Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,025 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Suburban electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Suburban:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Suburban Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Oct 132010


  • 68,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Suburban 1500. The contact stated he noticed while driving 30 to 40 mph that the speedometer read 120 mph, and when driving 70mph the speedometer read 0 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed. The dealer advised the contact that the instrumental cluster panel failed. The manufacturer advised that because the vehicle was over the extended warranty coverage, they would not assist with the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 69,000.

- Albuquerque , NM, USA

problem #19

Sep 132010

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • 83,500 miles
2005 Chevy Suburban speedometer failure. While driving highway speed speedometer stopped indicating correct speed, indicated 120 miles per hour. Speedometer is not working at all.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #18

Jul 012010

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Speedometer not working properly, even when the car is stop it show 70 mph.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #17

Feb 152010


  • miles


On a highway trip home, the speedometer got stuck at 73mph and steadily increased in speed until it just points directly downward. It stays facing downward and doesn't move at all no. The Chevy dealers also say that there is a recall but our cars VIN number doesn't meet the recall. They agree Chevy should repair the vehicle. When I contacted Chevy, they told me the would offer no assistance and to stop contacting them regarding the problem.

- Carson, CA, USA

problem #16

May 202009

Suburban 4WD 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
In, May 2009 my speedo was out of whack says im driving 100mph down street, buried at 120mph on highway. Came back to life later but now its hit or miss if it works. I have to use my magellan for speedo now and Chevy dealer said if I was under 70K they could fix it for free but since im at 85K and they say I have to pay in full (approx $750) and Chevy never told me about this I learned of the problem from a friend.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 212009


  • 178,371 miles
Just got into my 2005 Chevy Suburban 1500. The speedometer stop working. Registering 100mph while I was at a stop light, not working at all while I drove back to the house. There is a lawsuit for 2004 models and only up to 70,000miles. This is a cluster failure affecting thousands of Suburban, Tahoe, and similar model owners. The dealerships are charging an average of $450 to repair this defect that, judging from the lawsuit is a common problem. It affects my monitoring of my speed and endangers the public and also puts drivers in a bad position with law enforcement. GM is obligated to repair a problem that they had knowledge of. There are too many of these vehicles on the road to allow this defect and potential safety issue to go unchecked.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #14

Jul 052009


  • 50,000 miles


We have a 2005 Chevrolet Suburban with 50,000 miles. Our instrument cluster is not working properly. Speedometer is stuck, other gauges (I.e. fuel, oil, temp) work intermittently. I believe this is a huge safety issue for obvious reasons! the cost to fix this is $650 and after much research I see many complaints of the same nature! Chevrolet has even recalled the 2003/2004 models for this reason! why not 2005?

- Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #13

Aug 172007


  • 75,000 miles
Erratic speedometer...often the needle sticks at 120 mph when only going about 30...sometimes at 40 when actually not moving at a stoplight. It reads erratically all of the time. Started about 2 years ago (75,000 miles). Very costly to repair, so I keep my portable gps running to get actual speed.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #12

Dec 232008


  • 67,000 miles
As I have read this is a recurring problem. My speedometer on our 2005 Chevrolet Suburban 67,000 miles quit working. On a long trip it would only show 45-60 mph. I know I was going alot faster. When I accelerated it would slowly jump up to speed. Several times the oil pressure gauge was affected also. We had the cluster replaced at the dealership. Luckily we had an extended warranty. In my opinion this is a safety concern from Dec 08 until may of 09 it happened 10 times.

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #11

Mar 012009


  • 78,000 miles
Erratic speedometer... says the vehicle is moving 120 mph when in a village and 30 on the highway... it reads erratically all of the time. Started about 2 months ago (78,000 miles) this is a huge safety issue. Is Chevrolet going to fix this problem? I have read numerous similar complaints.

- Byron, NY, USA

problem #10

Apr 052009


  • 42,200 miles


Speedometer shows 110 mph when cars are passing me. I believe am going about 55 or 60 mph. I understand the problem is with the instrument cluster in the dashboard.

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #9

Nov 302008


  • 49,000 miles
My oil pressure gauge started reading "0" in November 2008 but there is nothing wrong with my oil. (mileage approx. 49,000) I check it often and have the oil changed regularly. In February 2009 my speedometer started registering inaccurately. First, it would say I was going 40 mph at a dead stop. Currently, it is past the 120 mph mark and holding. (mileage 52,000) I took it to a Chevy dealer for diagnostic evaluation. I was told it was the dashboard circuit board and that it would be $500 to replace it. The service manager told me that this part had been recalled on the 2003-2004 models but not the 2005. That I could pay for the repair and if it was recalled I could be reimbursed. This is a huge safety concern especially with young teenage drivers. It seems obvious to me reading through all the complaints for the 2005 model and the recalls of previous years that the 2005 model should be recalled as well.

- Greenwich, UT, USA

problem #8

Aug 012008


  • 50,000 miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Suburban with about 55,000 miles on it. For the past 6-8 months, my speedometer and other gauges (oil, etc.) will stick causing inaccurate readings. At times my speedometer is about 30 mph off from the real speed, and for the months the oil gauge has read off the charts.

- Debary, FL, USA

problem #7

Feb 142009


  • 66,747 miles
Speedometer stopped working. It is stuck on 30mph. There is no way to tell what speed you are traveling at.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #6

Nov 212008

Suburban 8-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Suburban. The contact stated that the speedometer displays inaccurate readings on the instrument panel. He cannot determine the appropriate speed, which is a safety issue. The dealer stated that the instrument control cluster needed to be replaced at the cost of $600. The manufacturer stated that because a class action lawsuit does not include the contact's vehicle year, they would not assume any responsibility for the repair. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 54,000 and the current mileage was unknown. Updated 5/26/09 the speedometer is broken and the electrical communication makes a buzzing sound. Updated 05/28/09.

- Oakland, MD, USA

problem #5

Aug 022008


  • 69,720 miles
I have a 2005 Chevrolet Suburban. The speedometer has been going out for some time. It will either not register or register off so that the person driving has no idea of speed. I have contacted Chevy and my dealer and have been informed that Chevy knows of the issue but will only cover replacement through model year 2004. There is a class action suit to try to force coverage of additional years.

- Brainerd, MN, USA

problem #4

Jan 142009


  • 59,800 miles
My daughter was driving down the road and speedometer began acting erratically. At a stop light speedometer reads 25 mph. Ignition was turned on/off with no results.

- Cibolo, TX, USA

problem #3

Nov 222008


  • 83,300 miles
The speedometer in my 2005 Chevrolet Suburban has developed a ticking noise in the past few days. The vehicle has 83, 300 miles. It started as a low clicking noise and has continued to become louder. I have contacted the local Chevrolet dealership, which gave me no satisfaction for repairs.

- Worton, MD, USA

problem #2

Aug 252008


  • 34,788 miles
Instrument cluster failure. Gauges not accurate. I was told instrument cluster would need to be replaced at my cost.

- Eldersburg, MD, USA

problem #1

Oct 022006

Suburban 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,066 miles
I have had nothing but electrical problems ever since I bought this car. I didn't even have the car for a month and the dash lights and head lights would dim on and off brought the car in to where it was purchased from and had my car for a week and replaced control module car still proceed to do the same thing brought it in to another dealership told me that this was normal because car had PCM after 4 months of going back and forth with these dealerships car was finally fixed due to a recall in a screw and wire not being grounded correctly. Now my car is in the dealership with numerous electrical problems and are trying to say that car was hit by lighting car would not start burning smell came from underneath hood of car. Now car does not run over 15 mph with dying out battery only hold charge of 10 volts.

- Lansing, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?