Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 10 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #388

Mar 172014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering turns off by itself while driving at any speed, but does it more consistently at 65 mph and above.

- Brawley, CA, USA

problem #387

May 162014

Malibu

  • 154,345 miles
While my kids and was driving alone a very busy road. In my 2006 Chevy Malibu here in albany ga my car made a cling noise and I didnt notice what it meant by making the noise but however at that very second my car steering locked up and made it very hard for me to operate. I actually had to control my vehicle with muscle force. So. after getting to a place I can pull over and begin to call my husband I turn the car off and started it back up and it begin to work fine. Well, I had the same problem two days later and so I decide to call a Chevy dealer in he begin to tell me that its a recall on these particular vehicles and given another number to see if my vehicle.had a recall on it. Well, calling this number in waited on a rep. He ask for the make and model of car as well the VIN of the vehicle I gave him the information that was requested then he cane back to the phone and said theres no recall for this car. Ok Friday May 16,2014 this happened again. I have tried all source thats possible in dont know what to do next. Could someone please make contact with me before this car cause a fatal accident by this particular vehicle.

- Albany, GA, USA

problem #386

May 122014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
Loss of power steering when accelerating to passing gear.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #385

Jul 032012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 73,567 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering light comes on. Needed to replace the steering column.

- Allison Park, PA, USA

problem #384

Apr 292014

Malibu

  • 179,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while traveling 45 mph, the power steering warning lights illuminated as the vehicle became difficult to steer. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The were no repairs completed on the vehicle. The failure mileage was 179,000 and the current mileage was 180,000.

- Parsons, TN, USA

problem #383

Sep 242013

Malibu

  • 120,000 miles
When slowing to a stop, the steering in the vehicle gave out and it was necessary to shut off and turn the vehicle back on the get the power steering to work again. Throughout this past winter, it frequently lost steering at stop signs, stop lights, and when moving at low speeds.

- Avon Lake, OH, USA

problem #382

Feb 042014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving various speeds and attempting to turn, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,000 and the current mileage was 72,000. Updated 06/24/14 MA the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired under recall on May 7,2014. Updated 06/25/2014

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #381

Apr 252014

Malibu

  • 79,300 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the power steering light illuminated then the power steering failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 79,300.

- Raynham, MA, USA

problem #380

Apr 232014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
Car shuts off while driving an steering is hard.

- Chase , MD, USA

problem #379

Apr 212014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 149,500 miles
While merging on to a highway, my steering locked up and my son, who was driving, suddenly couldn't steer. Fortunately, it only lasted for a few seconds, and it came back. Had it not come back, we would have had a collision with a semi-truck that was right next to us. This is never happened prior to this and not since. My local Chevy dealer assures me that there are no recalls on this model, however, he also couldn't tell me why something like this would happen or offer a suggestion. Please advise.

- Pataskala, OH, USA

problem #378

Feb 072012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Soon after I purchased this car I started having problems with the power steering system. In many occasions when I start the engine the power steering does not work. I cannot move the steering wheel. I turn the engine off, wait a few seconds and start the engine again, and the power steering works. I have had this problems at least 15 or 20 times since I purchased the car in January 9, 2012. It has never happened with the car moving. Also when I move the steering wheel from one side to the other the power steering alert light comes on and off and I hear a clunk noise that I can feel in the steering wheel. It is like if something is loose in the steering system. I checked the rack and pinion in several occasions and found it had the screws that hold it to the frame loose. I tightened them but the noise does not go away. I drive this car with caution and fear because of the power steering problem and the noise in the steering system. This month (April 2014) I started having problems with the fuel level sending unit. Sometimes it marks full and others empty with gas in the tank. At the same time the check engine light comes on and off.

- San German, PR, USA

problem #377

Feb 172010

Malibu

  • 69,000 miles
I was driving home from work about 12 midnight, on the dan ryan expressway. The traffic was heavy with lots of truck on the road. I heard three beeps then a message ran across the dash check power steering, before I could finish reading the message I had no power steering. The car started to driving rough vibrating very hard to control. I was about three lane over from the exit lanes.thank the lord I'm still here. I seen a recall in March of 2010 on the Monte Carlo call and inquired about my car talked with a manager named [xxx] for about two months no contact then was told not a part of recall.repair $1700 webb Chevy. General Motors does not care about it's consumers and something needs to be done this is an outrage. And I will never buy another GM. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #376

Mar 052014

Malibu

  • miles
I was making a right hand turn onto a busy intersection and steering went out I ended up in the lane of on coming traffic turning in a left turning lane in opposite direction. Thank the lord no one was in that lane. And the 2nd time 2 weeks later it happened again when I was turning into a exxon station and almost hit the gas pump.just glad my breaks worked good and had both hands on the wheel since the first incident occurred. When will we get a notification about the recall.. I have not received anything yet. If need be I will take more steps because this needs to be fixed and I am not paying for it. I called the place where I bought the car and they gave me a number to call and I did and I was told to wait until I got recall card in the mail and have not seen anything yet......that was a month ago.

- Union Bridge, MD, USA

problem #375

Apr 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
I have taken my car to Sierra Chevrolet in southfield, mi where it was purchased in 10/13, since purchasing on 3 different occasions in 5 months for loss of power steering and all systems on dashboard drop to zero (0), gas, speedometer and RPM's. I was first charged $125 (dealer claimed they would split cost) which didn't fix problem. Now they are trying to charge me $430 to replace a module with no guarantee this will fix problem. I am being repeatedly told my car does not fall under the recall. I have a copy of letter from NHTSA to General Motors dated 3/31/14 identifying safety recall of power steering as well GM's letter to dealerships dated 3/31/14 referred to as bulletin # 14116 which states dealers are to replace torque system in models 2004-2006 Malibu.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #374

Mar 132014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 61,725 miles
I purchased a used car on 3/8/2014-returned vechile on 3/13/2014 for service due to excessive pulling to the left while driving and check engine light came; it was inspected on 2/28/2014; since that time, I had return 3 times for the pulling and 2 times for the check engine light again to be reparied.. the mileage on the car for the check engine was as follows for the code P0605 and evap monitor not ready and malfunction indicator light code 61,737, 61,804, -dealer claimed it was reparied but continued to come on- 62,355 62,594 - the code was for the evap monitor and I no longer went to dealer since the manager, chris, of the service department said if I was going to report the problems to motor vehicle or attorney general they would no longer service it.(all american Ford-[xxx], kingston NY) I brought it to haviland auto repair ([xxx] hyde park, NY)before and after the servicing from along with monroe muffler for estimate on the pulling to the left and the check engine light. A four wheel alignment had been complete and it still pulls and the light continues to come on after so many miles; due to excessive pulling, the tires wil wear easily and at higher speeds-50 + it is work to keep it swaying... ┐parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).┐

- Hyde Park, NY, USA

problem #373

Jan 012014

Malibu

  • miles
It started in Jan, and getting worst, just driving any speed, could be completing turns, anytime it just goes out. Took to dealer, they know about recall, said we have to wait for our notice. Because it's not all 2006 cars.....it's happening to our car! how much longer before we receive notification? also what if we don't receive notification. Should we just get legal help, to get this rectified and fixed now before an accident occurs, before someone gets hurt! sorry if this isn't what this is for, just getting run around and very frustrated and afraid that an accident will happen!

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #372

Apr 012014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
The car airbag light is on because of the clock spring and the steering is intermittently working other Malibu and cars are under recall for steering but mine is not and is not being covered by Chevy very dangerous to drive hard steering at low speeds and problem with steering column.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #371

Apr 042014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 130,760 miles
Was and the steering wheel locked up while it was raining car stopped and got flooded under the under pass couldn't move the car motor wouldn't start are anything we had to get rescued out of the car due to the power.

- Alexandria, LA, USA

problem #370

Mar 302013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I have been having issues with my wheel since 2008. I took my car to multiple Chevy dealerships and was informed that there was not an issue. Fast forward to 2013 as I was making a turn my power steering completely went out and I had to let the car glide my car into the side walk as the wheel stopped working completely. I have contacted GM customer service and was informed that there is not a problem and I would still have to come out of my pocket in order to get this car fixed but I found online thousands of people having the same issue as my car. I want GM to acknowledge that there is a power steering issue with 2006 Chevy Malibu's and fix the problem and issue a recall on these cars.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #369

Oct 162013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 59,234 miles
Several times over the last 6-8 months, I was driving my Chevrolet Malibu 2006 lt and the car died and my power steering went out without warning. The sensor came on that says "power steering." It seems like every time that it happened, I was making a left hand turn. Since I was turning left in the middle of an intersection, I was not driving fast at all. I believe I had my grandchildren in the car on at least one of these occasions. I could not control the steering at all. My car ended up with the front in the middle of the intersection facing the oncoming traffic because you cannot complete the turn when this happens. I thought it must be that it needed power steering fluid. But my husband checked it and he said it does not need power steering fluid. When I heard about the GM recall yesterday, I immediately called a Chevy dealer and they said my car VIN is not included in the recall. I then checked GM's website and put my VIN in and it said that my car is not currently included in the recall. This sounds very wrong to me. I think the NHTSA should closely scrutinize the lt models of the Chevrolet Malibu 2006 as I am concerned that they have the same or similar defect. Thank you for looking into this. I am afraid to drive the car now. I am now using only a single key without the fob as the NHTSA consumer alert on your website states to do. When it happened to me before, I always had the fob and two additional keys on the key chain along with the car key. Thank you very much for your assistance. I appreciate your looking into this.

- Elk Grove Village, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?