Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,045 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 7 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #439

Sep 112014

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), 14V153000 (steering), and 14V224000 (power train). The parts needed to perform the recall repairs were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Stroudburg, PA, USA

problem #438

Aug 262014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 96,757 miles
I was on my way to pick my daughter up from school as I turned into the school the steering lost power and two dings followed and the display said power steering so I came to a complete stop put it in park and turned it off I called my husband and told him what happened and he said to try to start it and see what it does so I did and the steering was fine all the way back home so he decided to drive it and it done the same thing to him so we decided to do a little research on the power steering and all we could find is a safety recall that we had no idea about we haven't been notified so we call serra Chevrolet dealer and gave them the VIN and she says yes my car has a safety recall and that they don't have replacement parts and don't know when they will they can't do anything so I call the manufacture GM and told him everything about the car and what the dealer told me he said they should have told you to bring the car to the dealer so they could look at it and if they can't fix it offer you a loaner car because the car is not safe for my children or other drivers on the rode so he contacted the dealer and told me they would contact me and they called me back and told me that who ever I spoke to at GM lied that they will not offer me a loaner car that I could bring my car in that they had no doubt they could fix it but I would have to pay out of pocket and maybe GM would reimburse me I have only had the car for 3 months and I don't understand how no one wants to do anything about this I have 3 children I have to get to and from school and had I known about this safety issue I wouldn't have bought the car and I can't afford to pay out of pocket and I shouldn't have to and so I am paying for dangerous car that can't drive.

- Ashland City, TN, USA

problem #437

Jan 032011

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the brake lights would work intermittently. The contact replaced the brake lights on numerous occasions. The independent mechanic repaired the wiring harness but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the BCM needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired under campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) the remedy failed to rectify the failure. Additionally, the contact also stated that the heated seat function failed and the power steering seized intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 60,000...updated 10/01/14 the consumer stated the fuel tank would show 1/8 of a tank, but in actuality the tank was empty.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #436

Nov 142013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Chevrolet Malibu. Consumer writes in regards to power steering problems. The electronic steering motor/module was replaced.

- Gulf Shores, AL, USA

problem #435

Aug 212014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Was driving and saw a deer in the road. When I pressed the brakes they locked and then the pedal went to the floor as if the brakes went out. At that time the steering was difficult. The vehicle went through a field through 2 fences and over a ditch before coming to a stop. The engine did not shut off. There was major front end damage, from the fence posts, and the air bags never deployed. The vehicle was declared a total loss due to the damage.

- Lebanon Junction, KY, USA

problem #434

May 132012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
I was making a left hand turn when the "power steering" error appeared. All lights turned off in the vehicle and the steering wheel locked; it was as if the vehicle had turned off. I coasted down the street until I parked the car and actually turned the vehicle off. At that point, I was unable to restart the vehicle. The next morning we found the timing belt was broken; once replaced, the vehicle restarted. Since then, the "power steering" error has displayed numerous times. When turning the wheel extremely left or right, the steering wheels locks. I then have to turn off the vehicle and restart it in order for it to reset. Just yesterday, I was reversing out of a parking spot when the "power steering" error displayed and my steering wheel locked up again. This time I did not have to turn the vehicle off; as it reset on its own. I have been advised by GM that my vehicle is not included in the current recall (GM recall # N140115) as my vehicle was not assembled in the same plant as the recalled vehicles. Clearly my car has a problem with it's power steering. Per GM recall # N140115, "in the affected vehicles, there may be a sudden loss of electric power steering (eps) assist that could occur at any time while driving".

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #433

Aug 212014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 181,428 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while traveling at unknown speeds, the power steering suddenly failed. The vehicle was diagnosed but, not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V153000 (steering). The failure mileage was 181,428. Updated 10/07/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was traded in. Updated 3/16/2015

- Basehor, KS, USA

problem #432

Aug 262014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
We have three recalls involving the power steering and shift cable. Both appear to leave the car unsafe. When we began to have our power steering light come on and noticed some shaking of the steering column when stopping the car, we were told the part is not available. What are we to do with this unsafe situation with no parts or remedies at this time?

- Seguin, TX, USA

problem #431

Aug 152014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 92,402 miles
Power steering went out, came back in about 15 to 30 sec. Then again on Aug.22.went to chev garage and they toldme there is recall on the power steering motor. Have not receive it yet.

- Elizabethtown, PA, USA

problem #430

Jul 112014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Hello, I contacted your national service line and they referred me to jack wilson Chevrolet in saint augustine. We have had three recalls on this vehicle and no resolution on any of them. VIN# [xxx] 2006 Chevrolet Malibu maxx 65000 miles steering issue, took to a dealer ship in jacksonville, fl., they told me it was a brake issue. Had the front brakes replaced and still have the issue and charged me $60 for a wrong diagnosis. Received letter on 7-18-2014, recall #13036, no parts available and do not know when they will be at this time. Received letter on 8-11-2014, recall #14152, no parts available and do not know when the will be at this time. The national customer service center called jack wilson and set up for me to go and have them inspect recall items and let me know that there was no eminent danger. I went to jack wilson and spoke with the service person [xxx] which did not have the inspection done. She was willing to inspect the steering issue which she said was not a recall issue by turning the steering wheel back and forth and did not have a certified technician even look at the car. This car is my mother's only car, she is 84 and doing well until she got these recall letters. She does not feel safe to drive this car and no one can tell me when the parts will be available for the repairs to be completed. [xxx] I am contacting GM first with this as you requested. Please help us with this matter, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Saint Augustine, FL, USA

problem #429

Feb 122013

Malibu

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel was difficult to maneuver and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the coil. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the power steering module, eye shaft, and the rack pinion but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Verona , PA, USA

problem #428

Aug 012014

Malibu

  • 163,000 miles
This complaint is being marked for deletion because it is an inadvertent duplicate of ODI# 10626414 TL-the contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 mph, the steering wheel locked and forced the contact into on coming traffic. The vehicle was merged to the shoulder of the road, where the contact shut the ignition off and was able to restart it. The vehicle resumed normal function. The failure recurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The contact was made aware of recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V153000 (steering). However, the parts needed for the repairs was unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 163,000. Pam

- Entiat, WA, USA

problem #427

Aug 012014

Malibu

  • 163,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 55 mph, the steering wheel locked and forced the contact to drive into oncoming traffic. The contact managed to avoid a crash. The vehicle resumed normal operation once it was turned off and restarted. The failure occurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not repaired. The contact was informed of NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 163,000.

- Entiat, WA, USA

problem #426

Jul 182013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Accelerating after entry to freeway, I lost the steering for approximately 200 feet and then it kicked back in. Happened again on 8/15/2014 with my husband driving. It was the same circumstances; accelerating on the entrance ramp to the freeway. He quickly jerked the steering wheel back and forth a few times and thinks that's what caused it to come back. Mileage at this time was approximately 26,928.

- Richfield, MN, USA

problem #425

Jun 032014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received notifications for recalls NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V224000 (power train) and NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V153000 (steering). However, the parts were not available in order to perform the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bonners Ferry , ID, USA

problem #424

Jun 122012

Malibu

  • 66,000 miles
Trying to access interstate, picking up speed to enter traffic in high density area--steering quit working. Applied brakes to avoid entrance into traffic or hit the bridge abutment. Was able to straighten car out and continue. Upon braking--steering returned. Went to local Chevy dealer--complaint--locking up situation, noise and when cold-- vibration of steering wheel in older models was called "morning sickness". regal Chevy passed it off as normal--showed me a notice of default (shut down) if system driven to hard. Refused to replace motor in spite of other issues. Noise has continued and gotten worse--morning sickness (turning vibration/sticking) still present. Noted: Now a new campaign---N140115.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #423

Jul 012008

Malibu

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while turning the steering wheel left or right there was an abnormal noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on multiple occasions where it was diagnosed that the power steering shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 9,000.

- Casa Grand, AZ, USA

problem #422

Mar 022013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Around March 2013, I first began to encounter problems with my power steering. It began at a low speed with a chime, a message display saying to check the power steering, and my wheel locking up (power steering fail). At the time, I did not think much of it because after restarting the car, the power steering seemed fine. After this incident, there were many times when the chime would sound and the message would flash but the power steering still seemed to work. I took my car in for other issues and had this checked out at the same time. The trouble code in the system was C0545 for torque sensor input failure. My mechanic explained that this was a common problem and even checked for a recall at that time. I left with my car that day due to having to wait for parts. Two days later while driving 45mph, the power steering entirely failed. It felt as if my wheel locked entirely. Luckily there were not many cars on the road and I was able to direct it into a parking lot. My car was taken back in immediately and they had to replace the entire steering column. This repair cost around $500. In July 2014, it was brought to my attention that GM finally issued a recall for this problem. So, I called GM to to submit my information to be reimbursed. I was told that only some 2006 Malibu were being recalled for this issue and that my 2006 Malibu was not one of them...even though my 2006 Malibu had the problem they were recalling for! come to find out, this has happened to many other 2006 Malibu owners. Needless to say, GM has done a terrible job correcting a serious mistake.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #421

Jul 292014

Malibu

  • 49,100 miles
There was no accident. This is a complaint about my 2006 Chevrolet Malibu. I received three recall notices, nos. 14152, 13036 and14116 from the Chevrolet co. All three describe very dangerous conditions that may occur while driving my car. They are notifying me that they do not have parts to repair my car but will notify me when they are sent to my dealer. This is outrageous. While driving my car on a limited access highway I may experience a transmission shift cable fracture, a power steering assist failure or an increased resistance in the body control module connection system. Does this mean I should not drive my car until the company can make the repairs" all sound like serious failures. Are you aware the Chevrolet company is sending these out to cover themselves if a failure occurs" [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) updated 7/22/2015

- Latham, NY, USA

problem #420

Feb 252008

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 14,912 miles
Per NHTSA bulletin 10020816 and GM bulletin 060232007 covering steering input shaft #22687711. This shaft begins to make a clunking sound between 0 and 16 mph when turning. In order to stop the noise, I believe caused by the worn U-joints at both ends of the shaft, this part must be replaced every two years. You do not hear any clunking above 16/17 mph. I have been told by a GM service department that the part can not come apart, and I can replace the part every two years or live with the noise. Really. Does anyone remember rear wheel drive vehicle and what would happen when the U-joints on the drive shaft began clunking when you put the vehicle in gear. You replaced them or you could be walking. This is a steering shaft. When will the U-joint(s) fail? when I am turning out of my driveway, turning into a parking space, or perhaps at highway speed avoiding an animal. What is amazing is that GM knew about this defected design/part and yet kept using it into 2008. The bulletins cover Malibu cars from 2004 to 2008, Pontiac G6's 2005 to 2007, and Saturn aura's 2007 to 2008. I feel GM should be given two choices, fix this part when it starts clunking for the life of the vehicle, or buy them back.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?