Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,820 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 13 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #199

Apr 012007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Clunk, knock or rattle noise from front of vehicle while driving or turning over bumps at low speeds. Repair never offered at warranty ran out. The problem still exist and I have been assured by dealer GM this is safe. Do you have any additional info, as to why 2007 were excluded from recall?

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #198

Mar 152014

Malibu

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated as the steering wheel became very difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to a certified mechanic for inspection where they stated that the steering column, steering motor and the steering control module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 101,000.

- Rockford , IL, USA

problem #197

Apr 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 151,636 miles
Vehicle suddenly lost power steering, and "power steering" came up on the message center. I have read multiple on-line postings describing the same event that happened to me/this vehicle. It is a 4 cylinder with electric assist power steering. How is it that the 2007 model year escaped a recall from 2004-2006 and 2008-2009?

- Northampton, PA, USA

problem #196

Dec 032013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittent electric power steering failures. The failures occurred at random, and always resulted in the electric power steering deactivating, a power steering warning message on the message center, and eventually the power steering system returning to operation. After attempting a repair, the power steering now tries to move the steering wheel to the left lock position. After contacting GM, I was informed that this was not a safety problem and since the vehicle has a branded title, the power steering cannot be repaired at no cost to me.

- Waldron, AR, USA

problem #195

Feb 122014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 125,340 miles
After parking car briefly, came out started it and steering hard, on center console was message for power steering. I looked for belts, thinking it had a pump and belt. It did not. Has electronic steering over hydraulics. Anyway turned key off and back on, steering was fine, this happened for a few days, some times you could cycle key once, others it could take multiple times. Also while sitting still and car running, steering wheel would jerk to left. I took car to local dealer for repairs. An electronic module had failed, causing progressive damage to steering column. Total cost$1199.90. Looking online, recalls were issued for 2004-2006, 2008 and 2009 models having same issue. The warranties on these unit were extended til 10 years 150,000 miles. I have called GM and they have yet to give me a verbal response. If safety is such a huge concern of theirs, and steering is a safety issue. They should admit they have an issue, include the 2007 models and correct it.

- Macclesfield, NC, USA

problem #194

Mar 102014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 74,300 miles
Wife driving in town when power steering information came up on the radio screen. Steering wheel started to violently jerk to the right. Then the power steering shut down and forced my wife to struggle with steering to get to a safe area parking lot. Vehicle was turned off. Upon re-ignition, power steering returned. Four incidents of similar occurrence since then. Wife won't drive car now. Very dangerous considering potential ramifications to causing crash. 75000 miles at start of problem. Why has this not been recalled. Can GM smell lawsuit should any family be injured due to this? they know of the problem but expect consumers to lay out over $1000 dollars to fix a problem caused by defective GM parts/vehicle. Liability is on GM.

- Deming, NM, USA

problem #193

Feb 062014

Malibu

  • 131,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph in reverse, the power steering warning light illuminated as the steering wheel became very difficult to turn. The contact stated that she restarted the vehicle and it functioned properly. The vehicle was taken to a certified mechanic for inspection where they stated that the power steering pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 131,000.

- Bethany , OK, USA

problem #192

Mar 142014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
Again, I file a complaint. I lost my power steering, a message was displayed to inform me of the loss. Steering was very difficult to maintain at manual steering.. at this time no recalls were made. On 3/31 a recall was made for Chevrolet Malibu models from 2004 and 2005, and some from 2006, 208 and 2009. Mine is a 2007 and is having the same problems. My auto has been unsafe to drive because of this steering problem. Why isn;T my automobile on the recall list. You corrected the problem for 1 year and then went back to a cheaper way "?????" what was done different to the 2007 models, that they didn;T appear in the recall. I have asked for the phone number of [xxx], GM's newly appointed vice president of global vehicle safety, no one will give me his number. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Larsen, WI, USA

problem #191

Mar 242014

Malibu

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, a chime sounded as the power steering assist failed. The power steering warning light was also illuminated. The contact had to maneuver the steering wheel forcefully and shut off the engine. Once restarted, the vehicle resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis where they stated that the steering column would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #190

Feb 012010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering assist failed with the illumination of the power steering warning light. The contact stated that the steering wheel became hard to turn. The electronic power steering assist was previously replaced however the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 89,000 and the current mileage was 149,000. Updated 05/19/14 the steering wheel positioning sensor needed to be replaced.

- Pelican Lake , WI, USA

problem #189

Sep 122012

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon entering freeway, steering wheel locked, causing stiffness. This has been happening more often now. While driving, steering wheel jerks to the left and to the right. Have to hold on tight in order to control. This is happening now on a daily basis. Called the Chevrolet dealer, and was informed no recall for this problem. I saw a recall dated 03/31/2014 for other Chevrolet cars with the same problem. Why were the 2007 Malibu not included? this is a very serious problem, we have an 8 month old baby that travels in this vehicle. Please add to recall.

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #188

Jan 062014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
I have reported to GM on three separate occasions that my power steering is faulty. It has come to my attention that the 2006 and 2008 models of this car were recently listed among the recall. I would also like to add that GM was not at all willing to disclose to me that I may report this problem to you to get this model included. Imagine that! I am wanting to inform you that factory defect exists with the 2007 model as well. I went and had tires put on my car last Saturday and asked the technician to see if anything was loose underneath, as it often felt that way while driving. He reported back, in writing, that my car's rack and pinion is not working correctly. I often encounter the power steering not working upon starting the car. I have found through reading on the internet that removing the key and restarting the car will reset the power steering. So far, this has worked. My fear is that it will eventually not reset or worse, loose power steering while driving. If my model is not being included due to lack of complaints, that is so wrong. I imagine they like me, do not know how to report it to you. It's not a lack of problem. The problem absolutely does exist with this model as well. Thank you.

- Alpine, TN, USA

problem #187

Aug 012013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
Power steering goes out-steering wheel shakes violently and vehicle is extremely hard to steer and control. Reported this problem via complaint with ntsb and with GM in August 2013. Was advised to have diagnostic testing completed on car. Did that ($110). Now GM is recalling this defect on all years except 2007. Why? same issue as other model years. GM diagnostics provided report that states power steering column should be replaced. This is no different than all of the other power steering issues in all other model years. The 2007 model should not be excluded!! recall this year as well!!

- Powell, TN, USA

problem #186

Mar 032014

Malibu 4-cyl Diesel

  • 118,000 miles
Upon starting my car, I had no power steering and the display read "service power steering." After shutting the car off, it will reset. This incident has happened five times. Upon checking with a dealership, they informed me that there was a recall for 2005, 2006, and 2008 Malibu but not for 2007, and, therefore, I would be responsible for the repair. I'm frustrated that I'm experiencing the same problem as the other models but it is not recognized as a recall in the 2007 model. Why"?"

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #185

Apr 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
This vehicle has the same electrical power steering assist unit as other GM models that have been recalled, why is this vehicle not recalled. It will kick off randomly while driving and then sometimes kick back on while driving, now I have it immobile in my garage as it is undriveable. There have been several occasion I feared my life as I had to make quick turns to avoid potholes, etc. I no longer drive this vehicle and it remains immobile in my garage waiting for this to be a recall to find out that this model year is not included. This needs recalled or explained why it has been removed.

- Grand Blanc, MI, USA

problem #184

Jun 032013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I continually experience sudden power loss while driving my 07 Malibu which my dashboard alerted power steering lost. At first this would happen randomly, however it has progressively gotten worse especially in warmer temps. I can no longer parallel park as the manual steering is much to hard. I'm scared to make any sharp turns as loss of power generally happens at that time.it's extremely terrifying to know at any minute my steering can go out while going 60 mph on a highway (which has happened) and I cannot maneuver my vehicle how it's suppose to maneuvered. Why are all other model years being recalled but not the 2007 model year"???" dealership will fix the issue at my own expense which is close to $1,000 as the entire steering column needs to be replaced.

- Middle River, MD, USA

problem #183

Feb 072014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
This vehicle has the same electrical power steering assist unit as other GM models that have been recalled yet they won't recall the '07. It will kick off randomly while driving and then sometimes kick back on in the middle of a curve. I have almost ran off the road a couple times because of this. I no longer allow my wife to drive my car because I fear she won't be strong enough to maneuver the car safely when the power steering disables. This needs recalled.

- Manchester, MI, USA

problem #182

Feb 262014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 168,000 miles
While driving on a sunny afternoon at 50 mph, the power steering service message displayed on the radio and the electronic power assist went out. Was able to pull off road and into a gas station. Turned off car. When returned to the car, started the car and the power steering functioned fine. Over the past five weeks since the first incident of this happening, it has happened 6 additional times. Each time the problem resets itself once the car has been turned off, allowed to sit off for a couple of minutes, and then restarted. Other vehicles with similar electronic power assist motors have been recalled, but for some reason this model has not been recalled. A non-dealership automotive service center indicated that this problem was part of a recall, and refused to perform the service. Dealership was willing to perform the service, as long as I paid, since the VIN did not come up in the recalls for the electronic power assist. Dealership indicated that sensor in steering column was faulty, but to replace I would need to replace entire steering column.

- Columbiaville, MI, USA

problem #181

Jan 072014

Malibu

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized and shook abnormally while driving 20 mph. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic, who stated that the power steering needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the issues. The failure mileage was 150,000 and the current mileage was 170,000.

- Harper Wood, MI, USA

problem #180

Feb 262014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 202,000 miles
I have a 2007 Malibu which I drive back and forth to work everyday on the highway. On wed. 2/26/14 I felt a pulsing vibration while driving on the highway. A short while later I lost the power steering completely which needless to say was very dangerous trying to get to the side of the highway in heavy traffic with no power steering. I had to have my car towed to my local mechanic who told me that the problem was in the electronic power steering system. The parts were ordered at a cost of $856.54 and the total cost with labor was $1272.07. I have since been on-line and read page after page of problems with the electronic power steering for this year Malibu. I, as well as many others are wondering why this very dangerous problem has not been handled with a recall. Please advise.

- North Attleboro, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?