the wheel was shaking and making noises. The noise became louder whenever I tried to pick up speed. You really notice the shaking at about 35 to 40 miles per hour. I tried troubleshooting and was told by mechanic to change my tires and get an alignment. I did that and that resolved nothing. I don't drive the car past 50 mph but I am actually scared while driving. Well I took the car to the dealer yesterday and they informed me that the control module for the steering is fried. The cost would be $918. This morning I wake to take the car to another shop to have a dinging noise come on the wheel lock up while I was driving. The wheel is real stiff and I managed to make it back to my house. I looked into the recall of the Chevy Malibu with GM and was informed that the recall doesn't cover the motor. I am really frustrated and upset and I am looking at just getting rid of this headache for real.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #366

Feb 242014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 114,690 miles
I called in this complaint on 03/13/20014 to robin with complaint # 10568974 but it will not show up on search. The air bag light comes on and off at will. I called a complaint to Chevy. Customer service #[xxx]. on 07-12-12 the steering pump assembly was changed by special coverage adjustment 10183replace steering column installed 25933396 column. We are sure it was not a 2006 column but a newer year that has a recall on it. The Chevy. Forum has a lot of recalls on air bags. The local dealer O"rielly will not do a scanner check for codes unless the light is on. We had it done a our automotive dealer and it showed code B0012 drivers deployment loop. We consider this a safety issue and should be covered by warranty or a recall on the new steering column. We would like this issue repaired at no cost to us. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tucson , AZ, USA

problem #365

Jan 022012

Malibu

  • 50,000 miles
Upon slight acceleration (I.e. merging from exit ramps or pulling out into traffic) the power steering fails. Warning sound chimes. Steering becomes unassisted without power for several seconds. This has occurred several times. I contacted the local dealer re: Recalls/fix and was informed that I would have to pay them a service fee to look at the car for them to try to duplicate the problem. This is a GM/Chevy problem and I should not have to pay for them to address this obvious safety risk/issue. This should be recalled/fixed immediately!!

- Corry, PA, USA

problem #364

Mar 072014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the power steering assist failed as the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition coil needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired on two occasions but the failure recurred. The approximate failure and current mileage was 160,000...updated 04-23-14 updated 05/28/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired and the owner is in possession of the failed parts. Updated 06/2014

- Dayton, NV, USA

problem #363

Dec 162013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 7,331 miles
While driving vehicle I notice a fair amount of play in the steering system. When I was at a stop light I observed the steering wheel would shimmy or move right to left on its own. I am not a mechanic but I knew from years of driving that steering was an issue. We took the car in for service and was informed that they would reprogram the steering system and if it recurred they would have to replace the steering motor. This didn't repair the problem and it proceeded to get worst. I contacted GM customer service and received little to no assistance. They did inform me of a bulletin that had been issued and contacted the dealership. This I assumed would resolve the issue, but it didn't. the dealership claimed that GM would only authorize the replacement of the steering column, which was done or so I was told. This didn't resolve the problem as not only do have the shimmy, while driving the power steering stops working and the car becomes difficult to steer. When this occurs warning chimes sound and power steering appears in information area. This is a very serious issue that the manufacture needs to address before something serious happens.

- Bluffton, SC, USA

problem #362

Mar 172014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
As I was driving I have had the problem multi times over last couple years as U are driving out of know where the power staring comes across the radio and dings then the power steering is gone I have to put in neutral and then turn on and off the car to reset. It I have kids and it very dangerous to be driving this way why is it that NY car is not in the recall I am not happy about this and want it fixed know.

- Kalispell, MT, USA

problem #361

Nov 092009

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Steering pops and snaps. Sometimes feels like it has a "catch" in it or about to lock up. I know you have had many complaints about 06 Malibu. Are you going to wait until it's a fiasco and more people die like the current cobalt and HHR mess? this Malibu problem should have been recalled years ago. I have talked, networked with many other Malibu owners. You need to stop coddling and snuggling with GM and get these Malibu recalled for steering safety issues. They are unsafe! I can see a class action lawsuit also naming you as complicite. Do your job and quit sucking GM.

- Carthage, MO, USA

problem #360

Feb 282014

Malibu

  • 170,166 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while starting the ignition, the steering wheel seized with the illumination of the power steering warning indicator. The engine was turned off. After restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 170,166.

- Southville, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?