Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,501 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #110

Feb 132015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 65 mph, the air bag warning light and the traction light illuminated. The steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the power steering and the air bag needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 5/5/15 updated 11/10/2015

- Braxton, MS, USA

problem #109

Feb 182015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 162,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at 70 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and seized. The contact stated that the power steering and service ESC was displayed across the message board. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the steering module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 162,000. Updated 4/7/15 updated 04/09/15.

- Cameron Park, CA, USA

problem #108

Feb 222015

Malibu

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 40 mph, the steering wheel seized and power steering was displayed across the message board. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the power steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was then towed to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #107

Feb 232015

Malibu

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the steering wheel seized and the eps warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number 14V153000 (steering) however, the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Cambid, MD, USA

problem #106

Feb 142015

Malibu

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 20 mph, the steering wheel seized as the power steering warning light illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 111,000.

- Indianapolis, IL, USA

problem #105

Feb 182015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 107,625 miles
While driving at low speed the power steering became inoperative and the ESC lamp lit as well as the service power steering message displayed. Similar conditions as described in the NHTSA campaign number 14V153000, power steering assist lost. 2008-2009 Malibu's are affected and my vehicle is in the next my using the same part, which was used on Malibu's between 2004 and 2010.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #104

Feb 172015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On several occasions, while driving or upon starting my vehicle, I lost power steering capabilities. On one of these occasions, I was traveling during a ice storm, thankfully I was going straight and did not need to make any turns and the traffic was light, I was able to safely home. This problem makes steering nearly impossible when it goes out. My vehicle is currently in the shop with the diagnosis of power steering motor (module) failure. In researching, I find that several recalls have been issued for this type of problem with other Malibu(s) (up to the 2009 model), but not my 2010. The cost to fix this is approximately $750, I am hopeful that my warranty covers this as there is no recall to do so. I believe that GM should be responsible for this as this seems to be a problem throughout the Malibu line regardless of year.

- Dewey, OK, USA

problem #103

Sep 102014

Malibu

  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 20 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning light illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the intermediate steering shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 124,000.

- Skipwith, VA, USA

problem #102

Feb 082015

Malibu

  • 124,000 miles
My power steering torque sensor went out while driving my vehicle. Have had random issues going back years with the power steering but never while driving. Usually only when starting the car. GM said, even though it's the same exact part number listed in the 2005-2009 Chevy Malibu recall, my 2010 was not part of the warranty. Repairs were quoted at $1800-2200. GM seems unwilling to fix the defective part they put in my car. This type of ignorance landed gms ceos [xxx] on capital hill just over a year ago. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Belvidere, IL, USA

problem #101

Feb 102015

Malibu

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the power steering suddenly malfunctioned causing the steering wheel to become very difficult to turn. The contact indicated that during the incident the power steering and service ESC sensor lights had illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #100

Jan 092015

Malibu

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on the expressway in the far left lane. I heard chimes. Power steering. Service ecs message scrolled across. The traction indicator icon came on. I took the car to phillips Chevy in lansing. I was charged $119.75 diagnostic test fee. The steering column must be replaced. I asked if this was a recall item with Malibu. There are recalls for other years but not the 2010. To fix it I was given an estimate of $724 plus tax.

- Dolton, IL, USA

problem #99

Aug 292014

Malibu

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving at an unknown speed, the power steering failed without warning. The failure caused the contact to use excessive force to maneuver the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #98

Feb 022015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Power steering failure, vehicle became impossible to control.

- Bedford , TX, USA

problem #97

Feb 012015

Malibu

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was turned off and restarted. The dealer stated that the torque center needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 89,000.

- Detroit, MN, USA

problem #96

Jan 142015

Malibu

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel was difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the torque input sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #95

Dec 172014

Malibu

  • 59,700 miles
While driving, the electronic power steering went out, making it unable to steer the car. The steering torque sensor was replaced at a cost of $400. Our 2004 Chevy Malibu had the exact thing happen to it. It was covered by a GM recall. However with the 2010, there hasn't been a recall. There should be a recall. This was a dangerous, life-threatening situation.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #94

Dec 142014

Malibu

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, the traction control warning light illuminated and the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 101,000.

- Waldorf , MD, USA

problem #93

Jan 192015

Malibu

  • 171,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the power steering warning lamp illuminated and the vehicle stalled with no warning several times. Also, the contact stated that the rear break light illuminated frequently when the brake pedal was not applied. The contact had to tap the brake pedal to get the light to turn off. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14E044000 (steering) and 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 171,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #92

Dec 052014

Malibu

  • 82,000 miles
Power steering has failed. While driving approx. 15 miles per hour power steering warning comes up and anti-traction light came on at that point the steering wheel jerks to the left and hit the curb. Turned car off and back on to try and reset. This process works sometimes but not reset every time you do this we have to do it multiple times to keep going. This is a highly dangerous situation and I can see that the 2010 Malibu has had enough issues to get GM to add this car to the recall from 2008 and 2009 Malibu's.

- Saint Cloud, WI, USA

problem #91

Jan 192015

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Was turning left when it suddenly became slightly harder to steer. The dash started beeping and the notification "power steering" came up. Power steering turned back on after the turn.

- Constantine, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?