Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
94,782 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 13 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #213

Apr 152010

Malibu

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 35 and making a left turn, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that power steering assist failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 84,000.

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #212

Nov 052013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
Power steering went out. Has happened on numerous occasions. Should be part of the recall, but is not. Illuminates power steering on digital notification system.

- Drakes Branch, , VA, USA

problem #211

Feb 142014

Malibu

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the power steering assist failed. The contact would have to shut off and restart the vehicle for the steering assist to return to normal function. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000 and the current mileage 154,000. Updated 07/15/14 MA the consumer also stated, while sitting in the vehicle, the steering wheel would shimmy to the left and right on its own, while making a strange noise. Updated 07.17.14

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #210

Mar 262014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

With all the complaints on power steering problems on the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu, that are the same as other year Malibu, are you waiting for an accident before recalling this vehicle?

- Larsen, WI, USA

problem #209

Apr 052014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from constituents regarding their 2007 Malibu electronic power steering (eps) problems and failure; requesting that the appropriate state of Ohio and federal agencies investigate this eps failure in the 2007 Malibu model. The consumer stated last week, the steering wheel began exhibiting a pulsating/jerking movement, while stopped at a red light. Then on April 5, 2014 the power steering failed. The dealer informed the consumer, it would cost anywhere from $00-700 to fix the steering issue. Updated 05/06/14

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #208

Jan 012014

Malibu

  • 103,000 miles
The electric power steering of my 2007 Chevy Malibu needs to be completely replaced. All of the other years for this make are being recalled. The power steering was originally locking up when I started my car, but now it is locking up while I am driving. This year needs to be recalled as well.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #207

Mar 152014

Malibu

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering would intermittently fail while driving at various speeds. The power steering warning light was also illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer and no repairs were performed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 145,000 and the current mileage was 147,000.

- Huntsburg, OH, USA

problem #206

Feb 052014

Malibu

  • 176,473 miles
Was traveling down the highway and alarm sounded check power steering and there was nothing there.

- Two Rivers, WI, USA

problem #205

Mar 152013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I own a 2007chevy Malibu that apparently is not recalled. I have had on several occasions while turning the steering wheel locks up and the power steering message shows up. Luckily I have been in non-busy areas when this happens as I have to turn the car off and re start the car. Sometimes I have to do this several times. Sometimes the steering wheel will pull twitch the left by itself and is very loose. I have taken my car in several times to be looked at. I feel unsafe to drive my car in fact I will not drive it. I have two children that I would not put in that car. So I would like to know how I am supposed to get to work and take my children to school, sports, etc. When I do not have a safe car to drive, while GM tries to decide which cars they will fix. This is unacceptable. I feel compensation is needed for the inconveniences they have created.

- Lebanon, IL, USA

problem #204

Mar 042014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 80,390 miles
The powersteering would inadvertently get stiff and the powersteering indicator light would come on to indicate an issue. Inquired of any recalls and GM and the dealership said there were none at the time scheduled the vehicle for repair on April 3, 2014 and since then GM has recalled many models for the powersteering issue except for the 2007 mailbu which I feel should be taken care of by GM since they know this is a defect in the powersteering. As of todays date my vehicle is not among the recall and it should be I should not have to pay for this repair GM should make this right.

- Merrillville, IN, USA

problem #203

Feb 172014

Malibu

  • 77,279 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving, at no particular speed, while making a right turn the vehicle lost power steering. When the failure occurred warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel and the steering wheel was hard to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the steering column and the module. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage 77,279.

- The Villages , FL, USA

problem #202

Apr 112012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated while driving 20 mph, the steering assist failure light illuminated. The contact drove the vehicle onto the side of the road in order to restart it and it functioned as designed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection who stated the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 84,000. Updated 3/13/15 the problem was resolved. Updated 03/17/15

- North Manchester, IN, USA

problem #201

Jul 092013

Malibu

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering light illuminated as the vehicle became hard to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. No repairs were done to the vehicle.the manufacture was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage 143,000.

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #200

Oct 012013

Malibu

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering caused extreme difficulty in turning the vehicle on multiple occasions. The sensor light illuminated on the instrument panel for the power steering more than once at random. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who was not able to replicate the failure. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V15300 (steering) and had continued to experience the same failure at random. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100000.

- Deridder, LA, USA

problem #199

Apr 012007

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Clunk, knock or rattle noise from front of vehicle while driving or turning over bumps at low speeds. Repair never offered at warranty ran out. The problem still exist and I have been assured by dealer GM this is safe. Do you have any additional info, as to why 2007 were excluded from recall?

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #198

Mar 152014

Malibu

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated as the steering wheel became very difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to a certified mechanic for inspection where they stated that the steering column, steering motor and the steering control module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 101,000.

- Rockford , IL, USA

problem #197

Apr 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 151,636 miles
Vehicle suddenly lost power steering, and "power steering" came up on the message center. I have read multiple on-line postings describing the same event that happened to me/this vehicle. It is a 4 cylinder with electric assist power steering. How is it that the 2007 model year escaped a recall from 2004-2006 and 2008-2009?

- Northampton, PA, USA

problem #196

Dec 032013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Intermittent electric power steering failures. The failures occurred at random, and always resulted in the electric power steering deactivating, a power steering warning message on the message center, and eventually the power steering system returning to operation. After attempting a repair, the power steering now tries to move the steering wheel to the left lock position. After contacting GM, I was informed that this was not a safety problem and since the vehicle has a branded title, the power steering cannot be repaired at no cost to me.

- Waldron, AR, USA

problem #195

Feb 122014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 125,340 miles
After parking car briefly, came out started it and steering hard, on center console was message for power steering. I looked for belts, thinking it had a pump and belt. It did not. Has electronic steering over hydraulics. Anyway turned key off and back on, steering was fine, this happened for a few days, some times you could cycle key once, others it could take multiple times. Also while sitting still and car running, steering wheel would jerk to left. I took car to local dealer for repairs. An electronic module had failed, causing progressive damage to steering column. Total cost$1199.90. Looking online, recalls were issued for 2004-2006, 2008 and 2009 models having same issue. The warranties on these unit were extended til 10 years 150,000 miles. I have called GM and they have yet to give me a verbal response. If safety is such a huge concern of theirs, and steering is a safety issue. They should admit they have an issue, include the 2007 models and correct it.

- Macclesfield, NC, USA

problem #194

Mar 102014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 74,300 miles
Wife driving in town when power steering information came up on the radio screen. Steering wheel started to violently jerk to the right. Then the power steering shut down and forced my wife to struggle with steering to get to a safe area parking lot. Vehicle was turned off. Upon re-ignition, power steering returned. Four incidents of similar occurrence since then. Wife won't drive car now. Very dangerous considering potential ramifications to causing crash. 75000 miles at start of problem. Why has this not been recalled. Can GM smell lawsuit should any family be injured due to this? they know of the problem but expect consumers to lay out over $1000 dollars to fix a problem caused by defective GM parts/vehicle. Liability is on GM.

- Deming, NM, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?