Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,668 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 6 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #78

Oct 282014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering goes out in middle of left hand turn. Pull over turn car off start car power steering back on. Happens off and on every few days.

- Pekin, IL, USA

problem #77

Oct 162014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
The power steering assist light has been coming on in my car but the power steering has worked. I took it to the dealer twice and was told the problem was nothing to worry about. It would cost hundreds to fix. The power steering failed, however, when I was operating the vehicle at approximately 20 mph. I pulled over turned off the ignition restarted the car and the power steering worked. GM has recalled earlier model years for the same problem. See recall notice at this url: media.GM.com/media/us/en/GM/news.detail.html/content/pages/news/us/en/2014/Mar/0331-power-steering.html GM has refused to remedy this safety defect, tell me the part at issue or or inform me as to whether it is the same part that led to the recall on the earlier model year.

- Findlay, OH, USA

problem #76

Sep 302014

Malibu

  • miles
My seat belt warning pings when I am buckled up and goes off as frequently as it would if I was not buckled up. My "service air bag" light randomly pops up my car revs when im driving at the same pace on a flat road. Which is scary because it speeds up too. My driving wheel sticks sometimes. I feel like its not a safe car I bought this car in Feb thinking it was a good investment and I regret it 100%.

- Bakerafield, CA, USA

problem #75

Sep 182014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 58,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was stopped to wait on oncoming cars to pass to turn left onto a street. As I was about to turn with my children in the car the steering wheel locked up and would not turn.if, my steering wheel would have not been turned already, as I was getting ready to turn, I would have been hit on the right side where my child was sitting. I had no option but to drive up on the curb. This is the same situation as the 2008 and 2009 model Malibu's which have a recall on them for steering:electric power assist system GM's recall #14V15300 recalled 3/31/14. Obviously this recall needs to be added to the 2010 model since it is still occuring. I took my car to the freeland chev. Where they had to replace the entire steering column due to the bad torque sensor. This cost me $689 to replace, I feel GM should take responsibility for this and add the 2010 model Malibu to the recall list so that I can be reimbursed for their error and so their customers that put trust in purchasing their vehicles are safe. To note I have contacted and spoke with several reps at GM none of which offered any type of help with this matter.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #74

Nov 122013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 116,760 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel seized and excessive force was required to turn the steering wheel. The dealer stated that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 116,760. Updated 11/21/14 updated 02/03/15

- Middle Town, CT, USA

problem #73

Aug 132014

Malibu

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the steering wheel was difficult to maneuver and the traction control warning light illuminated. The failure occurred on three occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 101,000.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #72

Sep 222014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While leaving the parking lot, my power steering alert came on. I took my car into the mechanic, and he found an error message relating to the steering column in my car. He said to fix the problem, they would need to replace the entire steering column, align the wheels/steering, ect. All at a cost of about $873. My car isn't even 5 years old yet, and I'm forced to replace the steering column? I see that GM has recalled the 2004-2006, 2009 Malibu models, and a number of other years and models due to faulty power steering. I drive home to see my mom who is at the end of life with cancer. That drive is about 130 miles one way, mostly interstate driving at 65mph. If I don't have this fixed, I could possibly loose my power steering, or worse, loose steering all together, and not only injure or kill myself, but others on the road. So I am forced to fix this issue, which I feel should be included in the recalls. I don't think I should have to pay almost $1000 for a car that isn't even 5 years old, that I paid $25,000+ for. Resolution for me would be to be reimbursed for the work I'm going to have done, and have the 2010 Malibu's added to the recall list. Thank you

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #71

Sep 072014

Malibu

  • 124,511 miles
While going thru a turn the input shaft came out of the rack and pinion causing loss of steering. Wheels went straight causing the car to jump the curb and strike boulders in the land scape.

- Ogden, UT, USA

problem #70

Sep 302010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
I keep getting a "service traction control" message when and only when I am sitting in the car in "park". also another issue is the car just dies as I turn the steering wheel to the left in a turn or on a curve. Dealer says they cannot duplicate the issues. I call "[xxx] as I cannot stop the issue not only that but the dealer has charged me $300 plus for the repair" say what" information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Encino, CA, USA

problem #69

Mar 152012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
I was on the highway and the power steering went out. I had to quickly pullover to avoid getting hit by oncoming cars.

- Monticello, AR, USA

problem #68

Jul 072014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 59,850 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2010 Malibu is now making a creaky/clunky noise when steering into a turn. It is most noticeable at slow speeds. I know the power steering motor has been an issue in prior model years. This vehicle is currently under the recall for the brake light / traction control / cruise control issues under recall # 13036. There has been no diagnosis done on the power steering as I will bring this to the dealer's attention when I bring the vehicle in for the known recall repairs. The car is now grounded until the repairs can be made as it is just too unsafe to drive at this point.

- Winthrop, ME, USA

problem #67

Feb 032014

Malibu

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 60 mph, the power steering failed. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Kansas City , MO, USA

problem #66

Jun 242014

Malibu

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would suddenly decelerate and the steering, ABS and traction control sensor lights would illuminate. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The failure mileage was 52,000.

- Avon, IN, USA

problem #65

Dec 232010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that in cooler weather, the power steering would become very shaky and no warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 70,000. Updated 8/11/14 the consumer stated when the steering was cold, there was a chatter and a constant growling noise. Also, the check engine light illuminated. Updated 08/26/14

- Blandford, MA, USA

problem #64

Jun 202014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 79,984 miles
Power steering assist shakes steering wheel back and forth while operating at low speeds. Wheels turn rapidly left to right. Have also had times in the past where steering light came on in dash at highway speeds and power assist steering does not work. Seems like 2010 model Malibu should also be added to the recent steering recall.

- Watseka , IL, USA

problem #63

Apr 032014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Started the car one morning and heard a chime, then observed power steering warning on the display. Steering needs more effort than usual ever since.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #62

Aug 182012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
While driving my 2010 Chevy Malibu lt (ecotech engine), the engine starts to stutter and the ESC shuts off and claims it needs servicing. The ESC will go on and off randomly. The check engine light comes on as well. I have had the codes read multiple times and changed multiple parts but to no avail. It keeps stating that there is a misfire in cylinder 1. have changed spark plugs and coil packs. The stuttering happens at all speeds, including while accelerating and idling. There's also been times of tough steering as if the power steering is not working properly. I have noticed it happens more often in late spring through summer when the temperatures outside are higher. I have checked and there is not a crack in the head gasket or the head.

- Woodhaven, MI, USA

problem #61

Feb 122014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
When I started the engine on my 2010 Chevrolet Malibu, the information center displayed the message "power steering" and service ESC" and when trying to drive the car, it was extremely difficult to steer. After driving about 200 feet in a parking lot, I realized steering was too difficult and driving the car was unsafe. I turned off the ignition and restarted the engine, and luckily the problem temporarily went away. However, I had this problem reoccur again over 20 times between 2/2014 to 4/2014. For my own safety and fear that the issue could worsen and appear at any time while driving, I proactively took the car into my local Chevrolet dealer, where they diagnosed and fixed the problem. Here is their diagnosis and fix: Cause code: C0545 torque sensor corrective action: Replaced steering column I have also opened a case# with General Motors/Chevrolet customer assistance and repeatedly contacted them about the issue because I feel it is the same symptoms and resolution as outlined in the recent 31mar2014 (electric) power steering recall found at the following link: [ media.GM.com/media/us/en/GM/news.detail.html/content/pages/news/us/en/2014/Mar/0331-power-steering.html ]. Chevrolet customer assistance, however, indicated that my VIN number/vehicle is not covered under the recall and will not reimburse me for the repair. I am contacting the NHTSA to inform them that vehicles not listed under the above recall, namely the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu, potentially have the same problem/safety issue and require the same repair. I hope that the NHTSA encourages General Motors to reassess the vehicles covered under the current recall and extend the recall to also include the 2010 Chevrolet Malibu model year.

- Randolph, NJ, USA

problem #60

May 292014

Malibu

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the steering wheel became hard to maneuver as the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for a diagnostic. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #59

Sep 042010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel was extremely rough to turn. Additionally, the air bag warning light would illuminate intermittently and the battery continued to drain prematurely. The contact also stated that the rear suspension was unstable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times but the dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The contact was traveling on the highway when the rear suspension failure recurred and the vehicle swayed violently toward the driver's side of the vehicle. The steering wheel seized and as the contact applied force to the steering wheel, the steering wheel seized and the contact crashed into a tree. The air bags only partially deployed. The driver sustained severe injuries and the jaws of life were used to remove an injured passenger from the vehicle. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V460000 (power train). The contact received the recall notification after the crash occurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failures several times but to no avail. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000. Updated 3/3/15

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?