Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,929 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 15 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #161

Jan 282014

Malibu

  • 167,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First noticed issue when leaving dentist office and I started car, tried to back out and steering didn't work. I could turn the steering wheel, like having no power steering but worse. So I turned off car and restarted the car and then the power/ electronic steering worked. Then two days later I was driving down hwy 114 going to work early morning, and in the middle of me driving the steering went out again. I have had some old cars where the power steering went out and I had to "muscle" the steering so I did that the remainder of the way to work. Good thing I am physically strong enough to do that or I probably would have been in an accident. Got to work cut car off and started it back and the steering returned. I notice no recalls for the 2007 Malibu and dealership way more than I could afford to fix. Did have another licensed mechanic replace the rack and pinion system and electronic steering and so far so good. However this should not have been my cost for a defective system in the Malibu where a lot of other models got recalls but not the 2007. I feel I should be reimbursed my funds to fix.

- Euless, TX, USA

problem #160

Feb 132014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 130,135 miles
Turned the car on and the power steering was not working. A few hours later I turned the car back on and it worked fine. Have turned it on a few more times since and every time the power steering has been out and the message on the radio has come up.

- Yates City, IL, USA

problem #159

Feb 112014

Malibu

  • 184,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the power steering assist failed. The power steering warning light did not illuminate until after the failure occurred. The contact shut off the engine and once restarted, the power steering assist returned to normal function. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 184,000.

- De Soto , MO, USA

problem #158

May 012013

Malibu

  • 121,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering light comes on the radio intermittently, then I hear the alert and a click in my steering wheel and then I lose power steering. This happens while driving without warning.

- Delcambre, LA, USA

problem #157

Jan 202014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 149,500 miles
I was driving down the highway, I heard a dinging noise. I looked at the audio display and it said power steering. It was nearly impossible to turn. Once I shut it off, it reset and things seemed normal. A week and a half later it did the same thing as I was driving on the highway going about 65 mph. I was able to pull off and turn the car off and reset it once more. It has happened every time I have turned the car on since. I have noticed there have been recalls for same make, model, different year and yet no one seems to care about the safety of the people driving the 2007. The dealership said it could range from $600-$1,200 depending on what the"code"read. I cant afford that amount of money for them not to guarantee a fix. I drive over 40 miles one way to work a day and would like some assurance I can make it there and home safely. Please help!!!!!!!!

- Chaska, MN, USA

problem #156

Jan 282014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
The car lost power steering with no prior notice causing the car to be very hard to drive and unsafe. I have researched and there are tons of people experiencing similar problems with their electrict power steering. The 2005, 2006 and 2008 Malibu have had recalls for the same problem but not the 2007??

- Hagerstown, IN, USA

problem #155

Jan 232014

Malibu

  • 134,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering assist suddenly malfunctioned, making the vehicle difficult to steer. The contact would have to shut off and restart the engine in order to reset the power steering assist. The contact took the vehicle to an independent mechanic, who stated that they could not fix the error because it was an electrical failure. The manufacturer was contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 134,000. The VIN was not available.

- Ansonia, CT, USA

problem #154

Dec 272013

Malibu

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the power steering sensor warning light illuminated as the power steering assist suddenly malfunctioned, making the vehicle difficult to steer. The contact indicated that the power steering defect was intermittent but the defect was recurring. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Township Of Washington, NJ, USA

problem #153

Dec 022013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
The power steering failed while driving on the interstate at about 60 miles per hour. The power steering warning advisory on the dash displayed and had no power steering. It is very difficult to control the car when it comes to turning and it takes a lot of force. I see a lot of complaints for this year model yet there is a warranty for the 2005, 2006 and the 2008 models, this under #10183A special coverage adjustment " power steering assist in May 2012. So why is the 2007 excluded, has to be an oversight" please make this right! also called GM and took the car to the local dealership no help there - no recall.

- Waxahachie, TX, USA

problem #152

Jun 152010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
When braking for a stop the car shudders and shakes. The steering wheel vibrates and the sounds are horrible. It sounds as if the dashboard is going to fall out on your lap. We have had the brakes serviced on multiple occasions (rotors replaced, turned) and at one time the front axle was replaced being suspected of being bent. (it wasn't. cost $1600+) there are many stories of this occurrence on the internet forums and nothing is being done about it by the manufacturer. We own cars that are freaking scary to drive and impossible to sell. Having to stop in an emergency or very quickly may not even be possible the shaking is so violent.

- Mount Pleasant, UT, USA

problem #151

Mar 202013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving in a straight line on a paved road and all of a sudden there was a ding and the words power steering appeared on the dash. Within seconds I could not steer the vehicle. I was able to pull over safely as there was very little traffic, but I couldn't turn the steering wheel. Had vehicle towed to garage. If I had been in heavier traffic or trying to negotiate a bend/curve in the road or been negotiating a turn across traffic this incident could have had a tragic outcome. Garage repaired vehicle but it has happened again today and we have to replace the steering column at great expense. Called Chevy but they say there isn't a recall however it appears that the earlier and later models have been recalled for the same safety issue! researched online today and there appear to many complaints of accidents and near misses for the same issue of the 2007 models. This needs looking into urgently before someone loses their life.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #150

Jun 142013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Was following another auto that suddenly hit the brakes and when I tried to steer the car around, I could hardly turn the steering wheel momentarily. Have also found it hard to turn when starting in the morning.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #149

Dec 072013

Malibu

  • 98,000 miles
Randomly losing power steering. Happened once briefly in August 2013. Took it for a diagnostic test immediately after this incident and was told nothing was wrong. Started happening on 12/7/13 and hasn't stopped. I had the car looked at by a mechanic on 12/10/13 who disassembled the steering column/dashboard, etc. And was told that nothing is wrong. On 12/16/13, it was taken to another mechanic, who test drove it and ran another diagnostic test and once again told me nothing is wrong and to pick up my car. Since then, I have been randomly losing the power almost daily to multiple times daily. I commute approx. 30 miles to and from work and have had to drive with no power steering at high rates of speed. To make it worse, the weather has been very bad the past week so I have been a nervous wreck not knowing when the power steering is going to go out. Within the past year, both my airbag and door ajar warnings have come on randomly when I have no door ajar. I wasn't as concerned since they are not an immediate danger. When I lose power steering the car does "ding" and "power steering" flashes on my audio system. If I am able to(not on the freeway)then I pull over, turn the car off and then back on. Sometimes this corrects the problem and sometimes it does not. Sometimes it will go awhile without this happening and sometimes it happens multiple times in a row. I am planning on taking it to a local dealership this weekend and hoping I don't get into an accident in the meantime. When I just spoke to the dealership the gentleman on the phone said that this is a common problem and he knows there are some recalls. From what I can see there are recalls on every year surrounding mine. This is extremely dangerous and something needs to be done. I hope the dealership is able to correct the problem and I don't end up spending hundreds of dollars and this is still going to happen.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #148

Dec 192013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 129,957 miles
I have a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu that the power steering keeps cutting out. The last time this happened I was traveling 35 miles per hour when a deer ran out in front of me. I almost hit a tree. I am very grateful that my children were not in the car. I have researched the issue and it appeared GM has already recalled some models for the 2006 and 2008 with the same power steering issue. I was wondering if you would take this issue into consideration and look into possibly recalling the 2007 model as well. During my research, I discovered that other people have had problems with the same issue. Thank you. Looking forward to hearing from you.

- Marlton , NJ, USA

problem #147

Dec 172013

Malibu

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the mechanic diagnosed that the control module and the power steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #146

Nov 052013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 115,663 miles
Power steering went out, took to dealer said it was the steering column. Does not feel safe to drive will have to repair and call GM. Even though online everyone says they will not fix it unless they are forced to recall. So please, everyone with this problem needs to start getting loud this is an unsafe vehicle and needs to be fixed!!!!!!

- Hillsboro, MO, USA

problem #145

Nov 042013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Steering wanted to turn/jerk to left than right almost lost control of car and many other times the steering gets stiff and is very hard to turn.

- Willow Street, PA, USA

problem #144

Nov 202013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
I was driving my 2007 Malibu and turning a corner when the power steering went out. Luckily I was in an area with no other vehicles at the time. I was able to get the vehicle home, when I started it again the power steering was working. This seems to be a common problem with this make and model from what I have read. The power steering goes out while driving and comes back on after restarting the car. The issue recurs without warning. It is very dangerous and could cause a serious accident. There should be a recall on the 2007 for this known issue.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #143

Nov 152013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 114,867 miles
Pulling out of parking space had no power steering nearly impossible to turn, thought it was low on power steering fluid so pulled into mechanics garage, was told the Malibu has electrical steering and had probably needed to be replaced. Started car back up, and power steering has been working since. Needs to be fixed by GM very dangerous, you cannot turn wheel when electrical steering goes out. Terrible.

- Hillsboro, MO, USA

problem #142

Oct 022013

Malibu

  • 85,000 miles
The steering wheel jerks back and forth while driving at any speeds. Will even jerk back and forth when stopped at a red light.

- Charleston, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?