Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,673 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Suburban engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Suburban:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Suburban Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Apr 012012

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban. The contact stated that the vehicle would sporadically become hesitant to start. The vehicle would also stall periodically without warning. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer and the contact was advised that the failure was caused by the camshaft position sensor. The manufacturer was made aware of failure and stated that the part had been discontinued. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 07V521000 (engine and engine cooling) but was advised that the VIN was not included in the recall campaign. The failure mileage was 18,000. The current mileage was 20,177. Updated 06/17/13

- Lynnwood, WA, USA

problem #20

May 232012

Suburban

  • 160,000 miles
I just fix my head gasket from leaking 2 weeks later the transmission gave out a week later the sensor gave out then the other sensor knock sensor 2 then the sensor pump gave out too with in 6 months and cost me about 4000 after tax Chevy.

- Garden Grove , CA, USA

problem #19

Oct 252011

Suburban

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph the vehicle stalled without any warning. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was unknown.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #18

Oct 012010

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Noticed no bolt head on drivers side rear exhaust manifold, was not sure if it was supposed to be there. Then found another bolt head in skid guard during oil change, this was from the front bolt of same exhaust manifold! the heads broke off cleanly for no visible reason. Fixed front bolt but rear one requires exhaust manifold removal at cost of $400. This could be very dangerous if more break!

- Franklin Square, NY, USA

problem #17

Sep 292011

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 144,229 miles
I have a 2001 Chevy Suburban that completely stalled out, (Sept 29,2011) when I was getting ready to Transport my four young children to school. Please note, that I'm in an area that is not accessible by public transportation. This means that when my car is down, I'm at the mercy of friends and neighbors which is quite an inconvenience. I hired a service guy to diagnose the problem and he said it was a problem with the crankshaft. While ordering the part, he was notified that the part was on a recall list. I checked the website NHTSA.gov to verify and the recall #07V521000 did exist. I contacted the Chevy dealer (nash Chevrolet) in snellville and was told that my VIN# was not in the batch and if they serviced it, the cost would be $2500. I contacted the manufacturer and was told that my problem could be attributed to wear and tear. I would like to know if there is any possibility to get the dealer to repair my car and if it's possible to have the investigation reopened and the scope adjusted to include all 2001 Suburban that are nonconforming. I would like to also know, how does GM/Chevy determine which customers deserve to be safe on the road, and why weren't all their qualifying consumers notified. Is GM above the law" how is it that GM is not allowed to comply to these federal laws after an investigation has been conducted? does GM only respond to their customers if their is death and dismemberment or if litigation is involved" please advise.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #16

Aug 112011

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban 2500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure occurred three different times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostics, where the technicians stated that the crankshaft position sensor needed to be replaced. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 07V521000 (engine and engine cooling) that may be related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000. Updated 11/17/11 updated 11/23/11.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #15

Nov 252010

Suburban

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban 2500. The contact stated that the check engine warning light illuminated and the engine began to backfire when driving various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they informed that the crank sensor would need to be replaced. There was a recall associated with the NHTSA campaign id number 07V521000 (engine and engine cooling) yet, the contacts VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 96,000.

- Thousand Oaks , CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 102009

Suburban

  • 134,000 miles
Beginning in August 2009 my 01 Chevy Suburban would stall while I was driving. After the first time, a new battery was installed. This happened 2 more times from mid August 09 to 9/15/09 at which time we brought the truck in for service. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem and we brought the truck home. About a week later, it happened again and then 3 more times between 9/15 and 10/15/09. During this period we found a recall notice (GM recall no. 06083) for a crankshaft sensor covering 2001 Suburban, but not my particular vehicle. The recall detailed the exact problem I was having. The truck was brought into the dealer on 10/15/09 and I insisted that the crankshaft sensor be replaced. To date, there have been no further problems with the vehicle and I believe that the crankshaft sensor was the cause of the stalling.

- Water Mill, NY, USA

problem #13

Aug 292009

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,441 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban 2500. While driving the vehicle will intermittently stall without any prior warnings. An independent diagnostic test was performed; and the crankshaft position sensor code was discovered. The manufacturer was contacted in reference to recall# 07V521000( engine and engine cooling). Upon contact he was advised that because his vehicle identification number was excluded from the recall, he was ineligible for a free remedy. No repairs were made. The failure and current mileages were 63,441. Updated 10/27/09 updated 10/28/09.

- Lincoln Park, NJ, USA

problem #12

Aug 222009

Suburban

  • 29,000 miles
The check engine light came on, on my 2001 Suburban at 29,000 miles. This was my dads vehicle and was garage kept and driven on trips or to church in rural Texas, which is why after 8 years it only had 29,000 miles. I had it scanned at auto zone. A #1 cylinder misfire was detected. I moved the coil, spark plug, and wire to other cylinders to isolate the problem. The scan still detected #1 cylinder misfire even after driving over 50 miles. The misfire was not detectable by the way the truck was running. I went ahead and replaced the injector on that cylinder just to rule it out. Once again after over 50 miles of driving it still scanned as a #1 cylinder misfire. I had planned on taking it to the dealer on Monday, August 24, 2009. On Saturday, August 22, 2009 my wife and daughter were on their way back to the house and the truck died driving down the freeway. They were able to restart it and limp home. I found no compression on the #1 cylinder and took off the rocker arm cover to find a broken spring on the exhaust valve. Had it only been 3 years old it would have been under warranty. This seems to be a bad spring bad luck story. I was curious to know if others encountered the same problem or did the black cloud just dwell over me. Since I can repair it myself I am. This problem might have happened to others without their knowledge since they had it repaired by the dealer. The cost to me for parts is about $350. The greatest cost was gaskets. Repair at a dealer would be between $1500 and $5000 I'm sure (there was a bent valve I replaced, and a mark on the piston I am leaving alone, I'm not sure they would repair just what was needed or go further). It is disheartening when something that should not happen does. There is more I would like to vent here but that is not the purpose of my complaint. I just wanted the complaint registered somewhere. Thanks.

- Bedford, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 012007

Suburban

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle shut off without warning. The contact discovered that there was a recall for the 2001 Silverado with the same engine, but not for the Suburban. The vehicle has not been repaired. The current mileage was 92,000 and failure mileage was 70,000.

- Lewis Town, MT, USA

problem #10

May 152008

Suburban

  • 53,000 miles
I have a 2001 Suburban 2500 8.1 L. 3/4 ton. The engine would stall while driving without warning. It has happened many times including in the middle of an intersection and on the freeway going at freeway speeds including hauling a trailer. When this occurs power steering and power brakes are lost with hopes of being able to coast to the side of the road without getting hit. Found NHTSA recall # 07V521000 and GM # 06083. This recall described my vehicles problem exactly. Took vehicle into dealership mentioning recall, our VIN # is not affected. Diagnostic showed crankshaft position sensor failure exactly like the recall. GM would not cover any expenses because VIN was not included in recall. After reviewing other complaints, I see that there are others who have had the same issue and VIN #'s were excluded from the recall. This recall should be expanded to included a wider range of VIN #'s or at least investigated further. Too much of a coincidence and too dangerous of a situation to let this go.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #9

Sep 122008

Suburban

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle would randomly shut off and completely stop. The other components, such as the radio, were still operable. The power steering and brakes were always affected and would become inoperable. Occasionally, the vehicle immediately restarts and other times, the contact must wait a couple of minutes. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V521000 (engine and engine cooling). The dealer was not notified. The failure mileage was 59,000.

- Slat Lake City, UT, USA

problem #8

Dec 252007

Suburban

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban 2500. The contact stated that the crankshaft position works intermittently or fails completely. When the sensor operates intermittently, the ses indicator illuminates and the vehicle drives roughly. When the engine stalls, it restarts immediately or after a cool down period. The current mileage was 69,000 and failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 3/3/09

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 182007

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban 2500. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle shut off without warning. There were no indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact pulled off the road, turned off the vehicle, and waited 30 seconds before restarting the vehicle. Once it was restarted, the vehicle performed normally. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 07V521000 (engine and engine cooling), in which the crankshaft position sensor could operate or fail completely. The failures were identical to those mentioned in the recall and the contact would be responsible for the repair costs. The failure mileage was 68,000 and current mileage was 72,500. Updated 12/16/08 updated 12/19/08.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 262006

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban 2500. While driving at any speed, the vehicle shut off without warning. The vehicle restarts intermittently. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V521000 (engine and engine cooling). The current mileage was 90,000 and failure mileage was 50,000.

- Barney Doon, CA, USA

problem #5

Dec 052007

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Suburban. While driving 55 mph, the engine completely shut off. The entire vehicle lost power. Prior to the failure, the check engine light flashed and the vehicle would not exceed 55 mph. The vehicle would not restart and was towed. The purchase date was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 116,000.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #4

Dec 202004

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
While making a U-turn the vehicle stall. Condition causes loss of power assist and power brakes. No incident has occurred due to this issue. The dealer and the manufacturer were not notified.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #3

Jun 102004

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When vehicle is first started after sitting for an 8 hour period there is excessive engine lifter noise. After the vehicle warms up, the noise goes away. Local GMC dealer says they cannot hear the noise.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #2

Mar 012003

Suburban 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,470 miles
The vehicle displayed a loud noise that sounded like a muffler and or vacuum. The vehicle was taken to the dealer in which they had taken diagnostic tests but wasn't sure what the problem was. They then stated that there was a known problem with the intake system in which air would surround the engine. The problem seemed to worsen each time the vehicle was in motion. The right front window was inoperative due to the motor going bad.

- Woodsfield, OH, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?