Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
90,351 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jun 112016

Trailblazer

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While operating the vehicle, smoke emitted from the hood. The contact pulled over and discovered flames under the hood. The fire department extinguished the fire. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the failure was due to a failed GM/ac delco transmission coolant line fitting, which caused transmission coolant to leak out onto the catalytic converter and exhaust system. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Waynesburg, PA, USA

problem #20

Oct 152014

Trailblazer

  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while attempting to accelerate, the vehicle shifted abruptly into second gear, and from second gear into third gear. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The first and second shift sensor in the transmission were replaced. The failure recurred, and the second and third shift sensor were replaced but the failure recurred. The vehicle was then taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the valve body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 132,000.

- Chesterfield Township, MI, USA

problem #19

Jun 192013

Trailblazer

  • 87,000 miles
While putting the truck into 4X4 hi, lo, or all wheel drive, the transfer case never does fully put it into 4X4. While driving, the dim lights turn completely off. The brights work, but the dims do not. These will not turn back on until the truck is shut off or a proper bump is hit. The heater blower in the front sometimes will nit come on. The back will be blowing, not the front. Also if a bump is hit improperly, the back speakers will start buzzing.

- Brighton, IL, USA

problem #18

Jun 022014

Trailblazer

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle failed to shift out of first gear. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence where an independent mechanic stated that the shift control solenoid sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Ashford, WV, USA

problem #17

Sep 062014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
Transmission cooling lines are corroded thru....

- Mt. Prospect, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Jul 082008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
I am the owner of a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer with 32,000 miles. I purchased the truck new from the dealer. Over the few years that I have owned the vehicle, I have been faced with a multitude of issues. My first problem became the ac lines. They began to leak due to rust, which was not covered under the 7 year, 70,000 mile warranty. Next the exhaust manifold began to leak. The cost was covered under the warranty; however, the dealer managed to break the bolts that hold the manifold to the engine. The breakage was not covered, and therefore, I had to pay. Following these two issues, I noticed rust all over the undercarriage. In the past three years, after my warranty expired, I had to fix the following items due to the rust: The power steering coil, rear end, transmission, fuel pump, power steering lines, power steering pump, rack and pinion, front wheel bearings, and a fuel gage recall from GM. In addition, I avoid using low 4-wheel drive, because the vehicle gets stuck in that gearing.

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #15

Nov 052012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sir/ MA'am, I noticed recently in the news that several GM product lines have been plagued by faulty ignition switches causing the vehicle to lose power and/or cut out. I implore you to look into the Trailblazers. I emailed GM while I was deployed (2012) and they gave me the runaround saying that it is not a documented problem, as expected. A simple internet search would show that a lot of other Trailblazer owners have bad ignition switches/ electrical issues that cause the vehicle to lose power at all speeds. My wife lost power going about 35 mph and I had my two children along with her. This is just one example, on one occasion. Granted, I do acknowledge this problem is intermittent, it still occurs at random and at all speeds. GM tells me to go to a dealer and have them look at it. I refuse to pay GM any money to have a dealership rip me off for an ignition switch that is flawed and replace it with the same faulty oem style/model number. I have ran a scan tool looking for codes and it doesn't have any. Like stated previously, this is another line of GM that is plagued with ignition and electrical issues that GM refuses to take ownership of. The mileage I have entered is approximate. I cannot remember exact numbers, but it has happened for years, intermittently. When the vehicle has coasted to it's final destination after losing power, it starts up and drives normal again after it is put back into park. Also keep in mind that it doesn't show any check engine lights, indicating a problem or need of servicing. Again, please look into this product line as I know the result(s) will show that GM is liable and I don't want any fatalities because nobody spoke up about it.

- Yelm, WA, USA

problem #14

Dec 292013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 111,920 miles
While we were driving on I-94 near mile marker 12 in Michigan, the rear axle broke, making the car inoperable. We were able to coast to the shoulder of the interstate.

- Windsor, CO, USA

problem #13

Jul 112013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 91,800 miles
Driver side master power window switch does not work the driver side window at all! out of the blue this stopped working. Further research shows that the 2006-2007 models were recalled not the 2005! really, this car is "currently registered in a cold weather state which uses salt to clear the roads" (direct quote from General Motors and Isuzu recall 258,000 SUVS, the associated press, August 19, 2012) since 12/2005 which is when the vehicle was purchased. Just because my vehicle did not have a fire "yet" but I have the "exact" problem which arose before these vehicles did catch fire, mine is not recalled? not only was the transmission recalled in 2008, I had a problem with the "blower motor" not working when you turn on the heat. You could only turn on the heat to no. 4. the truck was taken for service on 1/10/06, 1/30/06, 2/7/06 and 2/17/06 which was not even 2 mo. After purchasing said vehicle before the problem was corrected. In 11/06 the "fuel pump module" was replaced and covered "only" because I had the extended warranty and I had to pay the $100 deductible, because I had gas but it was not registering. Again, I continue to have this problem. When calling GM on 7/24/13 about the window switch recall, I now find out that there is a "special coverage" for the "fuel level sensor". this is covered until 7/24/14, per GM (866-694-6546), unless you have more than 120,000 something miles. Was not sure of the mileage exactly since mine is below that figure. The window switch is a serious malfunction that needs to be covered in "all years" of this vehicle. While sitting at a red light with your foot on the brake, the vehicle will just rev up and want to take off. I guess this isn't a "big deal" either. You can't even listen to the radio to distract you with all these problems going on because the radio only comes out of "one" speaker! go figure, it is GM!

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #12

Jan 032011

Trailblazer

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the power steering assist failed. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred several times. The contact also stated that the lift gate revel molding was fractured. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering, power transmission and the rear deck molding needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000 and the current mileage was 166,324. The VIN was not available.

- Ellensburg, WA, USA

problem #11

Feb 072013

Trailblazer

  • 146,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Crashed straight into the back end of a vehicle doing 60 while I was doing atleast 80, or 85, maybe more, I don't remember. The first thing I remember seeing is realizing I'm alright despite the blood in the cockpit and on my face despite sneezing which was spreading blood. Is this a vehicle defect or what? my math says that crashing at 85mph into a vehicle doing 60 is like crashing into a brick wall at 25mph. I've had a local mechanic check it out and he says according to his obd-II computer everything is working fine (or was atleast) :) anyways, please feel free to contact me again with any more question you may have. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Stafford, CT, USA

problem #10

Aug 202009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Is no longer working broken.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #9

Apr 032012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
I am not sure what is wrong with this car! I have had it at the mechanic several times. He has replaced some sensors but the car still...putters..putters.. and putters......help!!! the car jerks, putters and sometimes dies while driving!

- Mount Vernon, MO, USA

problem #8

Aug 082012

Trailblazer

  • 132,000 miles
Door locks repeatedly locked and unlocked, then cascading failures, anti-lock light, engine light, other warning lights. Engine started to run rough and would not make power, engine quit. Note transmission gear indicator read incorrectly. Disconnected battery, and reconnected, engine started got me home. Three occurrences that the engine just quits. It will restart after a few minutes. Mechanic could not find anything wrong. Had another occurrence, mechanic found a code indicating the ECM may be bad. He tells me this should have noting to do with the door locks. The door locks latch and unlatch, uncommanded. Engine stops when under power. Mechanic has no course of action at this time.

- Monroe, OH, USA

problem #7

Oct 242011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
My 2005 Trailblazer has begun to have several problems and in speaking to other Chevy owners the same problems have been found in other models and years of Chevy trucks and SUVS. I'm very disappointed to see that Chevy chooses not to recall, which is why I'll never purchase another Chevrolet. Beginning a few months ago my gauges began to be erratic. Starting with my speedometer sticking at zero and then later sticking at 60mph even while sitting still. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. next while sitting at traffice lights or stops signs my engine began to surge forward without applying the gas. When the vehicle surges the RPM gauge also jumps up. I already replaced one transmission at 50K miles and now since passing 100K miles have begun to have rough shifting again in my vehicle. I do not drive my vehicle in a rough manner, speed, or haul a trailer, so there is no reason to be going through transmissions. Now my fuel gauge has stopped working and I'm having to track my mileage with my odometer. I've never seen a vehicle with so many problems and no help offered from the maker. *

- Decatur, AL, USA

problem #6

Nov 212011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 97,650 miles
At approximately 11:00 am just after parking the vehicle in an inclined home driveway and after turning the engine off for 2-3 minutes and with the automatic transmission in the park position, the vehicle on its own started to roll down the concrete driveway and into the residential street. No one was injured or run over, though the potential was great since my wife and I were both unloading the car from the rear side doors and the tailgate, but we were neither in the doorways or behind the vehicle. Apparently the park transmission lock failed or became disengaged - a serious defect. The vehicle came to a stop in the middle of the street. I restarted the car and have driven it over 100 miles without incident since yesterday. I have used the park position without incident since that time, though I have not parked the vehicle on an inclined surface.

- Saint Croix Falls, WI, USA

problem #5

Oct 032011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
I have been hearing a clicking noise and my car had begun sounding like a jet engine taking off for the last 3 days - very noisy. I took it to pep boys where I was told that it is normal for the Trailblazer to begin making this noise shortly after 60K miles. I was told the serpentine belt needed to be replaced, tensioner pulley and the idler pulley. I had the new parts installed. None of my warning lights came on the dashboard so I assumed was well as there was no other indication that something was wrong. Driving my car within 24 hours of being fixed, the fan clutch seized and my water pump burst causing car to overheat in the middle of an intersection where my car then stalled putting me and my children at risk for injury. The car almost caught on fire it was smoking severely. Someone helped me move my car out of the busy intersection and I called my husband and a tow truck to come get the car. When I got home and looked up the problems again on the dealer website, I found hundreds of forums where the fan clutch has been mentioned and the water pump too. A fan clutch according to the mechanics I surveyed stated they should last at least 100K or more. This has been brought to GM and they ignore it. It is a safety issue. Additionally, my speedometer hasn't worked for at least a year and when I called Chevy they wanted to charge me $700 to replace it when it is not my issues. I didn't cause it. Not knowing what speed you are going is definitely a safety hazard and can cause accidents or tickets.I am attaching a forum (this is just one of hundreds I found online)www.edmunds.com/Chevrolet/Trailblazer/2004/consumer-discussions.html where people are having the same safety issues I am and GM has ignored them. My car could have caught on fire today and I had my 4 yr old daughter with me. Not a position I ever want to be in. Please issue a recall.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #4

Sep 012009

Trailblazer

  • miles
I own a 2005 Chevy Trailblazer that is experiencing very sluggish acceleration, transmission is not shifting smoothly, and runs very loudly. I have researched this problem and found hundreds of complaints with other owners of this same year, make and model.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #3

Nov 102008

Trailblazer

  • 80,000 miles
After doing some research I am encountering a problem that seems to be out there a lot. I have a 2005 Trailblazer and my forward gear stopped working at 80K miles. I think is a much too new car to encounter a transmission failure. There is obviously a problem when I have read pages and pages of this same issue. GM has to step in and tell me something my dealer estimate this to cost me a min. $3,200 in this economy or any that is a large expense to encounter with no warning or previous problems. I hope the GM will have some answers and do the right thing! this happened to me on the van wyke expressway in rush hour many of us could have been hurt or killed! thank you

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #2

Aug 212007

Trailblazer

  • 53,000 miles
Had to have transmission replaced (a whole other sick story:( ). when I got my truck back, second day on the freeway, the speedometer started to climb even though I was staying with the flow of traffic. I twent around to the 100S. When I got home it spun straight down not stopping at the zero like it normally did. Took it back to mechanic at least twice maybe 3 times, he did something that fixed it for a few days, but then it would mess up again. As it is right now, it is parked but saying it's at 100+ mph. Reading other peoples same problem, it will cost too much for me to pay the dealer to fix. I have even gotten a speeding ticket because of this (my first in 20 years!)!!!

- Barstow, CA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?